BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/2004

TotalBC, Inc.

Phone: (704) 334-7350Fax: (704) 496-2098View Additional Phone Numbers9400 S. Tryon St., CharlotteNC 28273

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/2004

BBB has determined that TotalBC, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for TotalBC, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on TotalBC, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/15/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unable to utilize service due to improper Due Diligence
TBC consulted with our Day Center and informed us that they would be able to provide phone service for our new office space. The representative came and assessed our areas and then recommended VOIP. The installation of wiring and cable was performed, however, we were unable to utilize the desk phones that were suggested and ordered for us. After 2-3 months of troubleshooting, TBC concluded they were not going to be able activate the services as they originally intended because they later learned that AT&T nor Time Warner had the bandwidth to support their system. They then proceeded to charge us for services not rendered and has blocked our ability to have the phone number released for activiation for another carrier. TBC has refused to issue us a credit.

Desired Settlement
We would llike TBC to correct their invoice to remove the amount due to them considering their services were not able to be used and we did receive phone service. The wiring and cable was of no benefit to the office and are unable to use the wires they installed. They can remove the wires, remove the amount due, and release our phone number to make us whole

Business Response
This is a case where the client is trying to use BBB to get something for free plain and simple. Only one sentence of this complaint is actually true, I have tried to speak with the client and assist and explain, she doesn't want to listen, or she just doesn't understand. We/I agree 100% our sales person did not use due diligence he was brand new to TotalBC (on his 2nd week) and took ***** at their word that they could provide Internet at her location. The charges for the service that she speaks of was on our automated system and yes someone did not remove her account, but as soon as it came to our attention they were credited IMMEDIATELY and she knows this as 100% truth. I personally spoke to her and apologized and while on the phone she acknowledged that she received credit memos. What she doesn't want to pay for is the work we did part & partial of the before mentioned VoIP services. The voice and data cabling in her new location (I have the signed quote) then we offered her VoIP Service (have those signed quotes also). I also have the floor plan that she wrote the locations on, that she faxed to us where she wanted phones and computer cables.
She is correct that ***** could not provide her service at her location, thus we could not deliver on our service. We do apologize that ***** could not deliver service, however WE DID NOT CHARGE her one red cent for VoIP services that were not credited.
As far as blocking her ability to get her number ported, NOTHING further from the truthits her ability to withstand talking to *****. I have the emails and was on the phone with her when I personally sent her the information EXACTLY what she needed to give to ***** to port her number AND even told her that if she has any issues when talking to ***** to get me on a conference call (gave her my extension #) with them and I would be more than happy to help. I then emailed everyone within our company that if she calls do not make her wait, to get me on the phone whether in the office or my cell so that I could assist her. She NEVER CALLED!!!
What she wanted us to do is call **** and do all of this, I told her I cannot do anything on her account but would be more than happy to be bridged in when she got someone on the phone to assistshe wouldn't hear of it, she rambles about well you could do it when I changed to you, etc. etc. I told her of course because you were changing to us (I work here) I cannot add services to your **** account with out you being on the phone and if someone could just call up and add services to your **** account or any other account she should be worried about that.

This is absurd, if you call her business phone number it still works, because we have it forwarded to one of her **** lines AND WE HAVE NOT CHARGED HER AT ALL for this. If we wanted to do her or her business any malice would we really still be call fwding her phone number for herreally?

She is upset and we understand, we wish ***** could have given her service at her location and WE CREDITED any wrong billings. But WE WILL NOT credit the voice and data cabling that she wanted in her building that she gave us a floor plan that she wrote on the location and signed a completely separate quote for.

I ask that once BBB reviews this and see's how absurd this complaint is that they remove this from TotalBC, Inc. account. After 15 years of doing business not one client has had an issue with our company because we go above and beyond customer service and well we all know some people just want something for free and they think they can complain and people give in. Once again we have given ALL CREDITS for any VoIP service. The only invoice the client owes is for Voice and Data cabling, she wanted, she signed the SEPARATE quote for and she gave a floor plan of where she wanted them.

Also on another note, I have several svc orders where our technicians went out and hooked up her new ***** lines and her fax that she order, WE DID NOT BILL HER FOR THIS WORK.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Telephone Equipment & Systems Dealers, Telephone Communications, Computers - Networks, Computers - Cable & Installation

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/23/2004Business started: 05/01/1998Business started locally: 11/01/2002
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 2011, SC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Snyder (President) Mr. JR Burns (Operations Manager)
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

Telephone Equipment & Systems Dealers, Telephone Communications, Computers - Networks, Computers - Cable & Installation

Alternate Business Names
Total Business Communications

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

TotalBC, Inc. has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 3 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for TotalBC, Inc.

9400 S. Tryon St.

Charlotte, NC 28273

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 9400 S. Tryon St. 

    Charlotte, NC 28273Fax: (704) 496-2098

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*TotalBC, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 673-8682
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Telephone Equipment & Systems Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.