BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/09/2014

Paradise Realty & Property Management, LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (704) 777-2121Fax: (704) 831-5332View Additional Phone Numbers8310 Medical Plaza Dr STE G, CharlotteNC 28262-6703

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/09/2014

BBB has determined that Paradise Realty & Property Management, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Paradise Realty & Property Management, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Paradise Realty & Property Management, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
07/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Rental home was advertised as " All utilities and trash". After deposit was made, this was said to be a mistake on the advertisement.
Rental property was advertised as rent including all utilities and trash, and having laundry in unit. After we submitted a security deposit, we were informed that the cost of utilities or trash were NOT included in the rental price, and the person who wrote the advertisement "made a mistake". Our request for a reduction in rent due to the increased cost because of the utilities was denied. We also requested the utilities be included in the price as it was advertised and this was denied as well. Since we were moving across the country (had been driving for four days) and this happened on our move in date, we arrived to a dirty house that had no electricity, water, or gas. This caused us to not be able to move into the rental home for 2 more days, costing us additional money for hotel costs. The agency expressed no care for our extreme dissatisfaction of the falsely advertised home.Upon moving in, we also discovered numerous problems with the rental home. These included: non-functioning refrigerator, non-functioning garage door, non-functioning kitchen sink and garbage disposal. There was also no washer or dryer and we were told that the advertised "laundry in unit" simply meant a laundry hook up.In addition, the home was dirty and the lawn had not been maintained to neighborhood requirements so we had to take care of that as well. We also were told we would be given a garage door opener, and neighborhood pool access key, and 32 days after move in, we still do not have these items despite numerous requests for them. Mostly all questions regarding the property that we have asked our rental agent are ignored. The additional cost of utilities and trash service is expected to cost us an additional $300.00-$500.00 per month.

Desired Settlement
I would like either all utilities and trash service to be covered as the property was advertised or I would like the equivalent reduction in monthly rent.

Business Response
Ms. *******, accepted the house and sign the contract with no utilities included, she is saying that we did false advertising but I have also attached proof of the listing on the MLS, she is further saying that Zillow says Laundry in unit, but this just means that a laundry room is available, on the appliances it does not say nothing about washer and dryer, but we when ahead and purchase a washer and dryer for Ms. *******, we also fixed all problems and replace a refrigerator, provided a pool pass and garage opener, ever since Ms. ******* move in she has been complaining about the property, what she lack to tell you is that she apply for the property being in another state and once she view the house in person she did not have to get it, after Ms. ******* was already here she felt that she had no other choice but than to take the property. We did not obligate Ms. ******* in any way to sign a contract in fact we been repairing everything that she has ask for, and all the invoices shows proof of this. We hope that we could solved this matter in a friendly way, and we understand her frustration from moving so far, but we are trying to make things better for her and her family. Thank you

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. ********* has referred to an MLS listing. Unfortunately, I did not respond to the MLS listing because I never saw the MLS listing. I responded to the listing on Zillow, which is the listing that I will continue to reference.
I do not believe this was an advertising mistake, I believe this was a "bait and switch". Mr. ********* has acknowledged from the very beginning that the original Zillow listing (which listed " ALL Utilities and Trash" was inaccurate. If Mr. ********* does not know how to advertise properly on Zillow, then the home should never have been advertised on there. Furthermore, when we expressed interest in the property, no reference to an MLS listing was ever made.
Mr. ********* also disputes the washer and dryer. I am attaching a copy of the Zillow listing which has "washer" listed as an appliance. It also has dishwasher, so I do not know what other type of "washer" this could be besides a clothes washer. The rental agent, **** *******, acknowledged that the washer was listed as an appliance when we arrived at the property, which is why one was put in the house. (and a dryer as a "favor").
The receipt and work orders that are all dated past June 1st, when the lease went active only prove that the home was not in move in condition. The home was advertised was a refrigerator, not a broken refrigerator. I can repeat the same for the kitchen sink, garbage disposal, garage door, etc. If Mr. ********* is indeed the property manager then it is his responsibility to ensure that the house is in in working condition prior to moving tenants in. He failed to do this. It is not my job as a tenant to move into the home and discover the various broken and faulty features for him.
Lastly, Mr. ********* is correct in saying that my husband and I moved to the home after a 4 day drive from ****************. This is not something I am trying to hide. My husband and I went to sign the lease electronically on *** 30. We saw it did not include utilities or trash services on it and immediately (and repeatedly) called and emailed the agent **** *******. We had no response until we were less than two hours from the home on *** 31st, when we were planning on moving in. At this point, we had been travelling for days, my husband was due to start work within 48 hours, we had a U Haul with all our belongings, and we had no where to live had we chosen not to live in the home. We had put our trust in the agents of Paradise Realty in dealing with them long distance, assuming that they were following the higher code of ethics that all licensed agents are held to. We believed wrong.

05/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Misleading information concerning information on a tenant
I was recently made aware that tenants that were living at my home actually had an excess of 4 or more dogs ( big ones) at a time at the house and I was only made aware of one dog which the property management company showed me a picture of and I received a pet fee for but never made aware that there were so many dogs in the home. Had that been the case I probably would not have rented the property to them because my specific preference was small dogs only as they do not make as much damage. I have reason to believe that the company did not advise me of this even when the company did the lawn work and would have found out even if the tenants did not alert them of this.

Desired Settlement
I wish to receive a refund for the 4 months that I used them as my property management company which is a total of 558.00 in fees they collected from me.

Business Response
Ms. ****** cancel there contract with us just 4 months into the year because she was having a financial hardship where she move to the state of ******** she ask of if she could get her property and move back into it, we advised Ms. ****** that there was a lease in place and that the tenant had possession of the property for until the lease expired. Ms. ****** later found another way to cancel our Property Management agreement. Since we when into contract with Ms. ****** she has been calling us to waived the innitial property management fees every month. We have terminated our contract with Ms. ****** she has been going through some financial problems but there is no reason to take it out on us seeking more money from us. We already loss a lot of time and money dealing with this person. We wish her the best. Thank you

Consumer Response
Original Message
From: ***** ******
Sent: Saturday, May 31, 2014 10:32 AM
To: BBB General Info
Subject: Recent complaint

Hello I made a recent complaint to the paradise realty regarding my contract with them and I received a response but I accidentally accepted his response instead of being able to respond to it so now I lost it. Is it possible to retrieve it? I don't have the complaint number written down either. Can you help? Thank you!

***** ** ******


Consumer Response
Despite any money problems I might have had the company still received their startup fees and maintenance fees whether it was the first month or the fourth month. One has nothing to do with the other. Plus I'm not asking for the start up fees I'm asking for the four months maintenance fees refunded due to the level of in professionalism in maintaining and repairs in my property. Since when is giving a 30 day notice of cancellation a reason to cease repairs on a broken item that needed repairs?


Business Response
Part of our job is not only to find a tenant for the property but to collect rent and disburse rent to owner. We have always kept all of our client updated with all new changes that occur in the properties, with this home at the time of the lease, the tenant made us aware they had one small dog only. We told them we needed a pet fee and also needed to meet the dog so that we can have a picture of the dog this was to assure that if we saw any other dog then they would need to seek approval or get rid of the dog immediately if not they would be in breach of contract and a eviction would follow unless they comply. Mrs.****** needed to let us go because of financial hardship and we completely understand so we decided to let her manage her property. Under our management if this issue was noted it would have been dealt with accordingly,the tenants knew and understood this therefore they obeyed the rules. Now when Mrs.****** took over it became her responsibility to check and confirm that they where still in compliance as they were when they were in our care. If they were indeed hiding pets in the house under her care then they should be held accountable, for being in breach of contract. Also when a tenant is renting he is paying for quite and peaceful enjoyment of the house. We can not by law go there every month and harass them, to find if they are in violations of anything. We apologies for any confusion that Mrs.****** may have and we hope to have explain clearly the dilemma at hand and if you are now in need of services we are more than happy to take over again the management of the house.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate, Property Management

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/11/2013Business started: 01/01/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Real Estate Commission, NC
PO Box 17100
Raleigh, NC27619-7100
(919) 875-3700
http://www.ncrec.state.nc.us

BBB records show a license number of 249384 for this company, issued by Real Estate Commission, NC. Their web address is http://www.ncrec.state.nc.us.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Hernandez (Broker in Charge/Manager)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Real Estate, Property Management

Alternate Business Names
Paradise Realty, The Paradise Realty

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Paradise Realty & Property Management, LLC

8310 Medical Plaza Dr STE G

Charlotte, NC 28262-6703

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 8310 Medical Plaza Dr STE G 

    Charlotte, NC 28262-6703(704) 232-7599
    (704) 777-2121

  • PO Box 26143 

    Charlotte, NC 28221-6143

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Paradise Realty & Property Management, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (704) 232-7599
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Real Estate

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.