BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Gary Lewis Contracting, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (423) 855-2525Fax: (423) 855-2969View Additional Phone Numbers3917 Volunteer Drive, Ste A1, ChattanoogaTN 37416-3876 Send email to Gary Lewis Contracting, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Gary Lewis Contracting, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Gary Lewis Contracting, Inc.'s rating include:

  • 4 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.

Factors that raised Gary Lewis Contracting, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Gary Lewis Contracting, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
05/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hire for a complete kitchen renovation, after our refrigerator leaked and ruined our floors and some cabinets.
Not enough characters to convey all the problems. This started kid May, 2014. We were to get new tile flooring, make laundry room smaller, new cabinets, new accent tile, new back splash, ceilings scraped and finished, gas line ran for new gas stove, pot filler put in over stove, kitchen and dining painted, new pendant lights, recessed lights, granite counter tops. The project was to take 4 weeks and took 3 months and still we are having problems. We have had to "accept"all the mistakes made because Gary doesn't hire reputable contractors. Floor was repaired three times, then taken up and completely redone, causing an unbelievable mess after everything was cleaned and put back in place. The pot filler never hung correctly as here wasn't a brace put in so it had to be removed, not before shooting water over the Whole kitchen twice. The refrigerator cabinet was just cut in two because the granite had been installed not allowing for the fridge to be installed. The back splash wash installed three times, after we had to take down and clean each tile by hand to try to save $ as we would have to re buy the tiles. The accent tile wasn't installed properly over the stove and looks like my grandchild installed it, because it had to be redone three times and the size changed. The ceiling is cracking, the decorative hood is cracking, the crown mold at top of cabinets, which is not as wide as what we had requested, but we had to accept because cabinets weren't ordered i in right size. One wall the cabinets were to cover the whole wall, but the company couldn't make them with one door that size, so instead of discussing with me and going with two door or even three, the cabinet size was made smaller, leaving a jacked up look for the tile placement. The installer didn't know where to put it either. The hardware for the under mount sink was not correct or installed correctly, resulting in a flood in our new cabinets again., 6 weeks ago. That got repaired and I don't know if that put air inline or what, but later that day or sink regurgitated the most vile smelling and looking slime, when we ran the washing machine and the washing machine flooded the kitchen floor. A repairman has been out for our stove and said the gas line was not installed properly, it was run off our gas logs, instead of its own line and there isn't enough line to pull the stove out to work on it, you have to lay on the counter top. To our knowledge no permits were requested for any of the projects that we are thinking should have required them.

Desired Settlement
Since there isn't one thing that we can think of that was done correctly &/or not damaged, we feel 100% refund so that we can get our kitchen done correctly. Gary is the nicest guy in the world, however has no business sense. He hires sub par contractors and then when backed against wall hires better contractors, however then you are left with the best they can do because of the mess they were left with. That is just not acceptable anymore, it's been ten months and there is still problems happening and many sub standard projects left.

05/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
GLC was paid to repair a leak in the roof and after **** ***** was paid, it was discovered that the leak had not in fact been repaired.
We paid GLC to fix a leak in the roof near the chimney around June of 2014. It cost approximately $450.00. A few months later, it was discovered that a water stain had reformed in the exact same spot on our ceiling as before. I called Gary Lewis in the Fall of 2014 to come take a look at it, and he admitted that the leak was still there. I also discovered that dark shingles had been used in place of our lighter colored shingles. Needless to say, it looked tacky. Gary Lewis said he would get his guy to finish the job correctly as soon as the correctly matched shingles came in (they had to be ordered.) Fast forward to March 2015 and Gary Lewis has yet to get someone to repair the problem that he has already been paid for. The excuse that I am currently getting is that he can't get in touch with his roof guy who is also in possession of the shingles that were special ordered. That is the latest excuse. I would appreciate a return phone call, but 95 percent of the time, I do not get one. I have called many times, but it seems that Gary Lewis is ignoring me. I can only assume, based upon the way I have been treated thus far, that I am not an important customer (hopefully GLC doesn't treat all of its customers this way), that I possibly have been lied to, and that GLC is not a company that people should trust to do home repair.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a full refund of the payment we made to GLC to repair the leak as well as the shingles that were originally on our roof since they were expensive, relatively new, and actually matched the rest of our roof.

Business Response
Roofer went out on 3/30 and fixed the area. We will follow up to insure no leaks after 1st good rain.

Gary Lewis
Owner

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have seen the roof (from the ground) and it looks like the shingles are the same color again (at least those I can see from that vantage). I do not know exactly what "fixed the area" means since I have yet to receive a call from Gary Lewis. I received a phone call from an unknown number a few days ago, but apparently whomever it was didn't think the call was important enough to warrant leaving a message on my voicemail. Also, I don't appreciate that I wasn't notified that someone was going to come to our house to do repairs without even so much as a phone call or text to notify me of this. I would definitely NOT recommend this business to anybody, and in the future, if I have further home repair issues, I will hopefully have better luck finding a contractor who can stand behind his/her work.

Final Business Response
We sincerely apologize for the lack of communication on our end. We sent a follow up letter to the homeowner once the project was completed on March 30th. We did try and call before starting the work. However, she is correct. He failed to leave a voice mail. I have addressed the issue with my workers on the importance of leaving detailed messages and getting either a recorded verbal or signed work authorization before any work begins. The roof has been repaired. We stand behind our work and will honor her 1 year warranty as needed.

01/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had a hot water heater that leaked and damaged the floor, they replaced the boards and floor, but never finished the job.
When they were here they replaced my boards in the floor and put down new vinyl flooring, but never came back to finish the job, I have bubbles in my floor and the base boards are lose, never got finished, I understand at that time we had a tornado that came through, when that happened they never came back. I waited a whole year I kept calling and the guy I talked to was ****, he was in charge of this job..the owner won't talk to me keeps sending me to ****.he kept saying we can't put a new floor in, I kept telling him I don't want a new floor as this one was, I just want it finished. They will not finish my kitchen floor, please just finish it. That's all I want.Thank you

Desired Settlement
All I want is for them to finish my floor, if they don't want to finish then yes, they need to refund me so I can find sometime else to do the job. I am on a fixed income..

Business Response
In order for Mrs. ********* to save her $500 deductible (as she said she couldn't afford) we gave her credits on the 2nd water leak from the water heater. We pulled back the lose lay vinyl instead of replacing it as the Adjuster's estimate showed. We did the necessary repairs to the sub floor and then laid the vinyl back down (as was approved by her adjuster). She called about a crease and bubbles in the vinyl which was caused because her son stepped on the vinyl after being advised that the floor had to set and should not be walked on to prevent damage. They were reminded several times. I even brought in another vinyl flooring specialist to look at it after she realized her son caused the damage. It was his opinion that there was nothing that cold be done to make the flooring look any better than it does now - without her paying for new vinyl (which would have to be at her expense as the insurance claim will not approve payment). The lose lay vinyl she has isn't meant to be installed wet, dried, detached and re-glued. We feel we have done everything possible to settle this claim. We completed all the work paid for. 2524

08/05/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
**** was hired to complete a renovation on a home. The quality of work was poor, it took him 3 times as long as he said it would & quality very poor! **** has poor management skills, extremely poor communication skills, & he doesn't follow up on the work his contractor's perform nor does he seem to think that a customer should be able to expect a job to be completed correctly before he is paid in full. After **** was paid in full he would not even return calls after MANY attempts when there were significant issues that needed to be addressed. First of all **** was responsible to get the Certificate of Occupancy once the job was complete & he did not do that. I found out only when the house was under contract to sell that not only had **** not obtained the COO but the electrical inspection had never been completed (**** was hired to redo the entire electrical system in the house). It was discovered that the reason the final electrical inspection was not completed was because **** had not paid his electrical contractor $5500 that was owed. Keep in mind that **** had been paid for what was supposed to be completion of the electrical work by me several weeks prior to this. When the Buyer's Home Inspection revealed several problems with the home with major plumbing issues, structural problems with the kitchen floor which **** was supposed to repair but just put laminate over, & other miscellaneous problems he wouldn't even give me the courtesy of a return call & again I called & texted him several times but no response. The only time **** will be responsive in fact is when he wants paid, then he will be aggressive but I never saw that quality out of him any other time. We did a walk through with **** about 4 times & he still didn't get everything completed. The issues like the plumbing were not evident in the walk through. The attention to detail & the amount of unfinished items after **** said that he was complete with the job clearly indicated that **** didn't even go through the house & look it over for himself. It was seriously ridiculous with 1/2" gaps between the vinyl & trim, major paint issues, roof issues on an addition he had to rebuild. The quality of the work was very poor. The area in the kitchen floor that he put new vinyl over, someone heavy could have dropped through the floor. Due to **** not having the decency to stand behind his work nor the courtesy to return my calls I had to get someone else to complete this work. I also had to contact codes myself to get the COO completed & ensure the electrical inspection was completed in order for me to be able to sell the home. I also had to engage with the electrical subcontractor that **** hired & did not pay & once I followed up on this then **** went ahead & paid this subcontractor.

Desired Settlement
The cost to redo work that **** was paid to complete correctly was over $1000. I would consider $1000 satisfactory resolution.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors-General, Windows - Installation/Service, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Decks, Home Builders, Waterproofing Contractors, Excavating Contractors, Doors-Repair, Demolition Contractors, Sun Rooms, Concrete Contractors, Building Contractors, Bathroom Remodeling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/19/2004Business started: 01/01/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State/TN
312 8th Avenue North 6th Floor, Snodgrass Tower
Nashville, TN 37243-0001
(615) 741-2286

Department of Commerce & Insurance/TN
500 James Robertson Parkway Davy Crockett Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243-1204
(615) 741-2241
http://www.tennessee.gov/commerce

Hamilton County Business License
(423) 209-6500

BBB records show a license number of 0459187 for this company, issued by Secretary of State/TN. The expiration date of this license is 04/01/2015.

BBB records show a license number of 51760 for this company, issued by Department of Commerce & Insurance/TN. Their web address is http://www.tennessee.gov/commerce. The expiration date of this license is 01/31/2017. Contractor.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Lewis (President)Mr. Matt Holland
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

Contractors-General, Windows - Installation/Service, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Decks, Home Builders, Waterproofing Contractors, Excavating Contractors, Doors-Repair, Demolition Contractors, Sun Rooms, Concrete Contractors, Building Contractors, Bathroom Remodeling

Products & Services

This company offers general contracting, home building, roofing, siding, decks, concrete contracting, excavation, demolition, sun rooms, floor covering, waterproofing, windows, doors, and remodeling of kitchen and bathrooms. GLC also offers water extraction, mold smoke and ordor cleaning along with genteral anc carpet cleaning

Industry Tips
Home Improvement

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Gary Lewis Contracting, Inc.

3917 Volunteer Drive, Ste A1

Chattanooga, TN 37416-3876

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3917 Volunteer Drive, Ste A1 

    Chattanooga, TN 37416-3876(423) 855-5553

  • P.O. Box 23562 

    Chattanooga, TN 37422

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chattanooga, TN serving Southeast Tennessee and Northwest Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Gary Lewis Contracting, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (423) 855-5553
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Contractors-General

Home Improvement
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.