BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/07/2006

Security Choice, LLC

Phone: (704) 971-2300Fax: (704) 971-23031101 Red Ventures Dr, Fort MillSC 29707-5005

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/07/2006

BBB has determined that Security Choice, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Security Choice, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues10
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Security Choice, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (14)
07/29/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
xxxxx/Security Choice advertise that you get a $100 xxxxx Gift Card for signing up for services. Nothing given says you only have 30 days to redeem.
We were moving from CA to our first home purchase in MN. We had seen the commercials for xxxxx services many times in the past and where thinking that we should sign up for services to begin after we move. One of the draws to signing up for xxxxx opposed to another dealer, was the constant offer for a $100 gift card when you sing up.
My partner, and another purchaser of the house, called xxxxx/Security Choice in July of 2013 while still in CA- before moving. He set-up an appointment for someone to come by and possibly install an xxxxx system on August 10th 2013. At this point, we had no contract with xxxxx/Security Choice; simply calling to possibly have services in the future.
August 10th, 2013 came, and someone working with xxxxx/Security Choice came to our home in MN. We almost turned him away, and actually called many companies to compare pricing and offers while the service rep was at our house.
I was under the impression that installation was supposed to be "free." Something the Rep was always sure to bring-up was the point that we will get a $100 xxxxx Gift Card and that it would basically pay for the installation- making it "free."
After over an hour of debating and wavering, we were sold, with the fact that we got a $100 xxxxx Gift Card. After the rep recived our payment information, he almost forgot to give us information about how to get our $100 gift card.
On our copy of the contract, he wrote a website.. "Securitychoice.com/freegifts, and circled the confirmation code on our contract, telling us, we would just have to enter the code and the card would get mailed to us.
NEVER did the rep give a deadline, of when we would have to go to the site to redeem the offer, and in NO PAPERWORK we were given does it say that there is a deadline to redeem the offer. However, I know that sometimes there are deadlines, and with our one-year anniversary of being with this company approaching, I thought I should redeem the offer, before I forgot, i

Desired Settlement
I want the $100 xxxxx gift card I was promised for singing up with a contract for services.

Business Response
Thank you for reaching out to us about the Visa Reward Card. Normally, you would go to our website www.****************************, fill out the redemption form and mail it in with a copy of the installation receipt that the installer gives you upon completion of your install. This paperwork must be received within 30 days of your installation date. This website and the redemption instructions were provided to the individual who placed the order on 7/18/13 @ 11:40AM EST by the sales agent.

As the sales calls are recorded for quality purposes, it was verified that the sales agent read the following statement to the account holder "To redeem your Visa Reward Card, visit our website www.****************************,download the redemption form, complete it and send it in with a copy of your installation receipt within 30 days of installation. Please allow 8-12 weeks for delivery."

While I do not see that we have received either document from the account holder at this time, I will make an exception and override the first two steps. This will automatically redeem the offer for you. The account holder, ******* *********, should expect to receive his Visa Rewards Cards in 8-12 weeks. It will be sent to the monitoring address on file.

On behalf of Security Choice, I apologize for the poor customer experience that this customer had. Our redemption process that we are continually working to improve and her feedback is appreciated.

****** ******
Security Choice

03/19/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On-line ad said you would receive a $100.00 Visa gift card with your order. I was to be told I had to print a coupon from their website within 30 days
When I called asking about the gift card I was told they don't have my address in the system. I ask to speak to a superviser I was transfered to a man name ****. Would not give me his last name.
I was told I was too late to receive the gift card. He told me it would be unfair to other customers to gave me the card now.
I have checked they website for a form and can't find it or any information on a time limit to receive the card.
**** told me that the salesperson I spoke to last July was to tell me about the card and the 30 day limit. The saleperson spoke very broken english and I had a very hard time understanding him.When I told **** that he knew who that person is and gave me his name, ******. I had to repeat the information several times for him so he type it into the computer. As it was he did not understand I had to change the house address since the sale of that house to us fell thru. They still have that address as where the system was installed. I di receive a certifcate of system installation from *** listing my current home address as where the system was installed.
**** was what it would take to make me happy and I told him the $100.00 gift card would do it and he said he would not do that. Very poor customer service and I feel they are defrauding custmers by not fully explaining how to receive the gift card clearly in writing when you sign up for their service. It would be very interesting to know just how many customers do not get the gift card because they don't clearly understand the requirments.

Desired Settlement
I would like the $100.00 gift card and a change to their ads explaining the steps needed to be taken and that they do so in writing to each new customer.

Thank You
**** ********

Business Response
On behalf of Security Choice, I apologize for the poor experience that this customer has endured. Our Visa redemption card process is something that we continually work on, but is admittedly not perfect. We have gone ahead and approved this customer's Visa card, expedited the card to their address, and have left tracking information on their voicemail if they wish to track the package.

01/29/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Promised $100 VISA reward card not delivered in spite of multiple intervention.
The contract Acc ********** with *********** Security authorized installer included $100 VISA reward card. Reward card supposed to be processed by Security Choice 1101 521 Corporate Center Dr. Fort Mill, SC 29707.
For 2 years from installation I have not received reward card. I intervene several times and was getting answer " card was sent and will not be issue second time". I asked for name of the Bank which supposed to issue this card and got answer " we don't know". This Security Choice is THE scam!

Desired Settlement
Issue Promised $100 VISA reward card.

Business Response
On behalf of Security Choice, I apologize for making this customer feel like we are running a scam. We had some holes in communication causing the customer's gift card to fall through the cracks. We are expediting the customer gift card today, and have reached out to the customer with the tracking number to his gift card package. We are working to improve this process to ensure these problems are as limited as possible. Thank you.

01/03/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received verbal notice that I would get a $100 VISA rebate 30 days after I received my invoice. To date, I have not received invoice nor rebate.
I received verbal notice that I would get a $100 VISA rebate 30 days after I received my invoice. To date, I have not received invoice nor rebate.

In July 2013, I wrote down the details that were provided by me by *** on the phone when arrangements were made for installation of my security system. I wrote down to apply for VISA card rebate 30 days after receipt of invoice. I continued to wait and wait and wait for invoice. Finally, on October 18th, after waiting patiently, I decided to call to find out why I had not received it.
I called 1.************ and spoke to ***** at the Rebate processing center and she said she would have to contact her project manager and that I would get feedback in 6-8 days by email. By October 29th, I still had not heard back and I called and spoke to a ****. **** said that I was supposed to have applied for the rebate 30 days after the installation. I reviewed my notes with him and told him that I had written down that I do it after 30 days of getting the invoice. **** then stated that he would have to review the audio tapes and would get back with me in 24-48 hours. He then asked my permission to receive what sound to be "robo calls" and I advised that I did not want to receive automated marketing calls.
After waiting 3 weeks, I still had not received feedback, therefore, I called on Nov. 22nd and spoke with a ****** (spelling?), who advised me that **** was on the phone and that she would have him to call me back by Monday (Nov. 25th). True to form, no one ever calls me back, so on Dec. 5th, I called and received a person by the name of ****** (?) and I requested to speak to a supervisor and was told she was not available and to call back tomorrow.
Since I do work, it was not until December 13th that I was able to call back. From then, I was given quite a run around...I was told by a ****** to call 1.************ and I spoke with a ****** who said that I need to call 1.************, where I spoke with a ******, who told me I need to call 1.************. There, I spoke to a ******* (spelling?) who said that I need to call 1.************. At that number, I spoke with an ****** who said that he would need to transfer my call to a different department, ie. "Security Choice". I asked who is "Security Choice" and he advises that they are the ones who handle the rebates. After getting transferred to that department, I speak to "****" and his supervisor ***** ***** where I am told that it is too bad that I did not get my rebate as the time has expired. She goes on to say if I had contacted them within 3 months then they would have honored the rebate request. She also says that **** called me back twice. I am not sure that I quite believe this as I have no cell phone or home phone records of such on my caller ID. She really made me feel like crap.
What is so concerning is that I thought I was doing business with *** as this is who I called to get security service. Now, I find out that I am actually dealing with some other company by the name of *********** and now Security Choice. I did not know that my service was not ***. They certainly fooled me as the signs in my yard and doors say *** and my payments are being cleared via ***. I did not realize that I had to go through all this run around with such a huge bureaucracy. I feel that this was certainly a bait and switch and I feel like I have been duped.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting my $100 VISA card rebate. Given that I spent several hours trying to connect with someone to retrieve my refund, it would be appreciated if I could at least be reimbursed for my time with an additional $100 VISA card. Furthermore, for future buyers, it would be most appropriate that customers receive a written statement regarding the terms of installation and rebates rather than having some one to read these terms on the phone to the customer. (I have a page full of notes from my phone call in July and undoubtly customers are at risk to making a writing error while scribbling all these terms on a slip of paper).
Thank you for your attention to this matter.
Best regards,
********* *******

Business Response
On behalf of Security Choice, I apologize for the poor experience that this customer has endured. Our Visa redemption card process is something that we continually work on but is admittedly not perfect. We have expedited the customer's $100 VRC to their address and have left tracking information on their voicemail if they wish to track the package.

01/03/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company offered $100 giftcard for signing up but failed to mention 30 day expiration. Company refuses to honor rebate.
My husband and I bought a house in October and had a security system installed on November 8th (Account # **********). The installer was excellent and friendly but gave me an 800# to call to retrieve my giftcard and never mentioned an expiration date. When I called today (December 30, 2013) I was told I was past the deadline and would not be able to redeem. My call was disconnected from the customer service representative during our call (I'd hate to think she hung up on me but always possible). I searched online and found quite a few instances where people were cheated out of their giftcards for the exact same reason. I am extremely disappointed and feel like the company stops caring once the contract papers are signed. I wish the installer would have clarified the deadline as we could have really used that $100 giftcard considering we upgraded our home security system to the highest level considering our expected reimbursement.

Desired Settlement
I would appreciate if the company would follow through on their offer and send me the $100 VISA giftcard I am owed.

Business Response
On behalf of Security Choice, I apologize for the poor experience that this customer has endured. Our Visa redemption card process is something that we continually work on but is admittedly not perfect. We have expedited the customer's $100 VRC to their address and have left tracking information on their voicemail if they wish to track the package.

Page 1 of 2
11/20/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company mislead me to believe I was talking directly to ***, gathering personal information; SS#, credit card, address etc.
Company mislead me to believe I was talking directly to ***, gathering personal information; SS#, credit card, address etc. I did not authorize security choice to pull my credit based on the false representation. She NEVER told me I was speaking with an authorized dealer, and ONLY told me I was speaking with Security Choice when I demanded a call back number after asking for my credit card information, when I had not even decided to do business with them and when the look up I did on the phone number called revealed I was not talking to whom they claimed to be. This company violated my privacy rights and committed fraudulent activity.

Desired Settlement
Report to ALL credit agencies that I DID NOT authorize you to validate my credit.

Business Response
Security Choice, LLC is an *** Authorized Company that markets *** monitoring services on behalf of *** and its authorized dealers. We introduce ourselves as such on each call and our agent followed the proper procedure and did so on this particular call. We have worked with *** since 2005 and have earned an A+ rating with the BBB.

In connection with those marketing services, Security Choice is required to complete a credit verification using the customer's Social Security number and date of birth. After getting that information from a prospective customer, our agents are required to get verbal consent from the customer before processing the verification. After reviewing the sales call, we have confirmed that ********* willingly provided her Social Security number and date of birth, as well as verbal consent for the credit verification. Accordingly, the credit verification was properly conducted.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They never made it clear that I was not talking to *** directly. Send me a copy of that recorded call. Because as I am sure you heard I questioned and even denied giving my SS# and she pressured me into it by letting me know that we couldn't proceed with an estimate without it, and she NEVER mentioned once who was pulling my credit. Therefore, I did NOT authorize Security Choice to pull my credit as I was under the false impression I was speaking to *** directly.

Final Business Response
As stated in our earlier response, Security Choice, LLC is an *** Authorized Company that markets *** monitoring services on behalf of *** and its authorized dealers and has worked with *** since 2005. The Security Choice agent contacted the consumer based on a request from the consumer for information on *** services. The agent introduced herself as a Security Choice agent and even provided the website and customer service lines for Security Choice. The credit verification process is required to determine the *** service level available to the customer.

We sincerely regret that the consumer feels that the communication was unclear and we assure her that the social security number and date of birth she provided were not used for any purpose other than the required credit verification process for *** services.

11/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was "guaranteed" 2 $100 visa cards if I agreed on the date of our telephone call to purchase the *** alarm system. This did not happen.
I contacted Security Choice via an *** add. The add stated that $100 gift card would be given if *** was purchased. I hadn't made a decision upon contacting Security Choice. However, a "manager" got on the phone and promised 2 $100 gift cards if I committed right then to an installation date and contract. I made the appointment and had a unit installed. Security Choice failed to instruct me on the fact I had to "claim" my gift cards that the installer did not provide them upon completion. I waited the 8-10 weeks that the phone message states but to no avail. I then sent a letter on 10/22/14 and asked that my cards be issued. I received no communication from Security Choice and when another attempt was made to contact via phone I was conveniently "disconnected".

Desired Settlement
I simply want my 2 $100 visa gift cards. I also feel that in the future Security Choice should have to clearly state to a client the process of "claiming" the so called gifts.

Business Response
I'm trying to find this customer in our system, but I cannot. Can the customer please provide the following so we can try to resolve this issue:

1.Name the account is under
2.Phone number on the account
3.Date they had the system installed


Consumer Response

see attached PDF: ADT Contract

Final Business Response
Thank you for providing a copy of your contract. Per the contract - in the top left corner of Section 1 you signed up with *** through "*****************" and not through Security Choice. Please contact ***************** about this matter.

04/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Credit report run against me when I had not authorized. Was deliberately misled. Given a false number for customer service.
I had been directed to Security Choice by **********. The individual I spoke with used high pressure sales tactics to convince me into giving my credit card information. Somehow they ran a credit report without authorization. After consideration, I decided to cancel my scheduled on-site consult. I attempted to call them using the number they had provided and I got a dial tone followed by "the number you have entered cannot be completed as dialed". I finally got in touch with them through ************ and spoke with **** (#*****). He informed me that customer service would call me back as they are experiencing high call volumes. I never got a call back.

Desired Settlement
Erase my credit card information from their system, erase my entire customer profile, cancel any and all scheduled services.

Business Response
Mr. ****,
I have looked into the issue that you referenced on the BBB website and I wanted to reach out to you personally to address your concerns. Security Choice, LLC is an ADT Authorized Company that markets ADT monitoring services on behalf of ADT and its authorized dealers. We have worked with ADT since 2005 and have earned an A+ rating with the BBB.

In connection with those marketing services, Security Choice is required to complete a credit verification using the customer's date of birth and address. After getting that information from a prospective customer, our agents are required to get verbal consent from the customer before processing the verification. After reviewing the sales call, we have confirmed that you willingly provided your date of birth and address, as well as your verbal consent for the credit verification. Accordingly, the credit verification was properly conducted.

I do want to assure you that we are a security company; therefore many safeguards have been put into place so that your personal information **** not be breached. However, as you have requested, we did delete your personal information from our system.

On behalf of Security Choice, I would like to apologize for the phone system error that prevented you from getting in contact with us. You helped us identify and correct the error. Our sales process is continually evolving and we appreciate your feedback.


12/31/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Offered cash bonus for enrollment but did not live up to their commitment.

I agreed to purchase an security system through ADT. As part of their initial offer, I was offered a $100 rebate. The rebate card was sent and put away until a use could be found for it. When I tried to use the cards some time later I found that the card was expired. The only place I could find an expiration date was on the card itself and then it was not easy to see. Further, when I went online to research and obtain some answers, I was taken to a site that asked for both the card number (not a problem) and a PIN, which I don't have, and for which there is no link nor information to obtain on the site (https://www.*********************) I was never informed of an expiration date when I agreed to buy the system nor when the card arrived. Nothing, including the instructions with the cards indicate an expiration date. I would like this card re-activated so I may be the beneficiary of the deal that I enrolled for.

Desired Settlement
I want the card value ($100) reinstated or a new card issued to enable me to take advantage of the offer to which I agreed and which was one of the primary criteria in my choosing ADT as a security system provider.

Business Response
On behalf of Security Choice, I apologize for us not clarifying the expiration date of your ***** Rewards Card. This is a process we are continuing to make better, and your feedback helps us understand what we need to do. Your card will be reissued to you, and will arrive in your mailbox in 10-15 business days.

10/30/2013Delivery Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Telemarketing Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/16/2006Business started: 02/01/2000Business started locally: 09/01/2005
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William Johnson (Dealer Relations)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Rachel Asbury Ms. Lorraine Jacobs (Marketing Coordinator)Ms. Jennifer Long Mr. George Watkins (VP)
Number of Employees

200

Business Category

Telemarketing Services

Alternate Business Names
Red Ventures LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Security Choice, LLC

1101 Red Ventures Dr

Fort Mill, SC 29707-5005

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1101 Red Ventures Dr 

    Fort Mill, SC 29707-5005(704) 971-2300
    Fax: (704) 971-2303

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Security Choice, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Telemarketing Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.