BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/13/2008

Steele Creek Tire & Service Center, LLC

Phone: (704) 583-2800Fax: (704) 583-44259800 S Tryon St, CharlotteNC 28273-6504

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/13/2008

BBB has determined that Steele Creek Tire & Service Center, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Steele Creek Tire & Service Center, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Steele Creek Tire & Service Center, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
11/21/2012Problems with Product / Service
03/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Damaged Rims
Took my vehicle in to get new tires put on. Purchased tires from steele creek tire & service center, LLC. When my car came out of garage my rims were damaged. Ask to speak to the manager and was told that I did the damage by running up on sidewalk. Spoke to owner ****** ******(owner) and was told that they were not gone to take responsibility. tried to return tires 2/28/2013 and was told that I could not return . Did not give me any other options but to call manufacture Sales rep( ******). Chrysler pacifica. 2/27/2013 purchase date. Paid credit card.

Desired Settlement
All four rims replaced.return tires for refund

Business' Initial Response
I inspected the damage on Ms. ******'s wheels on Thursday 02/28/2013 and found a number of scratches and gouges on all 4 rims. I couldn't identify any fresh or new scratches on them. Tire changing machines of today do not damage wheels like they did 10 years ago. These new machines will damage tires before damaging wheels. We tried to explain, and we showed Ms. ****** that a plastic mounting head (shoehorn for tires) was the only thing that contacted her wheels during the mount and dis-mount procedure. There was no credibility given to our explaination or our experience. The tire machine we currently use is less than 5 years old and the technician who did the tire installation has been employed here since August of 2009. I suggested Ms. ****** show her damaged rims to other tire stores and ask them if the damage is recent and if those type of gouges could be done by someone mounting new tires on her wheels. We do not accept responsibility for her damaged wheels.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The rims were in good shape. They never told me to go elsewhere. They were rude and nasty. When I told them I was unhappy with the tires the day after purchase I was told yo call the company its not their problem any more.

Business' Final Response
I do not have a resolution. I would still recommend that Ms. ****** have her rims inspected by two or three tire store managers... *********, ********, *************, or ************ to help us get an unbiased opinion. In our defense, we are the exclusive provider of tire mounting and balancing services for *************** of Charlotte. ******** is a local car dealer that sells only high-end automobiles, (BMW, Landrover, Infinity, Mercedes, Porsche, Audi, Jaguar). All of these cars are equipped with low profile tires and Alloy wheels that can be easily damaged. We do not sell tires to ********, we only mount and balance tires they provide. Please contact them and ask them why they choose us over *********, ********, *************, and ************...Thank you, ****** ******.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Tire Dealers, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Transmissions - Automobile, Lubricating Service - Automotive, Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/18/2008Business started: 05/21/2003
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Doug Gailor (President)
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

Tire Dealers, Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto, Transmissions - Automobile, Lubricating Service - Automotive, Auto Repair & Service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Steele Creek Tire & Service Center, LLC

9800 S Tryon St

Charlotte, NC 28273-6504

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 9800 S Tryon St 

    Charlotte, NC 28273-6504(704) 583-2800
    Fax: (704) 583-4425

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Steele Creek Tire & Service Center, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Tire Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.