BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southeast Tennessee and Northwest Georgia

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/18/2012

Croxall Construction Company, LLC

(423) 326-8038P.O. Box 5585, ChattanoogaTN 37406 Send email to Croxall Construction Company, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/18/2012

BBB has determined that Croxall Construction Company, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Croxall Construction Company, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
06/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: First week of December, I complained about the crack between the wall and counter top. (Refer to pictures) February 1, counter top was splitting. (Refer to pictures) February 3, informed Croxall about problem. Company sent someone to fix it. But it was not fixed properly, because it was still split. (Refer to pictures) I then had a gentleman from ********* ********* to come and look at the problem. He said it was poorly constructed and that's when he told me it was out of square with the counter top. (Refer to pictures) He said to fix the problem, I would have to put in a new counter top. So we did. (refer to pictures) The cost was $550.00
***** *******

Initial Business Response
I am writing in response to Mr. *******'s request to be reimbursed by my company for work that he had performed by another cabinet company after we had completed our scope of work. We entered into a contract with Mr. ******* with a specific line item scope of work to be performed on an older home in need of renovation from the mid 1900's. We completed the work and received a call requesting us to review a gap between the back splash and the wall on the kitchen counter. In the review, it was concluded that the wall was out of plumb, due to settling, and it would require rebuilding the interior wall to accommodate the difference. We had adjusted to fit as closely as possible given the scope of work and reduced budget requested by the customer. He did not indicate that there was a concern about the sink being square. It is possible to have some play and adjust the position that a sink is in and we would have been happy to review.

In summary, 1)we made many concessions during the process to accommodate requests that were outside the scope of work at no charge; 2) There is an outstanding balance of $400.00 on the contract. Although it is not our policy to approve a client's expenses that we were not notified about, in light of his concern about the workmanship, I am only willing to write off the balance on his account.


Regards,
**** *******


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
1. In Mr. *******'s response, he stated that to fix the problem it would require rebuilding the interior wall to accommodate the difference. If that was true, why did the ********* ********* ******* fix the problem and they did not have to do anything to the wall. (see photos)
2. Mr. ******* had full knowledge of the withholding of the $400.00. He was supposed to have someone come on that Saturday to do the hardwood floors. Mr. ******* also knew of a time schedule that we were on. His person never showed up. We waited for over a week and then I hired **** ***** to do the floors. One week after that, Mr. ******* called to say his floor man would come that Saturday to do the floor. I informed him that the floor was already done. Mr. ******* apologized and said it was a miscommunication on his part. Mr. ******* has never asked for the $400.00. So why is Mr. ******* mentioning an outstanding balance now? He has not contacted us in any way nor has he asked for the money. It is only now since I filed the complaint that Mr. ******* has mentioned it.
My complaint is about the counter top with the split in it that Mr. ******* could not fix.
I have submitted photos and documentation and I believe that I have a strong case. Mr. ******* was paid for the counter top he could not fix. I had to hire another person to put in another counter top. (see photos)
I believe Mr. ******* should reimburse me for the second counter top.
Sincerely,
***** *******

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors-General, Construction & Remodeling Services, Home Improvements- Additions, Home Improvements, Home Builders, Kitchen Remodeling, Bathroom Remodeling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/13/2009Business started: 04/01/2006Business started locally: 04/01/2008
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State/TN
312 8th Avenue North 6th Floor, Snodgrass Tower
Nashville, TN37243-0001
(615) 741-2286

Department of Commerce & Insurance/TN
500 James Robertson Parkway Davy Crockett Parkway
Nashville, TN37243-1204
(615) 741-2241
http://www.tennessee.gov/commerce

Hamilton County Business License
(423) 209-6500

BBB records show a license number of 684116 for this company, issued by Secretary of State/TN. The expiration date of this license is 04/01/2014.

BBB records show a license number of 62337 for this company, issued by Department of Commerce & Insurance/TN. Their web address is http://www.tennessee.gov/commerce. The expiration date of this license is 05/31/2015. Contractor.

The expiration date of this license is 12/01/2014.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Croxall (Owner)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Contractors-General, Construction & Remodeling Services, Home Improvements- Additions, Home Improvements, Home Builders, Kitchen Remodeling, Bathroom Remodeling

Industry Tips
BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Buying An Unbuilt Home
Home Improvements
Safe & Sound: Securing Your Home
Storm Clean-up Schemes Cause Additional Heartache
Winterizing Your Home
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • P.O. Box 5585 

    Chattanooga, TN 37406(423) 326-8038

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chattanooga, TN serving Southeast Tennessee and Northwest Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Croxall Construction Company, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.