BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/28/2002

Blue Haven Pools of North Carolina, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (704) 889-1300Fax: (704) 889-1304View Additional Phone Numbers10020 Industrial Dr., PinevilleNC 28134

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/28/2002

BBB has determined that Blue Haven Pools of North Carolina, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Blue Haven Pools of North Carolina, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Blue Haven Pools of North Carolina, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 8
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 8 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
04/24/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Warranty issues that have been addressed with the company since January 2015 have yet to be corrected and resolved.
There are 3 issues following the construction of our pool by Blue Haven (completed mid July 2014) that we have made attempts to have finished while under warranty but have not been able to do so, even following multiple email contacts:

10/28/14-a light came on indicating heater malfunction and it would not turn on. Blue Haven sent someone from ****************** out who said it was "an easy fix that should have been explained to us when installed"there was nothing broken.

1/29/15emailed BHP about the filter gauge not working properly and received NO response.

2/2/15emailed BHP again about the filter gauge for fear something could damage the equipment due to malfunction (showing too much pressure). Received a response on 2/5/15 saying someone from ****************** would be out BUT also asked about payment of $75 for when they came out to "fix the heater" back in October. A bill was never sent and it was explained that they did not do anything except explain what BHP should have when installed.

2/6/15someone from ****************** came out and said the gauge "was not even the correct one" so it was installed wrong to begin with! He stated he would have to order this.

3/13/15emailed BHP asking about if the correct gauge that was ordered had come in yetNO response.

3/18/15emailed BHP asking again if the correct gauge that was ordered over a month ago was in and also included pictures of the decking that needed repairs from the initial install around the diving board areaNO response.

3/26/15****** (who installed the deck) called the personal cell phone asking about the deck and said he would fix it but would have to get back with a date to schedule.

4/10/15emailed BHP that there was still NO correct gauge that was supposedly ordered in February and the deck has NOT been fixed at this point. A response was sent that ****************** "will be out this week".

4/11/15received a billing statement in the mail from ****************** for $75 for them coming out back in October 2014 to address what we thought was broken but was actually something never shown to us during installation. This is the 1st and only bill ever received for this.

4/15/15emailed BHP that someone would actually be home all day on 4/17/15 and this would be a great time for both the deck and gauge to be fixed. The response received from BHP apologized for "taking so long" and that both ****** (decking) and *** (******************) will be calling today to schedule repairs. The apology went on to explain that BHP and their contractors had "been busy taking advantage of the nice weather" and "catching up on jobs that have been delayedwith the rainy weather, things should move more quickly for a warranty repair". This email response was sent at 8:55am. By 9:00pm, that same evening, there had been NO calls from either ****** or *** as expected and another email was sent at that time requesting something be scheduled either for 4/17/15 when someone would be at the home during the day OR at least within the next 2 weeksNO response was given at all!

4/16/15emailed BHP at 5:30pm that a call was received from ****** about the decking and he gave a personal cell but the mailbox was full (a text was sent at that time) but still no contact with ****************** about the gauge. I again stated that I expected contact with someone from BHP on 4/17/15 about someone either coming out that day OR scheduling an actual date within the next 2 weeks. THERE HAS BEEN NO RESPONSE!

I believe that we have been MORE than patient with Blue Haven Pools in trying to get this work completed. It is not our responsibility to continue to try and track down their contractors to do their jobs correctly and timely. We are anxious to open our pool for the season and would like these issues addressed as quickly as possible.

Desired Settlement
1I do not feel that we are responsible for the payment of the $75 to ******** **** **** for their actions in October 2014. Nobody from BHP or ******** **** **** showed us anything about the functions of the heater when it was installed. We contacted BHP about the light indicating a problemBHP contacted ******** **** ***** I want this charge removed.

2I want the gauge replaced, which was incorrectly installed to begin with, and the deck fixed immediately with completion no later than May 9th, 2015 which is the day we have planned on opening our pool with family.

Considering all the email communication on our part that began back in January 2015 concerning these issuesI do not feel this is unreasonable.

Business Response
Based on Ms. ********'s complaint, we submit the following; 1. There was nothing wrong with the heater therefore no "warranty" for the service company to bill to the mfg to recoup any of their expense incurred by responding to this call. The service company tech told us he simply pushed the "on" button and it worked. The homeowners were advised several times since then that they would be charged and expected to pay for this call Furthermore, they were given instruction on how all the equipment operates on or about July 15, 2014. This instruction, as well as operation manuals, which is included as part of the contract with Blue Haven and we have spoken this week with *** **** **** ******* to confirm the instruction was given and specifically that the homeowners were instructed on the heater. We spoke personally with the owner, ***** and she confirmed this information and that she personally had been the one on site. Our email to Mr. ******** on Jan 30 also further stated if there is no warranty issue on any call, we cannot cover the cost. WE HAVE SINCE AGREED WITH ******** **** **** TO CANCEL THE BILL. THIS IS A CLOSED MATTER. 2. In late Jan/early Feb, the gauge was to be replaced by ******** **** ***** for which we have notes stating the part was ordered by them but as of Mar 16 they still had not received the part. Last week, we took a gauge from a filter that had recently been returned to us for a warranty problem and had our employee replace it. THIS IS A CLOSED MATTER. 3. We were first told about a problem with pavers only in an email dated Mar 13, 2015. Since then we have been told there were a number of phone communications by the deck contractor but nothing could be scheduled because Ms. ******** wanted to be present when the deck company went there to assess the problem. He was able to set up a meeting and then complete the repair on Monday Apr 20, 2015. THIS IS A CLOSED MATTER. Finally, Mr. and Ms. ******** have been among the most difficult persons to satisfy that we have ever encountered. They insist in their complaint that we never responded however we are attaching emails in which our warranty person, *****, had sent information and responses back to them. Additionally, we cannot speak for ******** **** **** - whether they sent a bill or not (the homeowner was aware there was a $75 charge back in Feb according to their own timeline and also reference the Jan 30 email from *****, as described above in item 1) nor can we understand the statement by **** **** about a "wrong" gauge however we can unequivocally state the original gauge on the filter was correct and the filter was installed with the gauge intact. It is possible ******** **** King did not ORDER the correct replacement part but that is pure speculation. Last, they emailed on Weds Apr 15 and expected someone to arrive on Fri Apr 17, for their convenience, but this is not a reasonable demand to make. ***** was not in the office Thursday or Friday last week so there was no response because the email went to her and she was off those days. Our contractors also set their own schedules (hence the need for *** and ****** to call them directly) and we do not expect them to respond with a 2 day lead time. Scheduling the amount of work we have with a large number of contractors and customers is a massive undertaking and is done with precision at least one, if not two weeks ahead of time. We can and do, advise customers we will try to accommodate them however typically it does not happen within 2 days. The email on Apr 15 in which she threatens reporting us again to BBB was received at NINE PM from Ms ******** and was not seen until Monday Apr 20 due to ***** being out. Every other email communication was responded to by ***** within 24 hours. HOWEVER BY APR 20 ALL ISSUES WERE RESOLVED OR BEING RESOLVED DURING WORKING HOURS on Monday.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I agree that the work has now been complete but it is only thanks to the BBB for allowing complaints to be addressed, otherwise I do believe this issue would still be ongoing today. The company has attached emails that are proof of their poor communication, showing that my timeline is accurate as written. The comments made by the Blue Haven Pools representative are inaccurate and outright unprofessional, which are the true indication of how this company works. The pool heater had been used prior to the problem we experienced in October so there WAS a real problem. The gauge that was supposedly ordered to replace the broken one was, as the writer indicates, not new as we expected it would be but rather one from someone else's returned part "with a warranty problem". It was never said that someone had to be home for the pavers to be complete until the final email only indicating this would be a good time since someone would actually be therethere was never a "meeting set up on 4/20" as noted but the pavers were simply fixed and done in the pouring rain. So ultimately, I do agree that the work has been completed but what I do not agree to are the lies and misrepresentations posted here by this company. They twist things to make the customer seem like they are wrong. I think it is a shame that people spend so much money with a company for something like this, to then be treated this way. The writer indicates that my husband and I "have been the most difficult people to satisfy" which is humorous to me in light of the fact that all we have wanted from this company is to get what we paid for in a timely fashion. I work in customer service and would never speak to or about a customer in this manner on a public forum such as this, especially when all I had to do was my job in the first place. If this writer had any real clue to what he/she was talking about in their final statements, he/she would know that what they are saying makes absolutely NO sensethe multiple emails that were attached by BHP verify that my husband and I were very patient for several months so this should not have been a surprise that after that length of time, an ultimatum was given for corrective action. It is unfortunate that the ultimatum did come at a time when the only individual who could handle this was, as the writer said, out of the office but a simple "out of office" reply on her email would have been the proper way to communicate her absence to customers...another indication of the poor communication by BHP.

08/07/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Warranty repair work has not been done.
This is in regard to our request for warranty service on our residential pool. Our pool was installed and completed in the spring of 2013. On April 7, 2014, before its one year anniversary, we notified Blue Haven Pool of a request for the resolution of three issues:
1. The "Phantom" that cleans the pool needs repair.
2. The elbow to the check valve before the filter is leaking.
3. There are some loose and wobbly tiles, as well as some cracked and crumbling tiles.
After receiving no response to three calls to the office, we wrote to the President of Blue Haven on April 14, 2014. We received a response on April 15, 2014 stating that we would be contacted to schedule a repair. We followed up again and received an additional response on May 8, 2014 saying the same thing. To date items 2 and 3 remain unresolved by Blue Haven.
Item 1, the Phantom repair, was taken care of by Blue Haven's maintenance affiliate, **************, when they kept their second scheduled appointment. ******** communicated to us that Blue Haven had contacted them to handle item 1 and that the leak and defective tiles would be repaired by Blue Haven directly.
We have since written and called Blue Haven many times. As we have yet to see any results from our efforts we are requesting that you intercede on our behalf in the hopes that we can finally get these issues resolved.
It should be noted that the problem of loose tiles is occurring due to the method of installation used, which was not what was agreed to at the time of contract.
Thanks for your assistance in this matter.

Desired Settlement
This is in regard to our request for warranty service on our residential pool. Our pool was installed and completed in the spring of 2013. On April 7, 2014, before its one year anniversary, we notified Blue Haven Pool of a request for the resolution of three issues:
1. The "Phantom" that cleans the pool needs repair.
2. The elbow to the check valve before the filter is leaking.
3. There are some loose and wobbly tiles, as well as some cracked and crumbling tiles.
After receiving no response to three calls to the office, we wrote to the President of Blue Haven on April 14, 2014. We received a response on April 15, 2014 stating that we would be contacted to schedule a repair. We followed up again and received an additional response on May 8, 2014 saying the same thing. To date items 2 and 3 remain unresolved by Blue Haven.
Item 1, the Phantom repair, was taken care of by Blue Haven's maintenance affiliate, ******** *****, when they kept their second scheduled appointment. ******** communicated to us that Blue Haven had contacted them to handle item 1 and that the leak and defective tiles would be repaired by Blue Haven directly.
We have since written and called Blue Haven many times. As we have yet to see any results from our efforts we are requesting that you intercede on our behalf in the hopes that we can finally get these issues resolved.
It should be noted that the problem of loose tiles is occurring due to the method of installation used, which was not what was agreed to at the time of contract.
Thanks for your assistance in this matter.

Business Response
In response to this complaint, we have someone going this week to the site, possibly as early as tomorrow. I will respond in more detail once our employee has been there and reported back.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Nothing has been resolved. A staff member from Blue Haven came on July 18 to inspect the items needing repair. We have not heard anything further.

Final Business Response
WE have now completed the deck repair. The only open item now is the leak at a pipe near the equipment and we cannot fix it until it leaks again in the colder weather.

06/12/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have not received services as contracted in a timely manner and when emails are sent requesting follow-up, emails simply have an apologyno action.
Contract signed/deposit paid 2/28/14-Permit obtained/specifics chosen 3/13/14-work started/1st pmt 4/2/14. During the month of April, there were 21 days (Mon-Fri) "workable days"of these days, 13 were sunny/good weather but work was only done on 7 of these days with 3 emails sent requesting details of the scheduling concerns but no real response as to any problems. In April, I did pay the 2nd required payment as requested. During the month of May, there were 22 days (Mon-Fri) for workof these days, 20 were sunny/good weather but work was only done 1 day with 6 emails sent requested details of the scheduling. Responses to each email were responded with an apology each time but no follow-up to actually getting anything on the schedule and completed. We are now into June with an email sent today asking for specific scheduling plans but no response. The written contract states "completion to be within 50 workable working days after excavation". To me, "workable working days" means Monday - Friday when weather conditions are feasible for outdoor work (no rain)again, during this entire process, only 5 days have been rainy during the morning/afternoon when work could have been completed. The 50th day will be on 6/10/14 which is only 6 working days left yet there are still at least 15-20 days remaining on the entire project just based on the detailed list I was given upon signing the contract. All I am looking for is a detailed schedule indicating which steps remain, when those will take place, and when the pool will be completed without multiple excuses as to why these things have not yet occurred and no further delaypreferably within the next 20 days so that my family can actually enjoy the pool this summer which we have saved for over the last 5 years for. I expect that the response from Blue Haven explain in detail why this has taken so long thus far, when it will be finally completed, and what will be done to rectify this issue.

Desired Settlement
Discount or some type of compensation with the amount of work that remains as well as a written completion date.

Business Response
We have recently had some changes and transitions internally and this has caused delay in completing our pools. Some of the subcontractors who worked for us for many years have gone in different directions and we had difficulty finding replacements that will not compromise the quality expected on our pools. Although the weather has been good in the last 2 months, many customers need to understand that one day of rain can equal 3 to 4 days of drying out time, depending upon the yard. Since this report was filed, I know our Scheduler has been speaking to this customer about the completion date of the pool . There has also been issues with the water left running by subs working in the yard. We are working on getting any inordinately high bills paid to the homeowner so they are compensated by us for any overages. Our pricing is competitive so we do not offer discounts. We are currently doing the best we can to catch up.


Consumer Response
Although progress is now finally being made, there has been no communication to this initial complaint and I have had another day in which one worker left the water running into the yard--I emailed to ask about this concern because my water rates are very high and got no response until I sent a 2nd email asking about it (but no solution just an "I'm not sure"). Communication with Blue Haven Pools is very difficult and sad--emails are easy to answer and quick to respond to yet this company seems to have a problem with this task! Ever since my complaint to the BBB, my emails have been also attached to the owner(s) by the scheduler and they haven't even given a response or tried to rectify anything either. It is very sad that all I want is for this to be over so I don't have to deal with this company ever again but they are dragging out the process and making it painful for all of us

Final Business Response
The customer states that progress has been made however I must address something here; there is somehow an expectation from many of our customers that someone will be there every day. It simply does not work that way. Even without weather issues, pools are not built as such. However to summarize those problems, we've had afternoon rain ata least once weekly over the last several weeks and this makes progress slow due to dry out time. Now, considering we are expected to have rain over the next few weeks as well, on and off, we will be in the same position however we are moving the job along. I understand that the water was left on twice by two subcontractors and I addressed that in the last response on this complaint. I assumed that the customer would see my response here and there would be no need for redundancy in a separate email since our scheduler is in contact with Ms. ********. Furthermore the water bill for the months in which the pool is under construction would have been higher than normal due to the requirement for water on site for particular phases of construction. Ms. ******** will now need to wait until her next water bill is received so we can pay the difference again to her as we did the first time (which most certainly was responded to and paid for). Last we are not dragging anything out and wish to complete the pool as much as the customer wants us to. The statement that we have not tried to rectify her issues is completely untrue, as this response and our scheduler's records can attest. Once a customer has complained on a public forum such as this, it is our responsibility to respond back in the same manner. Obviously this customer has seen our response or would not have filed the follow up. If Ms ******** would like to speak to me directly she is free to call and I would be happy to speak to her.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Swimming Pool Service & Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/07/2002Business started: 01/01/1954
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1999, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank Aylward (General Manager)Customer Contact: Ms. Kelly Kirwin (CSR)Ms. Lisa Aylward (Office Manager)Mr. Terry McDonnell (Sales Mgr.)
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Swimming Pool Service & Repair


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Blue Haven Pools of North Carolina, Inc. has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 8 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Blue Haven Pools of North Carolina, Inc.

10020 Industrial Dr.

Pineville, NC 28134

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 9313 Monroe Rd 

    Charlotte, NC 28270-1615

  • 10020 Industrial Dr. 

    Pineville, NC 28134(877) 849-7665
    (704) 889-1300
    Fax: (704) 889-1304

  • 610 Morrow Ave 

    Pineville, NC 28134-8352

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Blue Haven Pools of North Carolina, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 849-7665
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.