BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/09/2010

First Bank

Phone: (423) 855-7276Fax: (423) 855-7293401 Chestnut Street, Ste 100, ChattanoogaTN 37402 Send email to First Bank

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/09/2010

BBB has determined that First Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised First Bank's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
05/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The employee went against the company's code of ethics. He showed no value for the customer by stating quote "I usually handle $180,000 home loans."
On March 26, 2014, I called my lender for my pre approval letter and requested for him to look up the property taxes for my new home. I received the email with the pre approval letter enclosed, but not the property taxes from the previous years. I called *** ******* of First Bank in the Chattanooga, TN location to discuss why I did not receive the additional information that I had requested. His response was light laughter with him saying "I forgot." My next question was, "during closing time will you pull my credit again?" His reply,"no." Then asked, "why do you ask that?" My reply, "I didn't want any more hard inquiries on my credit report." His reply, "Don't go out and get a car loan or anything, then you wouldn't be able to afford your home." I politely told him, "I am well within my means." He brushed me off, and hung up. I called back to explain to him I felt mistreated since the day I started doing business with him. He told me that he's used to handling one hundred and eighty thousand dollar accounts. I explained to him once more that I am a first time home buyer. I have to start somewhere because buying a home is a big responsibility. I expressed to him that I am just as valuable as your other customers, and should be treated the same. In return, I was told to find another lender. I had looked forward to building a relationship with First Bank, however, in return he was condescending, unethical, and offensive in manner by the amount of loan that I had requested. There's questions that went unanswered because I was made to feel unworthy of his time. I am a very unsatisfied customer, and would not want anyone else to have the same experience.

Desired Settlement
I would like a letter of apology, my home loan reinstated, and for *** ******* to attend a business ethics class. "One should never burn bridges, you never know when you would have to cross it to get to the other side."

Business Response
FirstBank has completed an internal inquiry into this complaint. We have not found that any Company Code of Ethics were broken by our employee. We have taken this opportunity to discuss how to properly handle a situation such as this and feel comfortable with the results of that. At FirstBank we greatly value our customers and the experience that they have with our bank and employees.
We would be happy to assist Ms. ********** with beginning a new mortgage loan application and I will contact her immediately to begin that process.

Sincerely,

***** *******
Corporate Retail Sales Manager

Industry Comparison| Chart

Banks

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/10/2009Business started: 01/01/1907Business started locally: 08/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State/TN
312 8th Avenue North 6th Floor, Snodgrass Tower
Nashville, TN37243-0001
(615) 741-2286

BBB records show a license number of 115050 for this company, issued by Secretary of State/TN.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1907, TN

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Jim McKenzie (City President)
Contact Information
Mr. Sam Jones (City President)
Number of Employees

26

Business Category

Banks

Products & Services

This company offers commercial and retail banking.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for First Bank

401 Chestnut Street, Ste 100

Chattanooga, TN 37402

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 401 Chestnut Street, Ste 100 

    Chattanooga, TN 37402(423) 855-7276

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chattanooga, TN serving Southeast Tennessee and Northwest Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*First Bank is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Banks

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.