BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/20/2010

Carolina Energy, Water and Air

Phone: (704) 921-1950Fax: (704) 921-1958View Additional Phone Numbers1705 Orr Industrial Ct Ste D, CharlotteNC 28213-6464View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/20/2010

BBB has determined that Carolina Energy, Water and Air meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Carolina Energy, Water and Air's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Carolina Energy, Water and Air

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
01/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: Promised $20 to chance show product and did not receive/**** ****** broke limited edition cognac glass during presentation that he promised to replace
In October of 2013, I was in the Kannapolis ********** and saw how I could get my water tested for free. I submitted the sample and was called within a week. I was told that I had hard water. The rep then asked when a good time would be for some to come out and conduct a full test. I knew I would be out of town the weekend of 11/9/13, so I told them 11/16/13 would be better. I waited all day on 11/16/13 but no one showed. On 11/18/13 I was called again by the same rep who "booked" the first appt and she gave me the same speel. I told her I had an appointment the past weekend but no one showed. She apologized and said it was a scheduling mix-up on her end and offered to make amends with a $20 ****'s gift card. I told her I preferred ********** and she said she could do that. I confirmed an appointment for 7pm on 11/20/13. **** ****** came and completed the presentation. During the presentation he broke one of my cognac glasses. He assured me that a set would come as a "wedding gift" from the company as I told him I was getting married on 11/30/13. After not hearing anything during the week I called the number on the card **** left and left a message with a woman on 11/23/13. She seemed to be concerned and got someone to call back. The woman who called back claimed to be the owner. I only say claimed because **** mentioned a man as the owner but it could be co-owned. Who knows. Nonetheless, the owner stated they do not give gift cards for the ********** presentations and I was told incorrect info from the rep. My first thought was the bait and switch sales pitch. I then told her about the glasses and she asked what I was looking to receive and said I wanted what was promised to me. I believe she said it would have to come out of ****'s pocket. Either way it has been over a month and I have not seen or heard anything. I just want what was promised to me.

Initial Business Response


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept this response. Mr. **** has been slightly misinformed. In my discussion with the woman (owner), she asked how much I was seeking for the glass. I stated that it was a limited edition glass that I could not just go out and buy as it was given as a gift. From there, my understanding was that she would go back and discuss with****** as she stated, he would be responsible for replacing my glass. If I had to estimate the one glass, I would say around $20. The company keeps mentioning a glass but I was promised a set of glasses by Mr.******* (His exact words were I would "...be receiving a wedding gift from the company"). Especially when I provided a glass for Mr.******* to use for the demonstration; however, he instead decided to grab another glass he thought would be better suited for the demonstration. The broken glass was part of a set of 4. 1 glass will not replace the set.
I know that Mr. **** stated that they do not give gift cards for free Home Depot water tests. Like I said in my original claim, I was not promised the gift card the first time (the end of October) I spoke to the rep to schedule the 11/16 no-show appt. However, when I was called again on 11/18, the rep apologized for the original scheduling mishap. She then offered me a $20 Lowes gift card for my inconvenience. I told her I normally do not shop at Lowes (hence why I was in Home Depot to see the free water testing option) and she offered the Home Depot gift card. I did not initiate the gift card conversation, she did. How would I even know about the gift cards if she did not offer it to me? It may not be standard (the owner stated they normally offer those with other services - I believe heating assessments) but this was offered to me. In the end, the employee is representation of the company. The employee promised me something that the company should honor.
My whole issue is that promises were made but nothing was delivered. I do not believe you should say one thing and deliver something else. At this point, I believe the minimum resolution would be for $20 gift card to Home Depot (I will settle for Lowes as owner stated they do not offer Home Depot gift cards) and a $20 check for the value of the glass. Honestly, for a set of glasses I would put the value at over $60. I do not believe it is fair of my time to even go back and forth. Let's please address this. Thank you.


Final Business Response
We will send Mr. ******** $20 for his glass and a $20 lowes card


--
**** N. ****

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

11/22/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Contract Complaint Issue

Complaint: I did not get the paper work with my social security & drivers lic.number on it. Nor did I get the 2 free movie tickets. And my facet is messed up.
Sent: Sun 10/28/12 6:49 PM
To: *****@aol.com (*****@aol.com)
I went to the MovieTickets4U.com to receive 2 complimentary movie tickets.
Gave my phone number, in which someone called to have a water technician come out to test my water at no obligation. Mr xxxxx xxxxx came out on Sat. Oct 27, 2012 and did the water test analysis.
I wanted to wait 24 hrs to think about his service, however xxxxx, an engaging personality, was very adamant that it had to be done right away. He offered me several options to get this water system in immediately.
I was interested in my water, and was emotional about what xxxxx was saying. He definitively played into my heartstrings.
I signed some paper work with my social security number and drivers license, etc.
When I took a step back, and decided not to go through with this sales pitch, said I am cancelling this paperwork, xxxxx was very upset, packed up and left quickly. He would not let me think about this for 24 hours.
He did not ever mentioned the Movie Tickets.
I got this flyer from valpak. www.MovieTickets4U.com and had to give my number.
That's when Carolina Water Systems called & came out to give water test.
xxxxx messed up my facet and now water spurts out at me when I turn the water on in my kitchen.
He did not give back the paper work with my SS # & driver's lic. #. Only the quote of $3,800.00.
I am very concerned about my private info and I do not want my credit ruin. I am glad I did not give any credit card or bank info. But that I could have changed, but not my SS. This is very serious to me.

Business' Initial Response
I have tried to reach Ms. ****** but her phone number I have on file has been disconnected. We no longer have the named sales persone working for our company, but we did call him and ask him to please bring in any paperwork he might have gotten from Ms. ******. He said since she decided not to purchase the system before he left the home he distroyed the paperwork in his home shredder. If. We do through background checks on all employees as mandated my Home Depot and xxxxx background check was perfect. I would like to send someone from our service department out to look at her faucet and to do any necessary repairs. We will bring her out movie tickets when we come out to look at her faucet, though xxxxx maintains he did leave them with the customer. The email address she used to contact us was incorrect; she used aol and it should have been gmail. I am very sorry Ms. ****** did not have a more positive experience with our company and I will do what ever I can to satisfy her unease. My cell phone number is (704) XXX-XXXX. When I hear from her I will schedule the sink repair and delivery of the movie tickets.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/31/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: billed my debit card when I requested they not until I spoke with someone in management.
I moved from NC in June 2011 sold my home in April 2012. The end of March I recieved a call from Carolina Water Systems wanting to go out and perform the 2nd of two services they said I had agreed to and I 1st told them we had not agreed to this and 2nd I no longer lived there and did not want this service. I also instructed them not to debit my bank account. The person I spoke with told me we had agreed & that she had to bill me. I ask her who agreed to this and when did we sign a contract for this service. She said they would not have schedule it had we not agreed and that it was verbal but she had not notes as to who or when. I then told her not to debit my bank account and that I wanted to speak to the owner as we had previously had problems with their services. She asured me I would recieve a call from the owner. Todate I have not heard from anyone and today I noticed that last night the transactions was sent thru to my bank account in the amount of $196.50. As stated no one called me and I specifically told them not to send this transaction through. I need assistance in getting this matter cleared up. Thanking you in advance for your assistance.

Business' Initial Response
While I dispute the legitimacy of this complaint, we have given xxxxx a partial refund. We never show up at someone's house to do service unless requested by the home owner. I believe xxxxx is using the BBB to get something for nothing.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The complaint is that they charges my debit card after I gave specific instructions to xxxxx not to charge my card until the owner called me back becuase I had not renewed this contract and I explained that we had not lived in the home since June 2011 so why would we have renewed the contract. The owner went back and pulled the paperword from where they sent someone to the home to see who had signed off on the work order and amazingly no one had signed the work order the same as no one gave approval for the to go in the beginning. I had not need to have the system checked since no one was living there so why would I have needed the service for free. Then not only did they debit my card without permission but they also debited it again (in error per xxxxx) however that error did but me in the red at my bank because now they had debited my account a total of $393.00 without my permission. I would have let the first $196.50 go since they had sent someone out and it was past and over but not them debiting my account after I spoke with xxxxx and plainly told her not to debit it until the owner spoke with me. Also, I asked xxxxx and xxxxx to tell me who they spoke with last year that even gave permission for them to treat the system and no one can tell me because they don't document those calls. I my line of business (Customer Service) if you don't document you didn't do it.... I'm sorry but this is not the only issue we have had with Rain Soft as a company (xxxxx). Again, since we were not living at the home, not renting the home, the system was not being used, why would we need the service or want the service for free. As far as I'm concerned the complaint stands.

Business' Final Response
My only response to xxxxx is that we NEVER send a technician out to home without a verbal confirmation from her or her husband. She signed a service contract that renewed automatically and that is why she was charged. We have given her a partial refund and let her out of her contract. As far as her "if you don't document it, you didn't do it" comment, she was supposed to cancel her contract in writing, so it is fair to say she never canceled it. I am sorry for the problems xxxxx has had, I'm not sure what else we can do

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

08/27/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Water Soft & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies, Insulation Materials, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Filtering Materials & Supplies, Filters - Liquid

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/12/1997Business started: 06/04/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Plumbing, Heating & Fire Sprinkler Contractors Licensing Board, NC
1109 Dresser Ct
Raleigh, NC27609-7302
(919) 875-3612
http://www.nclicensing.org

BBB records show a license number of 29284 for this company, issued by Plumbing, Heating & Fire Sprinkler Contractors Licensing Board, NC. Their web address is http://www.nclicensing.org.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1997, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Blum (President)Ms. Catherine Blum (VP)
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Water Soft & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies, Insulation Materials, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Filtering Materials & Supplies, Filters - Liquid

Alternate Business Names
Carolina Water Systems, Inc., Rainsoft

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Carolina Energy, Water and Air

1705 Orr Industrial Ct Ste D

Charlotte, NC 28213-6464

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1705 Orr Industrial Ct Ste D 

    Charlotte, NC 28213-6464(704) 921-1950
    (800) 331-1942

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Carolina Energy, Water and Air is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 331-1942
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Water Soft & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.