BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/10/1998

Anthony & Sylvan Pools

(704) 525-11009201 Southern Pine Blvd STE C, CharlotteNC 28273-5537

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/10/1998

BBB has determined that Anthony & Sylvan Pools meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Anthony & Sylvan Pools' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Anthony & Sylvan Pools
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
05/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: xxxxx is being uncooperative,and playing games regarding the guarantee repair of my pool,the structure of the pool is lifetime guarantee,as long as you are the original homeowner,They are given me excuses and unable to schedule the leak detention test because they don't want to paid for it,if I see water coming from my raise bean span,It means I have a leak on the structure, the pool was build in Jan 2006 during that time there was a boom in the pools bushiness,inadequate supervision of their contractors with no pool experience in building pool,has let to this problem
Product_Or_Service: Jan 2006

Initial Business Response
Will have a service company assess the issue and determine if it is a warranty matter. our warranty is clear when it comes to tile and coping.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

11/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed contract to have work done on June 19th. This contract was for $75,647. We were verbally told 6 to 8 weeks. On July 2 we signed an addendum to add $51,450 to the contract. On September 3 they asked for $8,806 extra for the addendum do to errors they made in measurements which caused them to use more materials. I am getting billed separately by the sub contractors for work that they have done that was covered in my original contact that they didn't get paid for by A&S. We were given an estimate for an outdoor fireplace. I sat with the designer and told him what I wanted from the ground up. I am now being billed $5,300 by the sub for the pavers that A&S says isn't in the contract. It is now September 23, well past the 6 to 8 weeks and the work is still not finished. I have made every payment on time and paid more than what the contracts states and the work is still not done. On September 18 I called the County to find out why the work isn't passing inspection. There was no permit even pulled with the County for the work they are doing and even worse they don't even have a license to do the work in my State.
Product_Or_Service: In-ground pool/outdoor kitchen

Initial Business Response
Met with customer. Work almost complete with a small punch list to address.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: Our pool, completed in August of 2012, failed final electrical inspection and has continual electrical problems.
Pool construction was completed in August of 2012 (along with the construction of our home) and the pool pump and heater have never worked correctly. Initially we were very pleased with the design and pool construction, but several problems have arisen since it's completion and we have been unable to get them resolved, despite NUMEROUS attempts and after contacting both the xxxxx office and the corporate office. It's been almost a year of continual efforts on our part - email and phone calls to both offices to get this resolved and our pool up to code.

- Our pool did not pass the final electrical inspection.
- The pool electrical was wired to the exterior breaker box using aluminum, when it was specifically requested that the interior breaker box be used, because the exterior could not effectively support the level of amperage required. The exterior breaker box exists solely for the use of the small outbuilding's lighting and was not constructed to withstand heavy usage.
- The gas heater also did not pass inspection and requires additional work to be considered safe to operate.
- The issue with the electrical inspection (aluminum where it's contraindicated) causes the breaker to trip several times a week and requiring the pump/filtration program to be rescheduled each time - annoying and time-consuming.
- The waterfall they constructed leaked constantly, despite three attempts at "repair." We ultimately had to hire someone else to tear down and recreate the waterfall from scratch, as the initial construction by xxxxx was done without a proper footing underneath and the weight of the stones caused it to sink, cracking the pipes and resulting in a persistent leak.

Business' Initial Response
Electrician has visited the site and made all wiring corrections. The gas line was done off contract but I notified the company that they used that they were having an issue and he will be contacting them. Additionally, I was notified that the heater is showing an error code. Our service company will be calling them

Consumer's Final Response
They did have their electrician come out and he did "relocate" the wiring to the correct breaker box, but we are still having the same issue (the breaker trips every few days, requiring reset and then reprogramming of the pump/filter schedule, which is time-consuming). None of the other breakers in the house trip like this - aside from the one occurrence when our cleaning company plugged two vacuum cleaners into the same outlet! Also, I don't believe that the water bond has been verified with the inspector. I know he contacted the electrician regarding this, but it was not verified. Something is definitely not quite right regarding the wiring and considering that the pool pump is the only thing causing an issue, one would think that something is wrong with either the unit itself, or the electrical work.

Thank you so much!

xxxxx

Business' Final Response
Electrician scheduled to visit the site on 9/9/13. Called the inspector to explain location of the water bond. (light niche) Customer may be calling an incorrect number for A&S. Office number is xxxxx.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/01/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For several years I have had Anthony & Sylvan work on leak problems with my pool. They even admitted at the time my pool was built they had construction problems. My above ground spa has leaked for years and they have worked on it several times. Still has a leak causing very large amounts of calcium to build up on the side of the spa. The concrete pad stays wet beside this calcification. I am having trouble getting Anthony and Sylvan to address this continuing problem now. I have a life time warranty on the sides of the pool. Past contractors that have been out to fix the problem say the spa was never built correctly.

Business' Initial Response
I will be contacting xxxxx directly to respond to his claim. He hasn't contacted us at Anthony & Sylvan recently about the issue. In fact, the last time we did any work for xxxxx was in July of 2008. I did visit his pool a few years ago and put him in touch with xxxxx at xxxxx to address his spa concerns, after which I never heard back from xxxxx. I will contact xxxxx following the Easter weekend. Thanks.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have contacted Sylvan every year for the past several years about our spa.xxxxxcame out January 2010 and in 2011 he did major work on the spa that has since failed . The concrete around the pool has been repaired where it sank down, but the spa has been worked on several times dating back to 2002.xxxxx remembers working on our spa for Sylvan and since I paid him nothing I am sure Sylvan has paid him for the work. I am sorry this has gone on for so long but the problem has not been fixed. I was told by Sylvan employees that during the time of my pool being built there were management & construction problems and pools did have problems like mine. I know the pool is over 12 years old now but the problem has been ongoing for years.

Business' Final Response
I will be sending xxxxx with xxxxx to investigate what is going on with the spa and the calcium formations on the spa's exterior.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

08/31/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs, Swimming Pools - Private, Swimming Pool Enclosures, Swimming Pool Manufacturers & Distributors, Swimming Pool Service & Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1989Business started: 01/01/1946Business started locally: 01/01/1989
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Grant Robinson (General Manager - Charlotte)
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs, Swimming Pools - Private, Swimming Pool Enclosures, Swimming Pool Manufacturers & Distributors, Swimming Pool Service & Repair

Industry Tips
In-Ground Swimming Pools Can Be a Major Investment

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Anthony & Sylvan Pools

9201 Southern Pine Blvd STE C

Charlotte, NC 28273-5537

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 9201 Southern Pine Blvd STE C 

    Charlotte, NC 28273-5537(704) 525-1100

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Anthony & Sylvan Pools is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

In-Ground Swimming Pools Can Be a Major Investment
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.