BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/07/2012

Diversified Electronics

Phone: (423) 837-1740Fax: (877) 290-5352View Additional Phone Numbers237 S Cedar Ave, South PittsburgTN 37380-1303 Send email to Diversified Electronics

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/07/2012

BBB has determined that Diversified Electronics meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Diversified Electronics include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Diversified Electronics

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
09/02/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Owner refused to refund my payment for his service although I received no resolution of my repair.
On 6/25/16 Diversified technician was sent by ******* to repair my dishwasher. The dishwasher had leaked and ruined my hardwood floor in the area around the dishwasher. My son had disconnected the water line and pulled out the dishwasher to allow the floor to dry underneath thereby preventing more widespread water damage. This is how the technician found it. He looked inside the dishwasher and determined it was the seal around the door leaking. He did not reconnect the water line to it. After he left, my son reconnected the water line in order to return the dishwasher to its place under the counter out of the way. As he did, water began to leak from the valve. He then called the technician back and told him the valve was the problem. The tech added the valve to the repair order. In other words, the technician failed to properly diagnose the leaking problem with my dishwasher. He made a trip for nothing. In the meanwhile, my mother died and I had a house full of company! We had to wash dishes by hand! I called ******* who assured me they would expedite the repair. It has been a month and they are still waiting on parts! I called Diversified Electronics today and had the owner call me. I asked for my money back. I feel that in failing to properly diagnose the leak and my son having to TELL him what the source of the leaking was, his service call was for nothing!! I have paid $87.80 for essentially nothing. I was not told that it would take a month to get the valve. This company is NOT customer-friendly, in fact the owner was arrogant and very hateful!! I would not recommend this company to anyone!

Desired Settlement
I would like for this business to refund the $87.80 I paid for the service call that was made to determine the problem with my dishwasher. I feel that it is only fair since the technician didn't reconnect the water line to test the valve and my son was the one who found the leak and called him back immediately so he could order the part. The technician failed to perform his job properly. IF he had he would have found the leaking source!

Business Response
tech was dispatched to customers house to look at dishwasher the complaint was unit leaking from the front upon arrival the tech found that the customer had uninstalled the unit with no water or electric hooked up to it tech found physical damage to the door seal and gave customer and estimate for the replacement of the seal at that time the customer approved the estimate after being shown the damage to the seal tech charged the cust for our trip and diagnostic fee. a couple of days later cust calls and said that her son hooked up the water to the unit and that it was leaking at the inlet valve the leak could have been caused by the cust not properly sealing the hose to the valve or the valve itself was bad we gave the cust and updated est for the cost of the valve just in case it was defective
cust approved the additional cost and the part was placed on order the door seal came in with a couple of days but the valve was on back order customer called in a couple of weeks later was told that the valve was still on back order at that time she desided to not have the unit repaired and demanded that we return her trip fee which we refused we canceled the back order and returned her seal to the mfg and closed the work order. the trip fee is non refundable and we will not refund it to the customer

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Diversified Electronics technician came to my house on 6/25/16 to diagnose the problem with my leaking dishwasher which had damaged the hardwood floor around it. My son had "uninstalled" the unit to allow for drying underneath thereby preventing further damage to the hardwood floor. The technician looked ONLY at the unit while uninstalled. He made no attempt to reconnect the water line for further inspection. He didn't look at any other part of the unit, stopping only with the door seal inspection. Immediately when the tech left my home, my son "reinstalled" the unit to get it out of the way in my very small work space. As he did, he noticed the water line had water dripping off it. He IMMEDIATELY called the tech's cell phone and told him (NOT a couple of days later) what he had seen. If one were to inspect the tech's phone call log, it would be evident that is when he was notified. The tech was not even 10 minutes away and could have returned to recheck! I have since had another company come out to repair my dishwasher. That technician found the case break to be entirely wet and the source of the water damage to my floor! Had the Diversified technician done a THOROUGH inspection of my dishwasher, he would have found the case break to be the problem! I approved the estimate for replacing the door seal assuming the technician was knowledgeable and knew what he was doing!
The reason I feel I am owed a refund is because the technician didn't do a complete inspection of my unit and failed to determine the real problem. I don't feel I should pay for something I did not get (i.e. incomplete inspection of my dishwasher and incorrect diagnosis of it's problem).

07/25/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Diversified Electronics did not fix the problem and charged $356.51. The first time they came out to service my fridge, it cost $87.80 for the service call and they said they would order a part. They came back and replaced the motherboard for an additional $268.71 but that did not fix the problem. They came back to tell me that it was a sealed fridge and that they couldn't do anything about it. In actuality it was never the motherboard so I paid for a service and a part that was not needed. So in total I paid $356.51 for something they did not fix and then they blocked my calls so I couldn't ask for a partial refund. It is extremely unprofessional for a company to block calls just because the customer wants an answer and they are scared to deal with problems. I was very polite on the phone so this must be their usual way of escaping situations where they have to own up to a poor job.

Desired Settlement
Since they did not fix the problem and I had to pay $164.84 for a motherboard I did not need (which I'm not sure they even replaced because I did not see the part), I would like the cost of the motherboard refunded to me as well as the labor. They can have the motherboard back as it did no good. I will cover the original service call of $87.80 but would like to be refunded $268.71 which was for the motherboard I did not need and the labor for installing it.

Business Response
the customer had additional problems with the unit a sealed system issue. the mother board was replaced because the fans were not comming on this fixed that issue but other problems were discovered. We worked with ** tech support on this issue to resolve her problem. the orignal board in her unit was returned to ** as a core if the customer wants to send us the new board we can return it to lg for credit and we can refund her the cost of the part but that will leave her with no motherboard installed in the unit. as an additional note our office has no way of blocking calls.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electric Equipment-Service & Repair, Appliances-Small-Repairs/Dealers, Television & Radio-Service & Repair, Appliances-Small-Service & Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/13/2004Business started: 01/01/1992Business started locally: 01/01/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Business License/Marion County
24 Courthouse Sq., Rm 101
Jasper, TN 37347
(423) 942-2515

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger Vandergriff (Owner)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Electric Equipment-Service & Repair, Appliances-Small-Repairs/Dealers, Television & Radio-Service & Repair, Appliances-Small-Service & Repair

Products & Services

This company offers repair service on consumer electronics, appliances and industrial electronics.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Diversified Electronics

237 S Cedar Ave

South Pittsburg, TN 37380-1303

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 237 S Cedar Ave 

    South Pittsburg, TN 37380-1303(423) 837-1740
    (888) 654-8828
    Fax: (877) 290-5352

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chattanooga, TN serving Southeast Tennessee and Northwest Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Diversified Electronics is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 654-8828
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Electric Equipment-Service & Repair

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.