BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

MAZ Roofing & Restoration Corporation

Phone: (704) 502-3666

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
03/09/2015Billing / Collection Issues
10/16/2013Problems with Product / Service
05/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Installation of shingles was left with lumps and bumps.
Siding was not replaced in rear of house.
January 2014 MAZ ROOFING &RESTORATION installed a new roof due to storm weather along with other problems per my insurance company. Sad to say i wasn't satisfied which i made the representative xxxxx aware of my concern
why my roof wasn't lying flat and seem to be lifting up. In his response to have someone come out and look at the roof. I havent heard or seen anybody;there is a 3187.16 balance due to completion of job,which i refuse to pay until job is done to my satisfaction

Desired Settlement
January 2014 MAZ ROOFING &RESTORATION installed a new roof and other related problems due to strom weather damages per my insurance claim. I informed the representative xxxxx that i wasn't satisfied; the shingles wasn't lying flat and look to be lifting up. In his response, to have someone come out to look at the roof. I haven't heard or seen anybody ,yet. A balance of 3187.16 was due upon completion of work, which i refuse to pay until the job is done to my satisfaction.

Business Response
Mr. xxxxx is correct, we installed his roof on 1/13/14. Mr. xxxxx had an issue with the way his roof looked because it wasn't laying down like his neighbors and other roofs he had viewed. I disclosed to Mr. xxxxx that his neighbors roof had been installed over year ago and it had time to mend. Also, we made him aware that his roof had just been installed and it will take some time for the roof to level out due to the style of shingles he choose, 13 inch shingles, the thickness of the shingles, and the weather conditions averaging temperature of 36 degrees for the month of January. I told him numerous times we will take care if any issues that arise we just need time for the shingles to heat up and mend together.

In Mr. xxxxx complaint he failed to mention that we installed a 40 foot gutter on the back of his home ,at NO CHARGE. We also did some touch up painting in his master bedroom and bathroom that was not on his scope of work from his insurance company, at NO CHARGE. The siding that he mentioned was not to be replaced, per his scope of work for his insurance company, but we told Mr. xxxxx we will fix the issue at NO CHARGE. The siding he mentioned was not damaged, it just needs to be pushed together, and we will still take care of this for him. We also replaced additional plywood above the 2 boards we as complimentary to our customers' at NO CHARGE.

During this time period why completing the other items we told Mr. xxxxx that there is nothing wrong with his roof, it just needs to heat up and shingles will level out. We told him that we need consistent HOT DAYS for the shingles to level off. We also, told Mr. xxxxx that he has a 2yr warranty on the install and if the shingles don't lay down by May or June we would handle it.

Mr. xxxxx stated he was going to contact his insurance company to come back out to re-inspect the job. We never heard from Mr. xxxxx, so on 5/5/14, I called his insurance company to have them come out to re-inspect the install. Unfortunately, they will not come back out for re-inspection. They suggested that we contact the shingle manufacture to come out to give their assessment of the install. We are currently waiting for Mr. xxxxx to contact his insurance company to see if they will come back out with his request before contacting manufacture.

From the time of the install, on January 13, 2014, we have more vested in Mr. xxxxx home than what has been paid thus far to MAZ Roofing & Restoration. I still have all intentions on making Mr. xxxxx a satisfied customer of MAZ Roofing & Restoration services once we can get the roof re-inspected by a Third Party.

Mr. xxxxx still owes a sum of $3187.15 and we have not hounded him for payment because we are waiting for the temperatures to be consistently hot like it is now in May. Hopefully, we can come to a resolution that everyone is satisfied with.

Sincerely,
xxxxx



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First , let me start off by saying , my only concern is My Roof; not my neighbors. I was told the shingles that i chose was an upgrade from standard shingles so, therefore; i expected the job to look like an upgrade. It's been 4mths since shingles were installed and we've had consistent HOT DAYS. Shingles still not laying flat or mending together.
Second, YES, MAZ ROOFING and RESTORATION did touch up paint in the master bedroom over the bathroom door, at NO CHARGE. Also, installed a 40 foot gutter to the back of my house, at NO CHARGE. I'm grateful for the extended service.As for the siding, don't bother. However, that doesn't replace the fact that i'm not satisfied with the job done to my roof.
Third, I suggested o Mr xxxxx that i was going to call my insurance company to come back out to inspect the roof because i wasn't satisfied with the work done. The claims department said, they wasn't coming back out to inspect it was out of their hands, and not to pay until i was satisfied. When the roof is done to my satisfactory the balance of $3187.15 will be paid. You,ve stated "if shingles not laying flat by May or June yall would handle it

Final Business Response

set up appointment for manufacture rep to come view Mr.xxxxx home to see what's there professioal opinon. As what was advised by Mr. xxxxx insurance company. After the manufacture rep's visual of the roof, from the
ground, he felt that the customer should submit a claim to the manufacture for material distortion due to cold weather
storage of shingles. We have submitted the necessary information for the claim and we attempted to notifiy Mr. xxxxxx of what's taken place and what we need for him to do once he recieve the information from the manufacturer. He didn't answer, but we left all necessary information on his voice mail. I asked him to contact me once he recieves the package so we can submit everything needed for the claim submission. Im trying to assist Mr. xxxxx but I need his assistance and cooperation to do so.

02/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Roof installed. having a leak, no follow up from the company. Also refund is due for xxxxx charges.
I have been contacting maz roofings office and xxxxx and xxxxx to have someone come look at my roof.our roof was replaced in April of 2014. we had a leak over the summer and someone came out and repaired that leak. During a storm in November 2014 we started having a leak in our bathroom, upstairs. I contacted xxxxx) via voicemail and text message and received no return call. A week later I contact xxxxx) who by chance happened to be standing next to xxxxx. I spoke with xxxxx and he stated he would be by our house on Saturday the 13 of December 2014. He stated that I needed to text him our address and phone number. He also stated that we needed to text him the amount owed to us for the xxxxx charges that xxxxx had stated we would be refunded ($152.95). I did what he asked me to do. On Saturday the 13 of December 2014, I texted him in the morning to confirm that he was coming by, once again no response. I waited till about 4 in the afternoon. I called and someone else answered and stated he was on a roof. I asked them to tell xxxxx to call me at the number shown on his phone. I got no response. I waiting till after the holidays I texted him again. No response. I just tried calling him today No response. I called maz office and left a voice mail on 1/7/15 got no response. I called on 1/13/2014 and have gotten no response. I have been trying to get this issues resolved since Nov 2014 and the xxxxx refund since april 2014.

Desired Settlement
refund for the xxxxx charges that I was told I would be refunded for in the amount of $152.95. Also getting the leak repaired on my roof.

02/19/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Installed new roof in 2/14. weeks ago I noticed a water damage leak in living room ceiling. No answer. How can I get co to fix it???
New roof - insurance paid $7457. I paid $2129. out of pocket
Sales Rep is ****** ******* Co is out of business - can't get a hold of no one, Installation and labor guaranteed for 3 years. Work was
completed on February 10, 2014

Desired Settlement
I want a roofer to come and look at the living room ceiling water mark and go on the roof and fix it/ make it right

04/06/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company has had funds to put new roofs on two properties since Oct-Nov 2014 and have not done so or purchased materials. I have asked for a refund of my monies so I can find a contractor to do the work with no response from the company. I have spoken to the owner multiple times about the issues and given unkept promises the work would be done before April. I have contracts and canceled checks along with phone messages and logs to show how often I have tried to contact the company to get service or funds returned. At this point I would like my monies back or services provided immediately.
Product_Or_Service: New roof two homes / $16,000

Desired Settlement
Monies returned ASAP or work completed by 15 April on both homes and the additional damage caused due to the delay fixed at no cost (interior water damage).

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Mold & Mildew Inspection/Removal/Remediation, Mold & Mildew Inspection, Floor Waxing, Polishing & Cleaning, Mold & Mildew-Inspection & Removal, Windows, Windows - Installation & Service, Gutters and Downspouts-Cleaning, Gutter Cleaning, Gutters & Downspouts, Floor Resurfacing, Floor Refinishing, Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing, Carpenters

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.