BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/07/2011

World of Windows of the Carolinas, Inc.

(704) 921-98989100 Perimeter Woods Dr Ste A, CharlotteNC 28216-2262

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/07/2011

BBB has determined that World of Windows of the Carolinas, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised World of Windows of the Carolinas, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on World of Windows of the Carolinas, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
01/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
they never repaired my front door.
world of windows installed my front door and left parts off,damaged the door so it wont lock. I talked to the owner she said she would replace everything her crew had messed up. I went in the hospital right after that and just took it as if they gonna do it.

Desired Settlement
I just want my doors fixed.

Business Response
xxxxx and xxxxx did contract the replacement of 18 each custom replacement windows, which we installed and they paid for in September of 2013. The xxxxx also had a torn screen, which we repaired as well as another screen, a few days after the installation of their windows. The xxxxx did not contract, or purchase any doors from World of Windows, and they did not pay World of Windows to install any doors. Also, Mr. xxxxx could not have spoken with my wife and Co-Owner xxxxx as she is active in our business with accounting and marketing functions, but she does not handle operations or communicate with customers. Since they did not contract with World of Windows to install any type of doors, or doors, we request that this complaint be removed. The only payments received from the xxxxx totaled $6,072, which is the total of both window contracts. I have attached our supporting documentation.

08/27/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We ordered a new front door on March 4th, 2014. We have tried 4 times to get the correct door delivered and still have not succeeded.
We ordered a new front door on March 4, 2014. The first door delivered 6 weeks later was the incorrect color. We were told they would reorder. 6 weeks later the next door was missing the peep hole. Again we were told they would reorder. They delivered the third door about 2 week later, which I suspect they just took the old door back to their warehouse and drilled the hole for the peep hole. The third door had the peep hole placed to high. AGAIN we were told they would reorder. The fourth door took eight weeks to receive and when they arrived to deliver today it was again the wrong color. This has been one of the most frustrating experiences. I have paid for half of the cost of the door and I feel that is all I should have to pay for!

Desired Settlement
I have paid for half the cost of the door already. I have have put a stop payment on the second check that was issued. That is all I feel I should have to pay.

Business Response
The customer is correct. The factory has made the door incorrectly multiple times (could not get the color right). We have never had this many issues with a door color before. We have made every attempt to obtain the customer's custom door system correctly. The customer does have the correct style of door and sidelites installed. They function correctly, however the door is the wrong color, which we have been trying to correct. It is a factory custom color, which has to be done by the factory, in a factory finish paint. The color has been the main issue and this was due to the factory's errors. We have spoken with the customer each time to explain that we have done everything possible to correctly obtain her door. Unfortunately our costs do not go up in these situations, with multiple trips to try and complete the work, our labor costs only increase. We want to complete the door as contracted and actually have already contacted the customer, leaving a voice message today 8/19/14, to let her know the door will arrive and be ready to install after 8/20/14, depending on their schedule. We strive to provide the highest quality products and service to our customers. When the factory creates a situation such as this, where correcting the error is beyond our control it is frustrating for everyone.

07/04/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Windows, Siding Contractors, Storm Windows & Doors, Garage Doors & Openers, Doors, Windows - Installation & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/01/2011Business started: 01/01/1999Business started locally: 07/05/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Environmental Protection Agency, US
401 M Street SW Room M2904
Washington, DC20460-0001
(202) 260-5922

BBB records show a license number of Certified for this company, issued by Environmental Protection Agency, US.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 2010, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Waddell (Owner/Partner)Ms. Jamie Eller (Owner/Partner)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Windows, Siding Contractors, Storm Windows & Doors, Garage Doors & Openers, Doors, Windows - Installation & Service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for World of Windows of the Carolinas, Inc.

9100 Perimeter Woods Dr Ste A

Charlotte, NC 28216-2262

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 9100 Perimeter Woods Dr Ste A 

    Charlotte, NC 28216-2262(704) 921-9898

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*World of Windows of the Carolinas, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Windows

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.