BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Davidson Contractors, LLC

Phone: (423) 313-2297Fax: (706) 965-4103View Additional Phone Numbers282 East Nickajack Road, RinggoldGA 30736

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 06/03/2015 this company's accreditation in BBB was revoked by BBB's Board of Directors due to failure to respond to one or more customer complaints filed with the BBB and failure to eliminate the underlying cause of complaints on file with the BBB.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Davidson Contractors, LLC's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to 3 complaints filed against business.
  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.
  • Failure to have a required competency license.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Davidson Contractors, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
06/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had a new home built and have had many issues with the home. I have contacted **** ***** and ***** ******** and cannot get the issues resolved.
I hired Davidson Construction to build a house located at *** *** **** **** ****** *** ** ********* ** XXXXX on 01/22/2013. I moved in the house in June 2013. I was told that anything found wrong with the house would be fixed. Before I even moved in there was an issue with the hardwood floors. **** ***** told me that if they did not straighten out they they would rip all of them up and replace them. They have only replaced a few boards thus far, and the floors are still not right. The right foyer/living room has dropped a 1/2" pressing the floor down. The floor is noticeably uneven. I have had a couple of flooring techs to look at the floor and they both informed me that the hardwood is installed in the wrong direction. The toilet plumbing in the master bath was not glued and fell sending raw sewage underneath the house. When it was discovered the plumbers came to fix it but left the sewage. The plumber told us there was about 70% of the insulation that had fallen. ******** came to fix the problem but could not get under the house because of the sewage. I called **** and he said it was the plumbers job to clean the sewage, so I called the plumber and they said it was ****'s problem. I finally paid my employee's to clean the mess. The french drain under the house is not installed properly, the metal roof is cut too short all around the house, several panels of roofing do not match, Interior door hinge finish does not match the doorknob finish, some doors have a 5/8" to 1/4' gap and some doors are warped, dish washer is not secure to the counter top and there is a plastic screw that goes on bottom of dish washer that was found mangled in the garbage disposal that needs to be replaced. I have already changed the master bath's toilet seat because of yellow discoloration. In addition to the many issues in the house I was told that the construction interest was going to be 6% and when we went to closing it was 9%. I was also told that ***** **** ******* **** was where the construction loan came from but at closing ***** ******** informed me that he was the bank. I was lied to over the percentage of interest and also where the loan came from. I have also been lied to about how things that are wrong with my house will be fixed. I even hired a contractor to come in and list all the things that he could see was wrong with this house. He compiled a list and letter stating all the things that needed to be fixed. We sent it certified to the address listed on the BBB website and it was returned.

Desired Settlement
I want everything that is wrong with this house to be fixed correctly. I do not want it pieced together. **** has proposed to piece the roof by extensions to make it fit, but I feel that because this is a brand new home this will devalue it. Every time I have called **** about any problem he either does not answer or if he does he always says it will be next week. He has sent a few guys to try and fix various things, such as the master bath door which was warped so they replaced it, but they replaced it with another warped one. They have tried jacking up the house to try and straighten up the floor. This has not helped and **** does not seem to want to get any of this fixed. I want all the hinges replaced to match the door hardware. Doors replaced that are warped or too short. Everything. I also seek reimbursement for paying to have the sewage cleaned up underneath my house which cost me $328.

Business Response
In November of 2013, ******* ******* a state approved inspector, went to the *******'s residence and compiled a punch out list to be completed by my company. We were progressing on all items on the list by the end of November. Mr. ****** came back to inspect our work, asking that we route out the French Drain. We hired **** ****** to complete that job.
Since the original agreed to punch out list, the home owners have added items, demanding that we return and complete supposed needed repairs.
In our estimation, we have finished all necessary work and do not intend to return to the *******'s residence.
**** *****
Partner Davidson Contractors, LLC

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The punch out list mentioned by Mr. ***** was never completed. I have a copy of that list and can prove that only 2 of the problems on the list have been addressed. Also I would like to state that I had to pay someone else to sterilize the crawl space after the faulty plumbing was corrected, as the plumbers nor Mr. ***** would do it. Also part of the other problem that was only half way corrected was a moisture barrier that was not covering the entire area. I had to purchase one myself and pay someone else to put it down. I am going to mail a copy of this punch list. I do not at all feel this matter is resolved and I open my home for anyone to come see for themselves.

09/03/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
**** ***** at ******** ************ is a contractor for this company. He does not fulfill his contract requirements on re-models. He is a big talker but actions speak louder than words. He told me several times that he would come and do some work that he didn't do while the work was being done. He no longer answers my phone calls or returns messages. He got his money and that's the last I've seen of him. He also schedules appointments for people for estimates and never shows up. Please people be careful if this man does work for you.

Desired Settlement
Desired Settlement: Finsh the job
Finish the job that I paid you my hard earned money for !

06/03/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to provide Warranty policy which they stated they paid for. Make repairs due to structural defects.
I contacted Mr ***** ******** on 5/20/14 to discuss the problem of a failing retaining wall adjacent to my walkout basement. Mr ******** sent an employee to look at my wall on about 5/25/14. When I next spoke to MR ******** he stated I would need to contact **** ******** *** to send a representative to my home and determine if they would cover the repair. I contacted **** ******** co. and they had no record of any warranty coverage on my home. I then contacted Mr ******** again and explained what the warranty co. had said. He then suggested I contact ******* ***** co. as he stated they would have record since he gave them the check to cover the warranty expenses. I then contacted ******* ***** *** and they stated there was no record of MR ******** having paid for my warranty coverage. I then contacted MR ******** again and he then said maybe I didn't want the warranty and that's why He didn't pay for it. I told him I was not going to argue but why would anyone refuse a free warranty someone else was paying for. I asked Mr ******** if he would repair the retaining wall and he stated he would not.

Desired Settlement
Davidson Contractors to purchase warranty coverage policy to cover any future 2-10 year warranty problems and expenses as they arise until Nov. 24, 2020. Davidson Contractors, LLC. should make all needed repairs to my retaining wall and attachments and bear all expenses in doing so within the next 90 days.

06/03/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Davidson Contractors ignore our phone calls about unfinished items in our home recently purchased from them.

Re: Complaint regarding Product/Services & Guarantee/Warranty Issues
Davidson Contractors
*** **** ********* ****
********* ** XXXXX

Dear Better Business Bureau:

We are writing in regard to Davidson Contractors (Vice President **** ***** - who was introduced to us as **** ********- and Owner ***** ********), *** **** ********* ***** ********* ** XXXXX, phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX, which is a business accredited with the Better Business Bureau. We purchased a new home, **** ****** ****** ******* ******* ** XXXXX, Lot # *** in the ******* ************ from Davidson Contractors in August 2014. The house came with a one year warranty.
Since we closed on the house and moved in, we discovered numerous things about the structure which were either incomplete or defective. We have made numerous calls to both **** ******** and ***** ******** from December 19, 2014 to date, virtually all of which have gone unreturned. They have sporadically sent repairmen and some items have been taken care of but some items remain incomplete or defective and we are getting virtually no response.
We FINALLY were able to speak to **** ******** in mid-late March and he came to the house on March 23 to review our list. Within a few days, ***** and an assistant came to replace some toe molding and finish some painting items. Since then, despite more attempted contact with Davidson Contractors, no additional repairmen have been sent and the remaining items are still unfinished or defective.

The remaining items to be completed or repaired include:

A bad window frame in the Master Bedroom
A double under counter light in the kitchen...the bulbs continue burning out
Sealing a crack in the driveway
Caulking the steps at the front porch and the back porch
Weather stripping on the screen door/back porch
Garage door does not respond to the opener unless we are directly in front of it
A squeak in the floor outside the Master Bedroom door

We have been told by some of the men who have come to fix some previous items that this avoidance by Davidson Contractors is not uncommon. These painters and repairmen report that numerous Davidson Contractors customers are being treated with the same lack of response as we have met. Although the remaining list of items to be completed or repaired is not lengthy, it is no less frustrating to have such incomplete and defective items in our brand new home. We contend that the lack of response of Davidson Contractors in both responding to our phone calls and more importantly completing or repairing incomplete and defective items in the house constitutes bad faith and is in violation of the warranty that was included with the sale of the house.
As a final step before taking legal action, we are filing this complaint with the Better Business Bureau with whom Davidson Contractors is registered in hopes that they will make things right. Until then, we request that their A+ rating be downgraded and a record of this complaint placed in their public file.

Sincerely,

********* and ******* ******
**** ****** ****** ***
******* *** XXXXX
Lot # *** *** *******

cc: Davidson Contractors

Desired Settlement
The remaining items to be completed or repaired include:

A bad window frame in the Master Bedroom
A double under counter light in the kitchen...the bulbs continue burning out
Sealing a crack in the driveway
Caulking the steps at the front porch and the back porch
Weather stripping on the screen door/back porch
Garage door does not respond to the opener unless we are directly in front of it
A squeak in the floor outside the Master Bedroom door

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors-General

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/30/2006Business started: 01/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State/TN
312 8th Avenue North 6th Floor, Snodgrass Tower
Nashville, TN 37243-0001
(615) 741-2286

Catoosa County Commisoner
(706) 965-2500
http://www.catoosa.com

Department of Commerce & Insurance/TN
500 James Robertson Parkway Davy Crockett Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243-1204
(615) 741-2241
http://www.tennessee.gov/commerce

BBB records show a license number of 511122 for this company, issued by Secretary of State/TN.

Their web address is http://www.catoosa.com. The expiration date of this license is 12/31/2015.

BBB records show a license number of 56872 for this company, issued by Department of Commerce & Insurance/TN. Their web address is http://www.tennessee.gov/commerce. Contractor.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Mason (Vice President)Mr. Lance Davidson (Owner)Mr. Phillip Davidson
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Contractors-General

Products & Services

Davidson Contractors, LLC are general contractors.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Davidson Contractors, LLC

282 East Nickajack Road

Ringgold, GA 30736

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 282 East Nickajack Road 

    Ringgold, GA 30736(423) 313-2297
    (423) 667-3298
    Fax: (706) 965-4103

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chattanooga, TN serving Southeast Tennessee and Northwest Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Davidson Contractors, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (423) 667-3298
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Contractors-General

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.