BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/17/2009

JGP Building Company

Phone: (704) 895-5719Fax: (704) 785-5721

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
11/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Roofer left the tarp off of the house causing extensive damage inside the house. Contractor refuses to fix water damaged interior
Contract signed 7/31. Roofer started work on 9/17. It rained 9/19 and roofer did not tarp roof correctly causing extensive damage to interior. 9/21 Roofer illegally enters house through roof to try and clean up, setting off alarms. It is now 10/17 and water damaged repairs have not been completed.

Desired Settlement
House restored to condition before damage the following is what is left
Hardwood floors replaced, painting, duct cleaning, deep house cleaning, window cleaning, carpet cleaned, hotel bill reimbursement, damaged rug replacement, chandelier replacement
Contracted
metal roof replaced
Shutters Replaced

Business Response
While we where replacing the customers roof a severe storm came through and water entered the home through the tarp. The customer was out of time during the project. There was damage to several ceilings from the water intrusion. Upon arrival of the homeowner I was able to access the damage and begin repairs. We replaced drywall in 5 rooms, painted a majority of the second floor ceilings, replaced the damaged insulation, replaced damaged carpet and padding in 2 rooms, replaced damaged molding and sub flooring. We have spent over $10,000.00 making repairs to the home. We have only been paid $5,000.00 as a deposit on a $17,000 completed roof. We asked mrs xxxxx to make an additional progress payment in order for us to make arrangements to complete the repairs. She was unwilling to pay any additional money for the completed work until all repairs to her home where completed. I have fears that the homeowner may not honor the balance of the project upon completion of the repairs. I suggest having the balance of the project being placed in escrow with a third party. And money released upon the completion of the agreed repairs...

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Review of executed contract between xxxxx and JGP Restoration Inc.
Scope: My contract with JGP is/was for Roof Replacement, Metal Roof Replacement,Gutters and Shutters.
Payment terms: Per the terms of the contract I gave $5000.00 deposit. The contract states upon completion and no later than 30 days I am due to pay the remaining balance.
Workscope completed to date: JGP completed the roof in 5 days and has yet to install the Metal Roof, Gutters, or Shutters.
Damages: JGP left my roof uncovered in an exposed state during a rainstorm on 9/19/2014 and caused extensive water damage to multiple rooms and finishes. Upon discovery of the severe water damage they compounded the issue by unlawfully entering my home on 9/21/2014. We received notice from our security service in form of video showing JGP representative walking through our home. Only after conversation with the Sheriff, was it established it was the roofers, xxxxx was unaware of the problem or Illegal entry his staff had performed.
Current activities: It is our opinion that JGP is hiring subpar contractors to repair my home, due to the $20,000 + in extra damages they must now absorb. Some repairs completed by these new subcontractors have caused more damages. It has been over a month and we are no closer to completion than we were the first day the accident occurred. Corrective actions/repairs that JGP have performed are totally unacceptable.
Security concerns: After sending in the notice to the BBB, I received a threatening text message from the owner, xxxxx. I am not comfortable, nor do I feel safe with JGP or there sub-contractors in my house after the message and the actions that have taken place up to now.
Summary: The contract entered between JGP and xxxxx has not been completed. xxxxx owner of JGP has not properly supervised the work. There has been $20,000+ damage to my home, along with unlawful entry, and subpar untimely corrective action.
I will not be placing any monies with a third party for holding, per the contract that they have not followed I am not responsible to do so, and after causing such extensive damage to my home you would expect a greater sense of responsibility not the opposite as we have experienced. It has been over a month, I have incurred temporary housing expenditures, days off from work, cancellation of events scheduled at my house, health conditions and my house is no closer to being completed that's the day I arrived back home.
I am currently having multiple respected contractors review the conditions to give me a price to complete the original scope along with repairing the extensive damages caused by JGPs lack of project oversight.


Final Business Response
This customer is completely out of touch with reality. My contractors always have the best interest of the homeowner in mind. Her house has been completely repaired except for some wood floors that need addressing. My thoughts of her not willing to make good on the balance of the job have come to frouishion. That is why we asked for a partial payment on work completed. I am fine walking away from the $10,000.00 she owes JGP. It will cost $5,200.00 to repair the flooring and final cleaning of her home. Sad to see such a display of character assassination on display. Karma, karma, karma...

08/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The JCP Building company, xxxxx. the owner. Does not follow up and hold warranty claims.

I have contracted JGP Building Company on 09-21-2011, to fix my home's roof, due to hail damage. Mr. xxxxx returned my call, we met and agreed on the pricing and terms. A contract was signed on that day to repair it. Contract#xxxxx. I have the paperwork. The job was completed and paid for in full to JCP. Recently on 07-24-2014, I noticed that the chimney on the roof was not seated properly & that the shingles were coming undone round that area. I immediately contacted JCP Restoration, due to the 5 year warranty that was included during the signing of the contract. When I called and explained the issue to his wife/ the person that answers the business phone line, she claimed he is too busy, and cannot return calls, and she can not help either. I have called 9 times since then & logged every call and times.
NO RETURN CALLS YET. This is unacceptable business practice and horrible customer service.

Desired Settlement
JCP Building / restoration inc. Must resolve and honor their warranties / policies.
I want them to contact me @ xxxxx, and offer to repair the chimney and shingles. If their are unable to complete or meet their commits with regards to their warranty. Then I want a sizable refund to complete work necessary to protect my home from the elements.

The BBB organization MUST NOT provide their endorsement to careless businesses that have terrible customer service such as JCP and workmanship. Please follow up with me. Thank you for your time.

Business Response
Our company was closed last week when Mrs xxxxx made her calls. (3 ) On Monday August 11. I tried to call to her. The number she left us is disconnected. I will try it again.

11/18/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Have water leak in roof and roof contractor puts blame on the furnace contractor.
Have had 3rd party roof contractors check roof and they say -" 1. Recommendation for Roof: Remove existing gas vent bases and replace
with bases that have higher waterproofing flange.
2. Remove ridge vent that was installed improperly and reverse and reinstall.
Add flashing where missing under the fascia metal above garage
where gable runs into the capping shingles."
Local TV xxxxx reported xxxxx has contacted JGP, but they have not returned any calls to discuss this issue ?

Desired Settlement
To fix this roof leaking issue & correct the parts that were installed wrong or missing during roof install.

Business Response
This roof was installed 4 years ago and there is nothing wrong with the installation. The homeowner had a new furnace installed a year ago and did not have the contractor replace the roof portion of piping. I meet the homeowner at his house with the heating contractor to review the problem. Me and the heating contractor came to the conclusion that the base flashing the builder originally installed failed during a severe rain event that occurred a few months prior. The homeowner needs to have the furnace flashing replaced with a larger rain deverter in order to avoid this problem from occurring again in the future. In regards to Mr. has contacted us to discuss this issue. I will contact him myself to explain the situation so the homeowner can make the proper corrections.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I'm concerned that will have further issues / leaks . I have not heard from the roof contractor since last response was sent neither has xxxxx as was said previous that he would contact him to explain ?
Also tried to get a copy of the roof install / warranty from JGP per a request form xxxxx and was told " they can't locate it "

Final Business Response
This is so frustrating because when I was at the customers home there was never any mention of a ridge vent issue or a flashing issue. All he was concerned about was his exhaust vent had leaked and he needed someone to blaim in order to get the interior damage repaired. The base flashing on the exhaust vent is a heating component. The heating contractor caulked the pipe and explained why it failed to the homeowner. The exhaust vent system is not leaking due to the installIion of the shingles. Not sure why Mr. xxxxx doesn't understand this? I will make a trip to the customers home to inspect his other concerns.

06/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Work not completed
Claim was file with ***** **** on 8/12 I signed check over to JGP as soon as **** SEND IT BACK TO THEM work on roof was done within a timely matter all others was not. The only time work was scheduled was after I call to complaint. I'm still waiting on work to be finished but at this point I just want a refund for the remaining work ill find someone else to finish the job OR DO IT MYSELF. I chose this company to do the work on my home because I felt I could trust them guess I was wrong.

Desired Settlement
Refund for the remaining work which totals 71.41 for window screens ,156.81 for comb and straighten a/c condenser fins,290.41 for gutter repair an downspouts total of 518.63

Business' Initial Response
Unfortunately there is some breakdown in communication. Mr. ********'s work order was changed at the end of the project. He did have $135 of monies to be used towards a screen repair and one downspout which was damaged. But the siding repair ran over what the insurance company had approved. The remaining balance to our company was $425. Which we applied the gutter repair money to this balance and called it even. Mr. ******** has been a pleasure to work with during this project. I do feel this job's timeframe ran much longer than it should have..

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Construction & Remodeling Services, Home Improvements, Contractors-Remodeling

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.