BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/04/2004

Queen's Shingle Roofing

Phone: (704) 735-8606Fax: (704) 732-3127

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
01/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They installed a new roof on our new construction home. They installed the roofing around the chimney box incorrectly leaving standing water.
We had a standing seam metal roof installed on our new construction house. We paid the bill in full on 9/30/2013 ($13,500). We noticed when it rained there was standing water by the chimney box on the roof. We called our contact, **** *****, and advised him of the issue. He told us that the water will evaporate quickly and that it would not be a problem. We kept an eye on the area and noticed that the water stayed for a couple weeks and started leaking inside. We called Mr. ***** several times to get this issue resolved. He finally came back and caulked a square piece of metal with a rock for support to try and fix the issue. This lasted about three days before the piece of metal came up on its own. We then called Mr. ***** and he acknowledged that he had thought that it would not fix the issue. He promised to come back within two days. After about 2 months and a dozen unreturned calls we still have the same issue.

Desired Settlement
We would like our roof to be fixed properly and promptly so that no further damages occur nor any additional expenses are accrued.

Business Response
The issue with the roof was fixed on 01/03/2014. The homeowner was onsite at that time and was instructed to contact the office with any other concerns. The homeowners were calling a cell phone of a former employee and not the office. We did not even know the homeowner had an issue with their roof. The homeowner was satisfied with how the issue with the roof was addressed and will contact the office with any other issues or concerns.

Final Consumer Response
The complaint has been resolved. The company came and fixed the roof. Thank you for your help!!

11/10/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We feel the charges were unjustified and the reasons they stated for the charge was unprofessional because these were not stated @ the original call.
I called Queen's because they advertised FREE ESTIMATES. I asked for a cost then and told him I had a vent pipe that needed caulk around it and it was dripping in the attic. He said the guy would say when he came out. We did not think it would be very costly since it just involved a tube of caulk. We were not pleased when the worker told us how much we owed. Since the work was already done ***** wrote him a check and when they left ***** called and spoke with the owner *********** and informed him that he felt the charges were very unreasonable. He said he would check into it and call back. He had another person at the business call ***** back with a list of charges that were not previously quoted. The charges according to him were three hours travel time from **********, insurance charge for the workers, truck charge, and $25.oo per vent. The vents were all within 4 feet of each other and since he was already on the roof he caulked around the 3 vents. We feel they were not forth coming about the charges and that we should be reimbursed for at least half the charge. Queen's Roofing said in their business response letter to the BBB that they gave us a discount because they normally charge $400.00.If this had been the case we would never had them come out at such a charge as that for a simple caulking job. We do not believe that any business gives $175.00 discount and if they did it would have been told to us at the time of the job and before the work was done. They also stated that we seemed to be satisfied with the charge which was also incorrect. ***** was not going to be caught up in an argument on the phone when it was obvious his reasoning was not being excepted. We felt we had no other option but to file a formal complaint and perhaps at the least it would spare someone else from experiencing what we have with this business. We agree they did the job quickly. It only took 25 minutes. They arrived at 12:10 and left at 12:35. It was a very minor job involving less than a tube of caulk. ***** and I hope that Queen's will reconsider their charges on a job that took little time an almost no material cost.

Desired Settlement
***** and I feel that $125.00 refund to us is a reasonable settlement for such a minor job. As stated before only 25 minutes and less than a tube of caulk. We feel this is reasonable and fair.

Business Response
We are a fully insured company and have expert roofer working for Queen's. We also offer labor warranties on our work to all our customers. These are charges that are included in our pricing. We only charged them $225.00 for the roof repairs and as you can see the attached photo, their roof is very steep. Our crew is very professional at what they do, and that is the reason it only took about 30 minutes to complete the repairs. They called our office on a Sunday (which is normally closed) when the Hurricane Joaquin was off our coast and our crew was there the following Monday to repair the roof for them. We were very prompt to address their roof leaks. We will refund ******************* the amount they are requesting of $125.00, however this will void their one (1) year labor warranty that comes with the repairs.

04/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have a leak around our chimney and cannot even get anyone to call us back to get someone to fix it.
We contacted Queen's Roofing and had a new roof placed on our house 2/19/2014 and paid the cost in full ($6500). However, on 4/7/2014 we found a leak in the roof around the chimney with water coming into the house. More then 10 calls placed to the office and emails as well and we have had no response from them. We have had to leave messages with no one calling us back. No one has called or emailed us. We have a 4 year old child in the house and we cannot let this problem go on. Our insurance company has called on our behalf as well and they also got the answering machine. The answering machine says they are open from 8-5 but no one picks up the phone.

When paying the bill I was told by ***** that if I had any issues to call or email them and they would help me. However, I cannot even get someone to answer the phone. It has been less than two months since they replaced the roof and we have a leak at the chimney. We have never had a leak at the chimney before. This is a big issue and could cause major damage to the house if not fixed immediately.

In several messages and an email I advised if I did not hear a response I would be contacting the BBB. As I have not heard from the company at all, I am now contacting the BBB to try and get resolution to this issue.

Desired Settlement
We want the leak fixed immediately. We have water coming into our house. This is unacceptable and must be fixed. Someone needs to come to the house ASAP to get this corrected. They need to stand by their 5 year labor warranty as stated on the receipt I have. It has been less than two months since the roof was replaced and there is a leak.

Business Response
On Monday 04/07/2014, our office was closed and did miss the calls and emails from the homeowner. On Tuesday 04/08/2014 the homeowner was contacted to address the issue with a leak around their chimney. An employee immediately went to the home to repair the issue. Upon arriving, the employee noticed the leak was due to wind damaged where a small tree branch hit the roof and damaged the area around the chimney. The leak was not due to improper installation. The employee repaired the area where the tree branch hit causing the leak at no charge and re-sealed all other areas around the chimney to insure the leak had been addressed. The homeowner was notified when the issue was addressed and satisfied.

05/15/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Windows, Siding Contractors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.