BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/03/2008

Guardian Protection Products, Inc.

Phone: (800) 527-8485Fax: (828) 324-5168

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

528 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 219 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues10
Guarantee / Warranty Issues395
Problems with Product / Service123
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints528

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (528)
08/17/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company partners with *********************** to sell ineffective protection plans to unassuming customers, then refuse to honor the warranty.
I purchased furniture on December 12th, 2014 and was sold a "protection plan" guaranteed by Guardian Protection Products, Inc for $219.98. The plan number is ***** and was sold to me under the guise that if anything happened to the furniture outside of the manufacturer's warranty - I would be covered. On August 5th, 2016 I went into my bedroom and sat on the bed which resulted in an immediate crack of the bed frame. Per the Wood and Hard Surface Coverage in the plan (3A) " Breaking of wood frame or structure or other hard surface from single incident" WOULD BE COVERED. When I reported this incident on August 8th, 2016 and explained that this had never happened before - I was immediately told I was ineligible for assistance via the clause "Normal wear and tear, including damage of this type cannot be attributed to a single relatable incident". Which is literally what the plan states that it will cover. I have repeatedly call both companies and have been denied my requests to speak to a manager and in some instances hung up on. There is no clarification about what constitutes an accident, nor were any suggestions provided to resolve the issue. I was given a firm no - and cannot imagine a situation with which this company's honors its plan.

I believe that this partnership between ************* only exists to take money from unsuspecting customers. This is unacceptable for 2 reasons: the complete ineffectiveness of the plan, and the blatant disregard for the customer's experience. This type of practice should be illegal as I was essentially lied to for the sake of a profit.

In addition, the business doesn't even list the correct hours of operation and again is not defining what constitutes an accident. This company is comprised of insolent thieves, and I have filed a Better Business Bureau report. DO NOT purchase anything from this company or it's associated retailers. This business is illegitimate and truly needs to be shutdown.

Desired Settlement
I expect to have my service request honored, or to my payment to be refunded. That's it.

I'm considering filing a class action suit. You deserve to be shutdown!

Business Response
Guardian Protection Products has researched the complaint filed by Ms. ******. We will be making contact with the consumer and working toward a resolution of the complaint. Thank you for keeping us aware of concerns brought to your attention by our customers.

08/12/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I Purchased a Guardian Protection Product, Inc. warranty for a mattress through ************* Furniture on April 19, 2014 & they want honor it.
I called Guardian Protection Product, Inc. a couple of weeks ago to report to them that a mattress pad I purchased on April 19, 2014 did not hold up to it's promise. I was told the mattress pad would stop urine from soaking onto and into the new mattress I purchased at the same time I purchased the warranty, but it didn't and due to the urine soaking into the mattress the mattress mildewed. I specifically asked for a waterproof protector because my son wets the bed. When I first called I explained what happened, I answered all of the representative questions and was told everything was approved for a service person to come out, but they needed me to send in a copy of my invoice from ************* and was given the numbers XXXXXXX to print on the invoice prior to faxing Guardian Protection Products, Inc. the invoice. When I did this on August 10, 2016 I called Guardian Protection to inform them I sent the fax and would like to schedule an appointment for service. Instead of the customer service person giving me an appointment time and date I was told they no longer did business with ************, I argued that, then I was told I didn't meet the warranty expectation and I told her I felt I did and the first representative approved me for service and I was told all I had to do is fax the information I faxed and get an appointment. She told me as a favor to me she would send someone out to look at my mattress but mildew from urine was not covered, and the last representative didn't list anything about mildew or the type of mattress I had. I asked her if I with a supervisor because I felt I met the expectations and was told by the last representative I did. She said she had already spoke with the supervisor and she never allowed me to speak with the supervisor. My mattress protector clearly states it protects the mattress from bodily fluids. I was told by the sales person at ************* that the mattress protector he sold me would indeed protect my new mattress sold to me on the same day I purchased the mattress protector from ************* would protect my mattress from urine. I always use my mattress protector, I never go without it. I even put a fitted sheet down first then the mattress pad. Even after taking extra precautionary measurements urine still went onto and into the mattress and the bottom of the mattress has mildewed, so I'm assuming a $1,152.00 mattress is also mildewed on the inside. The representative on the second call also said the warranty does not cover urine mildew only mildew from food and liquids from food. I told her if the mattress protection had did what it promised to do then I wouldn't have mildew. And the warranty does not not say it doesn't cover mildew after it's mattress cover failed to do it's job by protecting the mattress from bodily fluids(urine) I paid $79.80 for the mattress protector. For the record the call with the second representative disconnected and she never called back. I called back immediately and the company was closed.

Desired Settlement
I need to have the mattress replaced unless the company knows of a way to clean the mildew from the inside of the type of mattress I have. I know for a fact the mildew is on the outside bottom of the mattress but I have no way of knowing for sure mildew is on the inside of the mattress unless the mattress is torn open. This is why I'm requesting a new mattress. I know the mildew comes from the urine because I smelt the exact spots where the mildew is and it smells of urine. Other than the urine stains that are very light in color the mattress is in EXCELLENT CONDITION. I nor does anyone else eat or drink in the bed we're speaking of.

Business Response
Guardian Protection Products has researched the complaint filed by Ms. ***. We will be making contact with the consumer and working toward a resolution of the complaint. Thank you for keeping us aware of concerns brought to your attention by our customers.

08/12/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Denied claim
WE PURCHASED THE GUARDIAN Protection plan for our new furniture which protected against punctures on our leather sofa. Guardian asked very misleading questions and after I described the damage and explained we came home one day to find punctures on the sofa but no one knew what happened they claimed they denied the claim because we couldn't prove it was accidental. They fail to honor their product and refuse service for any reason whatsoever.

Desired Settlement
I want my.sofa repaired as its only.a few weeks old.

Business Response
Guardian Protection Products has researched the complaint filed by Ms. *******. We will be making contact with the consumer and working toward a resolution of the complaint. Thank you for keeping us aware of concerns brought to your attention by our customers.

08/05/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Guardian refuses to repair damage to 2 pieces of my furniture because they claim I did not report it within the 30 day period.
I contacted Guardian on 08/03/2016 and reported that I was having issues with 3 pieces of furniture I purchased in November 2014. My service number is XXXXXXX. I reported 2 issues with my sofa and they are only willing to cover 1 issue. They are willing to cover repairs to my sofa back because it happened in July of this year, but they are unwilling to cover damage to my sofa frame because I started noticing the issue in June 2016 and it is not within the 30 day reporting period. My contention is that this is unreasonable because with frame damage it is not always easy to recognize right away when the damage occurs. I started noticing in June that my sofa felt funny and was not as firm, but it was not until around July 27th that I realized that this was actually frame damage. So I said to the representative that the damage MAY have occurred within 2 months. I feel like Guardian is being irresponsible. When one sits on a sofa everyday, it is not always easy to recognize changes that occur. I feel the damage to my sofa happened within the 30 day period and was reported within the 30 day period. I feel they should be made to cover this damage.

Desired Settlement
I want Guardian to repair the damage to my sofa back and to the frame of my sofa.

Business Response
Guardian Protection Products has researched the complaint filed by Ms. ****. We will be making contact with the consumer and working toward a resolution of the complaint. Thank you for keeping us aware of concerns brought to your attention by our customers.

08/05/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
An extended warranty was purchased to cover upholstery and material they are denying repair saying the lining does not count.
Complaint Hub: Consumer Complaints
***************************

Complaint ID #********
What is the next step?

The Better Business Bureau has closed your complaint as they have determined is invalid
There is no action for you to take at this time. We will contact you when we next require your input.


Complaint Overview
Complaint Information
Complaint ID: ******** Filed with: BBB
************************************************
Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Fax: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Email: ***********************
URL: *****************************
Date Filed: 7/28/2016
Consumer Information
Name: *****************
Address: *********************************
Daytime Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Evening Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Fax: None Provided
Email: ***********************
Business Information
Business Name: Guardian Protection Services Inc
Address: **************************************
Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Complaint Details
My purchase was actually made at *************** in *************** and an extended five year warranty was purchased through them to Guardian. About a month after my manufacturers warranty ran out I incurred a small tear underneath the couch in the material and the stuffing is filling out. When I called Levin they directed me to Guardian since I had the extended warranty from them protecting me from things such as rips, tears, burns spills, etc. They denied my claim using a loophole that my warranty does not cover the LINING of the couch but just the actual fabric and the tear is in the lining.

Desired Settlement
Repair

Business Response
Guardian Protection Products has researched the complaint filed by Ms. *****. We will be making contact with the consumer and working toward a resolution of the complaint. Thank you for keeping us aware of concerns brought to your attention by our customers.

Page 1 of 33
07/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They would not honor the warranty. They find every reason to reject the warranty. They would play with English words to decline the service.
I have purchased furniture from ******************* in February 2016. I purchased sofa and a love seat. During the purchase the sales person sold a protection plan for five year, which was offered by Guardian. After two years, I have been noticing holes the leather on both love seat and sofa. Since I bought warranty, I called Guardian to fix the rips. First thing, I was on hold for almost 20 minutes before connecting to a live agent. After connecting to an agent, I explained the situation in simple words. I mentioned that there are rips in the leather on my couch and love seat. The agent suggested a word called cracking when I was explaining to him about the problem. I felt that may be a right word to explain the problem. He asked if I know the reason for the rips. I said I do not know. He took few minutes after that and came back to me that they do not cover this kind of damage. He repeated the same again and again without providing help. He said that since I do not know the cause of the damage, they cannot fix it. Then I asked him to connect to his supervisor, then I had ***** on the call. She repeated the same, and said that since I do not know the cause for the damage, they would not cover. They did not even ask for any photos of the couch to identify the damage. They basically used English words to deny my request. I told that about the **** review and BBB reviews about their deceptive practices. They did not care about those. I do not understand how BBB gave A+ grading to this deceptive company.

Desired Settlement
I want Guardian to fix the rips on the couch and love seat.

Business Response
Guardian Protection Products has researched the complaint filed by ****** ***********. We will be making contact with the consumer and working toward a resolution of the complaint. Thank you for keeping us aware of concerns brought to your attention by our customers.

Consumer Response
No one from Guardian contacted me as of now to resolve the issue. Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
Gaurdian never called me on the phone number I gave, i.e. XXX-XXX-XXXX. I tried calling them today and the system told me that my wait time was approximately 30 minutes and I dropped the call. If they have wrong number, they should correct it and call me back. Thanks to BBB for helping me out in dealing with this company. Frustrating experience with these guys.

Final Business Response
Guardian has attempted to contact the customer two additional times, leaving a voicemail both times. If the customer would please call XXX-XXX-XXXX as previously advised, there should not be a "wait time" associated with the call.

05/19/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Have extra coverage on my furniture and they will not fix my chair
I bought over 5k of furniture at ************** and also purchase extra coverage incase anything happen. I notice a small hole on my chair and be honest I could live with that. But in a few days in got to be about 2 inches long. so I called to have it fix . Gaurdian Protection said they will not cover it because I don't know how it happen. That makes no sense to me. I really wasn't sure how it happen I was just being honest. I have no kids ect. The supervisor would not let me speak to her boss and would not give me any information but a name *****. Basely she saying your screwed. I am not one to take it to this level but I have no choice. The furniture is not even 1 year 1/2 old. I would NEVER EVER get extra coverage again its a racket . Its sad that nobody will step up and fight for me. My only recourse it to complain about how bad this company is. I will continue to write them and for that matter the room place until something is done.

Desired Settlement
all I want is to have my chair fix. A

Business Response
Guardian Protection Products has researched the complaint filed by Ms. xxxxx. We will be making contact with the consumer and working toward a resolution of the complaint. Thank you for keeping us aware of concerns brought to your attention by our customers.

05/09/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased cocktail table from ************** and its damaged. **** partnered with guardian products not covering my accidental damage reported.
I have purchased cocktail table from ************** and we reported damage(observed cracks) to **** on March3 (customer number: XXXXXXX). they have asked me to send damaged pictures to email ******************************.I did that on same day and i never received a reply back. I sent them couple of reminder emails and no luck . finally i called **** and they just said i need to call Guardian to file a claim. then i called guardian and i reported claim saying that (1) cracks on wooden frame (2) damage to wooden frame may be accidentally. Guardian reported that my claim was denied because they cannot cover moving related damages. but my original request of observing cracks on wood was not considered at all. below are my details

************* **********
Bobs Customer#XXXXXXX
Contact: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Alternate Contact: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Email:************************

Desired Settlement
All i need is replacement of my cocktail table which was damaged accidentally which is not in my control.i purchased warranty to protect these type of damages. Please review my case and have my replacement delivered.

Business Response
On 4/28/16, the customer contacted Guardian in order to file a service request. He stated that he had noticed joint failure and a crack next to the joint failure on his coffee table, and that he thinks this damage happened during a move. The service request was deemed ineligible for service.
The customer's protection plan (attached) extends coverage for accidental breakage of wood frame from a single incident. The plan further excludes damage that is the result of furniture items in transit. The customer could not provide an accidental incident that caused the joint failure and crack, which alone would deem this service request as ineligible. Additionally, the only explanation that was given by the customer as a possibility was that the table was damaged while in transit, specifically during a move. That type of damage would be excluded under the plan's terms and conditions. Guardian understands the customer's frustrations, but unfortunately the reported damage is not eligible under the protection plan that the customer purchased. Therefore, the service request must remain ineligible for service.


05/06/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Furniture warranty not honored since reason for damage unknown
I purchased a "Guarding 5 year Advance Fabric Warranty" for furniture purchased from **************** in ************ in Feb 2012. Sales Order #*********. I paid $164.99 for the warranty.

The fabric in the loveseat purchased developed a tear in the fabric. I called and registered a claim on 5/2/2016.
I said I did not know how the tear developed and said maybe it is normal use. Because we have never abused the furniture or know any anyone damaging it. So the likely cause is poor quality of material used and regular wear.

The claim was denied since this was not accidental and was due to regular use.

I was never provided with any terms and conditions of the warranty at the time of purchase which highlighted that damage due to regular use or manufacturing quality will not be covered at the time of purchase of the warranty.

I do not understand how a company could get away selling an "Advance Fabric Warranty" and say that any tear due to regular use will not be covered. This is outright theft from consumers

Desired Settlement
I require Guardian to honor their warranty and fix the tear in my furniture. If they cannot do that then completely refund the warranty premium that was illegally and unethically take from me.

Business Response
On 5/2/16 the customer contacted Guardian in order to file a service request. He reported a rip on his loveseat, where the back cushion attaches to the frame. He stated that he believed that the damage was from "normal use."
Attached is a copy of a sample of the customer's protection plan document, which the customer would have received in a kit at time of purchase. The plan clearly states that the coverage is for accidental rips, cuts, punctures, and burns to fabric, and that any flaw or defect in the fabric is not considered "accidental." It also excludes damages caused by "wear and tear as damage of this type cannot be attributed to a relatable accidental occurrence." Unfortunately, the service request must remain ineligible for service at this time.

Consumer Response
At the time of purchase I was NOT provided with the "customer's protection plan document" nor was I provided with a kit. All that was provided was the number to contact for registration. What Guardian Protection Products, Inc is claiming is false

Final Business Response
The customer states in his complaint, "So the likely cause is poor quality of material used and regular wear." The protection plan that he purchased does not extend coverages for these types of damages. Again, please see the attached plan specifications. If the customer never received the document that he should have received, Guardian would direct the customer to the retailer who sold him the plan. Unfortunately, Guardian cannot extend coverage where none exists.

05/06/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Accidental damage not being covered on furniture purchased from *************** covered by Guardian Protection Products
I purchased a couple of pieces of furniture from ************************ on 3/30/2014 for $99.99 for coverage that is supposed to last a period of 5 years.

The warranty should be covered under *************

I opened a claim regarding an ottoman, I had accidental pet damage. I was asked to submit pictures which I did. They claim the pics were of scuffs/scratches and are not covered. There are obvious urine stains, I asked a technician to come out and see first hand and they refused and outright denied my claim which should have been covered.

I now have nail polish remover stains on the couch but know I will be turned away due to this fraudulent organization.

Desired Settlement
I would like to see both my ottoman and couch replaced as per the warranty purchased to protect me from such accidents.

Business Response
On February 20, 2016 the customer called Guardian Protection Products and filed a service request for a visible urine stain on their ottoman. The customer also reported scratches and scuff marks, both of which are listed exclusions of the customers plan (See attached Terms and Conditions, 7th bullet point under the section titled Exclusions to Coverage.) After careful review of the photos, Guardian was unable to locate any discoloration or stain from urine and deemed the request ineligible for coverage. The photos provided by the customer are attached, showing that there is no visible stains, however various scrapes and scuff marks. After educating the customer on what her plan does and does not cover, we advised that the request would not be eligible for coverage as there was no visible urine stain.
Guardian has hired a technician to address the reported nail polish remover stain and in the interest of customer service, will have him inspect the ottoman for a visible urine stain as well.


Consumer Response
From: ***** ******
Sent: Tuesday, July 05, 2016 2:09 PM
To: **** ** *******
Subject: Fwd: BBB Complaint Case# XXXXXX

Hello ****

The warranty company sent out a tech to assess the damage. They claimed abuse given theire were scratches in the leather. I am not arguing the couch is scratched nor was that part of my claim. The the stains/smudges need to be re-dyed and Guardian is finding every excuse not to honor their warranty program.

I would either like a $100 refund for each of the two warranties purchased or for Guardian to come out and dye the material and/or replace the furniture as stated in the warranty.

I will not go away quietly when these big companies try and manipulate agreements and take advantage of their customers.

***** ******
************
********

Final Business Response
On 7/8/16, Guardian contacted the customer and offered a refund of $125.63 per the customer's request of plan cancellation. The customer accepted that offer, and should expect a refund within the next 2-3 weeks. The refund will cancel all future coverages under both plans.

Page 1 of 74

Industry Comparison| Chart

Warranties-Extended

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.