BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/03/2006

FiltersFast.com

Phone: (704) 821-3996Fax: (704) 821-4436

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

68 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 24 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues11
Billing / Collection Issues6
Delivery Issues17
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service33
Total Closed Complaints68

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (68)BBB Closure Definitions
10/08/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertised product not available

Complaint: The web site states the product is in stock and will be shipped the next day. The item isn't in stock they state it's just there goal to ship by date
I purchased four filters on 8/28/2014. It is 9/26/2014. I have not received my filters. I called early last week and a male representative told me he would ship them immediately. I have not received them. I called the company today at 9:08 am and spoke to ******. The order number is **********. Date ordered 8/28/2014. filters Unicel c-2302, Unicel C-2303, and 2 Aqua Pure AP110-2 whole house filters. I paid with a credit card ($58.91).
The problem is that the web site always states the item is in stock and will ship the next day. I took photos of the web site for proof. When I called today, I spoke to ******. She said she would return my shipping charges ($7.95) and send this to the warehouse for 2 day shipping. She the put me on hold and refunded the shipping charges. When she got back on the phone I asked if I would then be expecting them to arrive in a couple days. She stated she sent the request to the warehouse however they are backed up so she did not when I could expect delivery. So I asked if the "in stock" and "ships the next day" are fraudulent. She stated the filters are in but the the ship by date is really our "it's our goal to ship by date". False advertisement! I told her I would be writing the better business bureau and she asked if if I would like to cancel my order, I decide to do that. I will see how long it takes to have my money refunded. This is not the first time this has happened. I ordered on 6/23/2014 and the ordered shipped on 7/24/2014. I was told then that there was a big need for spa filters so they were taking long. I let it go but suggested they fix their website to reflect the back stock on filters so customers can choose to wait or order from someone else. My entire house is being filtered due our water being from a public well. We are starting to get stains and our spa is beginning to have issues because of improper filtration. We also have to drink the water and bathe using this. I really feel this website is definitely providing false advertisement regarding the availability of stock, the shipping dates, and charging fees for shipping on items without shipping them. Their entire name is false advertisement because they call themselves Filter's Fast.

Initial Business Response
Ms. ******,
While this case is unfortunate we appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. We are working diligently to improve our services to prevent this type of issue from occurring in the future.
All of the items that you ordered are back in stock so we will be happy to offer a 15% discount and free expedited shipping if you wish to place a new order. Your account has been notated with this information.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It does not matter if you offer me a discount, as I stated in my complaint, your customer service already did that. She told me they were in stock but the warehouse is backed up. I didn't complain until my 2-6 day shipment took almost a month and she still could not tell me when I would actually get them. I sincerely hope you can correct the issues. I would just prefer an apology and you to commit to correcting the issue which is either your false advertisement of shipping or shipment problems with your warehouse.

Final Business Response
Hello Ms. ******,
I apologize for what transpired with your order. We are taking every measure possible to make sure that this is addressed and prevented in the future. Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: Never ordered product, received email ,called and cancelled product and charge was pending. Now it is a charge and the money has been taken out .
Never ordered product, received email ,called and cancelled product and charge was pending. Now it is a charge and the money has been taken out of checking. Customer service said only my bank could refund my money back faster than 5 days. My ban said that is not true and only the merchant can do this and they refused. The customer service rep told me charge was pending and would drop off and not to worry. After receiving the cancellation email the charge went through and they now have my money foe a cancelled product that I never ordered. The next morning I called back and ****** told me there was nothing he could do. His manager came on the call and said the same thing saying it was up to my bank. My bank filed a complaint and called them and they hung up on them. The charge is disputed with my bank. So, my card was saved without my permission and then charge (with autoship) which I told them I did not request. And then cancelled and the card was still charged and now it's my problem I'm out $46.00 for a product that was cancelled and had to spend two days on the phone with my bank and filtersfast.com . I will never order from them again.

Initial Business Response
On 3/22/2012 Mr. ******* placed an online order and opted into our automatic delivery program. While this may have been an erroneous action the subscription was set to ship filters once every 6 months. As a proactive measure we send an email reminder 10 days prior to the automatic shipments ship date. Mr. *******'s email reminder was sent on 9/8 at 9:05am. On 9/18 the automatic order was placed as scheduled. Mr. ******* contacted us shortly after the order was placed and requested a cancelation. The order was cancelled and payment voided immediately. Once a payment is voided it is up to the customers bank or credit card company to release the authorization and post the funds back to the account. This action is the sole responsibility of the card issuer and can't be sped up on our end.
Our automatic delivery service is intended to be a positive and convenient service for our customers and we apologize for any frustration this has caused to Mr. *******.
To confirm, Mr. *******'s subscription has been cancelled.


Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/10/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sent a notice by email that I had ordered 2 filters.I have contacted them and warned them that I would not tolerate having my credit information kept on file when I never asked them to retain it or have any orders place for any reason with out my authorization or consent.They responded by telling me that the order was cancelled and I asked them why they sent it in the first place and I was told it was on an auto renew policy.I then responded with the fact that you can not use anyone's personal credit card information without authorization from the card holder or could not hold the credit information from an online purchase and use this information at will. I also warned them that theft is theft and there are laws to protect me.Then on 8/22/2014 my credit card received an unauthorized purchase even though I was told this fake order was cancelled.
Product_Or_Service: Pressure line filter
Order_Number: CP-XXXXXXX
Account_Number: none

Initial Business Response
Mr. ******'s placed an order with Filter's Fast on January 23,2014. An auto delivery subscription was initiated to ship his water filter once every 6 months. This is an optional service and only becomes active when initiated during the order process. We sent a reminder email 10 days prior to the order being placed. We offer that notification to remind our customers that their order is being placed and to give them the opportunity to cancel or modify the subscription. Our automatic delivery program is offered as a convenient service to our customers and is in no way forced. It is apparent that Mr. ****** erroneously signed up for this program. Mr. ****** contacted us via email and requested that we cancel the order and subscription. The cancellation of the order and subscription were processed and a full refund was credited back to Mr. ******'s original method of payment.
We offer the following terms about this service on our site:
Auto Delivery is a convenient and cost-effective program that helps ensure you never run out of the filters you need. Your first order will ship immediately upon placement, while subsequent orders will be shipped automatically at your preferred frequency. You will enjoy 5% off your initial order and all future orders. You will be notified when each order is ready to ship, so you can make changes to the item, item quantity, item frequency and all other account information. These changes can also be made at any time through the "Account" section of FiltersFast.com. It is the customers responsibility to add *****@filtersfast.com to their safe senders list to ensure that they receive all auto delivery communications. A courtesy email is sent 10 days prior to each shipment to allow for changes and cancellations. If an order ships prior to receiving a cancellation request we will follow our standard return policy. You have the right to cancel your Auto Delivery order at anytime, with no consequences or penalties.

Filter's Fast has cooperated with Mr. ******'s request to cancel the order and subscription.


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is obviously a ploy to make money and in no way shape or form has any reason to believed by the public that Filters Fast is doing you a favor by resending filters to you on an automated basis.
I ordered pressure reducers which slow down the flow of water going into my coffee machines and for Filters fast to give the response they did just verifies that this is a scam and should be stopped.
It doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure out that this is an automated response given out to all who have been taken advantage of from this company due to the fact I didn't order filters and in fact ordered a 40 psi and 60 psi pressure reducing valve and in no way shape or form would need more of these unless the valve became compromised and failed.
I would suggest to both Filters Fast and the BBB that they take a closer look at what was reordered by Filters Fast before they send me some sort of automated response which sounds almost as automated as there illegal business practices.
I am not impressed by either parties involved in this complaint and may choose to also include the BBB in doing a better job of looking into these complaints.


Final Business Response
Mr. ******,

I apologize if you were not satisfied with my response. Your subscription was cancelled as well as the order that was placed. Your refund was issued and should already be posted to your account.
We have many satisfied customers that are a part of our auto delivery program and view it as a positive perk. We regret that you feel otherwise.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

08/25/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Late delivery of products

Complaint: I ordered filters, was not told they were out of stock.
When I called to check on order, they told me they were on their way. They were not. Told them to ship fed ex at their expense and they said no. RUDE and unprofessional service.

Initial Business Response
Mr. ***** has confirmed that he received the goods. UPS tracking number **********XXXXXXXX reads that it was delivered on 8/16 which was 9 business days after the order was placed.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

08/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: I received substandard merchandise, when I ordered original equipment merchandise.
On 7/23 I ordered a ' genuine OEM Hoover' replacement filter cartridge for 32.80.
I was delivered a chinese made generic replacement cartridge that routinely sells for 8 to 10 dollars.
order no. XXXXXXX
filter part no. XXXXXXXX
customer i.d. XXXXXXXX
They want me to ship it back for a refund.
After I paid org. shipping and then pay for return shipping, I will have gained nothing.
I asked for a partial refund for the difference in a premium filter and the substandard one and was sent an email with an RMA(return merchandise authorization) with no other comment.

Initial Business Response
The XXXXXXXX that we sell is an OEM Hoover filter but it seems as though we had a mix-up with this and the aftermarket version in our warehouse. Due to this, we have refunded Mr. ****** $32.80 which is the full amount paid for the item. Please allow 3-7 days for the refund to post to the credit card account.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 13
03/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: Place order never recieved
Placed order online Jan 27, 2013. Never got an email to confirm order. Called Feb 2, 2013 and was told they dont have the filters and dont know when it will be in. Asked what they can do for me nothing was offered to fix the problem.

Business' Initial Response
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inventory discrepancy. This is something that does happen; however infrequently. This package was shipped on 2/14/2013.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Not good enough for lack of communacations.

Business' Final Response
The only thing Filters Fast can do at this point is offer a 5% discount to be used towards their next order. It will be noted in the account and will have to be mentioned in order to receive the discount. It will have to be manually applied.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

02/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: Product not a satisfactory alternative as advertised.
I purchased a six pack of home air filters (FFM11) on 9/8/2012 for $38.95 not including tax and shipping. The website states the following:

The FiltersFast FFM11 6pk replaces the following air and furnace filters:
...
Filtrete Ultra Allergen Air Filters

Upon receiving the product, the air filters do not fit in the returns (fall right out with gaps on all four sides).

The return option given to me required me to pay for my own shipping and pay a 15% restocking fee and to return unopened in re-sellable condition. The original filters provided to me were not packaged, but simply in a box. It concerns me that these filter are being stored with no protective covering and once shipped to someone's home would still be sold and used. Additionally, the cost for packaging materials and shipping these bulky items in addition to restocking fee make the returns process rediculous.

The company would not even meet me half way when requesting a partial credit (given that I had tried to use 2 of them in the air returns).

These filters are not a valid substitute as described, and not acceptable return/exchange process.




Business' Initial Response
Mr ****** placed this order in sept 8,2012, he did not call concerning a return until 11/12. Even though this was outside our 30 day return policy. At that time, we made an exception and set up a return authorization for him. This required that Mr ****** cover the shipping back and would be charged a 15% restocking fee. Mr. ****** did not return the item but called back almost 2 month's later (1/6/2013)demading a refund and to not have to send back the filters.
Please see the pasted portion of our terms and conditions that refer to returns, which can also be found at http://www.filtersfast.com/termsAndCond.asp :


Terms and Conditions

Return Policy

You may return an item(s) within 30 days of purchase. If you wish to return an item purchased please contact us via phone, XXX-XXX-XXXX, or email *****@filtersfast.com to receive an RMA number and instructions on how to return the item(s). The customer is responsible for the cost of shipment to return the items to Filters Fast. We encourage our customers to use a shipment method that provides tracking information.

All returns must be new, unused condition and contain all original parts and components. We will not accept or refund any items that have been damaged, used, or do not contain all original parts and components. We will not issue any refunds on products that were damaged during installation or because of incorrect installation

Consumer's Final Response
In regards to response recieved from company:

This reply addressed only return policy, not the complaint of the product issues. If the website describes a product as a replacement for another product, in this case "Filtrete Ultra Allergen Air Filter" then I would expect to receive a product that properly replaces it.

In regards to the comments on returns: I do acknowledge that I did not notify the company in a timely manner. The reason for this is that I did not need to replace my filters until the time I notified them, and I had no reason to suspect that they would not work properly.

I did not return the filters because I was not satisfied with this option presented.
Because the product was not a valid replacemnt product as represented, ie: not my mistake, change of mind, etc I should not be charged a restocking fee of 15% (which is not listed in the return policy in the company response), nor pay for shipping and packaging for a large, bulky item. Furthermore the filters were not shipped to me in any protective packaging, so returning as such would be impossible. My attempts to work with the company for a compromise resolution were not succesful.

For the reasons listed above, I am not satisfied with the response.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company provided proper verification that indicated there was no obligation to resolve the issues of the complaint.

01/14/2014Problems with Product / Service
06/21/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Water Filtration & Purification Equipment, Internet Shopping, Water Coolers - Equipment & Supplies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.