BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

M & P Roofing Specialists, LLC

Phone: (828) 855-9141

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service17
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints17

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (17)
11/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Damaged motion sensor outside light needs replaced or repaired to original working condition.
Mr.xxxxx company put a roof on my house damaging the satelite dishes and the motion sensor light.
We have wriiten agreement from mr.xxxxx that he will fix this light on certain date which has passed.I have tried multiples e-mails to get a reply from him which goes unanswered and i had this problem with the almost 2 months to get the roof started.

Desired Settlement
we want the light fixed or replaced or we want 42.98 plus tax to buy another one from xxxxx.
And we dont want the run around on fixing it.

Business Response
We have spoken to each member of our crew. As far as we know, we did NOT damage the light fixture or the motion sensor. This job is complete but as we are being accused of damage that we did not do and would just like to be finished with these people, we agree to pay for their damaged light. We will pay Mr. xxxxx the $42.98 that he has requested so he can replace and install his new light.

Final Consumer Response
Here is a copy of text i sent to mr.xxxxx cell phone on nov 7 2013.

Sir per our conversation last night you stated you was stopping at xxxxx today and we was getting together?I know u are in the field sir perhaps xxxxx. Sir it is getting late in the day.As tomorrow sir I start work again. Please advise sir. Thanks sir xxxxx
No reply ,call just like him
Thanks,
xxxxx


Final Business Response
I called and left Mr. xxxxx a message that his money is at our office right about the time he was making this complaint. Maybe that is why he did not answer his phone and still has not returned mine. His money is here and am waiting to hear from him.

09/03/2013Problems with Product / Service
11/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contractor/Mr. xxxxx did not honor written signed contract because he did not complete the scope of work and/or material as specified in our contract
Contractor did not complete roof repair as per signed contract. He completed everything except for installing gutter guards. He left on a Friday and told us he would be back on Monday to complete project. Numerous attempts have been made verbally, via text and email to resolve the issue. Several months have passed with no resolution, even though we've been told numerous times by him that he would indeed install gutters guards per the contract.We're 83 and 84 years old and have been taken advantage of. Also, he charged an additional $ 3,400 during the course of working on our roof due to installing more plywood.

Desired Settlement
We want him to honor the contract by completing the scope of work specified in the contract.

Business Response
Myself or a member of my crew will complete the above mentioned work within two (2) weeks of this response.

Consumer Response
M&P never resolved the installation of gutter guards as included in attached proposal-line item 5. My father who's 84 with memory loss had another company install leaf/gutter guards on only one portion of the roof. Unfortunately, I was not present the day the work was preformed. We would be grateful if M&P would get closure on this outstanding work. I believe in addition to M&P not fullfiling their contract they took advantage of my parents by charging an extra $3000 for additional work. Thank you for your time and consideration. Kind regards, xxxxx

12/02/2013Problems with Product / Service
04/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Damage to stucco from ladders, replacement of facial boards. Also, took an 8 ft ladder belonging to us. Work done Oct 2013. Will not respond.
Contract to replace roof in Oct/Nov 2013. Contract stated that 1/2 payment would be made up front and remainder after completion of job. xxxxx approached and asked if we would pay the remainder early (he needed to make his payroll) and in return he would replace the age-damaged facial boards and repair the leaky guttering at the same time. A check was written for the remaining amount BEFORE the roofing job was complete as requested. We have made several calls requesting completion and he always says he will "get to it". Last call made on March 9th, he said he would be there within 7 days. Now he will not even return phone calls. Regarding the 8 foot ladder, he has said he will return, but has not.

Desired Settlement
Complete work as agreed. Replace facial boards, repair damage to stucco, repair leaking gutters, return ladder.

Business Response
In speaking to the actual customer which is the complainants husband on 03/25/14 the damage to the stucco was caused by woodpeckers and speaking to him again on the morning of 03/26/14 there is another hole since speaking to him yesterday.

The facial board that the customers wife is complaining about is something the company agreed to do at no charge because the customer did not want to pay for it but needed to be done. Therefore, the work the customers wife is complaining about not being done is something that the owner is doing for free and has not had a chance to do becuase of the inclement weather. The signed contract by the compainants husband does not indicate that the facial board will be replaced.

The ladder was accidently loaded with other ladders of the companys and in speaking to the husband of the complainant he is aware that it is on a jobsite and will be returned.

The suggested resolution is that the complainant communicate with her husband who is handling the contractual agreements of the work. If you would like we would be more than happy to send the BBB a copy of the contract as well as the complainants husband (the actual customer) phone number.

Thank you,

M&P

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Responding as the actual customer, M&P is correct in regards to the holes in the stucco. It appeared to be damage from the ladder brace but was indeed caused by a woodpecker and no fault of M&P.

In regards to the facial board repair, M&P originally gave me a quote of $500 to repair the damaged wood and I told them to proceed. Later during the roof installation, M&P asked if I would make an early partial payment so they could meet payroll, M&P would repair the facial boards at no cost to me. I paid his reqested amount and expected the repairs to be made as verbally agreed upon by owner and M&P. This all took place in early NOV.2013.
My expectations are for the repairs to be made in that I fulfilled my part of the agreement.

M&P and i did discuss my ladder accidentally being removed from property and being on another jobsite. Yet, I am still waiting for ladder to be returned.

02/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have a contract dating from Aug,2013 for roofing and guttering. It took until Oct 2013 to get the roof and as of Jan 2014 no gutters.
Mr M xxxxx owner of M & P Roofing and guttering, signed a contract with us for roofing and guttering for our house on Aug. 4, 2013. Half the cost was paid up front. It took until Oct. 4, with much calling, to get the roof installed. At the completion of the installation Mr. xxxxx asked for the remainder of the amount due saying that the gutters would be done the next day or at the latest on Monday. Trusting him, we paid. (our great mistake) The gutters were not replaced on either date given, with no call from Mr. xxxxx. Many calls were made to Mr. xxxxx office. Messages were left that were never returned. We talked to the secretary and she actually gave us a date for installation. No one came or called. We began writing letters and sending faxes, along with calls. Each time it was confirmed that they were received. The few times Mr.xxxxx replied it was always with apologies and excuses and with a new date for installation. No one ever came and Mr. xxxxx never called to explain why. This went on until Dec. 21 when again no one showed for the date given for installation. We called Mr. xxxxx and again there were excuses. Mr. xxxxx was angry that we would not accept his excuses and stated that he would personally come and "drop the gutters in our yard if that's what we wanted". As he had done many times before he stated that it was not his fault that they had not been installed. When Mrs. xxxxx reminded him that he was the owner of the company with whom the contract was made and was signed by him then he WAS THE ONE responsible. He then call Mr. xxxxx a bad name and with that we quickly said good bye and hung up. Mr. xxxxx called back trying to apologize and again gave excuses. We have not heard anything else from Mr. xxxxx and attempts to contact him have not been answered. We have been dealing with this for 6 months now. Mr.xxxxx has our money and will not install what we have paid for. Being senior citizens and on fixed income we cannot afford to just throw away money. We HAVE to have new gutters and really cannot afford the money to pay twice for them.

Desired Settlement
We would like Mr. xxxxx as the owned of M& P Roofing and as the person who signed the contract with us to pay a reputable roofing company, one that we can be sure will do a quality job, to replace our gutters. We have paid already for this so he would only be using the money we have already given him to do this. With all the rain we had last summer Mr. xxxxx was told that we had to have some repairs done under our house and that they cannot be done until the gutters are replaced. Spring rains will soon be here and we have to get the under-house work done so that further damage will not occur. We would like for the work to be completed no later than the last week in February.

Business Response
We agree to have the gutters installed by the end of February and are sorry for the delay.

Final Consumer Response
We have not received any kind of mail or voice message from Mr. xxxxx

Based on our experience, this is business as usual for the contractor. We have had lots of promises and apologies to date and no action

We appreciate that you are following BBB procedures. We cannot imagine that our complaint is close to being resolved until we see installed gutters.



Final Business Response
As stated the gutters will be installed by the end of February. Will give a call the evening prior to coming.

12/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Significant delay to complete the works.
We hired M& P Roofing Specialists, LLC to repair our roof and replace gutters and down spouts on 9/9/13. At the time of starting the roof repair, the owner (Mr. xxxxx) suggested to me and my wife that the wood around the roof and the windows should be repaired before putting the new gutters and down spouts. We then signed the second contract on 9/12/13 to let M&P Roofing Specialists, LLC repair several items around the home as the following: Pressure wash entire home, Remove and replace any damaged (rotted) trim boards, fascia, molding, and window frames, Prime and paint all above mentioned replaced wood, Prime and paint 4 columns at the front of home, Repair any ripped screens, Pump pool water out and install a new pool liner, repair pool plumbing, Paint and fix metal fence, Repair column at the pool area, Repair crack concrete at the pool area, Remove three trees and grinds 6 stumps.
These are the timelines: 1. Roof repair was started on 9/10/13 and they quickly finished the Shingles installation on 9/16/13. The gutters and down spouts parts were not done yet as the part of the first contract, but, the company wanted to collect all the money for the first contract. (they already took 60% of total amount for deposit) Initially, I did not want to do that but he promised that he would complete all the works listed as above within 2 weeks. Then I agreed to move the rest of the works on the first contract to the second contract and paid them. 2.They did pressure wash for our home on 9/18-9/19/13. (work from the second contract) 3. Mr.xxxxx told us that the pool company would come out to meet with us to discuss about pool works in three different appointments. No one showed up and we were not told about the cancellation of appointments. On 9/24/13, the pool person then finally came and gave us the catalogs to choose the pool liner. I sent the info about what we chose to Mr. xxxxx. on 9/25/13 and he said he would take care it right away. 4. I was told that the tree company would come out to do the works on 9/23/13 but it did not happen. The excuse was that they were too busy and would come out later that week. 5. On 9/27/13, I called Mr. xxxxx to get the updates and he told me that he would return my phone call that evening. NO RETURN CALL. 6. On 9/30/13, I called his partner and he told me that he would talk to Mr. xxxxx. and Mr.xxxxx would call me back the same day. NO RETURN CALL. 7. On 10/4/13, I called Mr. xxxxx. again and he told me that he would call me to give me updates about our project on 10/7/13. NO RETURN CALL. 8. I texted Mr. xxxxx on 10/7/13, he replied right away that no one would come due to the rain. (That was Monday). The rest of the week was no rain. The weather was warm and sunny but NO ONE CAME OUT. 9. On 10/9/13, I emailed the company and GOT THE ANSWER BACK ON 10/11/13. Part of email; "....they will come out on 10/17/13 and try to finish the works by the end of the month..." NO ONE CAME OUT ON 10/17/13 10.On 10/21/13, I called Mr. xxxxx again and he promised that they would start the work this week. He also mentioned that he would talk to the pool person and called me back. NO RETURN CALL. 11. On 10/22/13, I called Mr. xxxxx again and he told me that he would call me back when he heard from the pool person. NO RETURN CALL AND NO ONE CAME.
At this point, I have tried to contact and talk with Mr. xxxxx. and his company so many times and so far I got excuses, false promises, or no responses. No work has been done on my home since they left on 9/19/2013. Our family felt that we were taken advantages because they took the money from the second contract ($6,500 which is 60% of total) and basically they did almost nothing from the second contract. Only thing they did was pressure wash. We understand that the delay in construction can happen but it should be within the reasonable amount of times with honest and truthful reasons. We expect very much higher level of service from the company received Grade A from the Better Business Bureau (BBB).


Desired Settlement
They told us that the works can be completed in 2 weeks therefore we want the written dates and plans. We have waited for 6 weeks now and the works should not be delayed further. We want the works to be done as soon as possible. They have our deposited money for $6,500 (60% of total cost) for 6 weeks and only thing they did was pressure wash. This is very unfair to us. The contract should be revised with the penalty for the delay from the deadline.

Thank you so much for your kind consideration and help.

Business Response
Admittedly we are behind due to the most rain that this county has seen in over 60 years. We have discussed our situation and explained our delay to Mr. xxxxx. We sincerely apologize and will continue to do our best to get everyone caught up in the most timely manner possible.

I noticed that it was mentioned that the only thing completed on the new contract was the pressure washing. Just thought we would mention that the pool has also been drained.

Also, the gutters can not be installed until the painting is complete.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We would like to update what happened with M&P Roofing Specialists, LLC. since we sent the last response back to BBB.

Nov 5. I got the call from Mr. xxxxx. and e-mail from his office that they would like to complete the job. I told them that if that was the case, he should write me addendum contract with the plan and deadline. We should review that and sign it.

Nov 6. I was supposed to meet in AM with Mr.xxxxx. but Mr.xxxxxx. called me around 7.30 AM that his baby was sick. Then I told him, we could meet tomorrow.

Nov 7. Mr.xxxxx. again called me around the same time that he could not make it because he was sick. I told him to e-mail me the draft of addendum contract.

Nov 8. His secretary sent me the e-mail of the draft, which still did not completely address the deadlines for all the works.

Nov 11. Mr. xxxxx. sent his carpenter to look at my home and his carpenter told me that he could not start the work until 2 weeks later and also he could not give me the time that he could finish the wood repair work. I called Mr. xxxxx. (around 9 AM) and I told him that it would not work. Mr. xxxxx. told me that he would contact different carpenter and call me right back in the afternoon. No returned call for the update.

Nov. 12. I called to let Mr. xxxxx and his secretary know that I wanted all the details of plan and deadlines in written document, and we both need to sign this addendum.

Nov 13. The tree crews came and finished the tree works. They did an excellent work.

Nov. 14. I e-mailed to the company to set up the meeting with Mr. xxxxx to go over the contract addendum but Mr.xxxxx was unable to make it. I still have not seen the contract addendum. No update about the rest of the works.

Below paragraph is the list of works (Only few have been done)

a. Pressure wash entire home (DONE)
b. Remove and replace any damaged (rotted) trim boards, fascia, molding, and window frames
c. Prime and paint all above mentioned replaced wood
d. Prime and paint 4 columns at the front of home
e. Repair any ripped screens
f. Pump pool water out (DONE) and install a new pool liner, repair pool plumbing
g. Paint and fix metal fence
h. Repair column at the pool area
i. Repair crack concrete at the pool area
j. Remove three trees and grinds 6 stumps (DONE)
k. Remove and replace gutters and down spouts

To summarize, since last time we sent the response back to BBB, only the tree work was done. I have not received or signed the written contract addendum for the complete plan and deadlines of all the works with the company. (I got only the draft in e-mail about the deadlines for part of the works; most of the deadlines were already passed.)

It is not acceptable that they do not have the carpenter to do the job. Especially, the initial contract was signed on Sep 12, 2013 and I was promised that all the works would complete within 2 weeks.

For the pool work, I have selected the pool liner since Sep 25 and I WERE TOLD THAT IT WAS ORDERED. The pool person has never come back to do the job. I just hoped that everything was truthful.

At this point, if the company honestly wants to complete the job, please finish it right away. We could not accept excuses anymore because this is the 10th week since we paid the deposit money.



Final Business Response
We have discussed this with the consumer and have given him a written plan. He indicated that he was satisfied with this plan.

06/27/2013Problems with Product / Service
11/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to Honor a contract or agreement
I have 2 contracts with M&P Roofing - one for installation of new roof and gutters signed on 9.2.2014 valued @ $ 4,600.00 and the 2nd. dated 9.12.2014 for installation of new 2x4 interior framing, installation of 2 new internal walls , rising and fixing the sagging of the ceiling in our master bedroom, etc. etc.. with a value of $ 4,000.00

The owner of M & P Roofing, received more than half the cost for both contracts. He always finds a way to get money from you even though not job it was performed- once I was asked to provide another payment in advance because -even though he said it was free of charge for me -his people were cleaning the debris and he needed to meet payroll so I decided to do give another check in advance -
$ 5,800.00 has been paid up to now but today more than 6 weeks later very little has been done to fulfil these contracts - For the first contract I have 2 plastic tarps covering the back of my roof were the old shingles were removed, rain water was leaking recently and when I called Mr. xxxxx to let him know about this- his solution was stopping by and adding another plastic tarp to the roof were it was leaking . I had to use bleach were the leaking happened because it started to develop mold.
Many calls and text messages were made to Mr. xxxxx and the few times Mr. xxxxx replied it was always with apologies and excuses such as : his right hand was sick, it can't be done because of the rain and when I reminded him that he can work inside the house: framing the walls or working on the master bedroom ceiling he said that he needed to check with the county inspector first before anything can be done in order to avoid double work .
After too many phone calls and texts he finally provided me with a new date for the roof installation -October 28 - I called Mr. xxxxx when again no one showed for the date given for installation and again there were excuses. He says now that there it's nothing to get back and perform the job because the cost of the material its worth more than the money he received from me.
I don't have the money to pay somebody else to do the job..

Desired Settlement
Mr. xxxxx needs to perform the job specified on the 2 contracts or he should refund my money.

09/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Promised a refund check on August 1, 2014 and still not received.
Signed a contract on 6/12/2014 to fix roof and siding due to hail damage. on 6/13/2014 we gave xxxxx a certified check in the amount of $6,000.00 After 8 weeks of xxxxx promising his crew "would arrive next week", they never showed and he never called to inform me. On July 30th at 6:00pm, we came to a verbal agreement that we would either have the crew at my house by the end of the week or our contract would be voided and a certified check would be in the mail. After calling on 8/3, 8/4, 8/7,8/14, 8/15 8/25, 8/26 and 8/29, I have received many excuses why I have not received my check. I still have no certified check in the amount of $6,000 that was promised to me on August 1, 2014. I am worried about water damage to my house because of failure to provide a new roof & siding, a service that I paid for.

Desired Settlement
I simply want my money back. A certified check in the amount of $6,000.00

08/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
MP Roofing Specialist failed to honor contract and still has not fixed roof as agreed. It's been over 6 weeks, still not completed.
MP Roofing Specialist was contracted to fix roof on 5/29/14 and made $4000 deposit. Required the rest to be paid on day of completion. However, adjuster was delayed and couldn't come out until 6/13/14. Adjuster approved what he could and we had to rework the contract. On Monday 6/16, MP Roofing Specialist requested full amount to be paid before completing job since I was going out of town and roof was due to be fixed within 3 days. They promised it's one day worth of labor and would be finished by the time I return from my vacation. This did not happen. It's been 5 weeks since I paid them in full and it's been excuses after excuses. They've missed appointments after appointments. Bad communication and customer service. Do not do as promised. Do not ever pay them in full or better yet, do not ever use them on future project.

Desired Settlement
I just want MP Roofing Specialist to finish what they started and agreed to. My tenants roof is 1/4 completed and it's been like that for 5 weeks. They need to finish the roof within 1 week or they need to refund full amount if they cannot do what they agreed to.

07/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contractor collected 1/2 of contract amount in October 2013 but has not yet started the work. We want our $7,100 deposit refunded.
We contracted with M & P Roofing Specialists LLC on October 4, 2013, to add a roof & screening on our existing deck for $14,200. Contractor required a "first payment" of ½ of contracted amount. We paid him $7,100on October 4, 2013. Since then, we have been in regular contact with the contractor (at least 17 times since November 2013) but there has always been an excuse (for example, carpenter was not yet available, couldn't find another carpenter, dental problems, family medical problems, he's out of town with no cell phone service, etc.) which delayed starting the project.
We've been extremely patient but are ready to move on. We are senior citizens on a fixed income & need our money back. On May 13, 2014, I spoke with contractor by phone & we agreed that he would return our deposit of $7,100 if the work would not begin on June 1, 2014. On May 23, 2014, I sent a text to contractor's phone reminding him of our agreement & also suggesting that he return our deposit sooner if he knows that the work could not begin by June 1.
The contractor agreed to meet us at his office on June 5 at 9:00 am to pick up the refund check. The contractor called on June 4 to say he was out of town but would bring our refund in cash no later than Wednesday, June 11. After leaving two messages on contractor's cell phone on June 11 & 12 with no returned call, "xxxxx" from the firm called to say that the contractor had (another) family medical issue out of town.
Please help us in resolving this issue to get our money back.

Desired Settlement
We want our total deposit of $7,100 returned to us.

12/09/2014Problems with Product / Service
02/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
********** agreed to a contract to replace shingles on 1/2 of our roof and replace a Ridge Vent. It has been over three months, and the job isn't done
M & P Roofing Specialists was hired to replace 1/2 of our roof and the Ridge Vent across the top of our house. ********** started the job in a timely matter, and I paid him $800.00. He returned on Saturday morning to discuss finishing the 1st half of the roof even offered to complete the other half, saying that we could pay at our convenience for the other half. Expecting ********** and his workers yo show up and finish the job the following week, I went ahead and paid the other $700.00. Unfortunately, it was 1month later after several phone calls before M&P showed up again for work. This was on a Saturday morning while relatives were visiting *********************. I thought this was very unprofessional considering he had the previous several weeks to complete the job, but we wanted the job finished and were glad to take the work when we could get it. **** said he would be back the following Monday but has yet to show up two months later! We have contacted M&P several times, and have been told they will be here "tomorrow", "by the end of the week", "Monday", etc. In the mean time, the tar paper on top of our house is starting to rip and 2x4's are across the top of our roof capturing pine needle, leaves, snow, and sleet. **** has every excuse one can think of not to work (sickness, workers laid out, workers ********************, stuck in a ditch, chances of rain, and rain). According to the National Weather Service, we are well below normal for rainfall this Winter. We haven't received the ridge vent, shingles, or work service we paid for, and just want the job finished or our money back.

Desired Settlement
We want M & P Roofing to complete the work on our roof or refund us in the amount of $1500.00. In addition M & P Roofing will pay for additional damages that occur to our house because of not completing the work in a timely manner.
All work related materials (braces, boards, tools, and other materials) should be removed from my roof and property. I found several roofing nails in my yard and driveway. A magnet should be used to cleanup all nails.

12/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Demanded payment and work never completed!
xxxxx had signed a contract to install all gutters and Down spouts on my home on 8/14/14 with a deposit of $450.00. Total repair was to be $1200.00
xxxxx came and did touch up to the roof on 9/4/14 and DEMANDED the balance to be paid prior to completing repair he stated "He needed the money to pay the Gutter repairman" who he said would be out Monday September 8, 2014. NO ONE showed up and I contacted xxxxx multiple times and got one excuse after another,xxxxx stated at the end of October that since he could not get the man to do the Gutters and downspouts he would refund the money, he has not showed up and now he has disconnected his phone and I even contacted my insurance adjuster xxxxx with xxxxxx and he can not get in contact with xxxxx of M&P Roofing Specialists, LLC either.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund i am elderly and do not have the money to pay someone else i feel as though i have been scammed.

12/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This complaint if being filed due to not meeting a contractual obligation that I entered into with M & P Roofing in May 2014
I contracted M & P Roofing this past June to repair my roof, gutters and siding work as a result of the May 2014 hail storm. xxxxx, the owner of M & P roofing asked for an initial down payment of $4,500 to purchase materials to begin the work. He also stated that he wanted to go ahead and get me "at the top of the list, because this will be a busy time for roofing companies". M & P also had three other contracts in my neighborhood, including my next door neighbor.
After weeks and now six months of contacting Mr. xxxxx, and him telling me "I'll be there next week", "I'm headed your way tomorrow", Mr. xxxxx finally showed up in my neighborhood at the end of October. While working on my next door neighbor's roof, Mr. xxxxx came by to ask me for additional funds because the "price of materials had gone up" - he still had not begun work on my home. He also stated that he "needed to make payroll". Seeing that he was now working on my next door neighbor's roof, I gave him an additional $2,294.99 with the understanding that he would be starting my roof the next day. Mr. xxxxx worked on my roof for only half a day on Oct. 31, putting very few shingles on the home. He stated that "we'll knock the hard stuff out first then finish you up next week". I now believe that the shingles he did put on my roof came from my next door neighbor's -- I do not believe he used the money that I gave him to purchase the materials for my home. I now have two different types of shingles on my roof, and no gutter work or siding repair has been done. He also attempted to "work a deal" with me, stating that if I gave him an additional $6,000 of the insurance money, I could keep $1,800 from the remaining balance. I explained to him additional funds would not be released nor given to him until 100% of the work was completed and inspected by the mortgage company. After telling him there was no more money until the job was complete, he has not been back. He has repeatedly made excuse after excuse as to why he doesn't show. He promised to have me completely done before Thanksgiving, but as of today, no more work has been done. At this point, I have my doubts as to whether Mr. xxxxx will ever return, especially since I told him I could not pay him further until the work was 100% complete, inspected, and signed off on by my mortgage company. I have stopped calling Mr. xxxxx because I get nothing but lies and excuses.
I have been more than understanding and patient with Mr. xxxxx, but now feel as if he has taken advantage of my good nature. I sent Mr. xxxxx an email on Dec. 3 stating that I either wanted all work completed by Dec. 12, or a full refund of all monies given to him. I have heard nothing in response to my email about his intentions. I have called him since then, and once again he promised to be out here. He's still a no show.
M & P Roofing has taken half of my money, and has very little to show for it. There have been more excuses than I can count, and he is always apologizing for not coming out. This has gotten very old, and my patience with him has run out. Mr. xxxxx is now in breach of contract.
I demand that Mr. xxxxx either immediately complete the repairs for which he has been contracted to do, or refund me the entire amount of $6,794.99.

Desired Settlement
Either a full refund of the monies given, or completion of the work contracted to perform.

01/07/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts, Contractor - Flat Roof, Roof Restoration Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.