BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/03/2012

Burden Improvements, Inc.

Phone: (704) 207-4901Fax: (704) 908-8038View Additional Phone Numbers500 Nash Ct., GastoniaNC 28054

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/03/2012

BBB has determined that Burden Improvements, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Burden Improvements, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Burden Improvements, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
05/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
There was still an issue with my siding when the job was completed and ********** has stated that he will not repair it.
My contract with ********** was signed on 10/06/2014; and it states that there is a "2 year warranty on workmanship, Manufacturer - 25 - 30 yr. warranty on materials. Warranty commences when the payment in full is received for the work." Payment in full was made on 08/26/2015 because ********** stated that the check he paid to his siding crew would bounce if I did not pay him. I had wanted to wait until my husband was able to inspect the job but I trusted ********** to stay true to his word when he stated that if my husband found any problems, he would come out and fix them. On August 30, 2015 at 3:42 PM I originally contacted him and let him know that the siding was bowing and separated a little under the new window his crew installed. We went back and forth and he stated that the siding was not bowing when he was there. I tried to send him a picture but he says that he did not receive it and he never came by to look at it or anything. At the time I was so mad, & frustrated because this is the 2nd crew he had come out to work on my siding and he kept stating he was a "*********" and would take care of things that I allowed my anger and mistrust to keep me from following up for a while. When I pulled out my contract and realized that the work was under warranty, I contacted him again by email, text, and finally spoke with him. He stated that it wasn't under warranty and he did not need to come fix it, to contact my insurance company. This was on March 22, 2016 when I finally reached him. It has taken me a while to contact the BBB due to being out of town and sick; and honestly hoping he would be the "*********" he said he is and come look at the siding anyway; but he hasn't. My siding is still bowed and you can see where the two pieces of siding are separated. He also stated he was no longer licensed in SC and he wouldn't apply for a license. I have since learned that **********s Contractors License did not even become effective until after our contract was signed, and that it has since expired. The permit he pulled to complete the work on my home was applied for under the name of *******************.

Desired Settlement
I would like Mr. ****** to uphold our contract and come repair my siding.

Business Response
I completed all work at Mrs xxxxx house including roof and siding. The crew I used at first did a unsatisfactory job. The crew made a few mistakes one in which cracked the J chanel of a window. I removed and installed entire 10 squares of siding all over and instead of just fixing or replacing J chanel I installed a complete new window. Siding window and roof were all complete. Mrs xxxxx sighned a certificate of completion stating she was happy with all work and paid final bill. Almost a year later I get a call saying her siding is pulled loose and she wants me to fix it for free. Wind has obviously pulled a small piece loose and it is now a insurance issue. My liscence expired to do work in sc and I am no longer partnered with the company that pulled permit.
Mrs xxxxx is a person who wants something for nothing but that's not how things work. And to top all off there is no warranty written for siding. The roof has a standard 30 year warranty on material and 2 year on labor but this is not a roof issue.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. xxxxx is correct, we did have issues with the first siding crew and then it took him quite a while to get the siding completed due to a window that was broken. As I explained to him when the siding job was done and the window was replaced, I was happy that the job was finally done. I asked him to wait to accept payment because I wanted my husband to inspect the work done but Mr. xxxxx told me that his check to the siding company would bounce if I didn't pay him that day and he told me that if my husband saw any problems or there were any problems that according to the contract there was a two year warranty on the work completed (a copy of the contract is attached). The contract also shows where he initialed that the contract encompassed the work that he was completing on the siding and the gutters in the upper right hand corner (by mutual agreement, he did not complete the gutter work). It also shows where he signed that the work was completed on 08/26/2015; I have a text message from August 30, 2015 at 3:42 PM that I sent him letting him know that there was a bow in the siding under the window. If you would like copies of our text messages, I have them starting from our first text communication dated September 3, 2014 at 4:04 PM to our last text communication dated March 22, 2016 at 7:10 PM. But Mr. xxxxx was notified of the problem in the siding; which he is now trying to pass off as wind damage. He even suggested that I contact my insurance company and file a claim because he would not fix the damage and he gave me that bit of advice just by looking at a picture not by coming out and looking at the house. Since this might be considered insurance fraud, I did not follow his advice. The signed contract attached shows that the warranty is for two years from the date the work was completed. It also shows where he wrote on it the date the work was completed. I would like Mr. xxxxx to uphold the contract he signed and agreed to. Again, please let me know if you would like copies of our text communications, I also have all of our email communications if you would like those as well. All I am asking is that he fix the issue with the siding that he created when he left the siding with a bow in it. I of course would like to be on hand when it is being repaired. Thank you.

Final Business Response
I provided service on a roof and siding paid for by insurance.
My crew did not install siding correctly. I inspected job and found that not only was siding not done correctly but the plastic xxxxx on the side of a picture window was cracked. Note xxxxx said window was broke. Window had cracked xxxxx which doesn't affect the way the window works. I xxxxx went above and beyond what was needed to fix job. What xxxxx also didn't mention was that the reason it took so long to come out is that one of my contractors who looked at siding is who she chose to fix job. When she was available he was not and when he was available she was not. I offered another crew to fix immediately but xxxxx wanted names of people they worked for pictures of previous work...ect I finally convinced her to let my other crew complete job. She agreed. We didn't just fix plastic on window but we removed all siding and installed correctly we also installed a brand new picture window. I have the crew leader and owner of budget remodling as a witness that she was thrilled with work. No issues. I have a sighned contract called a certificate of completion that states she has inspected work and is satisfied that it is complete according to insurance est. And then she paid me which indicates she was satisfied with work. Many months later I get a call asking me to fix siding again when it is obviously wind damage. Wind pulls siding loose causing it to come of wall. It has been right at 1 year since work has been preformed. So any one reading this can go to www.xxxxx.org and see xxxxx was hit with storms. I stand behind my work. It cost nothing to pop siding into place. Its the principal. I wouldn't do work for this lady again even if there was a million dollars in proffit.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Stump Removal & Grinding, Siding Contractors, Contractors - Framing, Deck Builder, Painting Contractors, Home Improvements, Contractors - Gutters, Gutters & Downspouts, Tree Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/12/2012Business started: 06/01/2011
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2012, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Burden (Owner)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Stump Removal & Grinding, Siding Contractors, Contractors - Framing, Deck Builder, Painting Contractors, Home Improvements, Contractors - Gutters, Gutters & Downspouts, Tree Service

Alternate Business Names
Burden Improvements
Industry Tips
ROOFING CONTRACTORS

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Burden Improvements, Inc.

500 Nash Ct.

Gastonia, NC 28054

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 500 Nash Ct. 

    Gastonia, NC 28054(704) 908-8048
    (704) 207-4901
    Fax: (704) 908-8038

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Burden Improvements, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (704) 908-8048
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

ROOFING CONTRACTORS
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.