BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Parks Construction, Inc.

Phone: (704) 913-1659Fax: (704) 729-6496

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
06/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a repair estimate or agreement

Complaint: Never completed agreed upon repairs in agreed timeframe & after collecting payment, never returned to jobsite to finish quoted job.
Agreed upon $2900.00 for list of repairs from inspection report on 2/28/2013. Contractor advised that job would be complete in 4 to 5 days. Contractor requested 50% payment to begin job. $1450.00 Payment was withdrawn from our company account(Exclusive Properties)by *********** Bank teller and deposited directly to Mr. & Mrs. *****(Dba. PArks Construction) account the next day(3/1/13) Contractor called Sun 3/10/13 and advised that job was nearly complete. I drove to jobsite and less than half of items on list were complete. I advised contractor that items were incomplete and he apologized and blamed his crew for the error. On March 12,2013 I requested an estimated time of completion from contractor and he requested another copy of our contract agreement stating that he had lost his copy and could not remember what was on the list. I emailed him another copy that same day. On 3/15/2012 I texted contractor requesting that he meet with me at the property to review incomplete items on list/contract. He never responded. On 3/18/2013 I texted him asking him if he planned on returning to the jobsite as no one had been there since 3/10/2013. He responded via text stating "tell me what yall need me to do to geter done" I responded by texting "we need all items on invoice completed. Sent to ****** email" He texted back stating ""OK I will look at it and get over there today". Later that same day, he texted me requesting additional money stating "I need a check ples". I texted back stating "cant get check until job is finished. Sorry." Contractor never showed up at job site that day or the next. On 3/20/13 I requested an update from him via text, voice mail, and email with no response from him. Contractor will not accept calls from either me or my husband.

Business Response
****** ******* and her husband called our company for some work they needed done at one of their rental property's. We quoted the job at $2,716. We sent ***** the invoice and she asked for additional work to be added. ***** rewrote our contract adding a list of new things she wanted to be done. We informed her that we would have to charge her for the addition work. ***** Paid $1450 at the start of the job. After completing all the work on the contract plus the additional work she added, ***** refused to pay. She claimed we didn't finish what was promised to her. ***** just wanted something for nothing! We were not going to continue doing work for her and not get paid for it. We did everything that was stated in our original contract plus some of the extras that ***** had added! Not all of the extras were completed because ***** refused to pay. We do not owe ****** ******* nothing, ****** owes our company for work that we completed.

Business Response
****** ******* and her husband called our company for some work they needed done at one of their rental property's. We quoted the job at $2,716. We sent ***** the invoice and she asked for additional work to be added. ***** rewrote our contract adding a list of new things she wanted to be done. We informed her that we would have to charge her for the addition work. ***** Paid $1450 at the start of the job. After completing all the work on the contract plus the additional work she added, ***** refused to pay. She claimed we didn't finish what was promised to her. ***** just wanted something for nothing! We were not going to continue doing work for her and not get paid for it. We did everything that was stated in our original contract plus some of the extras that ***** had added! Not all of the extras were completed because ***** refused to pay. We do not owe ****** ******* nothing, ****** owes our company for work that we completed.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/31/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: I hired the company to do work on my house, including roofing. The roof was completed over one month ago but I still have not gutters on my house.
I hired ****** Construction to do work on my house including roofing at the beginning of November. The roof was completed by 11/15. However, no gutters were installed. I contacted ***** ****** multiple times about when the gutters would be installed. He always said it would be soon. On Saturday, December 1st, ***** told me that the gutters would definitely be installed on the next Tuesday or Wednesday. As of the morning of 12/20, my house still has no gutters. I tried to contact ***** multiple times over the past few weeks, but was only able to reach him on 12/16 when I called him from a number that I had not used before. He told me that he was in Florida doing a job and that he thought the gutters had been installed before he left the state. He told me that the gutters would be installed in the next couple of days, but once again that was not true. I told him that I was very displeased and that I would be contacting the BBB to file a complaint if the work was not completed. He said that would not be necessary, but as you see, it is.

Business' Initial Response
Mrs. ***** is correct about the wait on her Gutters. We scedualed for the Gutters to be installed, While we were on a job in Florida I received a call from Mrs. ***** stating that she had not yet had her gutters installed. I notified the Gutter Guys and addressed the problem. Mrs. *****s Gutters have now been installed. We do apologize for the delay and hope that Mrs. ***** is satisfied with the final work. Thank You, ****** ******

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

12/12/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: The contract states that they were to replace bad wood as needed. They did not, brand new shingles were place over rotten wood. etc
CONTRACT DATE 11-28-11. THE CONTRACT STATES THAT BAD WOOD IS TO BE REPLACED, IT WAS NOT. THE RIDGE VENT THAT WAS INSTALLED IS NOT NAILED TO WOOD IN SOME SPOTS, SHINGLES ONLY. THERE ARE HOLES IN ROOF UNDER THE SHINGLES. *********** OF PARKS CONSTRUCTION INC. WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THIS.ON 4-4-11. THREE MEN FROM HIS CREW CAME OUT ON 4-5-11 WHILE ONLY MY WIFE WAS HOME. THET WENT INTO ATTIC CRAWL SPACE AND TOOK OLD WOOD THAT WAS ALREADY UP THERE AND NAILED IT ONTO ROOF COVERING UP ONE OF THE HOLES FROM THE INSIDE OUT. WE NOW HAVE NAILS STICKING UP THROUGH THE BRAND NEW SHINGLES. TOTAL PAYMENT OF 4200.00 HAD ALREADY BEEN MADE. 3000.00 CASH ON 12-1-11 ANOTHER 1200.00 ON 2-3-12. THE SALES REPS. NAME IS ***********. *********** OF PARKS CONSTRUCTION HAS BEEN CONTACTED TWICE AND APPOINTMENTS SCHEDUKED HE HAS RESCHEDULED AND MISSED ALL APPOINTMENTS TO DISCUSS THIS MATTER WITH US. WE HAVE TRIED PHONE, E-MAIL AND FAX TO MAKE CONTACT WITH PARKS CONSTRUCTION. ALL HAVE FAILED OUR CONTRACT STATES THAT ALL LABOR AND WORKMANSHIP IS UNDER WARRNTY FOR A PERIOD OF FIVE YEARS. WE HAVE A RECORD OF ALL EMAILS AND FAXES SENT TO PARKS CONSTRUCTION.

Business' Initial Response
Mr. and Mrs. *******s roof was completed as stated on the contract. The wood on the *******s house was not replaced due to the cost of replacement. The *******s did not want to pay for the cost of replacement. Parks Construcion, inc. informed the ******* that the wood on the roof are slats and the nails from the replacement of shingles may cause cracks. The contract for the *******s roof DOES NOT include a cost for replacement of bad wood.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The contract with parks construction did state that bad wood would be relplced. We never said that we would not pay for replacement, infact we had new wood at the house that they could have used. This is not an issue of cost it is about Parks' crew not even informing us that the wood needed replaceing in the first place. Also Parks' response says nothing about the way their crew nailed the boards to the roof on the inside as a way to cover a large hole (not just a crack). We have nails sticking through the brand new shingles from the inside out. Parks' response says nothing about missing two separate appointments to check his crews work and discuss this matter.

Business' Final Response
Once more, We did as the contract stated. We would be more then glad to speak directly to the *******s to Correct the issue. Parks Construction, Inc.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/02/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a repair estimate or agreement

Complaint: Repair issues with Roof replacement, have waited on ***** ***** 4 times to come out to my house and was a no show , no call every time.
I would not recommend this company to anyone, once he gets your money he is done, I have called him several times to check out some shingles sticking up on my roof before futher damage happens and he has failed to come out and check into this. I have a 5 year guarantee according to my contract and he will not call me back to fix this. Also he took my gutters down and did not replace them, I had to leave to go to work that day his crew came to re-roof my house. If I had been at home he would not have took my gutters down. Also have heard from several of his customers that they were having to go back and reseal around the pipes, Well he has not been to my house to re-seal around the pipes and one customer has already had a leak due to this. This is just not good customer service to not call the customer back. I have had several people ask who done my roof and have not recommended this company to them. I have made arrangements to be at home to wait on him 4 different times / days. He has still not called or come out to check into this. He will not call me back and has an excuse every time, well my time is valuable also and he should honor his work.

Initial Business Response
I have repeatedly talk to Mrs. xxxxx about the gutters that were removed from the back side of her home. Mr. xxxxx asked us to remove them for him due to the rotten facial board they were attached to. He informed me that he was getting a price on replacing the facial board and the gutters on a later date. We completed the job as stated in the contract that was given to Mr. and Mrs. xxxxx. on 4/14/2011. After all these years I hear nothing of this until now. Gutters were not stated in our written agreement. Mrs. xxxxx can give us a call at anytime to set up a time for us to come out at her convenience. Thanks

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
He has not repeatedly talked with me. He knows he removed my gutters and never replaced them. Also there is a 5 year guarantee on my roof and I have been trying to contact him from about 4 months ago about some single issues, like I said I waited on him 4 different times to come out here and he was a no show , and he did not attempt to call me back. After all these years he said, what since 2011 ?? I have a 5 year guarantee and i'm still waiting on him to come and do some repair work on my singles, roof. He also has not come out to reseal around the pipes like he had been doing with his previous customers. I know this because one of his customers had a roof leak after the fact that he roofed her house and he told her that he was going out to reseal around the pipes where he did roof work. I don't know what the problem is why I can't get him to come check this out. Like I said I have called him and waited on him 4 different times. At this point I'm very upset and he knows he needs to come out here like since about 5 months ago.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to resolve the complaint issues through BBB voluntary and self-regulatory process.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Windows, Handyman Services, Remodeling Services, Bathroom Remodeling, Siding Contractors, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Deck Builder, Home Improvements, Contractors-Remodeling, Basement - Finishing, Kitchen Remodeling

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.