BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/03/2007

Redman Properties, Inc.

Phone: (704) 782-3333Fax: (704) 631-4522

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
06/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Rented xxxxx; 3-13 until 3-15. Gave notice of vacating apt. 1-15. Numerous calls for lease end walk-through,Did not show up.

Several attempts were made and ignored. The apartment was left in excellent condition. Carpet cleaned, holes on wall where pictures were patched, but not painted since I knew this would be done before renting out again. 3months was enough time for coming and inspecting telling me why my security deposit was not returned. Will not return calls. Last call made on 5-8-2015. No reason to hold security deposit. No correspondance from company. Left this apartment in great condition. Company cannot deny this. Moved out on 3-6-15. Lease did not end til 3-31-15. Still had time to walk through but continued to ignore any correspondance from me, or roommate.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking my deposit of 1100 dollars. This should have been resolved months ago. This is not acceptable for my deposit to be held since I was ignored and I think this could have been settled months ago if appointments were kept that were promised to but did not show up for. I was at the apartment for the meetings, the last one scheduled was March 27,2015 and still they did not show therefore how can my money be held with this kind of practice?

Business Response
Homeowner of property did not complete a final walk through form nor did she provide any feed back about home. We did not have notice to return the deposit. Copy of check is provided and will be sent to address on move out notice.
Regards

Consumer Response


03/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refusal to provide 2014 property account statement (required for taxes)and refund of tenant deposit following 16-Dec. 2014 termination of contract.
We contracted with Redman Properties for all aspects of property management for our xxxxx, NC home located at xxxxx. Our first tenant moved into the home in early 2012. For the duration of our contract with Redman Properties, we suffered a myriad of challenges related to timely deposits of rental income and timely provision of monthly reports. In 2014, Redman Properties began to perform maintenance above and beyond what was authorized in our contract ($250) without our prior approval. When we began questioning the numerous maintenance activities amongst other concerns that the current tenant was living in the house while mold remediation was taking place, an argument ensued, to include responses via phone and email from xxxxx that were unprofessional. As we live out of state, this was especially frustrating and disappointing. During our final conversation, I mentioned that we will not be renewing our contract and xxxxx should consider this a verbal notice of our intentions.

Immediately following this final conversation, on 16-December, 2014, xxxxx sent us the following notice via email:

"Due to the continued lack of understanding my position and requirements of the NC Real Estate Law, I property manager for Redman Properties Inc. do hereby declare that my services are immediately terminated. Any funds received will be held for 60 days after this termination to allow for all outstanding bills to be received and paid prior to sending any funds remaining for your property. Redman Properties Inc. will not handle any further business on your behalf with any vendors, tenant or such effective today's date and time of email sent. Attached you will find the signed NC Residential Rental Contract for the current tenant. As you will note he was to start with occupancy effective November 17, 2014. He did indeed stay in hotel in hopes that the work would be completed in a timely fashion. Tenant is xxxxx - his contact number is xxxxx. Please review your obligations as an owner and all information should be forwarded to the tenant of the property. Regards, xxxxx"

We have handled all landlord obligations as specified in the contract. However, more than 60 days have passed since 16-December, 2014 and we have yet to receive any funds remaining from the $350 security deposit paid to Redman Properties on 12-Nov. 2014 by Mr. xxxxx (current tenant living at xxxxx), or the 2014 1099-MISC and annual account report for this property required for completion of our taxes. In addition, xxxxx has not responded to any of our email or phone inquiries requesting these items.

Please note: all contracts and associated written correspondence are available for review, as appropriate.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking a check for any funds remaining from the $350 security deposit paid to Redman Properties on 12-Nov. 2014 by Mr. xxxxx (current tenant living at xxxxx in xxxxx). Receipts for outstanding bills paid utilizing the $350 security deposit. Finally, the 2014 xxxxx and annual account report for this property sent to us via email as it is required for completion of our taxes.

Business Response
We have made several attempts to provide this information. However, what we have provided per reports and such owner has felt that it is not exclusive enough to accept. Yes we did start managing their rental property in 2012. In the beginning of this 2012 contracted time Mr and Mrs xxxxx were provided their monthly rental income via checks. These checks were being mailed to Washington state. As for the length of time it took to get there I can not state as to what happens in the xxxxx once it is placed in the box. As for the maintenance it is difficult to anticipate the total cost of things until the work has already began. When maintenance is in the middle of doing the task sometimes it is impossible to stop and wait for an approval. Do to the long distance communication gaining answers does take time, or even days to get a response.The conversation that took place on Dec 16 2014 was a very heated conversation with Mr. xxxxx and due to the volume of this conversation I did feel that an immediate termination was reasonable. This home was in the middle of a mold remediation contract with xxxxx. I had continue to ask to be in the loop so that I could continue to perform my management services. When the xxxxx made their decision to contract with xxxxx I had not been informed. When I would check in with xxxxx was the only way I could gain knowledge of the status. Some of the delay had occured due to the Communication gap.

Per attached documents you will find the documentation of this information and all funds have been handled. Mr. and Mrs xxxxx are still asking for documentation of all maintenance performed for their property in 2014. We are looking through last years paperwork as the first 6 months of the year had been tracked in a different system. These will also be provided to the xxxxx as soon as they have been found.

06/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
garage door replaced with faulty door without safety features and repairs made without my consent and then billed for them
My name is ******** ****** and I have leased a home in *******, NC for 2 years and I have been a good tenant. paying my rent on time and keeping up the property. I knew it was always difficult to get anything repaired, even small things like the ice maker or dishwasher but after sending requests and calling several times I would usually give up and find someone myself or have a friend fix it.
That was until the garage door broke.
The garage door was old and it just broke from old age. (the first time that is). The garage door being an expensive item was something I could not afford to replace. I use my garage on a daily basis so I wanted it fixed and so my journey began with the leasing company (******'s Properties, *******, NC) to please have someone look at it and have it repaired. It was finally repaired after a month of me asking. Shortly after the repair my children and I were going inside from the garage and we pushed the button to close the door, in just a few seconds it was making a horrible noise and it got stuck and started to crumple. I immediately hit the button for the door to go back up but the damage was done. After investigating I found a broom handle had fallen in the way and blocked the garage door from closing. This did not make sense to me as any garage door, when resistance is met, it pops back open, it should have never continued to try to close. (what if one of my kids had been in the way???))

I once again called the leasing company and tried to explain the situation to no avail. After multiple phone calls and nothing in return I started emailing the owner of the leasing company. I have many exchanges of email with the owner and a secretary at the leasing company, I begged them to call me, I became demanding. Finally after yet another month I decided to give my notice to move out as it was too difficult to get any repairs made. A few short hours after my email to move from the home they called and stated the owner and some repair man were at my home, while I wasn't there, without any notice and they had repaired the door and that there was no way it got damaged the way I said and they were charging me for it $550!!!!

I pleaded with the leasing company that I would like for the owner and the repair man to meet me at the home and I could show them what the issue was. When I got home that evening I looked at the garage door and realized what the problem was. The old door (the first, before any repair) I used to not pull into the garage quite all the way with my mini-van, because it barely fit in garage, and I would hit the garage door button and when the door would come down onto my bumper it would pop back open. I did it all the time, and every time the door would just go back up because it met resistance. The new door did not have that and that is why when it hit the broom handle it didn't pop back up, it just kept trying to close and crumpled the door.


After research I found that all garage doors are supposed to have entrapment safety devices ie: emergency release, motion sensor, and pressure sensor. The first door I had did have the pressure sensor. Pressure sensors if meet greater than 15 lbs of pressure the door reverses and goes back up. The second and now third door do not have it!!!

Long story short: I should not be charged for door for 2 reasons they installed a door without safety features and they repaired it without my consent or giving me the opportunity to find a cheaper repair person, or even telling me before it was repaired that I would be billed for it.


I am a single mother of 4 children and cannot afford to pay for someone elses mistake. I work 2 jobs and I go to school full-time and I have always taken good care of this home. I have been a good tenant. I am moving but I am afraid they will try to put something on my credit about the garage door, or take my deposit because I refuse to pay the bill. Please help

Desired Settlement
I am moving but I want in writing that I am not responsible for the bill that #1 they did not give me an estimate and #2 did not give me opportunity to find my own repair person if I was going to be responsible for it

Business Response
Thank you for the ability to respond to this above stated issue.

The resident of xxxxx, contacted our office originally with a garage door concerns seeing as while having the door close a broom handle had stopped the door from completely closing. Due to this broom handle the tenant needed to get a neighbor to help remove one of the arms on the door and remove 2 panels from the top of the door to get it to close. This maintenance request was forwarded to the owner who immediately contact a professional garage door company who has been in business for 30 years to do the repair / replacement. When the tech arrived at the home for the repair / replacement he was met by the owner. A new garage door was issued for replacement and the order and install came as quickly as possible. The replacement was only the arm and the door, the motor nor the sensor where in need of replacement. The door was tested and considered working correctly per the experienced tech. Shortly after this Ms. xxxxx contacted our office via email ( Friday, May 2, 2014 @ 14:38:48) and stated that there were additional concerns with the door as it was not working properly and it would not return to it's up position if something gets in the way. She tested it several times and it was not working. We responded to Ms. xxxxx right away and informed her that the information was forwarded to the owner for him to get the contractor who installed the garage door to come back out to check the sensors. In this email send the tenant did state that she would be on vacation for a week and provided her personal email for communications as well as her work email. On May 8, 2014 at 11:34am email was received from Ms. xxxxx looking for an update as she was still out of town and left a cell number for information as well. She stated that there was a lock box on the house and that she could give us the code if we needed to get inside of the home. Our office responded on Thursday May 8, 2014 at 11:34am letting Ms xxxxx know that the owner is out of town as well and would not be back until the 12th and he had stated that he would check it out and call the installers when he got back. As the owner handled this repair and payment and us as Property Managers did not have this information. Ms. xxxxx responded that she felt that 3 weeks to order and replace the original request and now 2 weeks to review and have this fixed is way too long. She went on the state that if this was not resolved by the 16th of May should would have to move. Redman Properties Inc responded at 1:36pm on the 8th day Of May, 2014, that we understand her frustrations and that is have the right to supply her 30 day notice if she feels this is warranted. We went into discussion of the time frame in which everything was handled and that we are attempting to get a resolution for her concerns.We instructed her that we are working for the owner and we are on his time schedule seeing as he was the one in charge of taking care of this repair per his request. Ms. xxxxx responded from her personal email at 3:41pm the same day with her discouragement on the delay and amount of time it is taking to get anything resolved.She stated that a full month from the original break to the May 16th date is way too long for something to be handled. She expressed her apologies for the tones of her emails and looked forward to hearing back from us. She stated that it's not necessarily that she wants to move or deal with all that goes on with it but would like to have a management company that is concerned about making the tenant happy. Again in our previous email to Ms. xxxxx we did inform her that our contract is with the owner of the property and we must perform the task that he directs us to do so.

The morning of Monday May 19, 2014 at 10:28am we received an email from Ms xxxxx, stating that she is sending the email as a formal 30 day notice for leaving the rental home for poor customer service in reference to the repairs. We responded Monday May 19, 2014 @ 11:16am stating that we were in receipt of her email and that we do not feel that our office has not responded to her request as we have been in non stop email communications regarding this matter. We acknowledge her 30 notice and would like for her to make arrangement to provide the keys and a forwarding address. On Monday May 19, 2014 at 1:19pm Redman Properties Inc sent and email to Ms xxxxx letting her know that the company and the owner's wife would be at the home in 20 minutes. Asked for the code to the lock box so if they needed to get in it would be possible. We did not get a response from Ms xxxxx with this information requested. On May 19, 2014 @ 2:39pm Redman Properties Inc sent and email to Ms xxxxx after speaking with the Owner's Wife and the Tech that perform the original complete door replacement in April 2014. The door will be able to be repaired at a cost of $550 due to the damage that was created from the broom handle that stopped and broke the new door that was replaced. The tech, the owner, and his wife stated that they felt this cost is the tenant due to the broom handle. On Tuesday, May 20, 2014 at 8:44am we received and email from Ms xxxxx stating that when she arrived home from work the door was repaired, but it still does not have a pressure sensor. Ms xxxxx supplied an website and quoted US federal law information. All this information was forwarded to the owner(s) for their review. The owner(s) contacted the garage door tech and discussed the concerns presented in the email and decided that the original decision still stands as the door is working properly and the cost is still the cost to the tenant.

May 22, 2014 at 9:16am Redman Properties Inc received and email form Ms xxxxx with questions about the garage door and if the person who installed it and the owner to please have a meeting with her so that she could show them what she was talking about, what was missing from the garage door. Redman Properties responded at 10:45am that we were out of the office and we would forward the email to the owner and get with her on the 27th for discussion.

On Friday, May 30, 2014 at 12:46pm Redman Properties send an email to Ms xxxxx stating that we did discuss this matte with the owner and the garage door tech and both parties feel that the work performed has met all requirements and a meeting will not change the outcome for the situation. Ms xxxxx was given the option of a payment plan to help with budgeting the repair cost the owner(s) understand that this is an unforeseen expense. She was given the ability for the repair cost to broken into 4 monthly payments to be included with the months rent in the amount of $137.50 additional. We thanked her for her patience. There has not been any further communication with Ms xxxxx to today's date.

Redman Properties Inc does not feel that this is a vaild complaint as we have stated the email dates and times we have spoken with Ms xxxxx and there are several noted phone conversations as well. We feel that the issue at hand with Ms xxxxx is between the tenant and the landlord and their decision and not with the performance of Redman Properties Inc.

Again, Thank you for the opportunity to respond.

12/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had to sell my house in a short sale due to tenants living there without paying rent.
I hired Redman Properties to manage a rental house I owned in xxxxx,NC. I signed a contract with them to manage the tenants and collect rent. They inspected the property prior to finding a tenant and found repairs that needed to be made. They made the repairs and billed me approx. $1400.00. This amount was paid when they located a tenant and took rent collected and applied it toward the bill. After that bill was paid only $500.00 in rent was ever forwarded to me again. I am a single parent and was not able to afford the mortgage payment along with my normal bills. I had to put the property up for sale. The property was sold as a "short sale" through xxxxx bank. During the sale, the agent went to the property that was supposed to be vacant and found squatters living in the residence. I contacted xxxxx who told me that she had evicted the tenants for non payment. This was false. The tenants lived in the property for about 8 months and never paid rent. Redman properties who had agreed in their contract to bring any tenant to court who did not pay did not follow through on their contract. I have not seen any money from this company, and I no longer own the house because I was forced to sell.

Desired Settlement
I want the rent that is owed to me for the time the tenants were in the residence. Either Redman properties will collect the rent due or pay me themselves. I believe because I was not able to be there personally, or get there due to my responsibilities I was taken advantage of and lost my house. I would have been able to keep the property if the rent had been collected and forwarded to me.

Business Response
We began our services with Mr.xxxxx in July 2012. We were in contact with the existing tenant and then put in place to rehab the home and secure a new tenant. The inspection of the home from existing tenant was performed and information was given to Mr. xxxxx on July 26, 2012 @ 2:24pm. At this time the exiting tenant stated that Mr. xxxxx was holding their security deposit and they needed it back. I forwarded all this information to Mr. xxxxx for him to handle as it was prior our services. On August 14, 2012 @ 8:39pm i notified Mr. xxxxx of a showing while the rehab continued. He then proceeded to ask if i would manage another property in xxxxx, SC. In instructed him that we did not. A tenant was secured for the home in September 2012. This tenant immediate began to call our office with concerns of the status of the home. As they were receiving large amounts of mail to the owner from xxxxx bank. We stated that we did not know of any concerns with the home maybe it was a refinance. After numerous phone calls to the owner we did get an answer that he was going through some hard times but that things should work out. The tenant continued to call with concerns when there were multiple times that someone stopped and photoed the home as well. Then they started to receive notices hung on the front door as well. Yes the tenants were slow to pay and we were continually attempting to collect the rent knowing that Mr. xxxxx needed the funds. Tenant had court evictions filed in December 2012. Called our office and made a credit card payment. Court was dismissed. And then 2 days later the card was returned not fundable! We made contact with tenants again to no avail. We then received a call from Mr. xxxxx contracted listing agent to our surprise. The agent then stated that she had been contracted for several weeks and did not know who to call or how to handle the issue. I had only 2 additional calls or conversations with the listing agent or the owner of the property. When i went by the home and saw that the tenants were still in the home I filed with our company's own money to get the tenant evicted. Once these papers had been served, i receive a call back from the tenant who stated that the home had been sold and they were under new management. Not the selling agent or the owner disclosed this information. I see that there is alot of miscommunication with this property and contract and feel that the owner was not truthful in the beginning as the short sale / foreclosure process had already been started some time prior to our contract. And seeing that the owner did not call to disclose the listing nor the sale of the home. I do not feel that Redman Properties Inc could have done anymore than what we did under the circumstances and the lack of communication all the way around. We are regretful that Mr. xxxxx had to do a short sale on his home and do wish him the best in his future adventures.

The account that was left in our system has been turned over to a collection and reporting company. As of today's date we have not received any calls regarding the outstanding balance for the tenants that were in the home under our management.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will provide the following which has been filed with the NC Attorney General's office and with the NC Real Estate Commission: On July 12,2012 I entered into a real estate management contract with xxxxx dba Redman Properties. This contract was to manage the property at xxxxx NC. Redman Properties then inspected the property and made the necessary repairs at a cost of $2300.00. In the first part of October 2012 the property was leased to xxxxx at a rate of $1200.00 per month, with one month to be held as a security deposit. As the tenant paid the rent in the first few months the money collected was applied to the balance that was due to Redman Properties for the repairs. Since the balance was paid I have only received a total of $997.27. This has left a balance of $4366.85. The mortgage, which I have supporting paperwork, that was current until the tenant ceased paying the rent fell in arrears. I was then unable after exhausting my savings to keep up with the mortgage on the property. I contacted the bank and made arrangements with them for the short sale. xxxxx bank assigned the realtor for the sale. The only lack of communication was on the part of xxxxx who did not return numerous phone calls in an attempt to resolve the issue. I also have all the records of calls made and messages left with no response. I was never informed that there was an eviction notice even given to the tenant. I was never given any paperwork or notice that there had been an eviction filed. I also have the original contract made with Redman Properties. I am seeking the back fees that are due to me totaling $4366.85. I am attempting to resolve this issue in an attempt to avoid litigation over the matter. I would hope that Redman Properties would take advantage of trying to resolve this matter. With Redman Properties displaying the BBB seal as an accredited business (see first page of contract) I would like to believe they would seek a satisfactory resolution.


Final Business Response
Understanding the information supplied in the Consumer's compliant response, xxxxx nor Redman Properties can provide funds for this situation as there are no funds to be disbursed. All repairs were discussed in detail prior to any work beginning and approval was given to move forward. Once the tenant had been secured, the contractors who performed the work did receive payment for their services per agreement. This tenant was a very difficult tenant and very slow to pay. We call and emailed this tenant each month to get payments. Once payments were made either via check or credit card with in 48 hours of payment they were returned for NSF. This happened almost monthly. January 15, 2013 Consumer received auto deposit of $457.27; March 1, 2013 Consumer received auto deposit in the amount of $982.40; April 2, 2013 Consumer received funds of $540.00, this is a total amount of $1979.67.Yes this is not what should be expected however all funds received were forwarded to the owners as soon as we could verify they were good funds.January 8, 2013 Consumer sent and email to me stating that he would like for me to start whatever paperwork necessary to list the home as his other rental property was draining him. I completed and prepared all paperwork and emailed the following day. No further communication was made via email regarding this request. Late March to early April I was contacted by xxxxx who stated she was the listing agent for the Consumer's home. This was quite the surprise. I helped with the home and getting the necessary paperwork to the tenant per her request. April 8, 2013 was the last communication I had with the selling agent. We continued to charge rent and made many, many attempts to the tenant for collecting funds. July 19, 2013 and email communication was made with Consumer regarding the eviction of the possible squatters in the home. At this time I told the Consumer due to the time lapse and concerns per or phone conversation Redman Properties would pay for the eviction themselves with no cost to him. As the Consumer was refusing to send funds to pay for the eviction in previous conversations. I had an email with tenant who then verified that he was still living in the home and we started the eviction process. By the time that we got the process started and filed the closing had been completed to no knowledge to us at all and the tenant were under new management.

11/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Has refused to return my security deposit also medical fee's due mold in home, postal fee's

Desired Settlement
Would like to reimbursed for security deposit and medical fee's in the amount of $5000.00

Business Response
The above referenced "Tenant" has been mailed a complete letter of security deposit disclosure with a statement disclosing that due to the large amount of damages over and beyond normal wear and tear a full itemized statement would be mailed out within an additional 30 days. This has also been supplied to the above referenced tenant. Tenant did not and has not provided any documentation to the owner or Redman Properties Inc as his Agent of any issues with possible mold concerns inside the home. The residence has had yearly inspection performed from xxxxx County Housing and this has never been disclosed or mentioned. We feel that all proper protocol has been completed and do not feel that this is a vaild complaint.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This company has told numerous of lies and has created bogus repairs in order to keep my deposit. I have also filed a complaint with the Attorney General office and filed a small claims case against them. Per the xxxxx County Housing (I have documents from the xxxxx County Housing) they do not check the closets for mold. Both closets and the roof as well and the side of the home has mold and I have pictures to show. I took pictures of the entire home on the day I moved out. I have sent them a rebuttal letter about the bogus repairs and have not heard a thing back. I have medical records of my illness. I lived in this house for 11 years. I have copies of text messages and voicemail where I left personal with xxxxx about the mold that was in the home. He sent a man out to clean that one closet but due to the mold was so bad it done nothing and I have the man name and date that he came out to clean. I will be willing to pay for Mr. xxxxx to take a polygraph test and say I never told him personally about the mold in the home. This company is trying to get over and keep my money and now owes me for medical bills. I have inserted pictures of the mold in the home.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate, Property Management

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.