BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/05/2012

Universal Windows Direct, Inc.

(704) 676-46431920 Starita Rd STE A, CharlotteNC 28206-1294View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/05/2012

BBB has determined that Universal Windows Direct, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Universal Windows Direct, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Universal Windows Direct, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
02/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I did not receive the door that the Sales Representative promised me.
I purchased a door for my deck from Universal Windows Direct. I showed the sales rep, on two separate occasions, another door to the deck so he would know exactly what I wanted. What I received was a completely different door. I let the installers know that it was the wrong door, but they installed it anyway. I talked to the General Manager and the Sales Representative but they refused to replace the door.

Initial Business Response
On 11/7/13 Ms **** ***** ordered a entry door unit model #*****. She picked out the hardware, indicated the correct swing desired, signed the contract and made a deposit.
Upon installation of the door she was so pleased that she paid my installation manager the balance in full.

Approx 6 weeks later she called the sales person complaining that the door was incorrect. After confirming that the installer did in fact install the door she ordered, he expressed that she got exactly what she told him she wanted and what she indicated to him from the brochure. She did not like that response so she called me. I expressed the same sentiment and asked if there was anything I could do, aside from just giving her a free door and installing it, but she did not have any suggestions.
It is my belief that she just changed her mind and now thinks she can extort Universal Windows by filing a erroneous claim with the BBB.

We have never had a single complaint filed against our company. This is because we take customer satisfaction very seriously. When we write a contract for someone we ensure that it is accurate, it is what they want, and we install it accordingly. We would never under any circumstances install the wrong product. If Ms ***** did not want it installed all she would have to have said was not to do it. Furthermore, if she do not agree to the style of door and the installation on her home, why did she just pay for it?

This entire claim make absolutely no sense.

I am planning to contact Ms ***** to see if we can come to an amicable resolution. I would acquiesce and order a new door slab for her - at cost- and install it for only the cost of the slab material. If this is agreeable to her I would feel we have bent over backwards to satisfy her desires. If not, then I have to chalk this up to dealing with an unreasonable person. I do not know of another way to explain it.

Sincerely,

**********
Vice President
Universal Windows Direct


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
On August 29th, 2013 a Sales Representative from Universal Windows Direct came to my door and questioned if I was interested in window service. I had one door that needed to be replaced on the left side of my deck. At that time I showed him the door on the right side of my deck and he assured me that he could match that to the door on the left side.
I decided to go through Universal Windows Direct. On November 7, 2013, the Sales Representative returned and I again showed him the door on the right and he again assured me that he could match it to the one on the left side. I signed a contract and paid a deposit of $400.00.
I did not hear from Universal Windows for six weeks, so I called them. They told me that the door was ready and they would give me a call to set up an installation date. After two weeks of not hearing from them, I called again and we set up an installation date for January 4, 2014.
Upon installation, I informed the installers that it was the wrong door. (I wanted a door with windows from top to bottom. What I received was a door with windows only 2/3 down). They proceeded to install it, and told me to contact the General Manager.
I called the General Manager and was told that there was nothing he could do because I signed a contract.
I then called the Sales Representative and he apologized profusely and said he would fix the problem. He said he would talk to a coworker to see what could be done and he would get back to me.
As of yet, I have not heard back from the company.

Final Business Response
I have offered Ms.***** a solution to the problem she is now facing and she has accepted. I will process a new order for her, and upon her review and authorization, I will order it. She will receive a new slab door to match the existing one she requests matching, and for only a nominal charge. This amount will basically cover the shipping and administration costs, and I will absorb the rest.
Ms. ***** is a nice lady who was maybe confused with the paperwork.it is very clearly written and she signed it,however, I can understand how things do happen and I would want her to be treated kindly. If this were to happen t a family member of mine I think I would be very happy if it were resolved in this manner.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Windows, Doors, Siding Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/25/2012Business started: 04/01/2002Business started locally: 08/02/2012
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 2012, NC

Business Management
Principal: Mr. John Helms (Partner)
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

Windows, Doors, Siding Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Universal Windows Direct, Inc.

1920 Starita Rd STE A

Charlotte, NC 28206-1294

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1920 Starita Rd STE A 

    Charlotte, NC 28206-1294

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Universal Windows Direct, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Windows

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.