BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/02/2010

RK Restoration, LLC

Phone: (704) 910-0733Fax: (704) 910-0723View Additional Phone Numbers7301 Tall Tree Ln, CharlotteNC 28214-2246

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/02/2010

BBB has determined that RK Restoration, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered RK Restoration, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised RK Restoration, LLC's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
09/14/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Rk restoration vandalized my roof. A RK Restoration associate named xxxxx visited my home and removed the roofing nails.
The Rk associate came to my house and inspected my roof without my permission and told my tenant that the roof was damaged and that he could handle the insurance claims and that i did not have to pay anything. soon after the Rk associate visited it rained and my tenant called to complain about the roof leaking. After a brief inspecton i saw that roofing nails were removed and that was the cause of the leaking. A few days before the RK associate visited my home the roof was in good condition(i know because i have repaired several roofs before). The roofing nails were removed and the removal of the roofing nails damaged the shingles and allowed water to get into the house.

Business' Initial Response
To Whom it May Concern,
This letter is in response to the BBB complaint made on 8/27/12. We have looked through our files and do not have any record of this customer for xxxxx or any of our other salesmen. We do not do inspections on rental properties unless the owner has given their consent for us to do so and is present. xxxxx has not tried to contact the office about this supposed complaint at any time. We are in the business of doing full roof replacements due to hail damage, not patch jobs or repairs due to someone having a few missing nails or shingles. We do not do repairs because we cannot warranty them, so there is no reason for one of our representatives to remove nails from someone's roof. Also, this would be unethical and RK Restoration prides themselves in being honest and giving fair assessments of the damage. We tell potential customers each day that they do not have enough damage to warrant making a claim with their insurance company. Once again, this person is not a customer of ours and we have no record of ever doing an inspection at this property which falls under RK Restoration policy of not doing inspections without homeowners being present.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/30/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: I contacted RK Restoration in November of 2011 to take a look at the roof of my outdoor shed. The employees of RK restoration vandalized my property.
The employees of RK Restoration insisted that they take a look at the rest of our property after seeing the visible hole in my outdoor shed. We agreed to them looking but again informed them that we were only concerned about repairing our out door shed. After they inspected the roof, they informed us that not only was our roof in bad shape but our siding as well. I was shocked but trusted their observation because they were contractors, accredited by the BBB. After an inspection date to meet with our insurance adjuster was set,the contractors showed up at my house serveral times unannounced and twice they were on my property when I arrived home during the day. Each time they rushed by me and said they wanted to take more measurements. The final time when I arrived home the contractors were on the back side of my home with a latter and a hammer and a can of spray. They looked suspicious and I asked what they were doing. They told me they were marking the spots where the hail dammage was. Again I trusted them because they were contractors, the first I have ever dealt with. After they left I noticed markings on every side of my home, that I had never seen before. When my insurance adjuster came out to inspect the property on November 23,2011 I was informed the damage of the roof was not consistant with the damage on the side of the house. That the siding damage was not caused by hail, because they were all identical in size and shape. That's when I realized they were all the same size and shape of the hammer that the xxxxx xxxxx was holding, with the instruction from xxxxx xxxxx. Now we are going through the headache of getting our siding replaced because it was damaged by RK Restoration. We should not have to pay a $500.00 deductable for damages that was intentionally caused by someone who took advantage of inexperienced home owners.

Business' Initial Response
RK Restoration assumes no fault in the complaint being made against us. The whole situation has been a misunderstanding with xxxxx that has since been resolved. If there is a hail storm, we do inspections for hail damage when a customer asks us to. If the customer has hail damage, we let them know so that they can choose whether or not to file a claim with their insurance company. Once the initial inspection is done, the property needs to be measured and notes need to be made on the damaged areas in order for us to put together a proper work scope and estimate. What xxxxx saw was simply this process. Her property was measured and notes were taken after we did the inspection and found sufficient hail damage.xxxxx has since agreed that when she saw our employees on her property we were simply doing our job, not creating additional damage to the home. RK Restoration has never and will never purposely damage a homeowners property. Once again, we have resolved all issues with xxxxx and will continue to maintain a positive working relationship with her and all of our customers.

Consumer's Final Response
From: xxxxx
Sent: Friday, April 27, 2012 5:11 PM
To: Better Business Bureau
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case#xxxxx

Yes I agree with the business response. It was a misunderstanding, due to the insurance adjuster that came out to my property. This is why I called and asked to have this complaint retracked.
xxxxx

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/27/2011Problems with Product / Service
06/13/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts, Siding Contractors, Roof Restoration Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/13/2010Business started: 08/13/2009
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Aaron Ruchti (Co-Owner)Customer Contact: Ms. Michelle Hogg (General Manager)Mr. Nick Kutsuflakis (Co-Owner)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts, Siding Contractors, Roof Restoration Services

Industry Tips
ROOFING CONTRACTORS

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for RK Restoration, LLC

7301 Tall Tree Ln

Charlotte, NC 28214-2246

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7301 Tall Tree Ln 

    Charlotte, NC 28214-2246(704) 792-0941
    (704) 910-0733

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*RK Restoration, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (704) 792-0941
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

ROOFING CONTRACTORS
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.