BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/27/2013

Fairway Lawn Buildings

Phone: (704) 531-3232

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
02/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to repair within a timely manor.
On Nov. 28, 2012 we visited your Gastonia office to schedule a repair to our Nephews carport. Late Dec. a appointment was scheduled for Early Jan. No show. The appointment was rescheduled for mid Jan, again no show or call. We visited your Gastonia store on Monday Feb 4, again to have Peggi fax the repair order to main headquarters. This time she spoke to a *******, who was expecting it and we were told to expect a call later that day to schedule. AGAIN no call. We called again on Tuesday Feb 5. This time ******* called our Niece telling her that she didn't know what repair was needed????? How can that be when the repair was scheduled twice before??? Now she says that we are scheduled for Feb 11, 2013. This is a 20 minute repair that may take your company up to 10 plus weeks to complete. We were very satisfied with our carport, but now are questiioning the follow up from your company. The homeowner to be contacted is *** ***** at **************** XXX-XXX-XXXX is the daytime number. Our check is at this residence waiting for the work to be completed. Today I spoke to a manager and got no where again.........

Desired Settlement
All we want is the repair to be completed!!!

Business' Initial Response
*****,
Concerning Mr. ******, I called him at @ p.m. to discuss his problem with his carport and in our conversation he revealed to me that there was no problem with the carport or the original installation. it turns out that his father backed his car into the carport and damaged it. He then called ***************** to get it repaired, and they have been trying to accommodate him as a favor to him but through no fault of Fairway Buildings has he been neglected or ignored. It needs to be noted that ***************** is not in the repair business and their offer to repair the structure was done as a favor ,as far as I know ***. is still trying to get an installer out to repair Mr. ******'s building but when and if it is going to happen , I have no idea.
Sincerely
****** ******
President
Fairway Buildings

Consumer's Final Response
The only info he is correct on is that we needed a repair on our Nephews carport. I have no idea what he is talking about that it was a favor??? When the carport was purchased it came with a warrenty and repair work number. Him calling it a favor blows me away when we were charged over $100 for it to be fixed. Yesterday some one from Fairway Builders called our Nephew stating to him he didn't know what needed to be done??? Again how can that be when the work order is in front of him??? After two more calls, first to Fairway and then to *****************, a crew showed up at my Nephews asking what needed to be done?? Hello, they walked right past the dented carport. Then my Nephews son handed them the payment check and they in very broken english asked what they were supposed to do with that? Oh my!!! Taking it back to his responce I am expecting our check back as it was to be a "favor". How can any business even come up with that?? Repair work on their own building is not a favor, it is business. Because of this fiasco, I would not recomend this company to any one. It took 11 weeks to repair a 20 minute fix. CRAZY!!!!!

02/05/2013Problems with Product / Service
09/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
promised repair by company builder not compleated
when the shed was built i had concernes that the ramp into the shed was to low. the builder said to try it out to see if it was a problem. called the builder shortly after and he said he would fix the problem. he said he would be there in a few days and would call when he was on the way. a week passed and he stopped taking my calls.contacted the owner of the buisness who said that they had a rush job to do and would schedule the repair asap.since then all i get is the answering machine that was about 3 weeks after the owner said this would be taken care of .

Desired Settlement
raise the ramp so my riding mowers deck does not run into the floor which could damage the equipment.

Business Response
First of all the installer built the ramp exactly as it is demonstrated on the display building Mr *** looked at when he purchased the building, a couple of days after the installation was complete Mr *** evidently did talk to the builder to try to get him to alter the ramp to accommodate his mower, but to come back out to alter a building there is a $50 service call.
Mr *** has agreed to pay the service call and the installer is going back to Mr ***'s home to make the alterations this week of 8/25/14

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
xxxxx from fairway lawn buildings did contact me early this week and said the builder would be in contact with me with in 24 hours. this is 3 days later and still no contact has happened.

Final Business Response
From: xxxxx
Sent: Wednesday, September 10, 2014 11:28 AM
To:xxxxx
Subject: Re: Case #xxxxx

On june 30th 2014 Mr xxxxx came to our sales lot in xxxxx NC and ordered a 12 x 12 Masters line Storage building off of the display that we have demonstrating the ramp that is in question, he was shown the ramp and exactly how it would be installed as demonstrated. The builder went to his home built his building and installed the ramp on his building exactly as it was shown to him at the lot, further more it was explained to him that if the terrain that he had selected in his yard was significantly different than the terrain in our sales lot that he might need a longer ramp and there would be an extra charge for a longer ramp, but he told xxxxx the salesman that the standard ramp would work and that is what we installed.
When Mr xxxxx attempted to put his lawn mower in the building , because of the elevation of the front of the building his mower deck dragged going into the building. After numerous conversations with Mr. xxxxx he agreed to pay the installer to come out and adjust the ramp which entailed the installer cutting 2" off the bottom of the doors , cutting the ramp off of the front of the building and raising it up 2" and refastening it to the building, my installer only charged him $50 to drive to xxxxx and do an 1 to 2 hrs. of work on Mr. xxxxx building.
All this could have been avoided if Mr xxxxx had given us accurate information in the first place about the slope of his yard , a 2' extension of a ramp is only $40 and would have saved him money in the long run.
Finally the repair is done , I called Mr xxxxx the day after the repair was done to make sure he was satisfied with the repair , he said he was and I haven't heard any more from him.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tool & Utility Sheds, Buildings - Portable, Home Improvements

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.