BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/20/2010

BMW of Chattanooga

Phone: (423) 894-5660

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
04/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They repaired my car after a month being there. Once I picked it up the amplifier was wet and the sound system was down.
Car is convertible 2008 white BMW 335i. VIN WBAWLXXXXXPXXXXXX. Date of start of repairs is March 10, 2014, date car was picked up 4/7/2014. Mileage in XXXXX. Mileage out XXXXX
Service tag T0147.
I have had my car for almost a month at BMW of Chattanooga for oil leaks and problem with bolts. I was called to pick up my car today. After I paid and right after I turned on the ignition I heard disturbing noises. I turned right back and the noise seemed to be from the radio/amplifier. I had a service person check it out for me and said there is water around the amplifier. They think it is rain and they say they are not responsible since I am a good service customer they might work it out and pick up half the cost. Bearing in mind I haven't had a problem with my amplifier before and I have been driving my car in all kinds of heavy rain and parking it outside. It has been on several occasions in automatic car wash and without any problem! Also my car was wet and was just washed right before I got it. Please advise. I have talked with Mr. ***** ******* at BMW of Chattanooga.

Desired Settlement
The problem happened while the car was in their possession for almost a month and never before in all kinds of rain. Also this oil leak repair was very soon after a prior costly oil leak repair. I request replacing my amplifier preferably at a different dealership while they pick up the cost.
Thank you

Business Response
Received the following response from the business stating:

This issue has been resolved. I spoke with ***** ******** Service Manager, and he has talked with the client, ***** ****** and BMW has agreed to pay for the repair of the amplifier. The client is satisfied with the resolution of his complaint.

BMW OF CHATTANOOGA

12/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Took car into service department as a "cherry" car came out a "lemon" with them saying they were thru working on it.
Initially took car to service an issue with a sluggish start. For **** dollars they said it didn't have a BMW battery and that was the problem. After getting the car home for a couple of days all of a sudden one evening the car would not even start. So the next morning they sent a mechanic to the house to fix it. He didn't and had to get the car towed back to service. After they received the car we were told that they were *** sure it was the starter and that would cost another ****** so they put a starter on it and we picked the car up again, drove it home and parked it in the driveway and the car wouldn't start. So they come out again and tried to fix it in the driveway but couldn't, so they towed it back again. After a month and 2 days of not hearing from them, and just waiting on them to call us they did, saying car was fixed, that it was a module. So they delivered the car to us and three days later the car wouldn't start. Plus, the front window is cracked and the trim they removed is laying in the floor board. Now, after all of this, they are saying they have done everything they were asked to do. But now, instead of a sluggish start, we have a car that won't start at all. And trust me, this is a shortened version of the story!

Desired Settlement
I want my car fixed.

Business Response
Received the following response from the business stating:

This car is owned by Stephanie ********* We have been working directly with her. I have had the car towed to the dealership twice and have reimbursed her for the wrong diagnoses.

****** ******** does not own the car and I have personally never spoken with Mr. ********. I spoke with Stephanie since this claim, and she is bringing the car back to get the issue resolved.

***** ******
Service Manager
BMW of Chattanooga

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is Stephanie Galloway the car owner, and yes, I did give BMW of Chattanooga permission to talk to ****** ******** (my fiance) and my father (Steve Kyle). Feel free to ask **** Cantrell about this particular issue. We made it clear that they (****** ******** and Steve Kyle) would understand the mechanical terminology much clearer than I. I would like to start from the beginning. On 7-11-2013, I was in Chattanooga and my car started acting up with a sluggish start. I took it to BMW of Chattanooga and the mechanic said he thought it was the battery but to schedule an appointment. I scheduled appointment with **** Cantrell on 7-16-2013, to bring the car in for diagnoses. They put a new BMW battery in and reset codes and said it was fixed and ready after we pd $485.32. ****** ******** picked up the car on 7-17-13, after hours and after I made it clear to leave car unlocked they had left the car locked. ******* from *** got a slim jim and opened the car but not before tearing the weather stripping apart. The car still wasn't fixed, very sluggish and continued to get worse. ****** and my father Steve had found some info on internet with similar issues that mimicked my car. I sent **** ******** a text on 8-1-13, asking him to please review my father's emails and if he could give him a call regarding emails. They did discuss this issue over the phone and agreed a draw test needed to be performed. I called and scheduled another appointment with **** Cantrell for 8-13-13, at 10 am for them to perform draw test. I took the car in and they said they needed it for a few days to perform a draw test. On 8-15-13, I text **** Cantrell and asked for an update, no reply. On 8-16-13, I text **** Cantrell for an update and he said the car was ready and n 8-17-13, I picked up the car. The only thing they could find was the integrated phone that could be causing drainage of battery. Car still wasn't fixed. Sluggish start once again. On 8-24-13, my car wouldn't start at all. The windows and lights would still work but car would not start. I called BMW again. I talked with ***** ****** and a **** that is the General manager and so did ****** ********. I was told, and so was ******, by ***** and **** (GM), that I would be refunded for my battery ($485.32) and **** (GM) would call me at 8 am on Monday 8-26-13, and he would get me a rental car and haul my car back to dealership. I also sent **** Cantrell a text on 8-26-13, at 7:25 am asking him to touch base with the other **** (GM) to make sure everything was still on schedule to get me a car and pick mine up. Do you think anyone called Monday morning? No. I had to ask neighbor for a ride to take kids to school and me to work. I did receive a call after lunch that day from ***** ****** and he did send Everett up to look at my car and have it hauled back to dealership. No refund was ever issued to me on the payment of my battery and they tried to stick me with a $320.00 haul fee! On 8-30-13, I tried calling **** (GM) and *****. I left a message with a lady at front desk to have **** call me back at 6pm whenever I finished up at work with an update on my car. I never heard from him. I also sent **** Cantrell a text message regarding an update since we had communicated by text before but never heard from him that day either. On 9-2-13, I spoke with Everett (head Mechanic) and ***** ****** on speaker phone and they both assured me that it was the starter that needed replacing. A $1300.00 brand new starter. They were 99% sure that was the problem. On 9-10-13, I went to pick up my car with a so called brand new $1300.00 that wasn't brand new. They couldn't even tell my father anything about it other than it had a warranty. My father was a certified marine mechanic with mercury and Yamaha and marine owner for 28 yrs. I text **** Cantrell to ask if they had hooked my integrated phone back up at 8:02 am on 9-10-13, since that wasn't the problem. When I arrived **** Cantrell, ***** ******, and Everett met me in **** Cantrell's office. They then told me that the car was going to need 2 modules replaced. Whenever they went to hook up the integrated phone they found these issues but these issues should have been found during the first draw test. I had Everett the head mechanic talk to my father. I was told that after speaking with Everett and ***** that these modules could be causing the car to have a sluggish start. Even **** Cantrell agreed that this issue relates back to the whole reason I brought the car in in the first place. Not the starter. Did I even need a starter? The 2 modules were the Air bag control and the CAS unit module. I paid them a check for ******* for starter. We had went round and round on this number. They said they were taking the charges off of the battery to compensate the difference. The numbers never added up to be right. They just kept telling me how much money they had invested in my car and how they were at such a loss. I went to get in my car and my front seat would not move at all. They had to fix it and as I was on my way home the brake light started malfunctioning and would not stop. Then after I almost made it home (An 1hr and 45min drive one way) it broke down with me and my daughter! At this time the car has left me stranded twice! I called my father in tears and he called ***** ******. I tried calling ***** and **** ******** and left messages.
They sent ******* up the next day and again I had to ask neighbor for a ride for kids and me to school and work. On 9-11-13, ******* showed up to work on car and had it towed back to dealership. He could not get it to start. On 9-13-13, I received a text from **** Cantrell stating that once my car arrived at dealership they were able to crank it right up and they would be returning it back to me on 9-16-13, since they found nothing wrong with it. I text **** Cantrell back and ask them what they magically did to get the car to start and that I did not want it back til they drove it to make sure it was fixed. I wrote down mileage. I expressed that I did not want to get stranded again and after all the money I had spent and had been reassured 99% that it was the starter and fixed! On 9-16-13, I texted **** Cantrell and added that both times it had left me stranded I was on a forward facing angle. Down hill. On 10-17-13, I finally heard from **** at BMW for an update! 4wks and 2 days! **** Cantrell called and said it was the CAS unit module and they replaced it. **** Cantrell said someone would bring it to me Friday, 10-18-13, and give me a refund for starter and battery or I mentioned I would be in Chattanooga on 10-19-13, and could pick it up. I didn't hear back from **** so I sent him a text on 10-23-13, but didn't hear back til 10-28-13. At this point I had been without my car now for 6wks! On 10-29-13, a driver brought my car back to me at my work with a refund check for $441.59. That did not include the refund for the battery. I was with a client at the time. Whenever I finished with my client I went to check out my car and it had a busted windshield! I sent **** Cantrell pics on 3 separate days and he never replied! On 11-1-13, my car broke down with me again! For a 3rd time! It was on an angle (down hill) so I called **** and told him we had bigger problems than the windshield even though he never acknowledged. ****** ******** proceeded to tow it to level ground and it started. I talked to **** and he asked if I was parked near a transformer. That parking next to a transformer could cause it not to start. Seriously! My father called BMW and he was advised that he would no longer be spoken to about this issue, it would only be me since I was the car owner. Well my father is owner of the car as well. He was told they were done working on the car. BMW of Chattanooga would no longer service my car. I understood that once you signed a service contract stating cause of problem with car they couldn't breach contract. ****** ******** filed a complaint to the BBB with my permission on 11-1-13. On 11-8-13, I received a call from ***** ******. It was a 20:51 conversation. He expressed how they were going to fix my windshield and pick up my car on 11-11-13, and I would have a loaner car and make everything right. He also expressed that he knew he had been turned into the BBB. He had Ty call me about trading my car and I told Ty BMW was picking up my car 11-11-13, and he could put some numbers together then. It is now 11-13-13, and BMW never called or came to pick up my car on 11-11-13. Just so happens that when I called ***** he couldn't remember having this conversation with me and said I had to bring the car in. Well as of this morning, 11-13-13, my car left me and kids stranded again in 16 degree temp and won't start at all. ***** is now refusing to work on it once again and I was talked to like a dirty dog. I did tell ***** this and that I would be back in touch with BBB. Looks like someone tried to beat me to it. I have a 20:51 conversation from 11-8-13, full of lies and a car that wont run at all now!

Final Business Response
Received the final response from the business stating:

The BMW service department fixed the customer's car at no charge to the customer, (and) also delivered the car back to her home, at no charge.

***** ******
Service Manager
BMW of Chattanooga

10/11/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vehicle was sold with the promise of Lifetime Vehicle Wash.
BMW 335D purchased in 2011. Lifetime vehicle wash included with purchase. 9/13/2013 I was informed that this service would no longer be honored. Called the dealer and asked to speak to manager on 9/17/2013, they promised a return call, no call was received. Contacted BMW of North America via email, they called me and I spoke with Stephan. Stephan promised a call from the dealer, this was 9/19/2013. It is 9/26/2013 and I have heard from no one.

Desired Settlement
Continue the "Lifetime" vehicle wash with which the vehicle was sold.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********** MANANGER
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***********@BMWOFCHATTANOOGA.COM
*** ******** had valid concerns in regards to the car wash and lack of communication. Our complimentary car wash was shut down for a couple of weeks. I spoke with *** ******** yesterday, 10/8/13, and informed him of our new car wash operating hours from 9AM-4PM. I apologized for any inconvenience we caused him and for not contacting him in a timely manner. *** ******** seemed satisfied after our conversation. We value his business and aim to keep him as a happy customer.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The business honored their commitment and offered an acceptable reason for the break in service.

03/25/2013Problems with Product / Service
05/12/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
**** ******* and ******** ******* both employees of BMW of Chattanooga, assured me that BMW would pay for the seats to be fixed on a vehicle I bought.
On 3/26/2014, I purchased a 2009 Chevy Tahoe from BMW of Chattanooga. While on the way home I noticed the heated/cooling feature on the seats did not work. The next day I called sales manager, **** ******** and told him about the issue and asked if they could look at the seats and he said yes. I then asked if they would fix the seats and he said yes because it's a problem that should have been caught. On 3/31/2014, I took the Tahoe to BMW to be looked at and waited 2 hours only to be told they didn't have time to look at it and salesman, ******** ******* referred me to ********* ********* of *********** and told me to tell them to bill the repairs to BMW. I took the Tahoe to ********* and they advised the repairs would be $770 for a new module and wiring harness. When ********* called BMW about payment, Mr. ****** then said that he was paying for the repairs out of his own pocket and would only pay $500. When I came back on 4/9/2014, to have my seats repaired, ********* called Mr. ****** about payment and he pretty much denied having said he would pay $500 and gave authorization to go ahead and do the work. After all was said and done, BMW finally issued a PO # for the payment of $500 and I had to pay the remaining balance of $270.

Desired Settlement
I think I should be reimbursed the $270 since I was told by the sales manger and the salesman that BMW would pay for the cost of the repairs. I did everything they told me to do about bringing the Tahoe to them to look at and then when referred to ********** I took the Tahoe there to have the problem diagnosed. Both **** ******* and ******** ****** lied when they said they would pay for the repairs.

Business Response
Received the following information from BMW stating:

Our Sales Manager did speak with the client at the time of purchase. He allotted another $1,000 to make the deal work for the client, it was an "as is" purchase with the vehicle having 90,000 miles on it and client chose not to purchase a warranty. No promises were made. Client called in with an issue to the heating/cooling feature on the seats. Sales Manager told her we would take a look at it. Client took it to ********* ********* and had repairs fixed. We at that time allotted her $500.00 for the repairs. It is our understanding that again, no promises were made and it was sold "as is". BMW has put $1500.00 into helping the client and feel at this time that we have acted in good faith.

If there is anything further that you may need from us, just let me know.

Thank you,

****** ********
Customer Relations Manager
BMW OF CHATTANOOGA


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It was not until the day after I purchased the vehicle that I called the sales manager and made him aware of the problem with the seats. He said they would look at it. I then asked if they did find a problem with the seats would they pay to have the seats fixed. And he told me that they would since it was something that should have been caught. When I brought the vehicle back to be looked at, after waiting 2 hours I was referred to ********* ********** When I was referred to ********* I was told by ******** ****** to have them bill the repairs to BMW. When the service advisor called Mr. ****** and asked him about payment, Mr. ****** went into to this big spill about how the cost would be coming out of his pocket and he would pay $500. Then when the repairs were finally made, Mr. ****** denied to the service advisor that he said he would pay $500. The service advisor was finally given a PO# after being put on hold 3 times. (You can also refer to **** ***** at ********* ********* and he can tell you the same story I have just told you) Apparently, if the managers and salesmen at BMW ever say they will fix an issue and pay for it, they forget and then deny it.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.