BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/16/2012

Colman Hochman & Associates, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (423) 320-4600Fax: (423) 238-3687View Additional Phone NumbersPO BOX, ChattanoogaTN 37422 Send email to Colman Hochman & Associates, Inc.View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/16/2012

BBB has determined that Colman Hochman & Associates, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Colman Hochman & Associates, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Colman Hochman & Associates, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sept 2013 - June 2014.
Management slow to respond to mold, bed bug and repair issues. When complaint made, I was given a 2 hour eviction notice.
I recently was a long term resident in your ***** ******* ***** facility. My room was infested with bed bugs and mold. After numerous complaints to your staff the problem was blamed on me. I finally was able to catch 9 total live bed bugs after photographing the crawling on my bed (they woke me crawling on me during the night). The staff at that point took over a week to respond and was able to personally themselves find bed bugs. They sprayed around around the bed. When they were spraying, I showed the maintenance man all the mold in the room, which he agreed was a problem, but did nothing. After complaining to you, management informed me I was being charged for the bug treatment (over $100) in addition to my rent and demanded I leave immediately when I could not pay. I had been a good paying resident for over 9 months, was offered no fire proof to store my belongings, I paid no taxes, received mail at the room and food services are not offered on site so, according to state law, I was a tenant, not a boarder. Is there anything you are willing to do to rectify this horrible situation?

Desired Settlement
All monies paid since first documentation I was treated for bites, illegal eviction compensation $1000 and pain and suffering compensation.

Business Response
Residence at Cloud Spring Lodge began in September 2013. At registration they stated that they had 1 dog. This proved to be false, they had 2 dogs with one expecting soon. Although an additional fee is required for more than one pet, they refused to pay the additional fee.

The first time a bed bug complaint was made an immediate inspection was made of the premises including the bed and covers and no presence of bed bugs was detected. However, it was quite apparent that the room was infested with fleas. When this was pointed out to them they denied that their dogs had fleas while at the same time admitting that they did not treat their dogs for fleas, ticks or other insects, although the dogs were allowed to roam the wooded area near the Lodge.

Our policy with bed bugs is to remedy the situation as soon as possible as to prevent the movement of the bugs into adjacent rooms. And although their previous complaints had proved to be false upon finding a single suspicious bug we began our normal procedure to counter any infestation. This consisted of removing all furniture, sweeping floor and removing of a massive amount of trash and garbage as since the birth of the puppies they would not allow housekeeping in the room to clean on a regular schedule. The room, mattress and bed frame were then steamed cleaned and the room and all furnishings sprayed with repellant. While all of this was going on their clothes were gathered up and taken to our commercial laundry where they were washed and dried. In total approximately 20 regular washer loads of laundry.

Because of the health threat and the cost of remediation we check all rooms thoroughly after turnover and before re-renting for bed bugs. We also have an outside service providing monthly pest control.

Up until the time they did not allow housekeeping in to clean on a regular basis, there was no mold; and at the time of the complete cleaning of their room on June 19, 2014 there was no mold either. However when they left there was mold that could have easily been taken care of by wiping down of the shower after use but the stench of the dog feces left on the floor of the room was overwhelming and nauseating.

Beginning in March 2014 they had started delaying their weekly rent payments and when pressed for their rent payment - on time - chose instead to leave.........they were NOT EVICTED nor were they ever told to "pay up or get out"! Tenants have obligations also under state law............to pay their rent in a timely manner, to not allow any offensive odors to escape the premises, to name a few that they did not live up too.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Construction & Remodeling Services, Home Builders

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/01/1979Business started: 01/01/1963
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State/TN
312 8th Avenue North 6th Floor, Snodgrass Tower
Nashville, TN 37243-0001
(615) 741-2286

Department of Commerce & Insurance/TN
500 James Robertson Parkway Davy Crockett Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243-1204
(615) 741-2241
http://www.tennessee.gov/commerce

Hamilton County Business License
(423) 209-6500

BBB records show a license number of 14764 for this company, issued by Secretary of State/TN. Corporation.

BBB records show a license number of 14674 for this company, issued by Department of Commerce & Insurance/TN. Their web address is http://www.tennessee.gov/commerce. The expiration date of this license is 11/30/2016. Contractor.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1972, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Colman S. Hochman (President)
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services, Home Builders

Products & Services

This company specializes in handicap renovations such as wheel chair ramps, handicap showers, etc.

Alternate Business Names
Hochman Family Partners, LP, C & L Rental Properties
Industry Tips
Home Improvement Licenses
LocationsX

2 Locations

  • PO BOX 

    Chattanooga, TN 37422(423) 320-4600
    (423) 238-3687

  • 8306 WATERS BEND LANE 

    OOLTEWAH, TN 37363Fax: (423) 238-3687

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chattanooga, TN serving Southeast Tennessee and Northwest Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Colman Hochman & Associates, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (423) 238-3687
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Construction & Remodeling Services

Home Improvement Licenses
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.