BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/23/2011

Crown Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge-Ram

Phone: (423) 591-6868Fax: (423) 531-2077View Additional Phone Numbers2120 Chapman Road, ChattanoogaTN 37421 Send email to Crown Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge-RamFacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/23/2011

BBB has determined that Crown Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge-Ram meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Crown Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge-Ram's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues8
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service8
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Crown Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge-Ram

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (17)
03/09/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Saw a listed price on vehicle. Persued vehicle. received quote and financial terms. SIGNED form of agreement. At end, no longer honoring listed price.
Saw 2012 Honda Pilot Touring(model *************** online listed for $23,976(3-1-16). Called on 3-2-16 and spoke to a ******* ********** to see if vehicle was in stock. He called back to inform the vehicle was in transit from ******** I visited the ************ store to discuss vehicle. I asked what was the best they could do and they came back with a number of $25,5**. I told them if we could put $10,000 down and finance ONLY $15,000 I would agree. Once the sales ************* came back from discussing terms with his ************** agreed. They asked that I SIGN an agreement to the terms and once the vehicle checked out(no major complications) that I would be allowed to take it on test drive and make the purchase. As I was leaving the store they came back to me(this was after SIGNING agreement) that they could no longer honor the listing price.

The next day(3-3-16) I go to the main ***************** location) to resolve issue. Went through the whole story of what happened at the ********* location. The sales member(did not get a name) talked to his bosses and they still refused to honor the online listing(even though the listing was STILL posted for $23,976) and told me the best they could do was to add $3000 to the listed price(plus tax and fees making the entire total to be $28,147-this is not what we agreed on and substantially more than the listed price.

They have a Consumer Satisfaction Award for 2015. They should have honored the listing price as well as my signature for the vehicle in question!

Desired Settlement
Honor listing price because we AGREED(I signed) on terms.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ***** General Mana
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XX-XXX
Contact Email: ******@crowncars.com
The reason Ms ****** was told that Crown ** could not honor the price is that the price was posted incorrectly by a third party vendor not Crown. Our web sites disclaim that pricing is subject to availability and also current pricing. This is because prices change as often as daily based on market conditions and availability. In this particular case the Honda she mentions was not yet available for sale in ********* and the agreement was based on a third party price and subject to verification and whether or not the vehicle actually made it to ********** This Honda Pilot never became available for sale in ** because it was sold in ******* by another dealership. Subsequently the dealership in ********* never purchased the Pilot. We do honor online prices each day as long as the vehicle is available. The only exception to this policy is when the price is altered in error by a third party vendor such as *********** ********* ******** etc. Ms ****** is welcome to any available inventory at any price we have legitimately adverstised. If the Pilot had actually been available here in ** I would make every effort to satisfy her with that unit.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

08/31/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
on July 16th we received a postcard about a sale going on and they would pay $2000.00 more than book value for our car and no payments for 60 days
on July 16th we received a post card about a big factory sale at Crown, they want our used Dodge Journey and would pay $2000.00 more than book for it and no payments for 60 days and a factory rep. would be on site to make the best deals. we went in on the 17th and met the factory rep. he handed us off to a salesman (nice guy) so we test drove cars made offers etc. etc. so 6 hours later the factory rep. comes over with a piece of paper and says that this is the best deal he and the general manger can come up with. nothing down, $495.85 a month and no payments till September. I said ok and even initialed the 3 agreements. he took that paper back to the finance lady. when we went to sign the papers, every thing went smooth and we left, we love our new Jeep. couple weeks ago I got our first statement in the mail and a payment is due in August. I called our salesman and he talked to the finance person and general manager and because we signed the papers and did not look at them, there is nothing they can do now. my wife and I were just signing where she told us to and were trusting that they were correct. if we had read every paper that we signed we would have been there for three days.
Thank You

Desired Settlement
since I am on fixed income and we had planned on paying off some bills with that extra money to make room for the higher payments we have on the new car now, we think we deserve a refund of that extra payment of $495.85 that they said we would not be making.
Thank You

Business Response
Mr. ******** was told at the time of purchase that he would not have a payment until September. His due date is actually August 31st. If it were 60 days out it would still be due Sept 15th. He was never told that the dealership would make any payments. He is not making any "extra" payments. I (****** *****, General Manager)had his file pulled to review the statements about what he signed. He did sign for no money down and for the payment. There is no mention on any documents of 60 days until his due date or anything about the dealership making any payments. I do feel after talking to the salesperson that he was told his first payment would be in September. Since 60 days would be the 15th of September, or about 15 days later than it is actually scheduled, I am willing to refund him 50% of his first payment. I will have a check sent to him for $250.00 when he accepts that as resolution. I should also point out that when his contract was signed the due date was clearly marked August 31st. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We will accept the response from Crown. tell Mr. ***** that we can count the days from July 17th till Aug 31st. it was not really about the money, it was about the way this whole thing was handled from the start. there was an ad in the paper about this sale, we received a post card about this sale, most of the facts of both ads were incorrect, it said "10 gold coins" for a test drive, there were 5 gold, 5 silver, it said $2,000. over book for our used car, which we had to fight for. oh well, we accept the $250. just to get it over and done with.
Thank you, B.B.B. for all you do for Chattanooga.

04/06/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had been advised by Crown Chrysler to lease a car from them after my paid for ******** could not be repaired. (switch) When I went to them when I only had 3 months to go on lease, they advised me that the $9,000 paid down on the ******** **** **** was gone. They then said I could buy a 2009 same model, and they would pay off the remaining 3 months and also spray the diamond dust on it to cover scratches. They soon sold my 2013 ********* They said they did not have mileage because it had been sold.

Desired Settlement
I had my copy which states that the Crown Chrysler Dealer will pay off lease (3 mos) and spray that other ******** XXX XXXX with diamond dust to cover scratches, if I will purchase the older, 2009 car. Now I am threatened if I don't pay $2,028.58 for 3 months on lease and extra mileage. I want them to pay. They said they would.

Business Response
Ms. ***** turned her vehicle in and purchased another one. The agreement to pay off her remaining payments is correct and we did in fact pay those payments. We did not sell the car she had leased. It was not a trade in. That vehicle was turned in to the leasing company. The charges she is referring to are mileage charges from the leasing company to her. That has nothing to do with the dealership. There was never an agreement to pay any additional charges for her. Our finance director has been over this with her several times. We did honor our part of the agreement.

****** *****
General Manager

Consumer Response
It is important to note that the charges for extra mileage, wear on car and 3 months leasing charges were given to **** to collect. Since their finance manager gave me his assurance that Crown Chrysler would pay those months I had left on the lease and spray the 2009 ******** with diamond dust to cover scratches if I purchase 2009 ******** from them. We signed a paper stating this. When I got a bill for $2,028.58 for all three things, I informed **** the lease had been paid as Crown Chrysler admitted, so today **** took that off. The lady who drew up the lease for me said it had been sold when I asked her for the mileage on the lease car.
**** has agreed to let me pay $1,285.25 for extra miles. He said BBB could look it up on the computer. He said to call him (XXX)XXX-XXXX and he will give you the number. I do not have a computer. I hope the mileage can be verified. No one has gone over this several times. The only times I called, I could not get an answer except when the lady said she did not and could not give me the mileage, the car was sold! I wish they had talked to me! I have tried to be as honest and accurate as I can. This still is a large amount of money to me since my husband died.
Thank you for your help. Please excuse my writing. I had rotator cuff surgery and my hands are not the same.

Sincerely,

****** *****

03/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a radiator from Crown April 2014 and was told that I have a 1 year warranty for parts and labor. Radiator is warped and will not replace.
Jeep Wrangler not heating had thermostat replaced on 02142015, still not heating took to ***** **** radiator for heating coil to be cleaned on 02162015. Received a call 30 minutes and was told that the radiator is warped and is leaking. Took to the dealership since the radiator was only purchased in April 2014. Advised service advisor what the radiator shop diagnosis was from ***** **** ******** and left vehicle since I was told by ****** ******** that they were extremely busy. I saw the service adviser that assisted me with my last visit (*****) and reminded him that he told me that he was going to call me when the brackets came in that was on back order and that he never did call. The following day called Crown Jeep and spoke with *****, a service advisor. He said that the service Adviser that assisted me the previous day had left for the day but he will check on my vehicle and return my call back. During my lunch break I noticed no call from *****, so I called the service manager and left message on his vm. *** called back and told me that my vehicle was about ready to be picked up. I asked him if they replaced the radiator or what did they do to the vehicle and he said that he did not know what they did and he will check on it and give me a call back. ***** called back a few minutes later and told me that the radiator cap was replaced and a pressure test was ran on the radiator and the only problem is the cap and it is working now. Advised ***** again what the radiator company had previously told me about the radiator being warped and it was noticeable when looking down where the fluid is. ***** told me that I have a 2 year Warranty on the radiator and I said I thought I had a 1 year warranty which will be up in April 2015. He said no you have a 2 year warranty, I asked ***** to give me that in writing when I come and pick the vehicle up and that I would like to get the headlights fixed with the brackets that is not on bac order now. He said he will be able to give me the warranty when I came in to pick the vehicle up and that he do not know if the bracket clips and the lights could be aligned by close of business that day 02172015. ***** called me back the following morning on 02182015 telling me the price to have headlights aligned, clips for headlights 138.91. I asked ***** did they change told ***** that when I come in that I wanted the paperwork where I have 2 years warranty. **** called me at 1 saying that my vehicle was ready. Advised **** of the conversation that ***** and I had about me having a 2 year warranty on the radiator and that he was going to have the paperwork saying this when I came to pick the vehicle up. I went to the dealership and ****** walked me to cashier for payments with the headlights. I asked her where was the warranty saying I had 2 years warranty and that ***** assured me that I could pick this up when I came. Asst. Manger in the service department (a Female) said she was in charge, she said that I do not have nothing but a year warranty and she do not know why ***** told me this. She asked ****** to go and get ***** so he can come and talk with me. ***** was with a customer and stayed with the customer after waiting 15 to 20 minutes for him to come and speak with me. I then asked for the president or ceo of the company and ****** told me that everyone had went home since it was after 5 and the only person that was left was the female and she had walked away to leave ***** and I to settle it among ourselves. I left and went back to work and the heat never did work and it did not work on the drive home. Crown said it was my radiator and it was not sealing causing it to leak. I brought the jeep there with no heat and left with no heat.

Desired Settlement
Radiator replaced before warranty expire.

Business Response
I contacted the customer and ask her to please bring the vehicle in so I could inspect the radiator for damage and if it needs to be replaced I would do it. She told me the vehicle has no heat and I need to check that to determine the cause. So if the customer would please contact me and set a time when the vehicle can be brought in I am happy to assist in any way possible.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
*** ***** is correct that he spoke with me a day after and asked me to bring the vehicle in. I was at work and did not drive the jeep that day because of the cold temperature. I went and talked to *** ***** on Feb. 24, after work and we agreed for me to bring the jeep in Monday morning March 3, before work. So at this point with them just looking at the jeep and if I accepted this as resolution is not satisfactory. Monday answer from *** ***** is contingent on if I accept the response from the business..

******* *******

Final Business Response
I Left a message for Ms. ****** on Monday. She was to bring the vehicle in but could not. She will reschedule it. I left her a message Tuesday morning to call me so I am waiting for her to call me back. I have assured her that I will replace the radiator if it really needs one.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
March 4th after work the Jeep was dropped off at Crown's Jeep to the service manager, *** ****** *** said that he didn't see anything that was warped with the radiator but that he would replace the radiator. The radiator was replaced and since picking it up on March 7TH I haven't been able to gauge the heat available since the outdoors weather haven't been below freezing to gauge. I was assured by *** that he was interested in resolving this issue and after *** and I talked, I feel comfortable that the line of communication is available.

*******

06/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a 2012 Dodge Journey from Crown and drove away with the vehicle 3/24/14. I then returned the car on 5/3/14, because our loan was rejected.
Purchased a 2012 Dodge Journey on 3/24/14, returned to complete a list of contacts and provide paycheck stub. Went back to present proof of insurance. I was then contacted to fill out another loan application for the vehicle. At this time I was told I might need to trade my car in towards the purchase of the Journey, or return the Journey because our credit showed we had too many vehicle loans. At the time we had no vehicle loans, our vehicles were collateral on 2 personal loans. Crown then contacted us to tell us we needed to get one of the vehicles off of our credit. After a long week of getting a new loan through ********** ********** we got 1 of our vehicles off of a loan. We let them know what was happening and that we would be getting a clear title on our Isuzu Trooper. At which time Crown contacted us to say that this was still not enough for a car loan. We then asked my wife's father to co-sign the loan. I was then told it would have to be in my wife's name and her father listed as co-signer. My father-in-law contacted *** ****** with all of the needed information to co-sign the loan. We were then contacted and told the loan still did not go through for the Dodge Journey and we would need to return the vehicle. We promptly returned the vehicle on Saturday, May 3, 2014. I then asked about the $500 deposit we had put down and we were told it couldn't be issued on a Saturday, to call back on Monday. I called on Monday and had to leave a voice mail for *** ******* Since then I have left several other voice mails. He finally spoke with me on Thursday, May 15, at which time he told me it would have to be cleared by the general manager which as of today I still have not spoken with him. I have only been able to leave voice mails and I am still leaving voice mails as of today, May 17. I only want the deposit we put down in good faith of becoming the owners of the Dodge Journey. I have never received an explanation as to how we put a deposit down, signed car loan papers, and drove off of the lot with a vehicle that we had to return because our credit wasn't "good enough". Now we are without the car, $500, and no explanation about the whole situation. Could you please help us?
Thank you ***** ******

Desired Settlement
I want the $500 deposit returned to me that I put down in good faith as a down payment on a Dodge Journey which Crown Dodge requested I return. I also want a complete explanation as to how you can drive away with a vehicle you think you are purchasing then have to return after you have done everything to qualify for financing. I want the $500, an apology, and an explanation promptly.

Business Response
Mr. ****** purchased the Journey conditional on the bank approval which he couldn't obtain. Once he was informed that the transaction was void, he was reluctant to return the car. Eventually he returned the vehicle and was reminded that his deposit was non-refundable. Obviously there was "wear and tear" on our vehicle as a result of the time Mr. ****** used our car.
However, without justification other than goodwill, we will refund Mr. ****** his down payment of $500.00. The check will be mailed by Monday, June 2.
Respectfully,
**** ******
General Manager

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The only person besides the salesman that we spoke with was *** ******* He tried many agencies to secure financing for the vehicle, he also suggested we get a co-signer which we did. However the loan was still denied. The day it was denied, Saturday May 3, 2014, is also the day we returned the Dodge Journey promptly. We never spoke with or received any correspondence from Mr. ******. Their way of doing business has since been explained to us, it is called "Spot Pricing" and it is a shady way to do business. We have since purchased a vehicle with no problems. We were also advised to contact the Tennessee Vehicle Commission. After which we did receive a check from the Crown dealership. We appreciate your help in bringing this matter to a close.
Thank you,
***** ******

07/11/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My name is ****** ********. In the first week of October, I received a call from a representative of Crown Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram located on **** ******* *** During the phone call I was told that they were looking for older vans such as the 2011 Chrysler Town and Country which at the time I owned. I was asked if I would be interested in trading the car in if the deal was right. On that premise I meet with a salesperson that let me test drive a 2015 Chrysler Town and Country. After the test drive I was introduced to ***** ******* who said he was part of The Crown sales department that comes in to help clear inventory. After talking with Mr. ******* he said that he could get us in the 2015 Town and Country, but first wanted to have my wife ******* ** ******** present, so we agreed to meet the following day. The next day my wife and I returned and met again with Mr. ******* While meeting with Mr. ****** he asked my wife if I was good with money, once she assured him that I was, he started his presentation. First he asked what we were paying on our then current van. We answered that our payments were around $385 but we paid over to $400. After running some numbers Mr. ****** returned with a car payment of $726. Now at that point, Mr. ****** stated that he knew that this payment was too high for our budget; but he then went on to say that with this program he was presenting we could afford this car and even bring up my credit score. He first started the presentation by tearing paper into 5 pieces to represent 5 payments. With each payment made on time, points would be added to my credit score. However; we still had the problem of the $726 car payment. Once again he asked ******* if I was good with money and again she assured him that I was. He then told us that if he helped with the payments by giving us money and we were able to meet our obligations on time for 5 months payments and then after that time we would be able to refinance the van under this program to get the payments down to the $426 payments that we agreed that we could pay. He then went into a story about how he helped a client with this program and he took the money given to him and purchased a big screen TV. Mr. ****** then told us that each of the torn pieces of paper represented $300 that could be used to help with the payments. We were to get a check of $1500 and refinance the van after 5 months. After conversation, my wife and I agreed that this was a good deal and decided to take it and trade in the 2011 Chrysler Town and Country.

We sealed the deal and was told that within a couple of weeks, we would receive a call from Crown that the check was ready and was told then by Mr. ****** to tell them that I would pick the check up on site instead of having them sending it by mail. We shook hands, traded in the old van for the new van and drove off believing we made a very good deal.

After two weeks, we had not received the check and reached out to Mr. ****** who instructed me to contact the finance department of Crown and inquire the status of the check. After doing so, I was able to pick up a check on site for $1500 within a couple of days. Over the next several months, we were able to make our car payments on time with the help of the $1500 received from Crown. As it got closer to our final payments dates, I reached out to Mr. ****** on several occasions, mostly unsuccessful. In one of the successful attempts, I asked Mr. ****** what would be our next step on getting the van refinanced. Mind you my wife and I were under the impression that we were now part of a credit rebuilding program provided by Crown and Mr. ****** was one of its representatives. I was then told by Mr. ****** by text to keep making payments and all will be fine. We continued to make payments on time and continued to reach out sometimes again unsuccessfully to Mr. ******* seeking answers on the next step in the refinancing program. On one of the rare successful conversations with Mr. ******* he suggested that I try to refinance the van thru one of the banking establishments where I was a member. Upon that advice, I reached out to ******** ***** and ********* ********** All turned down my attempt to refinance. I relayed this info to Mr. ****** who expressed surprise that ***** did not refinance.

From this point I returned to Crown on ******* ** and spoke with sales manager ***** ****** Upon telling Mr. ****** he said that his best option on his end is the possibility of trading the 2015 Chrysler Town and Country and with the help of rebates get another van with payments that may be more suitable. After about a week I reached out to Mr. ***** again, who told me he was not successful in finding a suitable situation for me on the van. I then stated that I had left a message on his phone while he was out Monday and Tuesday (4/4 & 4/5) stating that I was willing to take an automobile other than a van if it would get the payments down to manageable rate. He also told me that Mr. ****** was at the ********** ** location and to try to reach out to him there. After several attempts to reach Mr. ******* I was able to talk to Mr. ****** who said that he was really busy but he would call me later that evening (4/8). After no return call on Friday, I received a text from Mr. ****** stating that he worked until 10:45pm and wanted to reschedule our conversation for Sunday. Like before after several attempts to reach Mr. ******* , our conversation never happened.

Now my wife and I are now faced with the dilemma of trying to handle car payments we would have never went into in the first place if not for the assurances of Mr. ******* That along with the difficulty of getting answers from Mr. ******* we honestly feel that we were victims of what is commonly known as bait and switch. We feel that we were not adequately made aware of the financial obligations and was lead to believe that we were part of a program and if we did what was told to us that we would be able to refinance. There were no preconditions told to us other than with the $1500 provided to us to make sure we make our payments on time. Both my wife and I are disheartened by the sales practices and customer service of Crown Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram and cannot in good faith recommend under any circumstances Crown as a dealership with integrity. I have kept records of all text and phone calls concerning this situation and will gladly make them available upon request. Whether or not this letter changes our current situation, I felt it important to express our disappointment in how this was handled.

This letter is to be sent to The Better Business Bureau, *************** and the Executive Office of Crown Chrysler Dodge Ram.

Sincerely,

****** ********

Desired Settlement
To obtain the desired / promised car payment of $426.

Business Response
This was resolved with the customer back on 4-14-2016 by trading him out of the van for a Dodge Journey with a lower payment. He went online and gave us a good review after he left happy.

06/23/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Long delay in submitting title and registration paperwork.
When I had not received the title or registration 2 weeks after I purchased a vehicle from Crown, I called the dealership. After checking, the salesman said the paperwork would be submitted Tuesday as Monday was a holiday. The holiday was 2 weeks away in the 4th week after vehicle purchase. It appears that there is a deliberate 4 week delay before the dealership submits title and registration paperwork.

The vehicle was sold without an emmssions test which is required in ******** county. So after the dealership finally attempted to register the vehicle, they could not. This required my wife to drive ** miles and waste 3 hours of her day to allow the dealership to get the vehicle tested. We tried to get them to give us the papwerwork so we could get it registered outselves, but they said it was illegal to do so as the vehicle had a lien. While I am not a lawyer, this does not sound true.

In any event, the dealership policies cost me time and consternation following up on the registration numerous times via phone and Email as well as wasting a significant part of my wifes time. The vehicle is not yet registered.

Desired Settlement
An apology by the manager and a promise to discontinue the practice of delaying submission of registration papwerwork.

Business Response
Mr. ******** has been contacted by management (office manager) and has received an apology for the delay. There is no deliberate practice of delaying registration. The dealership would not benefit from that in any way. In this case there were emissions test issues as well as a back log in our accounting office due to high volume. There is no intentional harm here. Unfortunately we can not control the fact that ******** county requires emissions testing. Generally we have the testing completed before the vehicle is sold but in this case the truck was purchased almost immediately after we obtained it.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No Crown management personnel has contacted me for any reason. A secretary that refused to connect me with the store manager is the only person other than the salesman and sales manager that I was able to talk to. When I asked to speak to the dealership general manager, I was connected to the sales manager even after I said I did not want to talk to him. He stated that vehicle registrations were not his area and he knew nothing of the issue (no surprise). The salesman said they had the vehicle for some time and were going to wholesale it as no one would buy it with the large dent in the side. It also had a check engine light and rodent damage under the hood. So, either the salesman was lying or the respondent to the BBB complaint is lying. The dealership knew weeks in advance that the truck would not be registered until the week of Memorial day which was 4 weeks after I bought the truck. The dealership would benefit by sitting on customers sales tax and registration fees for a month and collecting the interest.
This dealership appears to lack integrity.

09/28/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hello BBB,

- Illegal sales tactics and practices being used by the Crown dealership associates.
- Rude treatment received from office manager

- I would like to say that this establishment is currently using shady business practices in getting new car loan sales.

- I believe the sale associates name was ****** ** who used the non traditional misleading sales practices.

- Lied about approval several times. Lied to my friend who was asked to help as far as (Income only). No credit check.

Desired Settlement
I would like to complete the loan process and be approved for the 30,300.00 ********** ********* has fully approved me for PERIOD have the docket number and approval letter. I would also like for this associate I delt with reviewed for what tacts he is using to sell cars "NOT DISCLOSING ALL INFORMATION" prior to any customer decision.

Business Response
Ms ****** received a pre approval from ******** based on certain criteria but still must have enough income for the loan. It is not Crown's fault that she does not have enough income. Mr ***** tried to cosign for her to add income to the deal but his credit is not sufficient to do so. Again this is no fault of Crown. The dealership does not control the lending institution's decisions. This customer spoke to a sales manager and the sales person but never an office manager. Mr ***** did cause a scene and refer to our employees as snakes in the grass as well as threaten the sales manager with complaints and job loss. I must stress that his credit situation and her lack of income has nothing to do with the dealership. I can't force a lender to approve them. They did not purchase anything here so I am not sure what the illegal tactics are or lack of disclosure would be. They did sign a credit application and did apply for a loan. If her complaint is about the pre approval letter or criteria then she should address that with the lender.

08/24/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told I was a "grand prize winner" on a scratch-off contest, & when I went to collect my prize, I found out I was lied to just to get me there.
On Tuesday August 4, 2015, I found a flyer in the mail with a scratch-off contest stating that if one of the numbers of the three levels of prizes offered matched the number under my scratch off, then I would immediately win the prize that corresponded to my number. I scratched off the game piece, and it matched with the top grand prizeeither $25,000 or a 2015 **** ******** ****** The flyer said that if you scratched off a winning number then you needed to call the prize "hotline" to confirm your winnings. I read all the fine print and could see nowhere that it told me there were other requirements to win the grand prize, even though the flyer came with a mock "key" to try out somewhere. I called the hotline, and a lady answered (who sounded completely disinterested that I called), and she asked for my confirmation code found on the flyer. I gave it to her, and she said, again with very little enthusiasm, "Yes, this confirms you've won the grand prize. We are open until 8:00 tonight. Can you come in tonight? You just need to bring your valid driver's license and when you get here, ask for ******** I replied, "Okay that sounds good, I can come in. But, I want to know something first. I live about 7-8 miles away. Nothing this good (prize-wise) ever comes this easy or without a catch, so what's the catch?" She says, "No catch. Just come in an ask for ****** She is our prize coordinator." I was satisfied that now that she'd given me a contact name, she'd also given me a job title. I agreed to come in to the dealership. When I arrived at the dealership, there were a bunch of folding tables set up in the main showroom with a bunch of salesmen walking around trying to see to customers (also of whom many had come in apparently under the same guise). Before too long, a bald guy wearing shorts and tennis shoes with a huge tattoo down his right arm that read "COUNTRY" said, "Has anyone helped you yet?" I said, "No, not yet." He said, "Ok come over here." We started to sit down at a table with a little plastic thing on it with a key slot on it. I said, "I was told that when I got here, I needed to ask for ******** to which he replied, "Yeah that's not real, it's just a codeword we use on the phone to make sure you got the flyer and you're who you say you are on the phone." I immediately felt duped and lied to. He said, "Go ahead and stick your key in there and give it a turn." I did, and I couldn't seem to get the key to fully enter the key slot. I asked, "It doesn't seem to want to go in, am I doing this right?" Again with a tone of complete disinterest and without any eye contact with me whatsoever, he replies "Well then I guess you didn't win the grand prize. If it doesn't go in, you don't win." All he seemed to care about at that time was taking down my information (address, vehicle make and model, year, mileage, etc.) and trying to talk me into trading in my current vehicle. I told him I wasn't interested, so he says, "Well, Okay, lets go see what you did win then." We walked across the showroom, and he compared my "prize winning number" to some larger poster and said that I had won the common prize of 2 lotto tickets (neither of which were winners, so that was just unfortunate). I left the dealership angry, frustrated, and feeling like I had been completely lied to and tricked. First off by having a scratch-off game that made it appear that I was a "grand prize winner," next by some girl on the phone telling me that ********* was a real person and had a legit job title in the midst of a big contest, and thirdly I felt completely disrespected by a car salesman who was dressed completely unprofessionally, failed to make eye contact with me during conversation, and seemed to care about nothing but getting me to trade in my vehicle. I wasted an hour of my life on a lie with false advertising and was completely disrespected in the process. Because of this, I will NEVER shop at this dealership in the future.

Desired Settlement
I am not seeking any resolution from the business other than I don't want any more false advertisements of winning or phone calls from them again in the future. I am not the only one of my friends who received that same piece of mail, I was just the only one that was dumb enough to fall for the trick of being told I was a "grand prize winner" just to get me to drive to the dealership and then be lied to and treated like a piece of meat because I wasn't the "real" grand prize winner, or wasn't interested in trading in or buying new.

Business Response
The mail advertisement referred to by this customer includes a very clear disclaimer that states if your numbers match the you are the winner of "one" of the prizes. The fine print the customer refers to also states that the prize won and the winning number for the larger grand prize can not be given over the phone. The odds of winning are also clearly stated for each prize. The information given to callers on the hotline number by the promotional company is that the recipient must come in the dealership with their driver's license to claim their prize. Every piece mailed included a winning match for some prize. The larger prize board containing the winning number for the grand prizes was posted in the dealership and the second chance to win with the key test was also at the dealership. I am sorry this person feels this way, however all of the correct language is clearly stated on the mail piece. We have no sales people at Crown CDJR Fiat allowed to dress in shorts! The event mail pieces did include a winner for every prize listed. I am available to answer any questions.

04/08/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On the advertising mail I received Said I had won 25,000 cash or a dodge charger. When i Get to dealership the tell me I only won 2 1$ lottery tickets.
4 boxes with prizes. I won the Grand Prize on the mail but when i get to dealership they give me prize from different box. I Won the 25,000 according to the mail advertisement. They took information about me and what vehicle i drove took my phone number then give me 2 $ in lottery tickets. Somehow a 25,000 prize turned into a 2$ prize. oh and my daughter got a balloon isn't that nice of them. I guess that made up for the lies so I wouldn't get mad at them for tricking me.

Desired Settlement
I would like to get the Prize I was told I won. 25,000$ I don't need the nice car but I do need the money to pull myself out of debt. On the phone I was told I won. No one told me to come in and id get 2$ I was under assumption I would get 25,000$ prize that was a miracle waiting to happen.

Business Response
The advertisement does not state that the recipient has won $25000. The odds of winning are clearly marked. I'm sorry this person feels that way. The advertisement states he has won a prize and the possible prizes are all listed.

Final Business Response
I'd just like to clarify; Each prize listed has a corresponding winning mail piece, the odds are stated on the piece, and the grand prize valued at $25,000 has in fact been claimed? I apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred.

****** *****
General Manager

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies-New, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/17/2011Business started: 01/01/1981Business started locally: 02/01/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State/TN
312 8th Avenue North 6th Floor, Snodgrass Tower
Nashville, TN 37243-0001
(615) 741-2286

Department of Commerce & Insurance/TN
500 James Robertson Parkway Davy Crockett Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243-1204
(615) 741-2241
http://www.tennessee.gov/commerce

Hamilton County Business License
(423) 209-6500

BBB records show a license number of 643850 for this company, issued by Secretary of State/TN. The expiration date of this license is 04/01/2017. LLC.

BBB records show a license number of 17648 for this company, issued by Department of Commerce & Insurance/TN. Their web address is http://www.tennessee.gov/commerce. The expiration date of this license is 12/31/2016. Motor Vehicle Dealer.

The expiration date of this license is 05/15/2017.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Dennis Henry (General Manager)
Contact Information
Mr. Dewayne Hawkins (CEO)Mr. Eric Langley (Service Manager) Taylor Morrow (Assistant to GM)Mr. Jim Myers (COO)
Number of Employees

60

Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies-New, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Products & Services

This company offers auto sales and service.

Alternate Business Names
Crown Chattanooga, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Crown Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge-Ram

2120 Chapman Road

Chattanooga, TN 37421

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2120 Chapman Road 

    Chattanooga, TN 37421(423) 591-6868
    (423) 710-6999
    Fax: (423) 531-2077

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chattanooga, TN serving Southeast Tennessee and Northwest Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Crown Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge-Ram is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (423) 710-6999
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers-New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.