BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Kreunen Roof Replacement

(803) 616-5896View Additional Phone Numbers3615 Centre Cir, Fort MillSC 29715-9733http://www.insuranceroofs.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Kreunen Roof Replacement is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Kreunen Roof Replacement's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Kreunen Roof Replacement

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
03/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Got a whole roof job through insurance claim in November 2012 and have been having issues with leaking every since.
In October 2012, I was seeking help with home improvement and could not afford a full loan at the time. I came home from work and saw that my neighbors were getting a new roof put on. I went to my neighbors' house to a business card from the workers on site. One of the supervisors from ******* came over to speak to me.I told them I was collecting cards for future reference because I couldn't afford an equity loan yet. I knew my old roof would not hold up many more years. Several of the men from the company greeted me and over to my house saying that I may not need a loan. They could help me through an insurance claim. I had never need to file a claim before but I listened. I told them I had no leaks anywhere in my ceilings despite my old roof. The only problems were out in the dining room portion of my family room. The skylight had some small brown stains from sweat and slow leaks around the trim. No other portion of that room or my house had visible water damage. After walking around on my roof and taking pictures, it was decided that I did have hail damage from the previous year's hail storm in June. We started the paperwork and a claim's representative came by to look at the area with the problem. He also agree that hail damage to the roof was evident and water damage around the skylight. There was some hold up in certain areas due to the extended funds requested by the roofing company because of the "special situation" of repairing the area around the skylight. Finally the funding was completed. The first checks were sent and the work could begin. There was little or no problem on getting the material. Finally, November 1, a crew was scheduled to come out. They were due that morning at 9:00 am. My mother stayed at my house just to make sure someone was around. I called to see if anyone showed up, she said no. I called one of the supervisors (none of which were at my house like they were at my neighbors'). The crews showed up around noon. They were still working when I got home, but there was no sign of the supervisors. The two sets of workers barely spoke plain English. They removed a satellite and my piping for my propane heaters. I asked them to put back the bracing for the pipes and leave the satellite off. They did the opposite. One crew finished early and left (the crew working on the side with the skylight over my dining area). The other finished right around 6:30 in the dark. The roof looked great and it seemed great until the next April. It started to rain semi-heavy and water began pouring out of the sides of the skylight. I called to report it to the company and they got some more non-English speaking workers to come out. They did a bad job which did not last. The leak moved and spread. It made a large dingy spot next to the skylight causing my plaster and my trim to come loose. Finally, another crew showed up to fix it and then painters came to fix the spot. Just a month or so later, another leak appeared. It was fixed temporarily. Several leaks and repairs in only six months-less than a year after the new roof. After a year of a so-called brand new roof, a storm came that affected several areas in my county. I came home to find that my dining area was again leaking. Now it was in an area that never leaked---even with the 22 year old roof and hail storms. I called to report it. Workers were supposed to show up to fix it and I rushed home to meet them. They never showed. I texted to find out that they supposedly came by early (well before I got home that day). I still didn't trust it. Every time it rains I have to run out to my family room /dining room to check for leaks. I never had to do that before. The claims adjuster saw only what I showed him. Now, there is a slow leak along the partition between my too areas of the family room. There is also an ugly brown line from the water spots. The leak is still not completely fixed. I want my house fixed and in the shape it should be with a brand new roof.

Desired Settlement
I would like that entire section of my house to be fully repaired. There were no supervisors on site before or after I got home. One of them told me on the phone they were not able to be at the house with the workers. I believe the unsupervised workers got in a hurry and made a mess of my home. I've worked ten years to fix my home and increase the value of it. I was hoping a new roof would be a blessing. Instead this constant problem has become an unnecessary headache for me and is possibly bringing down the value of my home. I want to be able to rest in my home again and not get frustrated and scared every time a rainstorm comes. I just want to go back to enjoying my home. All that trouble for a special funding situation for the skylight, and it is the main thing that has been giving me problems for nearly a year now--with my so-called "new roof." I want that portion of my roof and the flashings that we need extra money for to be replaced (at no cost to me). When I got my house, it was a foreclosure with no roof leaks despite the aging roof. I only had to fix up the rest of the house. Now, I've got to finish fixing up the rest and worry if the roof will ruin my work. I just want my roof to be fixed for good.

Business Response
Ms ****** has contacted us several times regarding a roof leak right around the skylight area. Every time she has called we have responded and the leak has stopped. I told Ms ****** to watch it after a heavy rain, if it doesn't leak to contact me and we would fix the interior. She contacted me to notify that the leak was fixed. I had the guys fix the interior damages. The last time my roofer repaired the skylight he made the comment that if the problem happens again the skylight needs to be replaced. Ms ****** has a new roofing system on her roof, but has an old skylight on her roof that is causing the leak. When we replaced the roof we reflashed the skylight but didn't replace the skylight. We didn't have any of the business owners on site to supervise the job but we do hundreds of roofs without business owner supervision. Each crew has a supervisor/crew leader. We have lived up to our workmanship warranty and will continue to do so. I haven't heard from Ms ****** in months until this BBB complaint. I assumed everything was ok. I think replacing the roof in that area is unnecessary. She needs to get her skylight replaced. Its old and is failing. If she pays for skylight I will pay for labor to replace it and repair interior once it's installed. It's extremely unfortunate that this has happened but we have responded to every call we've gotten from Ms ******. And will continue to do so.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I stopped contacting because I got tired of having to do so after every rain to find that the leak has moved to a new location. It may be that the skylight is old and needs replacing, but the crew and business managers knew this when they started the job and asked for the extension of funds for extra work on the skylight area. Furthermore, the skylight is no longer leaking. I don't believe it has for a while and I hope it doesn't start back. The problem is where the metal flashings between the living and dining areas of my familyroom meet. That part of the roof was the last part leaking when I made contact in the fall. I could visibly identify an area of metal that was pulled back where the sections of the roof connected the two rooms. I don't believe it was put back correctly during the roof install that November. That is the part that water was pouring from before the last group of workers came by. It is no longer just the skylight that I have to worry about. Now there are water marks showing up in places they've never been before and the workers should know because the painters did a good job matching the old with the new, and they would have seen and covered those. I don't mean to question the integrity of the entire company itself, but I want ******* to understand that I had never done anything like filing a claim before in my life at any home I'd lived in. I found my home as a foreclosure and slowly made repairs myself--on my own--to improve it. I knew that inside renovations would have to wait until I could afford a new roof. After I got the roof, I spent thousands of dollars to redo and redecorate the interior of my home. I'm trying to it make livable for my own family's standards and increase the equity and resale value as well. Now, with roof issues constantly popping up, I'm afraid the resale will be in jeopardy and worse, my money and renovations may eventually get damaged. I want ******* to know that I too trusted them to help me make one of my biggest dreams for my home come true. But when I came home that day to find a couple of crews who didn't understand me clearly and didn't listen to my instructions about replacing things they had removed and none of the business managers who I met and started the plans with, I felt overlooked and not valued as a customer. Then when the leaks started, I felt totally let down and concerned for the value of my family's home. I will take the ******* company up on the offer to replace the skylight because of its age...but only when I can afford it. I can't afford it this soon after the other work I have gone into debt to complete. What I want most from them now, is a thorough inspection of all the flashings/metal pieces joining the roof in that part of my house. I just want the leaks and phone calls every time it rains, to come an end. Then I can finish renovations on the inside of that part of my house without fear of my time and money going to waste.

Final Business Response
I will be more than happy to schedule a time when we can look at the inside of the home to see exactly where the other ceiling stains are so we know where to look in relation to the outside of the home. Let us know the date and time to meet and we will get the issues addressed.

Sincerely,

***** *******
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/20/2011Business started: 06/18/1986
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 2003, MS

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kim H. Kreunen (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Henry Kreunen (Vice President)
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Roofing Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Kreunen Construction, Inc., Kreunen Custom Homes
Industry Tips
ROOFING CONTRACTORS

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Kreunen Roof Replacement

3615 Centre Cir

Fort Mill, SC 29715-9733

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3615 Centre Cir 

    Fort Mill, SC 29715-9733(803) 616-5896
    (901) 258-7764

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Kreunen Roof Replacement is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (901) 258-7764
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

ROOFING CONTRACTORS
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.