BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/05/1986

Citizens Tri-County Bank

Find a Location

Phone: (423) 949-2173Fax: (423) 949-456215699 Rankin Ave, DunlapTN 37327-7018 Send email to Citizens Tri-County Bank

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/05/1986

BBB has determined that Citizens Tri-County Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Citizens Tri-County Bank's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints Summary

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Citizens Tri-County Bank

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
01/30/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
05/30/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My name is ******* *****. My brother and I, ***** *****, were attempting to get a home loan with Citizen's Tri-County Bank. We talked with VP ***** ***** and submitted all paper work he asked for. We were told after one or two meetings with Mr. Brock that we were proceeding with loan process, but there would be a $600.00 fee for a new land appraisal and deed search. We were under the understanding from Mr. Brock that our loan would close on 3/14/14, and we would get our money 3/21/14. After we gave Mr. Brock our $600.00 fee, the next day Mr. Brock called to inform me the loan had been refused by the bank because I and Eddie were going to be co borrowers. Also, because my brother, Eddie, had a judgement on his credit record and my income alone would not pay the payments on the loan. Eddie and I are both on SSI. We were trying to get the loan to pay off some smaller loans and do home improvements. My complaint is, why didn't Mr. Brock make sure our loan was going to be a sure thing before taking our $600.00? He mislead us to believe our loan was going to be complete, then after we gave him our $600.00, he called to tell us we were turned down for the loan. My brother lives with me and pays me rent, so my income is well over what my monthly payments would be on the loan. I had the $600.00 to buy home insurance. Now I have none because Mr. Brock asked for the money before he could proceed with the loan. If he had informed me of the fee up front, I would have told him I couldn't afford to pay that amount at that time. I was also told to get payoff amounts from each creditor and was under the understanding all was going as expected. I and Eddie are now trying to get our loans plus late charges paid. I am very upset with Citizens Tri-County Bank.
******* *****

Desired Settlement
Please return my $600.00.

Business Response
It is my understanding that Mr. ***** (Loan Officer) did in fact request the upfront fee of $600.00 for appraisal and title work to be paid. Mr. ***** spoke with our ******* ****** ******* who worked for a former Bank acquired by Citizen's Tri-County Bank, who had previously taken a loss on the customer filing the complaint. Since Mr. ***** was unsure of the value of the property and the former bank had taken a loss, the loan was questionable. Also, the customer was requesting to refinance and debt consolidate. Upon pulling credit, Mr. ***** noticed a judgement against the customer. Mr. ***** notified the customer that this judgement must be cleared before the loan could be made. The customer was asked to get payoff information for creditors in order to determine the exact amount of the refinance and debt consolidation and loan to value amount. The customer told Mr. ***** he was going to speak with his attorney about getting the judgement cleared. Mr. ***** responded if this could be cleared we would proceed with the loan process.
We understand the customer is on a fixed income. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused. Again, if the judgement can be cleared, the appraisal has been completed and the customer would not have to pay this amount again if the process was withing a 12 month time frame. The title work would have to be completed again to verify the lien position.
Sincerely,
***** ** ******
Assistant Vice President

Industry Comparison| Chart

Banks

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/29/1986Business started: 10/01/1972
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Business Management
Ms. Penny Tucker (AVP & Internal Auditor)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Glenn Barker (Chairman of the Board & CEO)Customer Contact: Ms. Geraldine Boston (Marketing and Complaints)Ms. Angela Brown (Vice President/Branch Mgr)Ms. Karen Hutcheson (Vice President/Branch Mgr)Ms. Carol Long (Vice President/Branch Mgr)Ms. Renee McBee (Vice President/Branch Mgr)Ms. Dianne Mounce (AVP)Ms. Debbie Myers (Vice President/Branch Mgr)Ms. Lisa Rue (Vice President/Branch Mgr)Mr. David Simpson (Vice President/Branch Mgr)Mr. Gerald Sitz (Vice President/Branch Mgr)Mr. Gerald Sitz (Vice President/Branch Mgr)Ms. Vicki Smith (Vice President/Branch Mgr)Ms. Cynthia Woods (Vice President/Branch Mgr)
Number of Employees

156

Business Category

Banks

Products & Services

Citizens Tri-County Bank provides a full line of bank services from ACH origination to loans to real time Internet banking.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Citizens Tri-County Bank

15699 Rankin Ave

Dunlap, TN 37327-7018

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chattanooga, TN serving Southeast Tennessee and Northwest Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Citizens Tri-County Bank is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Banks

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.