BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/21/2007

Positec Tool Corporation

Phone: (704) 599-3711Fax: (704) 599-6390View Additional Phone Numbers10130 Perimeter Pkwy Ste 300, Charlotte NC 28216-2463View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/21/2007

BBB has determined that Positec Tool Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Positec Tool Corporation's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 54 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

54 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues7
Billing / Collection Issues4
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues6
Problems with Product / Service36
Total Closed Complaints 54

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Positec Tool Corporation

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (54)
07/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The WG-772 was purchased in July 2015. I have been unable to use my mower for most of the time that I have owned it.
I have had nothing but problems with my WG-772 mower. It was purchased during July 2015 and used for about 2 months (or used at most about 8 times). The batteries were stored in the house and charged throughout the winter but in the spring when I tried to use the mower the mower only lasted about 15 minutes for 2 batteries fully charged and would take me 2-3 days to complete mowing my yard of less than 1/4 acre. I had to pay for shipping on the batteries covered under warranty and am still waiting on shipping labels to return the defective batteries. I am also still faced with being told I have 30 days to return those or will be charged full price for the replacement batteries that cost about $130 each. The issue with the batteries has been going on since 5/17/2016. I am concerned the batteries will continue to have the same problem following additional winters. I also reported the problem of needing to continuously mow the same spot numerous times because the blade did not cut well and no offer of assistance was made. Then on 6/4/2016 while mowing, the mower started cutting very unevenly and very close to the ground. When I inspected the under side of the mower the blade was bent. I spent several hours that day trying to locate a local authorized distributor to repair my mower and they were unable to assist me after trying for a week, they were unable to get Worx replacement parts. I contacted Worx directly and was informed they could ship the blade to me that was on back order for a shipping fee. I accepted and was informed there was an order coming in 6/13/2016 to 6/17/2016 and my order would likely be filled at that time. I called to check the status of my order on 6/18/2016 and was informed that the part was still on back order and it would be another 5 weeks but not less than that before they would be able to ship the part for me. The CSA offered to see if they could get me a new mower under warranty since I am completely unable to use the new mower, she stated I could get a new mower in less than a week but to get the part would be at least a month. The mower cost $400 and has been used for a couple months. The business is only open 9 am to 6 pm Eastern Monday through Friday and limited hours on Saturdays. Every phone call I have made to this company has taken a great deal of my time and I have even spent more than 2 hours on hold just waiting to speak to someone.

Desired Settlement
I would like to get my money back for the product. I am concerned the problems of product availability will likely be an ongoing issue with this company. The mower is less than a year old and parts are proving they are not going to withstand time and I do not want to spend $260 on replacement batteries every year, that is more than half the cost of the mower. I also do not want to have to have a back up lawn mower because the manufacturer is unable to provide replacement parts if anything else goes wrong. I should not have to spend hours on the phone for this one product all the time, but when I try to use it I have to call them for something. I am also being charged shipping fees for the parts that are covered under warranty. I do not feel shipping fees should have to be covered by the consumer for a product that is under warranty. The CSAs that I spoke with could not give me a time frame of providing me with the shipping labels to return the defective products because the company is "so far behind". One of them said it may take another month to get the shipping labels.

Business Response
Worx Customer Service
PO Box XXXXXX
*********, NC XXXXX

June 27, 2016

Re: ***** ********
Case # XXXXXX

On behalf of our company, we would like to apologize to Mr. ******** for the trouble that he has experienced with his WG772 lawn mower. Mr. ******** had contacted customer service on 5/17/16 regarding the problems that he was having with the batteries not lasting long enough to cut his yard. There has been a miscommunication with Mr. ******** regarding the back order for his warranty replacement orders for the batteries and also a replacement lawn mower blade that was sent out to him.
Due to Mr. ******** being unhappy with his lawn mower and experience with our customer care department, we can honor his request for a refund. Since he has had the lawn mower for almost a year, we will issue a prorated refund. Through this process, we will create and mail a check refund, and it will be a prorated from the first contact date of 5/17/16. The check can take 4-8 weeks to be generated and sent to the customer. We have notated the account as well, and the refund amount will be for $279.30.
If you or Mr. ******** has any additional questions, please see my contact information below.
Sincerely,

****** *****
Customer Care Specialist
P. XXX-XXX-XXXX ext ***
F. XXX-XXX-XXXX
E. *****************************


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

06/28/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Attempt to change Credit card # due to loss
On 5/19/2016 I purchased a product (String Trimmer) online and paid for via 3-installments to a credit card. Ten days ago I lost a credit card and cancelled it for security purposes. I may have used the lost card to process this order, (RWD-XXXXXXXXX) and immediately contacted the company via email concerning this matter and offering to provide another credit card number. It was answered three days later and I was instructed to call. I called twice and after ten minutes, (both calls), was informed my waiting time was another ten minutes. I am unable to continue wait as my only request was to correct the billing matter. Today I contacted WORX visa chat and explained my attempts and the reply, ("If you don't call you will be taken to collections") I replied by explaining tha my intent was only to correct the possible decline of the original credit card used. I was able to purchase on line using a credit card but for unknown reasons a customer apparently cannot update or change payment information in his online account?

Desired Settlement
1. Provide a reasonable resolution to provide a corrected method of payment.
2. Cease any threats of collections regarding my attempt to correct this billing issue in ADVANCE before an attempt is made to charge a cancelled credit card. Actual card used may be valid but I have no way of determining this as the # , or last for digits of card used does not appear on any receipt or document.
3. Kinder, gentler customer service Lost my credit card and just trying to get balance of amount due to you as efficiently as possible.

Business Response
Worx Customer Service
PO Box XXXXXX
Charlotte, NC XXXXX

June 27, 2016

Re: *** S ********
Case # XXXXXX

On behalf of our company, we would like to apologize to Mr. ******** for the trouble that he has experienced with getting in touch with customer service to update his credit card information. We have reached our peak season; sometimes the hold times may be longer than we anticipate. We have also incorporated a callback option, which allows you to leave your number if you have been waiting, and we will call you back in the order in which the call came in. We have researched and was unable to locate any chat transcripts from Mr. ******** to our customer service department.
On 6/15/16, Mr. ******** sent us an email asking for the balance on his order and was informed that he would have to call customer service to provide his updated payment. On 6/21/16, Mr. ******** called in and spoke with an agent to update his credit card information. The payment went through successfully on 6/23/16. Mr. ******** currently has one last payment for $26.66 scheduled on 7/18/16 to be treated through his updated payment method. As a one-time courtesy, we have discounted his final payment due to the long wait and not able to get through. As of right now, Mr. ********, last payment is $13.33 will be processed on 7/18/16 from the amount he provided our customer service agent. If he would like to modify the payment method, he would have to call customer service and wait for a representative to update this information.
If you or Mr. ******** has any additional questions, please see my contact details below.
Sincerely,

Joshua Baker
Customer Care Specialist
P. XXX-XXX-XXXX ext 179
F. XXX-XXX-XXXX
E. ************@positecgroup.com


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I would like to thank the company for the resolution.

06/08/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Advertisement online says the WG772 Worx lawn mower will cut up to 9,400 square feet on a single battery charge. The batteries only last 30 minutes.
I was shipped a WORX WGXXX XXV 19" lawnmower in August 2015 when my previous 19" WORX mower quit working. On the WORX website (url: https://www.worx.com/lawn-mowers/cordless-lawn-mowers/56v-cordless-lawn-mower-wg772.html) it says that this mower will cut up to 9,400 square feet on a single battery charge. My front yard is about 3,000 square feet and my back yard is about 4,000 square feet. I can barely get my front yard cut on a single battery charge. I called WORX today and was told by the floor supervisor that the batteries in the 56V model WG772 were meant to only last about thirty minutes. No where in my searching have I found any information on this. The only information is on the website saying it cuts up to 9,400 swuare feet on a single charge. I asked the supervisor why this was not stated and she advised me that WORX chose not to put that information out there. So, if I cut my front yard and the batteries run out, I have to wait about one hour for the batteries to cool down before I can recharge them. Then I allow one and 1/2 hours to recharge each battery because you can only recharge one battery at a time. That is about four hours to recharge the batteries. Then I can start on my back yard but will not be able to finish the back yard before the batteries run out. So, it is a two day process to cut my front and back yard.

Desired Settlement
WORX is sending me two replacement batteries but I don't see that this will help anything. They will still only last thirty minutes which will not really help me.
Maybe WORX would replace my WG772 with a corded model.

Business Response
Worx Customer Service
PO Box XXXXXX
Charlotte, NC XXXXX

June 7, 2016

Re: Mr. *******
BBB Case#: XXXXXX


Mr. *******, had contacted our customer service department regarding his lawn mower only lasting about 30 minutes. The supervisor he spoke with, informed him that we will be replacing the batteries, at that time he didn't want the prorate refund that we offered and would like us to mail him to brand new batteries. Customer was also advised that he would be required to send his original batteries back to us through the use of a prepaid return label that we will issue.
After reviewing the complaint and his order history, we can replace Mr.********* lawn mower with the WGXXX XX" Electric Lawn Mower. In order for Mr.********* to receive this as a warranty replacement, he would be required to send back the lawn mower WG772 that we sent out on 7/2/15 and the replacement 56 Volt battery on 9/10/15. We will mail and email Mr. ******* a return label for both items to send back to us free of charge through FedEx. He would be responsible for taking both packages with the labels to a FedEx location to be sent back to us. The labels will cover him to send it back and will not be charged through FedEx.
I have placed a warranty replacement order RWD-XXXXXXXXX for Mr. ******* to receive a brand new WG719 Electric lawn mower. He will be upgraded and receive this mower in the mail through FedEx, however, he is required to pay shipping and handling of $24.37 for the replacement order. We will not ship the WG719 mower out, until we receive both the battery and the original lawn mower we sent as a warranty replacement. Once we see that both items have been returned back to us, we will then process the charge of $24.7 and ship the new warranty replacement order. Mr. ******* will not be required to register the new lawn mower, and it will not come with a warranty on it. It will not be eligible for a warranty replacement, reshipment, and/or refund. Once it has been verified that we received both the battery and lawn mower, the replacement one can take 7-10 business days for delivery through FedEx.

If you or Mr. *******. has any additional questions, please see my contact information below.

Sincerely,

************
Customer Care Specialist
P. XXX-XXX-XXXX ext 179
F. XXX-XXX-XXXX
E. ************@positecgroup.com


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I do accept the resolution of WORX.
WORX is being very fair in customer satisfaction. By sending me shipping labels to return the mower and batteries back to them and providing me with an electric mower I will be able to manage my yard.

05/31/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Lawn mower blade shows as shipped and charged to my credit card but still sitting in Worx warehouse.
Contacted Worx on Wednesday

Desired Settlement
Contacted Worx on May 25 and was called back later by customer service. At that time I ordered a new blade kit for my Worx lawn mower. The shipping label was created on May 26 at 7:37 am and it shows as being shipped. My credit card was not showing a pending transaction for this item like most business do until the item actually ships. The charge has actually been processed. I called Worx this morning to get the actual status of my lawn mower blade and was advised it was still sitting in the warehouse and had not actually shipped yet.

Business Response
Worx Customer Service
PO Box XXXXXX
Charlotte, NC XXXXX

May 31, 2016

Re: Mr. *******
BBB Case#: XXXXXX



On behalf of our company, we would like to apologize to Mr. ******* for any confusion regarding the order. When Mr. ******* had called customer service to check the order status of the blade, he was advised that the product can take 7-10 business days for delivery. He was also informed that the product had a tracking number generated but not fully shipped out just yet. However, he states that Worx never shipped the package because FedEx claims they didn't' receive it.
With all of our packages, we informed customers that it can take 7-10 business days for delivery unless they have a form of expedited shipping. When Mr. *******, didn't want to accept the answer that the customer service agent provided and kept stating that Worx had never shipped the package. However, we did have the tracking information available and advised that Mr. *******, to allow an additional 24 hours for the information to be updated.
The current tracking for the package is XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX, estimated delivery date is 6/4/16 by the end of the day through the United States Postal Service. If you or Mr. *******. has any additional questions, please see my contact information below.

Sincerely,

************
Customer Care Specialist
P. XXX-XXX-XXXX ext
F. XXX-XXX-XXXX
E. ************@positecgroup.com


Consumer Response

05/12/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told I could cancel my order if I was not sure I wanted the item. The company refused to cancel my order despite it not being shipped yet.
I ordered a WORX GT Lawn Trimmer on April 30 with the sales rep assuring me I could cancel the order if I wanted. I tried calling back to cancel the item
Order# RWD XXXXXXXXX on May 1, May 2, May 3, but was told the item was shipped via Fed Ex. Fed Ex# XXX XXX XXX XXX XXX. THE ORDER IS NOT SHIPPED PER FED EX. I have made numerous calls to cancel the order and told every time it's NOT POSSIBLE and they would send me shipping labels once I receive it in a week or two. I read the many complaints on the website 'WORX Complaints.' I now know I am another victim. WORX is a scam and uses (cancel anytime) as a deceptive tool. My credit card is charged and I am very upset this issue will never get resolved.Terrible customer reps. They dismissed me every time. I am helpless to do anything other than thru BBB.

Desired Settlement
I would prefer to cancel the shipment ( still not shipped as of May 3rd) and Fed Ex has no request to pickup yet.

Business Response
Worx Customer Service
PO Box XXXXXX
Charlotte, NC XXXXX

May 5, 2016

Re: *** ************
BBB Case#: XXXXXX


On behalf of our company, we would like to apologize to Mr. ************ for not being able to cancel his order when he first contacted our company. When placing an order we do allow the customer to cancel the order, if it has not been shipped or in the process of being shipped out. At the time he contacted customer service, the order was already batched and being loaded on the truck. Even though he contacted FedEx they stated that it wasn't shipped out, but it was too far along the shipping process to cancel the order.
Mr. ************, spoke with several agents and even a supervisor, which advised we are unable to cancel the order and will send him a prepaid return label to send the tool back to us free of charge. Then the customer proceeded to contacting us via email and calling customer service regarding the order after being advised that the order was unable to be cancelled at that time. Our customer care agents informed him that we will send a prepaid return label and make an attempt to see if we can intercept the package.
On 5/5/16, we were successfully able to intercept the package and have it to be sent back to our company. Per the tracking XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX, the product is expected to be delivered back to us on 5/6/16 by FedEx. Once we receive the product back, we will issue a full refund back to Mr. ************ account that was charged. Once the refund is processed, we ask that he allows 3-5 business days for it to be reflected back on his account.

If you or Mr. ************ has any additional questions, please see my contact information below.

Sincerely,

************
Customer Care Specialist
P. XXX-XXX-XXXX ext 179
F. XXX-XXX-XXXX
E. ************@positecgroup.com


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I cannot accept the response on my item until I receive a full refund credit to my credit card. If I accepted the response now they could easily delay my full refund credit. It should be noted this company did NOT handle the return at all. I personally took the time and effort to work with Fed Ex and their OUTSTANDING customer service reps. I had to open a case file #XXXXXXXXXX to intercept the item after it arrived this morning. The response from the attached ************ was well after all the effort I performed with Fed Ex.If I had not persisted with this endeavour the package was going to end up at my Condo. Additionally, this Positec is falsely implying they had something to do with the turnaround. Totally false. As a matter of record, Positec never mailed any prepaid sticker but instead required me by email they sent to print it on a printer which I told them I did not have. They never responded but lied to the BBB by implying they handled the process themselves. I want to hold them accountable until I actually receive my total credit refund. I ask your office to keep them on notice until I receive my refund. This company only takes action after a consumer has the BBB involved. I read this company has 57 complaints against them. Add mine to that list. I again ask for you to keep this complaint open until they refund my entire amount to my credit company. Thank you for your assistance.

Final Consumer Response

Page 1 of 7
07/04/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product WG500 still under warranty, company has not sent information to return product.
Purchased the WG500 07/2013, during recent use I was continually getting shocked. Since the product was still under warranty, I emailed Worx so that I could send back product to have it looked at, but instead have received back emails instructing me to wear rubber gloves while operating machine and that the gauge and length of extension cord is not intended for use with their product. The gauge and length of the extension being used is listed in the users manual. Basically, feel as if I am just getting the run around until the product is no longer under warranty.

Desired Settlement
Had purchased several Worx products and was generally happy with their performance that was until I had a problem with their Tri/Vac and wanted to have the product looked since it was still under warranty. Since this process has been extremely negative and much more difficult then it should have been and does not represent the business practices of any company I want to be doing business with, am requesting a refund.

Business Response
Worx Customer Service
PO Box XXXXXX
*********, NC XXXXX

June 27, 2016

Re: ******* ******
Case # XXXXXX

On behalf of our company, we would like to apologize to Mr. ****** for the trouble that he has experienced with the constant emails with our customer service department. I have reviewed the email threads and did see where Mr. ****** mentioned the problems that he was having and the responses from the agents. Due to the purchase of the WG500 Trivac has been longer than 30 days we are unable to issue him a refund. We can replace his unit and upgrade him to the WG500.2, and he can recycle the current unit that they have. Mr. ****** would be responsible for contacting customer service at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX to pay the shipping and handling and tax of $21.46. Please use this order number RWD-XXXXXXXXX as a reference when you call in, and your warranty will continue to form the original purchase date and will not start over.
If you or Mr. ****** has any additional questions, please see my contact details below.
Sincerely,

****** *****
Customer Care Specialist
P. XXX-XXX-XXXX ext ***
F. XXX-XXX-XXXX
E. ************

06/13/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Have tried for 9 days to reach someone at XXX-XXX-XXXX, I either get no answer or a recording which states they are in a meeting and no accepting call
Received The Worx trimmer/edger May 17,2016. Used the unit immediately. After running for approx. 20 min. the unit began acting like it has an electrical short thus turning off when it should have been operating. I have also contacted Positec via e-mail and received no response.

Desired Settlement
Replacement or refund price of product plus all shipping and handling expenses.

Business Response
Worx Customer Service
PO Box XXXXXX
Charlotte, NC XXXXX

June 3, 2016

Re: ***** ******
Case # XXXXXX


On behalf of our company, we would like to apologize to Mr. ****** for not being able to get in touch with our customer service department when he originally called. After further research, I was unable to locate any call attempts made under the phone number provided to our customer service department. In the complaint, Mr. ******, has also mentioned that he sent us an email, but we were unable to locate any email correspondence our customer service from his email address that was provided. Unless Mr. ******, has tried to contact us using a different phone number and/or email address, other than the information we have on file for him, we currently have not received correspondence from him.
In the complaint, Mr. ****** states that the trimmer runs for approx. 20 min and then shuts off. From that information provided, it has been determined that his unit is working correctly. For the WG160.3 20 volt grass trimmer, we normally quote on average that it can run anywhere between 15-30 minutes per battery. The run time will vary, due to climate conditions, how one charges, use and storage the battery. If a customer is trimming more than edging the battery can drain much quicker. We also recommend cutting in layers if they have really tall grass. However, with the Lithium batteries, it can take a few uses and charging cycles before the performance increase and the battery last longer.
Based on the information provided, his unit does not qualify for a warranty replacement. If Mr. ******, would like to return the unit, he is more than welcome to. We offer a 30-day money back guarantee, were the customer receives a full refund less shipping and handling. However, as a one-time courtesy for the inconvenience, we will issue the full refund of $116.11 back to his account that was initially charged. I will go ahead and mail and email a prepaid return label out to Mr. ******, so that he may be able to return his order for a full refund. Once the product is received back, we ask that he allows 3-5 business days for the refund to be posted to his account depending on his financial institution.

If you or Mr. ****** has any additional questions, please see my contact information below.

Sincerely,

************
Customer Care Specialist
P. XXX-XXX-XXXX ext****
F. XXX-XXX-XXXX
E. ************@positecgroup.com

05/18/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The Aerocart was purchased two of the four wheels were included in the box, but it was missing two wheels. The wheels which were included won't turn. Contact information was worthless telephone just rings after pressing any of the voice activated prompts. Package was incomplete.
Product_Or_Service: Tv ad

Desired Settlement
Assistance in complete package with the addition of the missing wheels, items d- f according to directions. (Attachment wheels, wagon cart, hay wagon, garden cart)

Business Response
Worx Customer Service
PO Box XXXXXX
Charlotte, NC XXXXX

May 12, 2016

Re: *********** *****

BBB Case#: XXXXXX


On behalf of our company, we would like to apologize to Mr. ***** for not receiving the Aerocart when he originally ordered it. I have contacted Mr. ***** and placed the reship order RWD- XXXXXXXXX for the Aerocart to be reshipped out to him. He was informed that it could take 7-10 business days for delivery. I also provided Mr. ***** with our direct customer service number, as well as how to contact and use our live chat option and email online through our website directy.

A FedEx driver follow up has been issued on the original order, as he states that he didn't receive it but tracking shows delivered. Mr. *****, was also informed that if the reship order doesn't gets delivered that we would have to issue a driver follow up on that package as well. If he claims non-receipt on the reship order and the claim comes back denied we would not be able to reship or refund the order. If you or Mr. ***** has any additional questions, please see my contact information below.

Sincerely,

************
Customer Care Specialist
P. XXX-XXX-XXXX ext
F. XXX-XXX-XXXX
E. ************@positecgroup.com

06/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a hedge trimmer in 2012 from this company, after using the trimmer two or three times the lithium battery would not longer charge.
After purchasing a hedge trimmer from this company the lithium,m battery that came with the work tool did not work, could not be charged after using the tool a couple of times. I contact the company in 2012 and a replacement battery was sent to me. Today I attempted to charge and use that battery and it did not work. I contacted the company, remained on hold for 6-1/2 hours to be told that the battery would not be replaced with payment. I was told by the supervisor ***** that i would have to pay for a new battery. I am unhappy because i think that that battery should have been replaced free of charge. Obviously the batteries that they are selling are defective and should be replaced at no charge to the consumer. The battery was brand new still in the box as they had sent it to me. ***** stated that i should have used it when i received the product but at that time i had a landscaping company tending to my yard so i had no need to use the tool because the company came with their own tools. Today i had to pay a total of $40.00 to replace a brand new battery still in the box, where is the fairness and good business practice in that.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking to be refunded my $40.00

Business Response
********** called on 6/15 and was given a $40.00 discount off a new battery (order #*************). This goes beyond what was required of Worx since the warranty on her battery had expired 2 years earlier. Worx considers this matter resolved.

05/22/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i purchased a chainsaw through ***** for 39.99 on the 18th of april. the exact chainsaw is on sell now 29.99. it hasn't been 30 days yet. neither ***** or worxgt wants to give me a refund back for 10.00. they want me to send back the 39.99 one and then purchase the 29.99 one and pay for shipping. that is really stupid. i need some help. i only make so much and 10.00 goes long way for me.
Product_Or_Service: 14 inch WORXGT Chainsaw electric

Desired Settlement
need a 10.00 refund on product.

Business Response
************ called on *** 5 and our agent informed him that per our refund policy, he could return the item for a full refund but that since prices on **** are subject to change we do not refund as a result of a price change. If he would like to return the tool under the 30 day money back guarantee and reorder the one that was advertised for the lesser amount he may do so.

Page 1 of 5

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tools - Hand

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/01/2007Business started: 05/22/2002Business started locally: 08/01/2005New Owner Date: 10/01/2003
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 2002, SC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Duncan (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Paige Smith Ms. Rhonda Tate (Customer Service Manager)
Number of Employees

75

Business Category

Tools - Hand

Alternate Business Names
Positec USA, Inc, Worx, Rockwell

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Positec Tool Corporation has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Positec Tool Corporation

10130 Perimeter Pkwy Ste 300

Charlotte , NC 28216-2463

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 10130 Perimeter Pkwy Ste 300 

    Charlotte, NC 28216-2463(704) 599-3711
    (888) 599-3711
    (866) 354-9679
    (866) 514-7625
    (800) 969-9389
    Fax: (704) 599-6390

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Positec Tool Corporation is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 599-3711
  • (866) 354-9679
  • (866) 514-7625
  • (800) 969-9389
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Tools - Hand

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.