BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/11/1994

Crown Builders Siding & Windows, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (704) 375-2665Fax: (704) 375-85603111 Monroe Rd, CharlotteNC 28205-7541

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/11/1994

BBB has determined that Crown Builders Siding & Windows, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Crown Builders Siding & Windows, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Crown Builders Siding & Windows, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
04/22/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Provided written proposal to install vinyl siding was accepted by me, the contractor declined to do the work.
3/20/15 Sales Person made site visit to 1427 address and spent 1 hour preparing a quote. Left location after providing a verbal rough estimate of $21,500 to install new vinyl siding on my home. He promised a written estimate in several days.

3/23/15 Written estimate of work was delivered via email for the quoted work in the amount of $19,989. With 30 days to accept.

3/27/15 A second visit was made by the contractor to my home site to discuss the proposal select colors. Slight modifications were made and a second written proposal was promised in a couple of days.

3/30/15 Modified proposal was sent to me by email for the amount of $19,989, with 30 days to accept.

4/4/15 paid $15 for home mapping service to allow me to see color choices installed on the home.

4/10/15 Sales person returned to my home where we agreed on my color selections and the proposed price. And a down payment of $1,989 was provided so the materials could be ordered.

4/16/15 Received a call from the Sales person saying he had bad news and the work was not approved by the boss, because I have a metal roof. I ended the call.

4/16/15 Placed a call to Crown builders and ask to speak with the boss. His name or number would not be provided, but they took a message. The Boss ******* did return my call and was pleasant and apologetic, while explaining to me that my metal roof was a problem, and also the job had been misquoted by $12,000 and they could probably make the work happen for the original quoted price of $19,989 plus $12,000 even with the metal roof.

Desired Settlement
- Refund of downpayment
- Refund of $15 fee for mapping service
- Work completed at the quoted price.

Business Response
All of our contracts are subject to management approval and is listed as such on the paperwork. When we received the job we discovered substantial discrepancies in the measurements and pricing. We immediately had our job coordinator go out and check the job site and realized the entire house had raised seam metal roof which could not be worked on without damaging the roof. The following day we contacted the homeowner and let him know that unfortunately we could not do the job at that pricing. He hung up the phone before we could explain further. At this point we had not received the deposit for the job. The customer called later wanting to talk to the owner, our office informed him we do not give out his personal number but would have his call returned that day, which was done. When the deposit was received we returned it that day. We will also reimburse the homeowner the $15 invested in the mapping service. We are deeply sorry for any inconvenience that this caused but do not understand why this would be a matter for the BBB.

03/11/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Siding Contractors, Windows, Roofing Contractors

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 05/18/1994Business started: 01/01/1992
Type of Entity


Incorporated: April 1992, NC

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Daryl Pittman (President)
Contact Information
Mrs. Tara Taylor (Office Manager)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Siding Contractors, Windows, Roofing Contractors

Industry Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Crown Builders Siding & Windows, Inc. has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Crown Builders Siding & Windows, Inc.

3111 Monroe Rd

Charlotte, NC 28205-7541

To | From


2 Locations

  • 3111 Monroe Rd 

    Charlotte, NC 28205-7541(704) 375-2665
    Fax: (704) 375-8560

  • PO Box 9307 

    Charlotte, NC 28299-9307

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Crown Builders Siding & Windows, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.


Industry Tips for Siding Contractors


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.