BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/10/2004

Shaw Industries, Inc. (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (706) 278-3812Fax: (706) 275-5026View Additional Phone Numbers616 E Walnut Ave, DaltonGA 30721-4409 Send email to Shaw Industries, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/10/2004

BBB has determined that Shaw Industries, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Shaw Industries, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 75 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

75 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 23 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues27
Problems with Product / Service48
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 75

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Shaw Industries, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (75)
01/29/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had Shaw Rustic Allure laminate flooring installed in our home. We had issues with buckling, lifting and surface wear after 2 months of moving in. Shaw hired a certified inspector to come out to our home and rules the floor was installed without enough expansion space, and the surface wear was not covered under warranty, but was caused by small dirt Particles. Instructions state this flooring will hold up to the toughest household conditions, but rolling a chair across the floor, the surface has worn and turned white. The joints do not lock together like they should either. This floor has been discontinued and even if we wanted to repair any areas, it's no longer available.

Desired Settlement
Since we are unable to get replacement flooring, we are seeking comparable replacement flooring. We have put this laminate in our entire home of 1200 sq ft.

Business Response
Thank you for making us aware of the concern wagered by Mr. and Mrs. *******. Shaw Industries, Inc. received a Guest Complaint on behalf of the customer in July of 2015. A Certified Independent Inspector was commissioned to visit the *******'s home and provide a written report of the concerns identified. The report submitted by the certified independent inspector stated the material was improperly installed, a lack of proper expansion space has resulted in compression at the seams of the material. As the material expands and contracts in reaction to moisture and temperature there is no relief for the goods to move, causing the end joints to peak and buckle. The inspector also found the subfloor to be out of flat well beyond the tolerance specified in our installation guidelines. This variation of the subfloor has resulted in deflection and movement in the product. Areas of damage and scratches to the product finish were also found under a roller caster chair and furniture legs.

We regret the ******** have experienced a concern with the flooring installed in their home. Our product warranty does not provide for issues resulting from improper installation, damages resulting from or in connection with subfloor conditions, or damage due to failure to use appropriate chair pads under castor chairs. The product does not carry a warranty for scratches or impact damage, which are considered onsite damage.

The inspector found no deficiency in the quality or workmanship of the product and the concerns reported are not provided for under the product warranty. We respectfully declined participation in the resolution of the matter as a manufacturing or warranty concern. However, in accordance with the Cash and Carry policy of ******* ***** the *******'s may return the product to the store with a valid proof of purchase for full refund or credit.

We appreciate the opportunity to respond to the reported concern.

Thank you,
******* *****

Consumer Response
There was nothing stated about the subfloor in inspection report. The flooring was installed on concrete so there was no unevenness in the subfloor as the inspector stated.
We are unable to return flooring already installed without pulling all of it up.
The contractor states the floor grew more than it should have because the inspector did not pull baseboards to check expansion or look under flooring for unevenness of concrete.
The house is newly constructed and was concrete inspected so the claim of subfloor not being flat is false.

Final Business Response
Shaw has provided a detailed account of our disposition of the claim on behalf of the *******'s. We regret they remain unsatisfied without our response. The issues identified that are causing the concerns wagered by the *******'s are installation and site condition related. We have also advised the *******'s they are welcome to return the material to ******* **** for full refund or credit. This cost is reimbursed to ******* **** by Shaw Industries.
The *******'s are also welcome to commission their own certified independent inspector. They may contact a certified inspector through the following agency websites: ********** ********** or ******************. Should a second certified inspector determine the cause of the concerns reported by the ******** are a warrantable issue, we will be happy to consider the findings of the inspector under the terms of the warranty. In addition, if the claim is determined to be valid, we will reimburse the cost of the certified independent inspection to the ********* However, at this time We respectfully decline further engagement in the resolution of this matter.

Thank you,
******* *****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I will reach out to ******* and the builder who installed flooring. If he wishes to pursue an inspector that's his choice because he was the one who had an issue with original findings.

11/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We moved to a different house last *** and had ****** install all new top grade carpet on our main level. The carpet we purchased has a 15 year warranty on soil, 10 year warranty on stain & a 20 year warranty on wear. The carpet was installed in *** of 2014. We started noticing wear issues 7-9 months later as well as the carpet has buckled around the door thresholds and is coming up in the master closet & the hallway threshold. We have no children and are very neat clean people. The carpet looks worn in the areas we use more frequently. The carpet looks like it is 10 or 12 years old and it's only a year and a half old. We called ****** & they sent someone out to look at the carpet. He agreed that the carpet was unacceptable based on the warranty of the carpet & agreed that the install was a poor job. ****** filed a claim with Shaw Floors which they told us to clean the carpet. SHAW Flooring rejected our claim & requested that we clean carpet that is not dirty but worn!! That is COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE. The carpet in not dirty, it's worn. It looks like it has been here for 10 years not a year & a half. ****** & Shaw Flooring is not standing behind what they sell and are completely misleading their customers with the ads that have on television and things they send in the mail. I would never purchase carpet from this company again because what they advertise & say they will do is not what they do at all. A company should stand behind the products they sell. I am also going to file a claim against ******* This has been a terrible experience & Shaw truly misleads their customers.
Product_Or_Service: Carpet

Desired Settlement
Desired Settlement: Replacement
We would like the carpet replaced with a different type carpet or a total refund so we can purchase new carpet with a company that stands behind what they sell.

Business Response
After checking our records we were unable to locate a claim for this consumer. We contacted ****** and requested they share any information they had. After reviewing the information ****** provided, Shaw has agreed to replace the carpet.



Consumer Response
We have accepted ******* offer to replace all carpet previously installed. The install date is December 3rd & 4th. We also requested tht ****** use a different contractor to do the install since we also had issues with the original install. I will send a follow-up email once all work has be completed.

Thanks for your assistance with this matter,
****** ******

11/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My husband and I purchased Shaw carpeting on September 21, 2015 from ******* ******** who sells to contractors. The carpet is fraying, is matting down, shedding its fibers. It in one word is ****. It looks as though it is years old when in fact it was installed September 24, 2015. We noticed the defects within a week. We notified our contractor, the flooring store where purchased and got nowhere except talked to as if we had no sense at all. I took it upon myself to reach out to the headquarters in ******* and was in touch with a ****** who is in charge of complaints and claims. I explained everything to her, asked if a representative could come and inspect the carpet and her answer was no. The only thing they offered was another Shaw product. We were told to go to **** ***** which we did. They do not sell Shaw carpet in their store. We did visit other companies and found nothing in Shaw that was what we were looking for and promised. They will not entertain the idea of refunding our $2800.00 deposit so that we may purchase other carpet. The carpet is Defective. As a consumer I am furious. We have been ripped off and now nobody wants to help us.
Product_Or_Service: Shaw carpet
Account_Number: Silver dollar

Desired Settlement
Desired Settlement: Refund
I would like for Shaw to recognize the fact that this carpet is defective and we so deserve our deposit back of $2800.00. I know that they offered for us to find another Shaw product but we are not able to do so, which is unfortunate for us because we just want this over so that we can have our furniture delivered and go on with our life. Very Rude People. BUYERS BEWARE-DO NOT BUY SHAW FLOORING!!!!!!!! It is definitely Builders Grade product.

Business Response
Thank you for bringing Ms. ****'s complaint to our attention.

On 10/09/2015, we received a request from ******* ****** to respond to Ms. ****'s concern.

The product that ******* ****** ordered was shipped to them on 09/15/15. Their request stated that Ms. **** did not like the product and they wished to use Shaw's 30 day satisfaction warranty to replace the product. As the product shipped to them on 09/15/15, this was well within the 30 day coverage, this warranty is for products of the same price, the warranty does not provide refunds. We agreed and issued ******* ****** a credit to cover the replacement.

As Ms. **** feels that her concerns are the result of a manufacturing defect we will provide her with an independent inspector. If a defect is found to be present in the carpet we will agree to replace the carpet under the warranty and if no defect is found we will still provide her a Shaw Carpet of the same value under the 20 day warranty.

Thank you again for allowing us to serve you.

Sincerely,

**** *******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I would welcome an inspector to see product. It is matting and crushing terrible and it is just my husband and myself. He works full time and I spend most of my time at nursing home feeding my mother. I would not think after being installed that product should do that in one week. I made several attempts to talk with Shaw about sending an inspector out and they flat put denied same. We have looked for carpet from Shaw and have found nothing to what we want. I would never put another Shaw product in my house. We believe that we are entitled to a refund. We have been trying to correct this problem for five weeks and nobody CARES!!! We will go to local news and write to all newspapers of their lack of caring about their customers!!! We work hard for our money. We are living with no furniture because of this ordeal. We can't have it delivered until a decision is made. Please refund our money so that we can get on with our life. The holidays are coming!!!!!!

09/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hardwood flooring is defective.
On August 10th, Shaw Inc was alerted to a problem with our hardwood flooring (with pictures included). After many emails on 9/4 I received a response from ***** ******** stating that an inspector will be contacting me. I continued to email asking for updates and was told on 9/4 that the normal turn around is 48 hrs and he would investigate what was taking so long. On 9/8 I was assured that the inspector would contact me within 48 hrs. It is now 9/10 with no inspection and no closer to resolution.

I have a 3 year old and a 1 year old and have been living on concrete flooring with my home in disarray waiting for them to fix the problem. I have photos very clearly showing an issue with the hardwood and have submitted them multiple times. I would like my hardwood replaced with a beveled edge option. Most of the boxes are unopened as I stopped installation as soon as I saw the issue. I am tired of my children not able to move about freely in our own home without risk of hurting themselves on the wood sticking up or the concrete. I want my family and friends to be able to visit without them seeing a house that is difficult to maneuver around. I have done everything in my power to get this resolved short of contacting an attorney.

Desired Settlement
I would like to re-select flooring with a beveled edge option (to prevent overwood) and get it installed in a timely manner.

Business Response
The inspection is scheduled for today. I will update as soon as we have the report. Usually takes about a week after the inspection is completed.

****** ******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Inspection was done on September 11th, 2015. Awaiting a response as mentioned above.

Final Business Response
Shaw Industries has received the independent inspection report and based on his findings, we will authorize replacement of the floor.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am pleased with this resolution. While it took awhile to get the inspector out everything after that has seemed to move very quickly. Throughout the whole process ***** ******** was very good about keeping me updated and often replied to my emails the day they were sent. Furthermore, I was allowed to choose from a wider selection of wood than had originally been available. While I still am frustrated at the time it took to get this done, the company has made every effort to make up for it. Assuming that the ordering and installation process goes as planned, I would consider doing business with this company in the future. In the event that ordering is not fast and easy or if the wood is defective again (which I highly doubt) I will submit a request to reopen this complaint.

09/16/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a premium carpet and pad with warranty; warranty declined by Shaw, and no reason was given.
I am writing to express my extreme disappointment regarding the integrity of ****** ******* and their carpet manufacture, Shaw. I purchased a Shaw premium carpet and pad over a year ago for my living room. Within a year, it developed a few stains of unknown origin (not oil, grease, bleaches, exposure to very hot substances that can alter carpet dyes, paints, vomit, medicines, or products containing benzoyl peroxide, as mentioned in the warranty). I hired ******* ******* to thoroughly clean it to remove the stains. They were unable to remove the stains and suggested I contact the carpet company regarding replacement. I called customer service at ******* and eventually a representative was sent to my house to take photographs and take a copy of ******* ********** receipt. He promised to have someone call me within the week, as I was about to go out of town, but I never heard back from him or customer service.

After I returned from out of town (three weeks later), I called customer service at ****** again to follow up, only to be told that my claim was denied. I was shocked and disappointed. I bought this particular carpet because of its stain resistance and the replacement warranty. The customer service agent was puzzled, as there were not any notes included as to why the claim was denied. She promised to follow up immediately with the carpet manufacturer, took my number, and promised to call me before the end of business. That was last week, and I have yet to hear anything further. Finally, after sending another email to follow up, I was told that there was no reason given in the notes for the decline of warranty coverage from Shaw. This is absolutely unacceptable. The stains in the carpet are clearly not a variance in the color or texture of the carpet, normal weathering, corrosive effects of salt air and chemical pollutants, normal fading, deterioration of caulking compounds, fire, flood, lightning, high winds, windblown objects, earthquake, hurricanes, ice dams, icicles and/or ice storms, atmospheric conditions or weather of catastrophic nature as defined by the US Weather Bureau, other acts of God, intentional acts, unreasonable use, vandalism or pollution. I have taken good care of the carpet, having it professionally steam cleaned twice and vacuumed almost daily. The stains are clearly not violation of the policy. Today I spoke to *** ******* at ****** and he only made excuses, basically blaming Shaw and not taking any responsibility on behalf of ******* He informed me that he was unable to provide any reason for the denial of warranty. I have also filed a complaint with ****** ********

I am disgusted with the customer service and dishonesty of this company. I purchased a premium carpet with premium pad with an extended warranty that covered stains (other than those listed in the warranty).

Desired Settlement
Either a refund or a replacement.

Business Response
I have been unable to locate a claim in our system for this consumer. I have contacted ****** for additional information.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The service request number is X-XXXXXXXXXX

Final Business Response
The dealer we sold the material to has now filed a claim with Shaw. Shaw has advised the dealer to replace the material. The dealer should be in contact with the consumer to work out the arrangements.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
After opening two BBB complaints and a ***** ******** Attorney General's Consumer Protection Division case, ****** finally decided to honor their warranty and replaced my carpet. I would not recommend this company.

Page 1 of 3
03/17/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had Carpet installed in new house, moved in 01-01-2015. Carpet shows signs of wear, especially in traffic areas, that no matter what you do, they are still visible, and the carpet is only 1 year old. This actually started to show signs at 6 months. Never had carpet act like this before. Called the retailer/installer *********** they passed the complaint on to the manufacturer, Shaw Industries. Shaw Industries sent an inspector out to our house, the gentleman was here for about an hour, looking and sampling the carpet and fibers, and also inspected our vacuum cleaner. We received a response/report back through the retailer. The response was that it was a maintenance issue, and was not covered by any warranty. I purchased a carpet rake, and borrowed a different vacuum cleaner, but results are the same. After several email conversations with Shaw directly, and asking what did I do or not do, as far as the maintenance issue, they told me to buy a new vacuum cleaner. Which I had explained what I had already tried. After seeing several forums on the internet with others complaining of the same issue and treatment, I decided to file a complaint with you.
I believe the carpet is defective, after raking and vacuuming, the carpet still shows the areas.

Thank you
Respectfully,
****** ******
** ** ******** ***
******** ** XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
as stated, I believe the carpet is defective, should not show after raking and vacuuming.
Replace with non-defective product.

Business Response
We have received a request which ask Shaw Industries, to reconsider the claim as a warranty complaint. With careful consideration the claim file has been reviewed. Our review indicates that there were no product related deficiencies or material workmanship concerns found with the material installed on the above listed job. The findings do reflect a possible maintenance related cause.
In our efforts to satisfy the consumer for this complaint, Shaw Industries, would be willing to
authorize a one time, courtesy cleaning to assist the consumer. The cleaning will help lift and restore the material yarns to a more acceptance appearance. All product warranties remain intact for the product installed. Please have the consumer contact a local cleaning agency in their area to have a professional hot water extraction method of cleaning to be performed.
To receive a complete copy of the product warranty, with product care and maintenance information, please contact Shaw's Information Center at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX or via the web at *****************.

Sincerely,

**** ******
Claims Manager

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While it may seem like Shaw is making a resolution by offering a carpet Cleaning. Cleaning the carpet is not the solution.
Their inspector checked with a white damp cloth, and the carpet was not dirty. Shaws response was the problem was a user maintenance issue. When I pressed them for what that meant, they told me to buy a new vacuum cleaner. Which by the way they did inspect mine, and there was no real issue with it, other than some scratches on the skid plate. I did try a different vacuum and a carpet rake, with very little, if any difference. They pointed to everything they could find to try to make it look like it is not the carpet. But it is the carpet. I have read several blogs online with numerous complaints of the same issue.
So I do not accept their offer of a free cleaning. If that was the problem I would have it cleaned myself.
They need to step up to the plate when the problem is theirs.
I will not buy Shaw flooring in the future, if this is their solution.
Respectfully
****** ******

Final Business Response
Please explain to the consumer, our offer of a steaming/cleaning is a step toward obtaining their customer satisfaction. if this treatment is not satisfactory, other options can be considered.

03/10/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Color is coming out of my carpet.
I purchased this Shaw carpet from ****** ******* who have gone out of business. the carpet was bought in May 2013. I spilled coffee in two different areas and the color has come out, it is now orange. I used Club Soda but after it dried the color was gone. I have my receipt and pictures if you want to see. I hope you could send out of rep to look at my carpet to see if anything can be done.
Thank you ******

Desired Settlement
I would love to have carpet replaced, but am open to any suggestions too. It looks terrible. I'm afraid to have carpet cleaned it would be a mess. Appreciate your time. ****** ****** has closed so I don't have anyone to contact about this problem.
Thank you

****** *****

Business Response
This is the first notification we have received for this customer. I have contacted the customer
to set up a claim process to take care of her problem. Thank you
****** ******
Manager-Claims-Financial Services
Shaw Industries Inc

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Shaw rep has contacted me and we r now going forward with claim. I do not know the results will be.

02/29/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Newly Purchased Carpet with "sprouting"
On December 5th 2015 I had a ****** (Shaw Subsidiary) carpet installed in our den. I was told that this was a top of the line carpet and suitable for high traffic areas. Soon thereafter we began to notice that some of the carpet loops had come undone - I have learned that this is called "sprouting." More and more areas of sprouting have been seen - some in areas with little to no foot traffic (behind couch, next to TV stand). Around New Years we contacted the vendor who sold us the carpet. He informed the manufacture and we had a carpet inspection by a hired agent of the manufacture on 1/20/2015. At that visit I was not given any information except that my brand new vacuum cleaner was NOT the culprit. Recently I learned the inspectors report classified that damage as due to wear my claim was denied.
Clearly this explanation makes no sense what so ever. How could excessive wear occur in regions with no foot traffic - keep in mind the only people who walk on the carpet are me, my wife and our two year old - all generally without shoes.
This seems to be some form of premature wear (less than 1 month) - which is not acceptable for any carpet let alone one that is sold as high quality. The company should stand behind their product!

Desired Settlement
Refund or replacement of carpet

Business Response
On 1/9/16 Shaw received a request from the retailer, *** ****** ***** to inspect the ******'s carpet for sprouting. On 1/11/16 Shaw contacted ************ ******** ********** an independent inspector, to inspect the ******'s floor.
The inspection was made on 1/20/16. The inspector reported that there were: pulled, torn and frayed loops visible from a standing position in localized areas of the room. The inspector determined the damage was the result of locally caused concerns and not a result of manufacturing defects.
While we feel the inspection is accurate, we have no objections to a second opinion, by a certified inspector of their choice. We only require that the inspector be certified.
If the certified inspector finds the condition is due to a manufacturing defect, Shaw will replace the product under the warranty and reimburse the cost of the inspection.
Thank you for allowing us to serve you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank you for the prompt reply.
I am not particularly interested in laying out money for a second inspection given the issue here will likely be of semantics regarding the warranty for "manufacturing defects" and what shaw considers to be defective manufacturing.

They have seen the reports and photos of our carpet. New sprouts continue to come up. This is occurring less than 2 months since installation with traffic from two adults (who don't wear shoes in the house) and a 30 pound 2.5 year old.

This is clearly an issue with manufacturing or materials. This is not by any means a durable carpet as advertised.

I implore you to do the right thing for a costumer and replace the carpet without further unneeded evaluation - unless you think that the wear and tear reported by the inspector you sent is standard for a 2 month old carpet with light traffic - in which case no one should ever purchase this carpet again.

Thank you.

Final Business Response
Thank you for allowing us to respond to the ******'s concerns.
Per the certified independent inspector's report, the damaged loops are located in small clusters, were pulled, torn, cut and frayed in each affected area.
The inspector reported that the condition is not manufacturing related, that the carpet was damaged locally. damage is not covered under the warranty.
If the ******* do not agree with the inspector's findings, we continue the offer that they may have the carpet inspected by a certified flooring inspector of their choice and if the inspector finds the condition is due to a defect in the product, we will replace the carpet under the warranty and reimburse the cost of the inspection. We only require that the inspector be certified in carpet inspection.
Thank you again.

02/16/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Shaw's warranties are very misleading. The representative I talked with said that unless there is a manufacturer defect, stains are not covered.
My husband and I built a brand new home and had Shaw carpet installed. Shortly (less than two weeks) after we moved in we noticed stains on our carpet. We had been told by our builder to add any defects to our one year walk-through list. I talked with the builder's handyman and he was unsure what caused the stain.

As my husband and I walked through our house to make notes for our one year walk-through we noticed a few other faint stains on the carpet, so we decided to reach out to ***** ******** who installed our carpet. Someone from Shaw's warranty department came to take pictures of our carpet. I never received any contact after the gentleman came to take pictures, so I reached out to ***** ******** again, and he said he had just received a copy of the inspection and my claim was denied. I was told that the master closet stains were stains at the tip of the carpet and that they would not be covered by the warranty. Why? Isn't that what the warranty is for? They couldn't tell me why. But they didn't say that the stain was anything that was on the list of things that wasn't covered.

I was told that a bleaching agent had caused the stains in our nursery and master bedroom. I don't use bleach in my home at all (especially not in my infant's room!), so I can guarantee it's not bleach. When I asked a customer service representative at Shaw how they knew it was bleach she replied that they can tell from being in the carpet business for many years. I told the customer service representative that sometimes pet urine will cause carpet to look bleached or pinkish. And pet urine is covered in their warranty.

I asked if I had spilled red wine on my carpet if that would be covered, and she said it would not be. I told her that I thought food and beverage stains were covered under the warranty, and she said that red wine wouldn't be covered because that it was irresponsible to drink red wine on white carpet. I said isn't it irresponsible to eat or drink any food on white carpet? That's why it's an accident? And that's why I paid extra for stain resistant carpet. So what does the warranty cover?

I told her that I wanted a detailed copy of the report from the inspection and a detailed copy of what the warranty covers and doesn't cover. She said she would email that to me. I never received it.

Desired Settlement
I want the carpet repaired. I purchased a shaw product that came with a warranty, and Shaw is not standing behind their warranty.

Business Response
The consumer was sent a copy of the inspection report and the warranty information on 1-27-16

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was not sent anything on 1-27-16. I would also appreciate a response to my complaint.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will send a square of carpet to you; however, I already have little faith in the outcome. Will you actually test it? And if you do, would you be honest with the results? Where's the accountability? Is there a neutral third party that can test the carpet? I think it would be important to test the carpet with the stain to determine what the stain is because I can guarantee it isn't bleach or anything else that keeps you from following through with your warranty.

I felt very confident when I initially filed a claim with Shaw. I thought to myself that I was so glad I chose a carpet with a warranty. I had no questions or doubts that the stains would be covered. This is so frustrating.

Final Business Response
We will have the sample tested and **** ******* will contact you as soon as we have results.

02/02/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Defected Carpet
In 2013, I have purchased Shaw Inc carpet from one of the dealers in **** ******* *** which was installed my rental property in ******** ***** ***

In two years, that carpet got really bad. Many loops, interwoven elements that could have snagged, snagged. Threads came loose, the wool like threading fuzzed out where stepped on to a degree that resembles a cheap acrylic wool sweater.

This carpet was marketed and sold for rental properties and high traffic areas.

I have spent almost $1200 for that and at end of two years, it is complete mass and not usable at all. It has to be replaced to be able rent the property again.

I have contacted both broker and Manufacture, Shaw Inc. Dealer didn't accept any responsibility. He told me that the only thing he could do, was submitting a claim to Shaw Inc, he did. They have declined the claim without inspecting and seeing the carpet in the property.

I have seen the bad carpet, but I never saw one that fell in parts.

Desired Settlement
I want them to remove the defect carpet and replace with new carpet.

Business Response
Based on the information provided there is no warrantied issue with the material. The product in question is our style XXXXX which is covered by our 10 quality assurance warranty. This warranty is for owner occupied residence only, it does not extend to rental property.
We regret very much that Mr. ***** was disappointed in any respect, but we will not be able to honor his request for replacement carpet.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't accept the response, because of the following;
1- We have never been told during the purchase that rental properties were never covered by warranty. Even when I looked at the warranty explanation behind the carpets, it never says that rental properties are not covered.

2- We were advised by broker that this product was made for high traffic and rental properties. It lasts a long time without any issues. Broker has also mentioned that this product was manufactured for that purposes..

3- Unfortunately Manufacture's claim department or sales team jumped to the conclusion without inspecting the carpet. Nobody from the company came and saw the damage on the premises.

I still insist that they have misinformed/acknowledged me about product and quality.

If they think that it is not product, then they need to deal with broker to correct the situation.

It is unfortunate & disappointing to see that such a big company rejects the claims without seeing the defect in their product. This is not good way of customer care and customer satisfaction.

Page 1 of 13

Industry Comparison| Chart

Carpet & Rug Distributors & Manufacturers, Floor Covering-Hardwood, Manufacturers & Producers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/1985Business started: 01/01/1960
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State/TN
312 8th Avenue North 6th Floor, Snodgrass Tower
Nashville, TN 37243-0001
(615) 741-2286

Secretary of State/GA
315 West Tower 2 Martin Luther King, Jr. Dr
Atlanta, GA 30334
(478) 207-2440

BBB records show a license number of 0428176 for this company, issued by Secretary of State/TN. The expiration date of this license is 04/01/2017. Corporation.

BBB records show a license number of 0211691 for this company, issued by Secretary of State/GA. The expiration date of this license is 03/18/2017. Corporation.

BBB records show a license number of J416121 for this company, issued by Secretary of State/GA. The expiration date of this license is 03/18/2017. Corporation.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 2002, TN

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Russell Headrick (Director Financial Services)
Contact Information
Mr. Gary Bailey (Sr. Regional Claims Manager) Ron Duff Ms. Jean Kirk (Regional Claims Manager)Mr. Steve Ogletree (Sr. Regional Claims Manager)Ms. Lynn Warnack (Regional Claims Manager)Ms. Joanna Warnix (Regional Claims Manager)
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Distributors & Manufacturers, Floor Covering-Hardwood, Manufacturers & Producers

Products & Services

Shaw Industries, a subsidiary of Berkshire Hathaway, Inc., is headquartered in Dalton, Georgia. Shaw produces and sells carpet, rugs, ceramic, hardwood, and laminate flooring for residential and commercial applications throughout the world.

Consumers find Shaw products under a variety of labels. Some of the major labels are: Philadelphia Carpets, Cabin Crafts Carpets, Queen Carpets, ShawMark Carpets, Sutton Carpets, Tuftex Carpets, Home Foundations, Kathy Ireland Shades of America, Martha Stewart Signature Flooring with Shaw, Couture by Sutton, and Expressive Designs.

Alternate Business Names
Trustmark, Shaw Commerical Contract, Queen, Salem Carpet, Cabin Crafts, Couture by Sutton, Cumberland, DesignWeave, Expressive Designs, Networx, Patcraft, Philadelphia, ShawMark, Shaw Rugs, Stratton, Sutton, Tuftex, Spectra Contract Flooring, Shaw Living, Globaltex, Georgia Tufters

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Shaw Industries, Inc.

616 E Walnut Ave

Dalton, GA 30721-4409

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 3435 Lower Dug Gap Road 

    Dalton, GA 30721

  • 616 E Walnut Ave 

    Dalton, GA 30721-4409

  • PO Box 2128
    Mail Drop 026-01 

    Dalton, GA 30722-2128

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chattanooga, TN serving Southeast Tennessee and Northwest Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Shaw Industries, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (706) 275-5044
  • (706) 275-5462
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Carpet & Rug Distributors & Manufacturers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.