BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/03/2009

AppliancePartsPros.com, Inc.

Phone: (877) 477-7278Fax: (423) 479-9224240 Edwards St SE, ClevelandTN 37311-6035 Send email to AppliancePartsPros.com, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Sells appliance parts and offers free repair help to consumers.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/03/2009

BBB has determined that AppliancePartsPros.com, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised AppliancePartsPros.com, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service8
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on AppliancePartsPros.com, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 4 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
03/18/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Return was approved and item sent back. No refund or correspondence since they received the part 10 days ago.
Order number: XXXXXXX
Part number: AP4374145 (137137200)
Order date: 2/4/16
Item shipped: 2/5/16
Item received: 2/6/16
Payment method: Credit Card
Cost: $51.07 (item) + $8.50 (shipping & handling)

Return approval date: 2/19/16
Item given to carrier for return shipping: 2/19/16
Item received by business: 2/29/16
Time since item delivered to complaint: 9+ days

Business return policy:
-Once your return is received and inspected by our warehouse staff (usually within 72 hours of receipt), we will process your refund and automatically apply a credit to your credit card or original method of payment within 7 days. Please note that depending on your credit card company, it may take additional 2-10 business days after your credit is applied for it to post to your account.

****

From ordering the part on the website to receiving the item, the process was easy and quick. However, the machine that required the replacement part I had ordered could not be salvaged and the problem made it more worthwhile to dispose of the machine then repair it. I initiated the return process according to the appliancepartspros.com website and the return was approved immediately. I packed and shipped the item and received confirmation via the tracking number from ***** that the item was received and signed for by *********** Since then, there has been no refund issued or contact from the business via email or phone on the status of my return. When I call the phone number listed on the "contact us" webpage, there is always a queue of other callers, making it impossible to speak with a customer service representative. The return policy states that refunds are issued within 7 days of receiving the item. It has been 9+ days.

Desired Settlement
I request that the full amount I paid be refunded.

Business Response
I do apologize for the delay. We've process your credit today and should appear on your account within 2-5 business days depending on your financial institution. The total amount refunded is for $51.07, which is for the part only (we do not refund the shipping unless it was an error on our part). Thank you for your business.

Kind Regards,
***
Customer Correspondence Team

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
As I originally requested, the business refunded the payment amount, less the shipping cost, which is in line with their refund policy. The refund was confirmed by my credit card company. I am satisfied with the resolution to my complaint.

11/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Incorrect Part Shipped - Refused Full Credit
Order # XXXXXX on 10/27/15
Order for ****** Igniter & two screws
Total Cost: $61.88 which includes $6.95 shipping.

I ordered the parts above based on their website parts list. I received the parts but the igniter did not fit. When I called customer service they said that there are two parts with the same part number for the same item and the one I ordered was wrong. They agreed to take back the part and possibly credit me for it and send me the correct one. I had to pay for the correct one in advance plus return shipping and the original shipping. Their web site says they will pay return shipping if the part was wrong, but in my case because the screws were correct they would not pay return shipping. They always charge outbound shipping even if it is a replacement.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to pay the cost to return the incorrect item, credit the cost of the incorrect item, and credit the cost of the replacement shipping. I am happy to pay one of the shipping charges and for the item.

Business Response
We do apologize for the confusion, we try to label all of our parts accordingly. We've issued a credit for the shipping cost on the second order and emailed you a pre-paid return label for the incorrect igniter.

Kind Regards,
***
Customer Correspondence Team

Consumer Response
I have already received a response from AppliancePartsPros. They have credited the replacement shipping and will be sending me a check for the return shipping. This is exactly what I asked! I only wish that customer service could have done this originally so I wouldn't have put entered a complaint.

07/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charging for shipping twice after sending the wrong part!
Shipping costs not refunded for a returned product that was in error from the business data base online ordering service.
Part Order Date: 7/06/2015
Order #XXXXXXX
Subtotal:$17.85
Tax:$0.00
Shipping & Handling:$6.95
Total: $24.80
Payment ***********
Business online statement as follows "We'll even pay for return shipping if the return is a result of our error. Just let us know and we'll provide you with a prepaid shipping label. Please make sure to use the label, as no refunds will be issued for any shipping cost if you decide not to use our shipping label.

Desired Settlement
I was expecting that the initial part, which was / is listed incorrectly on your data base for 'Parts search' be reimbursed as well.
Below find the initial offer, + I was under the impression that shipping both ways for your mistake was covered; no?

$6.95 x 2 = $13.90 is the expected additional refund.

Additionally;
Perhaps you should change the verbiage on your web site under the 'Returns' section menu. As you can see from what I captured below you CLEARLY state that if the error was on your behalf, shipping was returned as I would expect.

In this particular scenario, it was in deed AP database with incorrect part listed under the model number from which I ordered. The part in question was 2 similar in look's but it was 2 inches to long for the model number of the appliance I provided.

Final Consumer Response

Desired Settlement
$13.90!

Business Response
We have contacted the customer by phone & resolved the issue. We refunded the order in full & reimbursed the cost he paid to ship the part back to our company.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am satisfied with the resolution the company provided. It was in a timely manner.

06/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Shipping costs not refunded for a returned product that was in error from the business data base online ordering service.
Part Order Date: 5/4/2015
Order #XXXXXXX
Subtotal:$12.65
Tax:$0.00
Shipping & Handling:$6.95
Total: $19.60
Payment ***********
Business online statement as follows "We'll even pay for return shipping if the return is a result of our error. Just let us know and we'll provide you with a prepaid shipping label. Please make sure to use the label, as no refunds will be issued for any shipping cost if you decide not to use our shipping label.

Desired Settlement
I was expecting that the initial part, which was / is listed incorrectly on your data base for 'Parts search' be reimbursed as well.
Below find the initial offer, + I was under the impression that shipping both ways for your mistake was covered; no?

$6.95 x 2 = $13.90 is the expected additional refund.

Additionally;
Perhaps you should change the verbiage on your web site under the 'Returns' section menu. As you can see from what I captured below you CLEARLY state that if the error was on your behalf, shipping was returned as I would expect.

In this particular scenario, it was in deed AP database with incorrect part listed under the model number from which I ordered. The part in question was 2 similar in look's but it was 2 inches to long for the model number of the appliance I provided.

Final Consumer Response
The business in question has responded quickly, and very apologetic, and to my satisfaction have agreed to the minimal refund for shipping cost I initially absorbed personally due to their error.

This case may be considered as addressed & resolved to my satisfaction.

Thanks again for your time & just so you know, as a first time user of your service I have been totally impressed.

Regards,
**** ********

03/21/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
AppliancePartsPros.com approved my return and I returned the items on 1/19/2016 and as of today, I did not receive the refund.
I contacted AppliancePartsPros.com (the seller) and the seller said they are waiting the warehouse for re-stocking and asked me for the tracking number. I e-mailed the postage receipt.

Please note the seller's return form did not insist a tracking number but represented as an option.

I duly returned the item and the postage receipt proved my return and the return was approved from the seller.

Desired Settlement
Give me a full return as the seller advertised in its website.

Business Response
Thank you for your business and your patience. We've went ahead and issued credit for this order today. You should see it reflect on your account within 2-5 business days, this time frame depends on your financial institution.

Kind Regards,
***
Customer Correspondence Team

09/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Appliancepartspros.com advertises that there is 100% money back guarantee on returned parts. I have not received my refund and they will not help me
I returned a part that I did not need I have record that the part was returned and have not been given the advertised 100% guarantee refund. I have talked to customer service 5 times and they will not help me resolve the situation. CS is rude, arrogant and refuses to help me. A supervisor ***** ****** refuses to help me

Desired Settlement
I just want my refund back

Business Response
We apologize for the inconvenience and are working to resolve this issue to your satisfaction. The credit was issued on July 10th, 2015 in the amount of $99.45. The reference number for the credit issued to the **** card used for the purchase is XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX.

According to our credit card processing company the amount has been received by **** in the amount of $99.45 on July 11th, 2015. Your financial institution can use the reference number to locate the credit issued in their system.

05/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I returned carbon brush, drum motor and belt drive on 2/10/14, and have not received any refund.
I purchased 2 products online, on 1/29/14, a belt drive, order # XXXXXXX, part # XXXXXXXX, for $28.04. On 2/3/14, a carbon brush-drum motor, order # XXXXXXX, part # XXXXXXXX for $47.84. I paid both with my credit card totaling $75.88. I did not need the parts as after ordering my motor crashed and the washing machine needed to be replaced. I completed an online process to return both items on 2/11/14. I completed the necessary paperwork and mailed both items in the same packaging and mailed to Appliance Parts Pros on 2/12/14. To date, I have not received any refund for the products that I returned. On my account page it states that the parts were shipped and that the return was approved.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund in the amount that I was charged for these products totaling $75.88

Business Response
The parts mentioned by the customer were never received at our warehouse. However, after reviewing this complaint I contacted the customer and we were able to come to an agreement. Even though this does not comply with our return/refund policy, we have issued the customer a full part credit refund on both orders as a goodwill gesture.

12/16/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Advertised products they do not have and cannot obtain. Promised me delivery in 1-2 weeks. After I waited 2 weeks, they changed their story.
I ordered a part, number XXXXXXX, for my oven on Nov 7. The order number was XXXXXXX. The sales rep initially said 1-2 weeks. Since it has been two weeks, I contacted the company today, Nov. 21, and they have changed their story and say it is on back order and they don't have any. Supposedly no one has it. I requested they call the manufacturer to see if the part is even still manufactured. They said the manufacturer hasn't said they stopped making the product. I cancelled my order. I requested they stop saying this product in stock soon on the product page. However, the company persists in having a credit hold for the amount of the part and they continue to advertise the part as in stock soon. I requested they stop advertising it as something they have and they refused. Very poor customer service. I don't like being lied to and the integrity of this company is very poor.

Desired Settlement
I want the credit hold removed from my card immediately. I also want them to stop advertising that they have this part and at least remove the language that it is shipping soon. That is misleading to potential customers.

Business Response
AppliancePartsPros.com, INC. apologizes for the part being on Vendor Back Order with the manufacturer and we understand the inconvenience of having to wait on a part to complete a necessary repair. Our website states: Back order- usually ships between 5-6 days. The 5-6 day period is the average provided by the manufacturers for a back order to ship. Our website does not promise a ship date for vendor back order items to ship. The link provides the details of the part page with this statement: http://www.appliancepartspros.com/whirlpool-cntrl-elec-XXXXXXX-apXXXXXXX.html. Per the email on 11/8/13 sent to you, we stated:

This is Amber with Appliance Parts Pros Customer Service. You placed an order with us on 11/7/13 (order # XXXXXXX). This email is to let you know that part APXXXXXXX (XXXXXXX) (Cntrl-elec) is currently on vendor back order. At this time, the manufacturer has supplied an estimated time of arrival of 11/22/13. This is the date we anticipate the part to be received at our warehouse. As long as the manufacturer does not experience any additional delays the part should be shipped out accordingly. We apologize for this unexpected delay.


Yesterday at your request AppliancePartsPros.com canceled the order, which means your financial institution has been notified. We are unable to lift a pending authorization; the financial institutions have a period of time in which to credit the amount back to the card. The time frame is generally 3-5 days; however it varies depending on the agreement with the credit card holder and the credit card company. At this point, we have completed your request and canceled the order. We would advise calling your credit card company to explain their policy regarding issuing credit amounts back to the account. We appreciate your feedback; please let us know if we can be of assistance.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is not an acceptable response. You have misstated the facts. You state your website does not promise a ship date. However, your live customer assistance promised me the part would ship within 1-2 weeks.

It is unethical and ridiculous to continually make promises and then say you can't stand by them. Your response once again makes yet another promise. Bottom line is that you cannot deliver this product and should not advertise that you can. Promising and then failing to deliver will not keep you in business much longer unless you fundamentally change your practices.

Final Business Response
After reviewing documentation in order history and chat history, all AppliancePartsPros.com employees provided considerately the estimated dates provided by the manufacture with additional statement advising the dates may change depending on the manufactures date of availability. Unfortunately we are unable to promise a ship to date for vendor back ordered items. Vendor back order means the manufacturer does not have the part to fulfill the order to the suppliers. We do our best to provide the most accurate data, however we are at the mercy of the manufacturer and the dates they anticipate the part availability. All documentation in your order notes consistently provides you with the updated information from the manufacture availability. Our website shows the part on back order and no date of availability, the part will not be removed from our system unless the manufacturer, Whirlpool, states the part as no longer available. We of course value your opinion and will take your feedback into consideration.


At your request the order was canceled on 11/21/13. AppliancePartsPros.com does not charge for an order unless it ships. Since the order was on vendor back order status, the order did not ship therefore no charge was processed to your credit card by AppliancePartsPros.com. When an order is placed using a credit card, the company will hold the authorized amount in a pending status. Once an order is canceled, the credit card company will return the pending authorization amount to the credit limit. This process normally takes 3-5 days, the amount should at this point be returned to your credit limit. If you do not see the amount reflected in your credit limit, please contact the financial institution for additional information.

Again, we apologize for the inconvenience of not being able to repair your product in a timely manner.

12/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On October 12, I ordered a part for my oven. Still, till this day, I have not received the part.
October 18 is when I bought the product. The model #MWFE381LVS0. Part #APXXXXXXX. Order #XXXXXXX.
Sales Rep :*****. Amount paid: $251.67. Payment method: Visa Credit card (still has never taken it out of my account)
They told me that it would only take about 3-4 days to get the part. It has been over a month now and I still don't have the part and can't cook anything without it (which means can't make anything for Thanksgiving)

Desired Settlement
I don't want a settlement, I want the part for my oven. If the part is defective I want a new one for free.

Business Response
AppliancePartsPros.com apologizes and understands the inconvenience of not being able to repair an appliance due to a part availability issue.

Mr. ************ ordered the part number WXXXXXXXX on 10/18/13 and was advised the part was not available at the time of the order. Mr. ************ was notified via email on 10/19/13 advising the estimated date arrival per the manufacture Whirlpool was 11/05/13, however the date could change depending on the manufacturing of the part.

ApplinacePartsPros.com emailed Mr. ************ on 11/20/13 regarding the back order estimated date arrival had changed per the manufacture Whirlpool to 12/02/13. Whirlpool has since changed the original part number WXXXXXXXX to a new part number WXXXXXXXX. The new part WXXXXXXXX is now considered a special order item, which requires approx. 4-6 weeks to complete the shipment of the order. Again, this is an estimated time provided by Whirlpool.

Mr. ************ called AppliancePartsPros.com Customer Service on 11/26/13 and canceled the order. Mr. ************'s order was not shipped due to Whirlpool does not have the part to fulfill the order. Mr. ************ can place a new order with AppliancePartsPros.com for the substituted part, however the part is not in stock to fulfill the order (Whirlpool does not have the part available).

All parts sold through AppliancePartsPros.com carries a one year warranty and return policy, meaning any parts purchased through AppliancePartsPros.com which fails within one year from order date will be replaced at no cost to the consumer. The part in which Mr. ************ is replacing was not purchased though AppliancePartsPros.com, therefore a warranty replacement would not apply.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances-Major-Parts & Supplies, Appliances-Small-Supplies & Parts

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/01/2009Business started: 01/01/1999Business started locally: 02/06/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State/CA
1500 11th Street
Sacramento, CA 95814
(916) 657-5448
http://www.ss.ca.gov/business/corp/corporate.htm

Secretary of State/TN
312 8th Avenue North 6th Floor, Snodgrass Tower
Nashville, TN 37243-0001
(615) 741-2286

BBB records show a license number of C2512062 for this company, issued by Secretary of State/CA. Their web address is http://www.ss.ca.gov/business/corp/corporate.htm. The expiration date of this license is 11/19/2016.

BBB records show a license number of 627862 for this company, issued by Secretary of State/TN. Corporation.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1999, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jenny Hughes (Call Center Manager)
Number of Employees

45

Business Category

Appliances-Major-Parts & Supplies, Appliances-Small-Supplies & Parts

Products & Services

Appliance parts and accessories
Free repair help

Hours of Operation

24 hours a day / 7 days per week

Refund and Exchange Policy

365 days to return any part

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for AppliancePartsPros.com, Inc.

240 Edwards St SE

Cleveland, TN 37311-6035

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 240 Edwards St SE 

    Cleveland, TN 37311-6035(877) 477-7278
    Fax: (423) 479-9224

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Chattanooga, TN serving Southeast Tennessee and Northwest Georgia. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*AppliancePartsPros.com, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Appliances-Major-Parts & Supplies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.