BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/03/2012

A-1 Remodeling by Randall J. Smith

Phone: (423) 710-4226Fax: (423) 531-2006View Additional Phone Numbers2288 Gunbarrel Road, 154-110, ChattanoogaTN 37421 Send email to A-1 Remodeling by Randall J. SmithView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/03/2012

BBB has determined that A-1 Remodeling by Randall J. Smith meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised A-1 Remodeling by Randall J. Smith's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on A-1 Remodeling by Randall J. Smith

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/07/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
***** ***** charged me thousands for a completely awful unfinished bathroom remodel, never gave me back my money, never fixed it, never apologized.
They were consistently late. They continued to pull in and out of my neighbors driveway. They were not respectful in any way. He would show up early, unannounced. They left a trailer in our front yard for weeks that ruined our grass. They finished almost a week after the quoted date. They would not give me a discount for going over, even though we had agreed on that. After they left, I went up to turn on the water and it didn't work. They either checked the plumbing and knew it didn't work, or they didn't check to see if the plumbing worked at all. They also didn't finish the tile. He told me that he would come back by to give me an estimate on repairs. When I called to say there was a problem, and I needed him to stand behind his work, he said it would cost me more money to fix what I had already paid him for. I waited sixty days to leave a review to see if he would call to make things right and he has yet to reach out to me.

Desired Settlement
***** ***** charged me for an unfinished job. I paid him too early, (I'm 24 and just bought my first house and made the mistake of paying him before the job was done.) I called him the second I saw the bathroom, he wasn't even at the end of the road, and he told me the best he could do was give me a quote to repair it.

Business Response
BBB Case # XXXXX
In regards to this complaint the original written proposal was composed on September 17, 2012, outlining the details of the project and then modified to suit client's needs as of October 11, 2012. The project is for a tub/shower modification in the 2nd floor rented and occupied apartment in the client's home

PROPOSAL
All materials are to be furnished by client (name left out). This bid is for labor only

1. Construct new wall on top of existing knee wall for shower water valve and trim
2. Installation of plumbing water valve will be an additional expense and the cost is to be determined
3. New wall will have a wooden shelf on toilet side.
4. Shower side of new wall and existing tile walls will be covered with cement board.
5. A soap bottle shelf will be incorporated into wall.
6. Toilet side of new wall will be covered and finished with drywall and left ready for your painter.
7. Shower area will be tiled and grouted.
8. Plumbing trim will be installed.

The allegation of this project being "a complete bathroom remodel" is inconsistent with the written outline presented and work guide as used for the project.
Most all materials were furnished by client - specifically the tub filler/shower valve which had been purchased on line from Amazon according to the client. We had discussion about the unit and its quality which was substandard but due to its style, it was what they wanted and we installed it. We used the tub filler as our water source throughout the tile installation which operated correctly and only after the tile work was completed was the shower tube installed - it was a surface mount installation on top of the tile running from the top of the tub filler up the wall to the shower head using a pre-bent pipe for the water supply - interesting to see but not practical for use. It was at this point that we realized the diverter on the new valve would not work, preventing water to flow thru the tube to the shower head, although the tub filler worked correctly. We researched for a repair solution through our local suppliers without any positive results and finally went thru the vender on Amazon with the vendor saying to replace the valve since there wasn't a repair for the unit.
The client was told that there would be a labor charge to change out the valve since we didn't make the material selection or purchase and the plumbing connection was inside the newly tiled wall. A specific dollar amount was never stated or implied. It was recommended that a better quality tub/shower valve would be a prudent investment and that we would start the repair the next day.
We had started the repair work on October 11, 2012, and were paid on October 23, 2012. There was no front money charged due to a previous business relationship with the client. Payment was made in four credit card transactions according to our credit card processing company records within approximately 6 minutes as follows:
XX-XX-XX at 4:45 pm using card ending in ** for $1,200
XX-XX-XX at 4:49 pm using card ending in ** for $500
XX-XX-XX at 4:50 pm using card ending in ** for $250
XX-XX-XX at 4:51 pm using card ending in ** for $250
Our offer to make the needed plumbing repairs for an additional charge was declined at the time with the issue being made that we had interrupted the client's tenant too much throughout the period of repair and installation. The tenant's job required us to work around his schedule which is why the job took as long as it did instead of us being able to work full days without interruption. After we had started the project we were informed that the client had made an arrangement with the tenant that if our work took over so many days that the client would refund or not charge a portion of the rent to the tenant. We were asked to cover this expense if it became an issue but since this request was made after we had started the project we declined. However, we did work diligently to complete the job as soon as possible working with their tenant's schedule.
My subcontractor for the project, on his own, brought his utility trailer to the job site to remove a large quantity of debris that the client had accumulated prior to us starting this project. I didn't charge for the debris removal and I don't believe the subcontractor charged the client either. Since we started on October 11, 2012, and completed it October 23, 2012, it's difficult to understand the allegation of "they left a trailer in our front yard for weeks that ruined our grass". The residence is located on a public street within the city limits of Chattanooga, TN. My subcontractor did turn around in the neighbor's driveway. The next day, the neighbor asked the client to inform us that they did not want anyone to use their driveway for turning. We obliged and didn't use it again.
This complaint is dated August 30, 2013, exactly 311 days after our completion of October 23, 2012. I have not been contacted by the client since then and she has/had my phone number, mailing address, and email address.
The client lives in the same residence where we made the modifications and would check our work daily along with her companion and the tenant. It is difficult to comprehend that the project was not complete at the time of payment or that she didn't know exactly what was or wasn't finished. The allegation of being at the end of the road and being notified that there was a problem just doesn't coincide with the events as they unfolded. When we were paid, the client was thanked for the business and told that if there was a concern about anything we did that we would take care of the repair less the shower valve replacement since it wasn't our selection or purchase. If there is anything else that we did that's not been tampered or modified by someone else, then we will still honor the pledge to make it right.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Construction & Remodeling Services, Contractors- Flooring, Shelving, Screen Enclosures, Windows, Storm Windows & Doors, Vinyl Flooring, Flooring - Non Ceramic Tile, Flooring - Ceramic Tile, Floor Covering-Hardwood, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Remodeling Services, Exterior Buildings-Barn Construction, Basement - Remodeling, Stucco & Exterior Coating Contractors, Roofing Service Consultants, Contractors - Framing, Metal Roof Specialist, Roofing Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Patio & Deck Builders, Home Improvements- Additions, Decks, Home Improvements, Gazebos, Garage Builders, Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing, Contractors - Drywall/Plastering, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Sun Rooms, Carpenters, Building Restoration & Preservation, Outdoor Kitchens, Kitchen & Bath Design, Kitchen Remodeling, Bathroom Remodeling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/24/2011Business started: 01/01/1989Business started locally: 12/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Commerce & Insurance/TN
500 James Robertson Parkway Davy Crockett Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243-1204
(615) 741-2241
http://www.tennessee.gov/commerce

Hamilton County Business License
(423) 209-6500

BBB records show a license number of 6696 for this company, issued by Department of Commerce & Insurance/TN. Their web address is http://www.tennessee.gov/commerce. Home Improvement Contractor.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randall J. Smith (Owner)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services, Contractors- Flooring, Shelving, Screen Enclosures, Windows, Storm Windows & Doors, Vinyl Flooring, Flooring - Non Ceramic Tile, Flooring - Ceramic Tile, Floor Covering-Hardwood, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Remodeling Services, Exterior Buildings-Barn Construction, Basement - Remodeling, Stucco & Exterior Coating Contractors, Roofing Service Consultants, Contractors - Framing, Metal Roof Specialist, Roofing Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Patio & Deck Builders, Home Improvements- Additions, Decks, Home Improvements, Gazebos, Garage Builders, Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing, Contractors - Drywall/Plastering, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, Sun Rooms, Carpenters, Building Restoration & Preservation, Outdoor Kitchens, Kitchen & Bath Design, Kitchen Remodeling, Bathroom Remodeling

Products & Services

This company offers additions & remodeling, kitchens, bathrooms, flooring, siding, interior & exterior trim, carpentry, framing, door & window replacement, roofs, decks, tile, painting, drywall, floor & whole house re-leveling, masonry, concrete, site preparation & excavation, handicap accessibility and insurance claims - water, wind & fire. Budget containments. We fix it all.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for A-1 Remodeling by Randall J. Smith

2288 Gunbarrel Road, 154-110

Chattanooga, TN 37421

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2288 Gunbarrel Road, 154-110 

    Chattanooga, TN 37421(423) 710-4226
    (423) 509-8543
    (423) 509-8546
    (423) 509-8549
    Fax: (423) 531-2006

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chattanooga, TN serving Southeast Tennessee and Northwest Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*A-1 Remodeling by Randall J. Smith is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (423) 509-8543
  • (423) 509-8546
  • (423) 509-8549
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Construction & Remodeling Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.