BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/02/2010

Don Ledford Automotive Center Chevrolet, Buick, GMC, Cadillac

Phone: (423) 476-1191Fax: (423) 339-14024595 N Lee Hwy, ClevelandTN 37312-4040 Send email to Don Ledford Automotive Center Chevrolet, Buick, GMC, Cadillac

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/02/2010

BBB has determined that Don Ledford Automotive Center Chevrolet, Buick, GMC, Cadillac meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Don Ledford Automotive Center Chevrolet, Buick, GMC, Cadillac

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
03/11/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Don ledford refuses to resolve issue with clutch.
I have taken my vehicle to them several times with a clutch issue. Clutch is on back order & don ledford will not resolve issue. clutch has been replaced with previous owner and i was not notified. I have had this problem since vehicle was purchased. Issue has always been there since purchased. I feel like they knew about this and withheld this information. I was not shown a ****** or warranty repair report.

Desired Settlement
Buy vehicle back.

Business Response
The 2013 is still covered under powertrain warranty with ****. We have set appointments with the **** dealership to get the vehicle in for service and even held one of our loaner vehicles for ******* so that she could drop it off with us and we would deliver the vehicle to the appointment. She never showed up to get the work performed? We have not withheld any information from her. We wil work with ******* to resolve this issue by getting it to the **** dealership.And we feel that we have went out of our way to reserve a loaner and set up appointments in the past. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Don Ledford did lie about contacting us. They never notified us of a rental car being held for us. After seeing their response we did take my focus back to them on Tuesday. They put me in a rental and said they would take my vehicle to ****** for someone in ****** to look at it. We are trying to work together to resolve this issue and we hope to come to a mutual agreement.

06/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Took vehicle in 3 times for warranty work and issues still exists and dealer refuses to call me back even after contacting *** customer care.
I bought a 2011 Certified Chevy Tahoe from **** ***** in January 2014. I took the vehicle in on 4/17/2014, to the Don Ledford Dealer in ********** *** for a loud banging noise on the passenger side when you are at a complete stop and it sounds as if someone rear ended you. The dealer looked at the vehicle and could not duplicate or find the issue, the vehicle had 42707 mileage at the time. I called earlier in the week after I noticed that the oil change was due and it is covered under the Certified Maintenance. The dealer, Don Ledford, said it shouldn't be an issue first thing Thursday morning to change the oil. I showed up at 7:45 am and saw a long line of vehicles in the service area. I walked up to ask about an oil change and the service advisor told me that there was several vehicles waiting and it would be about an hour an a half before they could do the oil change in which I did not have the time to wait that long due to my wife was going to work. I am very disappointed in their service time after they told me on the phone it would be no problem and also why would they not inform me when I brought the vehicle in for the banging noise issue that the oil change was due? Instead, they informed me I needed a wiper blade? I was told at the time of purchase of the vehicle that all the information of the vehicle would be on the computer and I could take it to any Chevy Dealer and they would take care of me. Why did they not see it needed an oil change if this is true? I also still have an intermittent banging noise at a complete stop that they could not identify or correct. The only thing they did was identify a broken wiper blade and caused me a second visit for an oil change that now I still have to go back for because the wait time was too long and not what they told me on the phone. Very disappointed in this dealership, Don Ledford, very poor service! I sent them an email and I have yet to be contacted by them on the issue!

Desired Settlement
Repair Tahoe under warranty for banging noise with rental car and extend certified warranty due to lack of follow thru on repair and contacting customer, after a month and a half of emails and phone calls to dealership and customer care using valuable warranty time and mileage agreement.

Business Response
An appointment was set for Friday, 6/13/2014. A loaner was waiting for Mr. ****** when he arrived.
**** ********* the Service Manager, road tested the Vehicle several times on all different types of roads. **** drove it a total of 46 miles and was not able to verify any noises. In order to repair Mr. ****** Tahoe it must be making the noise and be verified. When we verify the noise we can properly repair the issue. Mr. ****** picked up the Tahoe on Monday at 9 am and has agreed to drive it more. Don Ledford Automotive Center is happy to work with Mr. ****** if we can verify the noise.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I do accept this response at this time but the issue still exists. The vehicle made the noise the same day I picked it up. I will continue to work with Don Ledford Automotive on the issue of the vehicle but they never explained or addressed the 3 previous visits or the unanswered emails or phone calls I made to their Dealership to avoid issues in the future in which I was very disappointed.

12/30/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Was quoted once price, charged a higher price, inconvenienced, kept products that should be mine, and never responded to my email.
I made an appointment to have a remote start put on my car. I was quoted $225 for part, $140 for labor and I had a 10% off coupon. I drove 30 miles to the dealer and then was called a few hours later only to be told they had the wrong part and I would have to drive 60 miles and waste my time because of their mistake and do this whole process the next day. Then when I did pick up the car, they had overcharged me by $200 and I raised heck until they charged me what I was quoted. No mention of any kind of concession or discount for my major inconvenience. I also was told my original key fobs were to be sent back as an exchange. I checked with another Chevy dealer and was told they probably kept those to resell them because they do not have to exchange those. So they lied to me so they could keep those key fobs to probably sell to someone else when they should belong to me. I think they were deceitful in their overcharging me so I would gripe to get it down to my quote then not expect anything in addition for my inconvenience. And deceitful in keeping my key fobs that came with my car originally and only give me the new ones that I had bought and paid for.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund for the value of those to key fobs. I would like a refund for the labor I was charged to program the key fobs for my remote start. This behavior is unacceptable, very deceitful and if I do not get satisfaction, I will also be filing a complaint with General Motors as well as my credit card company that I paid for said services on.

Business Response
I have reached out to Mr. ******** by phone and by email and he has not replied. Don Ledford Automotive Center works hard to do what's right. We did change the bill to the proper amount when it was noted by the customer and Mr. ******** did pay the amount that was agreed on at the start of the job. The transmitters are not usable on laser cut keys and can't be programed to any other vehicle. However, I have mailed Mr. ********'s old transmitters to him to do what he wants with them. We do thank Mr. ******** for coming to Don Ledford's and will be happy to talk about this in the future.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 04/01/1986Business started: 11/01/1981
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State/TN
312 8th Avenue North 6th Floor, Snodgrass Tower
Nashville, TN 37243-0001
(615) 741-2286

Department of Commerce & Insurance/TN
500 James Robertson Parkway Davy Crockett Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243-1204
(615) 741-2241

Bradley County, TN Business License
155 N Ocoee St
Cleveland, TN 37311-5068
(423) 728-7226

BBB records show a license number of 108162 for this company, issued by Secretary of State/TN.

BBB records show a license number of 12284 for this company, issued by Department of Commerce & Insurance/TN. Their web address is

BBB records show a license number of 3756 for this company, issued by Department of Commerce & Insurance/TN. Their web address is Motor Vehicle Dealer.

Type of Entity


Incorporated: October 1981, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Debbie Ledford Melton (GM)Mr. Donald H. Ledford (President)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:30 AM to 07:00 AMTue: 08:30 AM to 07:00 AMWed: 08:30 AM to 07:00 AMThu: 08:30 AM to 07:00 AMFri: 08:30 AM to 07:00 AMSat: 08:30 AM to 07:00 AMSun: Closed
Service Area

Cleveland, TN serving Southeast Tennessee and Northwest Georgia

Alternate Business Names
Don Ledford Automotive, Don Ledford Automotive Center, Inc.
Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car

Photos & Videos


1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Don Ledford Automotive Center Chevrolet, Buick, GMC, Cadillac

4595 N Lee Hwy

Cleveland, TN 37312-4040

To | From


1 Locations

  • 4595 N Lee Hwy 

    Cleveland, TN 37312-4040

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chattanooga, TN serving Southeast Tennessee and Northwest Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Don Ledford Automotive Center Chevrolet, Buick, GMC, Cadillac is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers-New Cars

Buying a Used Car

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.