BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/18/2000

Check Into Cash, Inc.

Phone: (423) 479-2400Fax: (423) 559-1099View Additional Phone Numbers201 Keith St SW Ste 80, ClevelandTN 37311-5867 Send email to Check Into Cash, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/18/2000

BBB has determined that Check Into Cash, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Check Into Cash, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 21 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues9
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 21

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Check Into Cash, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (21)
11/30/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 11/16/15, I received a letter from Check into Cash indicating that I was late with my $582.50 loan payment. Loan #XXXXXXXX.


I have never applied for a loan or received any funds from this company.

Desired Settlement
This is fraud. I want the matter resolved to indicate no loan was made and no money is owed.

Business Response
Loan By Phone of ***** ******* LLC ("Loan by Phone"), is in receipt of the above referenced complaint. Check Into Cash takes all customer complaints seriously, has investigated the matter and appreciates the opportunity to respond.

In the complaint, the customer indicates he did not conduct a transaction with Loan By Phone and only became aware this transaction had taken place when he received a collection letter. Loan By Phone has marked this account as fraudulent.

Please know that Loan By Phone uses credit agencies to verify consumer information, including social security information, before issuing a loan. Please know we will take action so no adverse information is reported to the credit bureaus and will stop all collections on the account. The customer will not be held responsible for this account.

We trust this resolution is acceptable to the customer.

Best Regards,

****** ********

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

01/06/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company in question Checks into Cash/ Loans By Phone has provided a loan under my identity in error. Repetitive phone calls continues.
Received letter indicating a loan for $400 under my name had been provided around 12/8/2014. Loan number XXXXXXXX. Received numerous phone calls to collect on the loan in question. I returned the call and notified them that I had not requested a loan from this company. This was a potential identity theft and they needed to stop contacting me.

Desired Settlement
the company to stop the repetitive phone calls and mailings to collect on a loan that was not mine.

Business Response
Check Into Cash of ********** Inc. ("Check Into Cash"), is in receipt of the complaint. Check Into Cash takes all consumer complaints seriously, is investigating this matter and appreciates the opportunity to respond.

In the complaint the customer alleges having his identity stolen. Furthermore, the customer indicates he never applied for loan with our Check Into Cash. Check Into Cash is investigating the potential fraud. Check Into Cash will send the customer a letter outlining its findings with a copy of the loan agreement for the customer to review and continue his identity theft investigation.

Check Into Cash has ceased all of its collections efforts on this account.

Best Regards,

****** ********
Associate General Counsel

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The company resolution provided is satisfactory..

12/16/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have a payday loan and made an updated payment plan, they have failed to update signed agreement I made with them and are calling and emailing.
I have a payday loan that I amended on November 17, 2014. They have called several times and emailed with the original pay date of December 1 for $300.00. My signed agreement shows $75 Dec 3, Dec 17, Dec 31 and Jan 14. They refuse to acknowledge the new agreement and **** ****** refuses to answer my numerous emails sent on November 25 and 26.

Desired Settlement
I request that they keep with the amended agreement and provide some professional customer service skills. I requested manager call back for 2 days and has been ignored.

Business Response
Check Into Cash takes all customer complaints seriously, has investigated this matter and appreciates the opportunity to respond.

Check Into Cash verified that the customer was able to set up a payment plan for his deferred deposit transaction with payment dates acceptable to the customer. The customer's confusion and complaint was triggered by an automated email regarding the original transaction after the customer had been set up with a payment plan. By the time Check Into Cash received this complaint, this unfortunate overlap had already been communicated to the customer, and it is our understanding that his concerns are now resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ********
Associate General Counsel

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

01/29/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poor customer service, associates lying about ******** system.
I came into the store friday evening 12/11/15 to apply for a loan. Upon having all of my information the associate had stated that I would need to have a bank statement with my current address on it. I never was told that when I called to inquire about a loan. I ran to the bank and got a statement. Upon waiting for an hour to get seen for the loan, I finally was able to have one of the associates by the name of *** run all my info. He ran ******** and it had a company on there that I had never heard of. Since ******** was closed they had stated that they would call tomorrow which would be Saturday 12/12 and that they would let me know first thing in the morning. On 12pm on saturday I had to call check into cash because I hadn't heard anything from them. When I called *** had stated that he had forgot to call ******** and that he would call and get back to me. He then called me back and said ******** was closed and he would get back to me monday. Fast forward to today, 12pm I call check into cash because they had never returned my phone call. *** answers and states he has to call ******** and he would get back with me. He then calls me back and states that my loan is denied because of **** ***** **** on my record. I told him I had never heard of them and that I needed the number to ******** to call them myself. Upon calling ******** they had informed me that ********* **** was just an inquiry and that I have identity theft on my record because someone tried using my social. I did have a judgement from a previous pd loan company back in 2011 but that judgement was paid. So once I get the info from ********* I call *** back at check into cash and let him know that he can call the other pd loan company and that the judgement was satisfied. I said **** ***** **** was an inquiry and it doesn't even belong to me. He said "oh I don't know which pay day loan company it is, but it's still denied, I said let me speak to your manager and he stated his manager said it's denied as well". I have never dealt with such a poor communication and lack of customer service in my life. Check into cash associates treated me like I was a low life and that I didn't know what I was talking about. I use to work for a pd loan company so I know the inside and outsides of how they operate. That is not how customer service should be dealt with. *** had no idea what he was talking about and I guarantee probably never even spoke to ******** because he didn't know what I was talking about. I was completely honest from the get go and had no outstanding loans with any other company due, and they still didn't want to give me a loan. I watched the way they treat customers and it's not good at all.

Desired Settlement
I would like this company to do their research on my apparent outstanding loans from the other pd loan company and from **** ***** and they will find that I'm in good standing. **** ***** *** is an identity theft thing in which I have filed a report on. I don't know why I would be denied for a loan when I have nothing outstanding with other companies and if they did their research they would know that.

Business Response
Check into Case of ********* Inc. ("Check into Cash") is in receipt of the customer complaint referenced above. Check into Cash takes all customer complaints seriously and appreciates the opportunity to respond.

The customer applied for credit at a Check Into Cash location and the application was not approved. As part of the application and underwriting processing, Check Into Cash reached out to ********** an independent third party credit agency, to obtain a consumer report for the customer. Upon reviewing the application in its entirety, Check into Cash was not able to approve the application and issued a Notice of Action Taken to the consumer.

The main factor which lead to the denial was the customer's banking history. The customer provided a bank statement with a limited transaction history in addition to the information provided in the ********* consumer report.

Check into Cash has reminded its employees of the policies used to complete Notices of Action Taken and apologize if we caused any confusion.

Respectfully, Check into Cash is not able to modify any information on the ********* consumer report. We invite the consumer to reach out to ********* to correct or dispute any information on the ********* report. The customer may reach **** ***** ********* the following address: *** *** XXXXXX, *** ****** ** XXXXX, toll-free telephone (XXX) XXX-XXXX.
We are considering this matter closed.

Best regards,

****** ********
Associate General Counsel

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the businesses response as nobody had told me about the bank statement and that's why I was denied. This check into cash had poor customer service and pure laziness of the employees to not research the problem. I solved the solution myself and got the ******** issue removed within 5 minutes, that could have been something the store clerk could have done if they weren't so worried about playing patty cake with one another. Believe me I will make sure to not refer anyone to this company. They treated me like a low life. I managed to get a loan elsewhere and guess what, my bank statement is now great and my ******** record is great. I guess this company had judged a book by its cover and didn't take a chance, so now another pay day loan company has my business.

01/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Needed a change of date on payment and was lied to on their end. I have a historectomy the 30th and been talking to lawyers and have to change.
I asked to get a extention on my payment because I have a historectomy the 30th, talking to lawyers, and my bank account got hacked and had to close it. I am looking into getting other bank account. They said Dec 27 would be oK on that but lied. Still owe on the 27th of this month. My account information for them is ****** ********, ***** XXXXXXXX application number.

Desired Settlement
Just want them to do what they say and put it to the 27th of Dec.

Business Response
Loan By Phone of Ohio, LLC ("Loan By Phone") is in receipt of the above referenced complaint. Loan By Phone takes all customer complaints seriously, has investigated this matter and appreciates the opportunity to respond.

In her complaint, the consumer indicates ******* ********** **** an unaffiliated third party lender, failed to honor its agreement with the consumer to provide an additional 30 days to pay off her account. Respectfully, this is not accurate. Our records indicate ******* ********* provided excellent customer service and indeed honored its agreement to accept payment 30 day after the account was due.

We respectfully submit that confusion may have developed as a result of a collection notice being delivered to the customer prior to arranging the extension.

We appreciate the opportunity to respond and consider this matter closed.

Best regards,

****** ********
Associate General Counsel

11/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My car was towed (repoed) today 10/07/15 for short payment...I made a $800.00 payment on 10/10/02/15 ...I contacted their corporate office in ** #XXX-XXX-XXXX to get information and they are refusing to give me information where my vehicle is and they are charging me outrageous fees, interest rates! I feel they are witholding from giving me information and reporting the monies owed to the local Check into cash where i got the loan out. I feel they are not giving me information so that they can withhold the vehicle and charge me more money out of pocket. The tow truck company that has the vehicle is unable and refusing to give me information as well. Local Check into Cash is located in ******* *** XXX-XXX-XXXX and they are refusing to give me information as well they are telling me they need to wait for Corporate to contact them.

Desired Settlement
Desired Settlement: Contact by the Business
I want to get my vehicle out of ********* as soon as possible and I want every single paperwork related to my account# **** mailed out to me as soon as possible, I want the exact breakdown of everything. I had asked for that a few months ago and they refused to do so.

Business Response
Re: Case ****** ***** ******* - *******

Check Into Case of California, Inc. (Check Into Cash") is in receipt of the above referenced complaint. Check Into Cash takes all customer complaints seriously, has investigated the matter and appreciated the opportunity to respond.

The customer entered into a Consumer Installment Loan Agreement with Check Into Cash which was secured with the customer's motor vehicle. In her complaint, the customer alleges that she was unable to obtain information about her account from us. Respectfully, we disagree with these allegations. We researched our files and were not able to find any records that suggests Check Into Cash was unresponsive.

The customer's vehicle was repossessed on October 7, 2015, after repeatedly notifying the customer of the past due account. Respectfully, the customer was aware of Check Into Cash's right to repossess the vehicle for going into default. Additionally, the customer's vehicle had been previously repossessed for lack of payment.

The customer visited the Check Into Cash location to make a payment in full and picked up her vehicle on October 14, 2014. In the spirit of providing good customer service, Check Into Cash paid for all vehicle storage fees. The customer was pleased with the resolution and was ***** to have her vehicle back.

** consider this matter resolved. Should you have any questions regarding this letter, please do not hesitate to call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thank you.

Best regards,

****** ********
Associate General Counsel



Consumer Response
I paid off in full my loan completely off, and I asked for my signed contracts and receipts from day 1 and they refused to give them to me or make me copys...I WANT A COPY OF MY COMPLETE FILE SINCE DAY ONE.
Order Number: 3028

I WANT COPY OF MY ENTIRE FILE, RECEIPTS EVERYTHING SIGNED BY ME, EVERYTHING IN ACCOUNT.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

They left a message stating that I needed to pay for them I am not paying, I want my entire records sent to the a address listed below.

**** *** ****
******* ** XXXXX

Final Business Response
Check Into Cash contacted the Consumer to verify the mailing address and did not reach the customer. CIC respectfully denies that the customer was ever asked to pay for copies of her file. A copy was mailed to her via *** ****** on October 28, 2015 to the customer's address supplied on the complaint.

Please consider this as our last and final response. ** consider this matter resolved.
Thank you.

Best regards,

****** ********
Associate General Counsel

05/11/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I pawned my car title. I didn't pay so it was repoed. I paid full amount to get vehicle back on December 1, 2014. As of today, March 4, 2015, I yet to receive the title. They keep giving me the runaround. They sent title to the wrong address. Ok, they knew where to pick vehicle up but not where to send the title?

Desired Settlement
Desired Settlement: Replacement
They should pay lost title fees.

Business Response
Check Into Cash of Tennessee, Inc. ("Check Into Cash") is in receipt of the letter you submitted through the Better Business Bureau. Check Into Cash takes your letter very seriously, has investigated the matter and appreciates the opportunity to respond.

We apologize for our delayed response. In his complaint, the customer requests for Check Into Cash to pay fees to cover reimbursement for a request for duplicate title. Please know that Check Into Cash approved the reimbursement and mailing of such fees on March 5, 2015. Thus, the customer should have received a reimbursement check during the month of March 2015.

We consider this matter closed. Should the customer have any questions, we invite the customer to contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Best regards,

****** ********
Associate General Counsel

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I found out that they sent a key and title to a place I haven't lived for 10 years! Now they knew where to repo my van, but not where to send title? When I call them they give me the run around, tell me a manager will call and then no word from them. Is there a legal way I can go to get title and answers?

Final Business Response
Check Into Cash of Tennessee, Inc. ("Check Into Cash") is in receipt of the letter you submitted through the Better Business Bureau. Check Into cash takes your letter very seriously, has investigated the matter and appreciates the opportunity to respond.

Check Into Cash made contact with the customer was able to confirm that the customer did indeed receive the lien release which was previously mailed to him. For an unknown reason, the customer did not receive a check that was mailed to him to cover any duplicate title processing fees. Thus, a new check was issued and mailed to the customer. Check Into Cash will follow up with the customer in a few days to ensure he received the check. The customer seemed pleased with this resolution.

We consider this matter closed. Should the customer have any questions, we invite the customer to contact me directly at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Best Regards,

****** ********
Associate General Counsel

03/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refinanced loan. Wanted to pay full amount instead of refinance, can't get a hold of anyone. They want double payment when I would like to pay in full.
I had a loan through Check into Cash that I refinanced. I then had the money to pay the loan in full before the refinance amount would come out of my bank account. I e-mailed this company 5 TIMES to cancel the refinance and pay the total amount due. I have had no response other than one message telling me to call customer service. I am not allowed personal calls at work and can not call during their business hours. They want to charge me the refinance amount along with the full amount of the loan and that is not right as I have tried to pay it off early. This is horrible customer service and business practices and I do not want to be charged twice when I am trying to pay them the whole amount I owe. There is no way to pay the loan off without calling. I got the loan without calling I should be able to contact customer service without calling. It's a scam.

Desired Settlement
I want the amount of the refinance that I paid taken out of the balance that will be debited from my account and the rest paid in full.

Business Response
Loan by Phone takes all consumer complaints seriously, is investigating this matter and appreciates the opportunity to respond.

In the complaint, the customer indicates that the company "wants to double" the customer's payment. Respectfully, this allegation is incorrect. Nonetheless, Loan By Phone researched the customer's account and was able to identify that Loan By Phone did not respond to the customer in a timely fashion.

As a result, Loan By Phone has waived the loan finance charge and will only collect the principal amount due. I trust this resolution is satisfactory to the customer. We are considering this matter closed. Please let us know if you have any questions.

Best regards,

****** ********
Associate General Counsel

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is INCORRECT. I was just charged the full $313.69 from my account. This is the $250.00 plus the $63.69. This is an outright lie

Final Business Response
As a special limited agent for *** ******** **** ********** Loan by Phone of ****** LLC ("Loan by Phone"), is responding to the customer's rebuttal dated 2/19/15. Loan by Phone takes all consumer complaints seriously, is investigating this matter and appreciates the opportunity to respond.

In her complaint the customer indicates that she was charged the full amount of the loan. That information is accurate. However, Loan By Phone records indicate that the company called the customer 8 times to discuss a refund. The company left several voice mails for the customer and never heard back. Consequently, the company refunded $63.69 to the customer on 2/20/15, via a same-day wire transfer.

Therefore, Loan By Phone has waived the loan finance charge and will only collect the principal amount due. I trust this resolution is satisfactory to the customer. We are considering this matter closed. We invite the customer to contact me directly should the refund not be processed as indicated above by contacting me at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Best regards,

****** ********
Associate General Counsel

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Check Cashing Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/07/1997Business started: 06/01/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State/TN
312 8th Avenue North 6th Floor, Snodgrass Tower
Nashville, TN 37243-0001
(615) 741-2286

Department of Financial Institutions
P O Box 7846
Madison, WI 53707

BBB records show a license number of 007788 for this company, issued by Secretary of State/TN. The expiration date of this license is 04/01/2016. Check Into Cash of Tennessee, Inc..

BBB records show a license number of 2121 for this company, issued by Department of Financial Institutions. The expiration date of this license is 03/31/2016.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Scoggins (President)Ms. Leigh Anna Hollis (VP of Compliance)Mr. W. Allan Jones (Chairman of the Board)
Number of Employees

110

Business Category

Check Cashing Service

Industry Tips
Check Advance Firms

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Check Into Cash, Inc.

201 Keith St SW Ste 80

Cleveland, TN 37311-5867

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 201 Keith St SW Ste 80 

    Cleveland, TN 37311-5867(423) 499-5900
    (877) 262-2274

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chattanooga, TN serving Southeast Tennessee and Northwest Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Check Into Cash, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (423) 499-5900
  • (877) 262-2274
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Check Cashing Service

Check Advance Firms
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.