BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/21/2010

Security Guard Exchange

Phone: (855) 232-4827Fax: (888) 253-5048View Additional Phone Numbers13000 S Tryon St Ste F-145, CharlotteNC 28278-7652View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/21/2010

BBB has determined that Security Guard Exchange meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Security Guard Exchange's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Security Guard Exchange's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Security Guard Exchange

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
05/28/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Security exchange is refusing to refund payment for a class I am unable to attend.
I sent an email requesting information on use of the Post/911 GI Bill for the class D and G security certification and did not receive any response. On Wednesday May 2nd I paid out of pocket for both classes on the website. After I registered I read that I would be receiving a call in 1-3 days to confirm my class dates. I received no such call. I then called to confirm if the dates I chose were available and the person I talked to said that they "should" be and that class starts at 9:00 am. He also told me I would be sent an email confirmation in about 2 minutes. When I checked my email there was a page sent from Security Exchange had a payment confirmation and it said start date, but the date was left blank. I was sent an email on Monday May 7th at 4:00am that stated the following: "We want to inform you that the xxxxx. I called Security Exchange to request a refund and spoke to xxxxx, who told me it was against the company policy to give refunds. I told xxxxx that due to my current situation I would not be attending his course. I was recently honorably discharged from the U.S. Army, have a 4 month old son, am unemployed, and temporarily without transportation. When speaking with xxxxx he was professional and courteous up until the point when I politely and respectfully ask him, if I was speaking with a local representative or if he was at the corporate offices. Since we were discussing the Tampa, FL class. He then became somewhat defensive and told me in a very condescending tone that he was at the office in North Carolina and he was "sure" he knew more about Florida and the Florida area then I did because he lived there for years. Every time I attempt to call Security Exchange they either do not answer or tell me they will look into it and call me back. I have yet to receive a call.

Desired Settlement
$245.00 REFUND,

Business' Initial Response
To whom it may concern,
We are in receipt of xxxx complaint against our refund policy, regarding the training he purchased for himself.
In reviewing his complaint xxxxx was not present for his scheduled training date. As the attached roster shows he was expected for training and a seat was reserved in his name for the D40 training session on May 7, 2012 in Tampa, FL. An additionally attached roster for the G28 session today, May 17, 2012 also shows that he was expected to attend.
xxxxx purchased the training online and as the two attachment show, the consumer cannot continue the purchase of the training session without clearly agreeing to the terms and conditions. The consumer, after agreeing to the terms and conditions, selected from a list of available dates which date is best for him to attend his training session with date and time publicly available.
The training session was conducted on the indicated date with other people in attendance. xxxxx seat was reserved in his name and was not occupied for the duration of the training session. As the allowable seating space in the training facility in Florida is regulated by the State, we cannot simply return people's monies, to a trainee who did not attend reserved and paid seating.
In conversation with our office it was made very clear to xxxxx that if he wishes to reschedule the training to a different date, we will gladly do so with no rescheduling fee whatsoever being charged. However, we will not extend a refund for courses that were conducted in their entirety and had a seat reserved in the consumer's name which went unused by the consumer.
Security Exchange has a responsibility to provide the service expected by the paying consumer. The consumer also has a responsibility in abiding by the terms and conditions of the purchase.
As the attachment shows we allow 30 days to begin the training from the date of purchase, we allow one rescheduling per course purchase and we also clearly state that the courses purchased are nonrefundable. In some cases we offer limited refunds.
Because xxxxxis a US Service Member and because we believe it be to that Security Exchange has committed no wrong, we offer xxxxxa $145.00 refund. That amount will withhold $100.00 from the original purchase price of $245.00, $50.00 for each seat that was reserved in Mr. xxxxx name on both on sessions May 7 and May 17, 2012.
Likewise, xxxxx continues to have the option to rescheduling his training and we would do so without any rescheduling charges.
Regards,

04/09/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
01/21/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
09/12/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Training Programs, Computers - Network Security, Job Listing & Advisory Services, Web Design, Internet Marketing Services, Security Systems Consultants, Security Guard & Patrol Service, Security Cameras, Schools - General Interest, Schools - Business & Vocational, Referral Service, Marketing Programs & Services, Marketing Consultants, Employment Training, Computers - Service & Repair, Web Site Design Services, Web Hosting Services, Self Defense Devices, Army & Navy Goods, Home-Wireless Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/03/2010Business started: 01/01/2009
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 2007, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ricardo Dorrego (VP of Operations)Mr. Raymond Bonachea (VP of Marketing)
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Training Programs, Computers - Network Security, Job Listing & Advisory Services, Web Design, Internet Marketing Services, Security Systems Consultants, Security Guard & Patrol Service, Security Cameras, Schools - General Interest, Schools - Business & Vocational, Referral Service, Marketing Programs & Services, Marketing Consultants, Employment Training, Computers - Service & Repair, Web Site Design Services, Web Hosting Services, Self Defense Devices, Army & Navy Goods, Home-Wireless Systems

Alternate Business Names
FixBot Computer Repairs and More, Security Exchange, Fixbot Computers & More, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Security Guard Exchange

13000 S Tryon St Ste F-145

Charlotte, NC 28278-7652

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 13000 S Tryon St Ste F-145 

    Charlotte, NC 28278-7652

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Security Guard Exchange is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 392-3072
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Training Programs

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.