BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/18/2003

Dry Pro Basement Systems Inc

Phone: (704) 523-9111Fax: (704) 602-0971

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
03/23/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
DRY-PRO BASEMENT SYSTEMS ,BILLED US 10,000 UNFAIRLY FOR WORK ON OUR BASEMENT THAT THEY DIDNT DO,WATER STILL IN THE BASEMENT NOT HONORING THE WARRANTY.
DEAR SIR MADAM.
dry-pro came to our house after another contractor discovered that there is water in our basement, dry pro estimator came looked at it and they make it sound like if its not fixed right away there will be "LOTS OF MELDEW" AND THE HOUSE WILL SUFFER LOTS OF CRACKS DUE TO SETTLMENTS CAUSED BY THE WATER AGAINST THE FOUNDATION.
WELL, WE AGREED ON THE PRICE AND WE WERE TOLD THAT 480 FEET OF DRAINAGE LINES NEEDS TO BE INSTALLED AND IT IS LOTS OF WORK NEEDS TO BE DONE...
AFTER A WEEK OR SO LATER THEY SENT A CREW OF TWO GUYS THAT SHOWED UP AROUND 11 IN THE MORNING AND THEY WERE GONE BY 4 OCLOCK THAT SAME DAY AND THEY TOLD US WE ALL DONE !!! 9 (very hard to believe) FIRST OFF ALL ,IF 480 FEET OF DRAINAGE WAS DUG AND INSTALLED WITH SUCH SHORT PERIOD OF TIME THE PRICE IS OUTRAGOUS ,BUT ACCORDING TO OTHER CONTRACTORS THERE NO SUCH THING INSTALLED. REGARLDLESS TO SAY THE INSURANCE ADJUSTER SAID NO WAY THEY DID WHAT THEY SAID THEY DID, TO INSTALL THAT MUCH DIGGING AND INSTALLING DRAINAGE PIPE TAKES A WHOLE WEEK AND IF THEY INFACT DID HE DONT SEE IT SO DENIED THE CLAIM THATS WHY I HAD TO PAY THE WHOLE 10,000$ OUTTA POCKET.NOW THE FUN BEGINS AFTER THEY TOLD US THE JOB HAS WARRANTY AND NO WORRIES , I GOT ALL THE E MAILS FROM ************ THE SERVICE AND THE WARRANTY MANAGER TO SUPPORT THAT.I GOT NOTHING BUT THE RUN AROUND I GOT DOZEN EMAILS THAT I SENT HIM AND COUNTLESS PHONE CALLS MY LAST E MAIL I WARNED THEM WITH LEGAL ACTION ,NOTHIN BUT PROMISES,TILL THE TIME I AM TYPING THIS WORDS I GOT WATER IN MY BASEMENT LIKE NEEDS TO BE FIXED RIGHT WAY LIKE THEY TOLD US THE FIRST DAY THEY SEEN IT, I GUESS ONCE THEY GOT THE MONEY ITS NOT URGENT TO FIX AND THE MELDEW WILL NOT HURT MY 3 LITTLE KIDS ANY MORE !!!! DRY-PRO USE THE SCARING TECNIQUE TO SCARE US AND MAKE OUR BASEMENT SOUNDS LIKE ITS GONNA BE THE SOURCE OF THE DISEASES THAT WILL HURT OUR FAMILY IN ORDER FOR US NOT TO QUESTION THE COST, THEN CHARGE YOU US FOR DEFFECTIVE WORK AND FOR WORK THEY DIDNT DO AND THEY WILL NOT RESPOND TO YOUR EMAILS IN A TIMELY MANNER TO SAY THE LEAST, AND ONCE YOIU GET HOLD OF SOME ONE IT TAKES A HUGE EFFORT TO SCHEDULE SOME ONE TO COME SEE THE JOB AND HALF THE TIME THEY DONT SHOW UP, AFTER I TOOK TIME OFF FROM WORK TO WAIT FOR THEM...

Desired Settlement
DRY-PRO IS OBLIGATED TO COME BACK TO FIX THE PROBLEM THAT THEY GOT PAID FOR IT,OUR HOUSE IS SUFFERING LOTS OF CRACKS CAUSED BY THE WATER STILL STANDING AND I LIKELY MELDEW WILL BE AN ISSUE IN THE FUTURE..
I AM GONNA WAIT UNTILL FRIDAY FEB 13TH , TO GET THIS PROBLEM FIXED AND THE WARRANTY TO START FROM THE DAY OF THE REPAIRES , THEY NEED TO FIX ALL THE DAMAGE AND THE CRACKS IN THE HOUSE RESULTED FROM THIER NEGLECT, OR WE WILL FILE THE LAW SUIT THATS ALREADY BEEN DRAFTED TO BE FILED IN THE GREATER WESTERN DISTRICT OF NORTH CAROLINA .
NO PROMISES AND NO SHOWS WILL BE TOLERATED ANY LONGER.

Business Response
The solution that addresses the water intrusion in the crawl space was installed as a full perimeter drain system with 2 sump pumps. After this system was installed the water then started entering the foundation walls above the drain system causing water to pool on the vapor barrier. The only solution for this would be running the liner system up the foundation walls so 100% of the water is diverted into the drain system and will not collect on the vapor barrier. Because our System Design Specialist did not address the solution for water potentially entering the foundation walls we will install the liner on the walls to address this challenge at no cost the our customer.

07/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Drypro came out to my home feb 7th 2012 and installed a dehumidifier and on June XX XXXX they came out annual maintanin check and said it was broken
Drypro came out to my home feb 7th 2012 and installed a dehumidifier and on June XX XXXX they came out annual maintanin check and said it was broken and want me to pay 450 dollars for a new humidifier but I never went under the crawl space or touched it to break it and its wrong for me to pay for a new one when their equipment was defective because it is a year later and it should not be broken. I paid for annual check up but I do have all my receipts from febuary as well

Desired Settlement
Drypro should replace and install a new humidifier

Business' Initial Response
In Feb of 2012 we installed a system for Mrs. ****** that included sealing her crawlspace and dehumidifying the area with a dehumidifier. The dehumidifier installed in her home is supported by a 12 month manufacturer's warranty. In January of 2013 (while the dehumidifier was still under warranty) and again in April 2013 we attempted to schedule an annual maintenance with the customer who refused the service stating that she was not ready. If we would have been able to service/inspect the equipment in January and found it in need of repair then we would have been able to utilize the manufacturer's warranty at that time. The customer did agree to an annual maintenance and inspection in June of 2013. On June 25th we completed an inspection of Mrs. ******' system and found the dehumidifier to be out of service. Since it was outside the 12 month manufacturer's warranty we would need to install a new unit to continue providing controlled humidity levels in Mrs. ******' crawlspace. Mrs. ****** declined to pay for the new dehumidifier and stated that she would purchase one from a retail establishment.

07/27/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Foundation repair did not completely address the issues I hired them to resolve.
Week Of April 9, 2012 - Met with Dry Pro representative xxxxxe. Pointed out to him the issue with the foundation settling on the wall where my fire place is located and on the wall on the right rear side of the home in the den area. xxxxx proposed using two to three helical piers to lift the foundation. Advised me that process required an inspection and recommendation by certified Structural Engineer. Advised xxxxx to schedule inspection with engineer that he recommended

April 19,2012 - Met with xxxxx xxxxx at home. Pointed out to him the issue with the foundation settling and where the issues were occurring. He did an inspection inside and outside home. Email was received later that day with his recommendation for three helical piers. One for the right corner of the fire place, one for the left corner of the fireplace and one for the right rear corner of the home. Paid engineer approximately 350.00 for this service.

April 27, 2012 - Met with xxxxx and signed proposal for them to do the work; with an initial 795.00 deposit.

May 29, 2012 - Service representatives from Dry Pro came out to do the job. When they were finished I inspected the floor and advised them that I there was still a small gap between the baseboard and the foundation on the fireplace wall and no change at all on the right rear wall. They performed some additional lift on all three piers. The gap closed to an acceptable level on the fireplace wall but no movement at all was made on the right rear wall. They expressed a concern about applying any more pressure as it might damage the foundation. I advised them I was not satisfied and would contact xxxxx.

May 31, 2012 - Contacted xxxxx and shared with him that I was not satisfied with the outcome on the right rear wall. His initial response was that they had done what was recommended by the engineer and that was the extent of their liability. I advised him that I did not find that satisfactory and was not willing to pay in excess of 4,000.00 for this kind of outcome. He indicated he would talk with his office and get back with me. He got back with me a few days later and said they would be willing to do two more piers on the right rear side at the normal cost for the piers and installation. I advised him that I was not willing to pay this additional sum. He countered offered with them deducting 50.00 of off each pier and doing it for $2100. I again declined telling him this was not satisfactory. We agreed to meet at the home on 6/5.

6/5/12 - Met with xxxxx and inspected issue with gap with him. He came back with same offer at which point I told him this was not acceptable to me as a customer. We agreed that he would talk with the owner of the company and see what they could come up with and get back with me.

6/8/12 - Talked with xxxxx today. Owner is not willing to move off of me paying the $2100 for the additional piers.

6/18/12 - Received letter from Dry Pro`s CFO - indicating that work was performed in accordance with the guidelines provide by the North Carolina Board of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors. Their position is that the area outside of the engineer`s did not respond and requires additional work, cost and engineering which I have declined. Their next step will be to place a lien on the house if I don`t pay the remaining amount due.

Desired Settlement
I am willing to pay an additional $500 towards labor costs as a compromise.

Business' Initial Response
xxxxx contacted Dry Pro on April 5th and set an appointment for April 11th due to issues with a settling foundation. On April 11th our representative xxxxx inspected xxxxx property and recommended that xxxxx contract a Structural Engineer to provide an inspection and recommendation for the settling. With structural issues like settling Dry Pro must complete all work in accordance with a Structural Engineer's observations and recommendation. We advised xxxxx that we would need him to contract an Engineer and referred him to xxxxx with Structural Innovations. xxxxx inspected the home on April 19th and recommended 3 helical pier to be installed on the right corner of the home and supporting the chimney area to STABILIZE the settling. In accordance to the Engineer's Report dated April 19th 2012 xxxxx wrote a Proposal/Agreement with xxxxx installing 3 helical piers in the locations outlined in the report. xxxxx signed and dated the Agreement on April 27th contracting Dry Pro to install the 3 piers at the specified locations. The helical piers purpose is to stabilize the foundation from not settling anymore but in some cases we can provide lift to close gaps and cracks. After our crew finished installing the required helical piers (stabilizing the structure and gaining some lift to close the gaps) xxxxx advised our crew foreman that he wanted 2 more piers installed and would not pay the balance of the work order ($3000) until this was done. xxxxx again visited with xxxxx and advised him that we did exactly what was recommended by the Structural Engineer and if he wanted to add 2 more helical piers as a supplemental support we could do that. He quoted xxxxx a discounted price of $1050 per pier (5% discount from piers sold on April 27th) but xxxxx said that he would only pay $500 and would not pay the balance until we completed the work on the 2 additional piers. xxxxx advised Management of the situation and we could not accomodate xxxxx request since we would lose a great deal of money installing the piers below the cost of the materials and labor to install them. Dry Pro did exactly as we were contracted and per the guidance of the Engineering Report (all of which is documented, signed and dated). We cannot do the additional work for xxxxx at the price he is proposing.

07/20/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company will not call me back re: a question/possible problem I have with one of their products, even after repeated requests and promises to call me.
Company sealed my crawl space approx. 2 months ago. They installed a dehumidifier and a condensation pump.

After they replaced the original condensate pump at the time of initial installation (defective), everything seemed to go smoothly until about 2 weeks ago. Up until that time, the relative humidity readings were between 51-55% in the crawl space for the past two months. I am told this is a desirable range. During that time, water would drain to the outside from the condensate pump as expected.

About 2-3 weeks ago, I noticed no more water was coming out of the pump. I suspected that the dehumidifier or the pump were not working (logical conclusion given the first pump they installed failed). However, the relative humidity was, and still is, in the 51-55% range, leading me to believe that something was wrong. I even went into the crawl space myself yesterday and turned up the dehumidifier. There apparently is less humidity in the space now since the readings indicate 43-44% relative humidity. However, the pump is still not pumping out water. The reason I can tell is that I placed a shallow dish under the pump hose and it is dry, same as it has been for 2-3 weeks.

I called Dry Pro on Friday, June 22, 2012 at about 4:30 PM requesting someone come out and take a look to see if there were problems or not. A female answered the phone. I told her my concern. She stated the relative humidity was in a "good" range. I responded that I agreed but wondered why no more condensation water was coming out.

She said the person I needed to talk with had just left the building for the weekend. She stated she would make a note of the problem and have someone call me first thing Monday. She was pleasant to talk with.

Monday came and went. Tuesday morning (June 26) I called again and reiterated my concern. Again I was told that someone would be calling me. No one called that day.

Wednesday came and went.

Here it is Thursday June 27, a full 6 days after I first called and no one has called me back yet.

I think this is horrible customer service. I even went the extra mile to place very positive comments on Angie's List for Dry Pro after they first installed my equipment and sealed my crawl space and this is the treatment I get?! Wish I had not done it now.

All I want is for someone to simply call me back and come out to investigate if necessary. Is that too much to ask?

Desired Settlement
I simply want them to call me back so I can determine if there is a problem.

Business' Initial Response
After we have reviewed our records we did find that xxxxxcall to ask questions about the system we installed, on June 22nd and again on the 26th, was not properly routed to our Service Manager by a new Call Center employee. On Monday July 16th we were notified by Angies List that we had a negative report pending from xxxxx but did not get a report from the BBB due to spam filters in our email. The morning of July 17th our Service Manager contacted xxxxxto answer his questions and arrange for a free inspection by a Service Technician. We are scheduled to inspectxxxxx system on July 20th at 1:30 PM and have given him a free Annual Maintenance ($125 value) for the communication break down. We do appologize for the commuication challenge and have coached our employee on the proper protocol for customer questions.

04/25/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Waterproofing Contractors, Foundation Contractors, Contractors-Foundations, Drainage Contractors, Waterproofing Materials

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.