BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/06/2009

Carolinas Dynamic Realty

Find a Location

Phone: (704) 523-7368Fax: (704) 523-125310935 Winds Crossing Dr STE 200, CharlotteNC 28273-2301

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/06/2009

BBB has determined that Carolinas Dynamic Realty meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Carolinas Dynamic Realty's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Carolinas Dynamic Realty

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
03/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company decided not to manage a rental property for me any longer, but decided not to return money to me or provide documentation of charges.
The tenant in the rental property was evicted and should have forfeited her security deposit b/c Carolinas Dynamic Realty had not collected rent in over 2 months before she was removed from the property. They also had a $300 security deposit for miscellaneous repairs in my account. The total money held was $1,000 and I have contacted them numerous times to find out where this money went and to provide backup documentation, but they will not respond to my request.

The only charges would have been to change one lock and the court costs to remove the tenant. I cannot get through to the company to get information.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a final statement along with backup documentation of charges (receipts, invoices) to prove where the money went.

Business Response
Prior to Tuesday, March 1, 2016, our last e-mail with this client was in October, 2015.

On Tuesday, March 1, 2016, we received the e-mail below.

From: ************** mailto:******************
Sent: Tuesday, March 1, XXXX XX:XX PM
To: Property Manager <******************************>
Subject: Re: **************************

Can you send me a copy of the *** 2015 statement and also a copy of the bills for the eviction and to change the locks????

I need to know where the remainder of the tenant's security deposit ($700) and my $300 were sent to.

That e-mail was responded to the same day, with the e-mail below.

From: Property Manager <******************************>
Date: 03/01/2016 3:31 PM (GMT-05:00)
To: '**************' <******************>
Cc: ******************************
Subject: RE: **************************


*** 2015 statement attached.

Your final statement after eviction costs, lock change, etc. was sent out in 2015 as well, and actually had a balance due to us of $88.49.

Thanks,
Carolinas Dynamic Realty
704.523.7368 - Office
704.523.1253 - Fax
Charlotte Office * 10935 Winds Crossing Drive, Suite 200 * *********, NC 28273
Matthews Office * 1122 Industrial Drive, Suite 100 * Matthews, NC XXXXX
E-Mail: ******************************
Web: www.RentCharlotteProperty.com

Carolinas Dynamic Realty... Helping Buyers, Sellers, Landlords, and Tenants achieve their Real Estate goals... **** is good, but we are never too busy for you or your referrals!
************ then responded with the e-mail below.

From: ******** mailto:******************
Sent: Tuesday, March 1, XXXX X:XX PM
To: Property Manager <******************************>
Subject: RE: **************************

I never received the final statement. Please send again.



Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE smartphone
************ requested a duplicate copy of his final statement less than 72 hours ago, and then filed a complaint with the BBB before we had a chance to e-mail it to him.

We responded to *********** today, less than 72 hours from the time that he requested a duplicate copy of his final statement, and included a copy of his final statement.

From: Property Manager mailto:******************************
Sent: Friday, March 4, 2016 1:56 PM
To: '********' <******************>
Cc: '******************************' <******************************>
Subject: RE: **************************

*******,

You e-mailed on Tuesday and asked for a duplicate copy of your May 2015 statement, and information about the security deposit, and your reserve fund. That e-mail came after we have had no communication with you whatsoever since October 21, 2015.

That e-mail was responded to the exact same day with a copy of the May 2015 statement, and your being told that your final statement with us had a balance due - that you weren't owed anything.

You then responded that you didn't get a copy of that statement, and to resend. Since that time I have been looking in to your final statement. When I responded to your e-mail on Tuesday, I told you that you had a balance due of $88.49. That was the last amount that I saw on your account at the time, however, after retrieving your final statement, that was not your final balance due. You requested that we resend your final statement, which we have now retrieved to send you, and your balance due is actually much higher.

The first statement our firm ever sent you was on June 16, 2010. I have attached a copy of that statement to this e-mail. As you will see on this statement, your reserve fund was always $200, not $300. Our firm requires each property owner to establish a reserve fund, and it is always the same amount - $200.00.

As you will see from your final statement, which a copy of is attached, you actually have a balance due with our firm in the amount of $308.49. There are no funds owed to you.

Prior to this week, we hadn't heard from you since October 2015. We responded to your e-mail asking for the May 2015 statement the same day. You then e-mailed, asking for a duplicate copy of your final statement, and we were working on getting another copy of your final statement to you, which we have now done. You didn't notify us until this Tuesday, after 5 months, that you didn't receive your final statement, or that you had any issues. You notified us on Tuesday afternoon that you didn't receive a copy of the final statement, and you have it less than 72 hours later.

As you know, in 5 years of our managing your property, you never had an issue receiving a statement from us. When we didn't hear from you for 5 months, it was assumed that you had received a copy of this statement. We wish you the best, and will assume this matter is closed.

Thanks,
*******************
Property Manager / Realtor / Broker
Carolinas Dynamic Realty
704.523.7368 - Office
704.523.1253 - Fax
Charlotte Office * 10935 Winds Crossing Drive, Suite 200 * Charlotte, NC 28273
Matthews Office * 1122 Industrial Drive, Suite 100 * Matthews, NC XXXXX
E-Mail: ******************************
Web: www.RentCharlotteProperty.com

Carolinas Dynamic Realty... Helping Buyers, Sellers, Landlords, and Tenants achieve their Real Estate goals... **** is good, but we are never too busy for you or your referrals!

We were able to respond to *********** initial request the same day he e-mailed our office. It then took our office less than 3 business days to fully respond to his follow up request, which we have now done.

When a client asks for a duplicate statement, it sometimes takes a few days for that statement to be sent, however, our statements are always sent timely.

Our office managed ***********' property for over 5 years, and always sent statements promptly.

We really don't feel that a duplicate statement taking less than 72 hours should have resulted in a complaint to the BBB.

05/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
An overall lack of maintenance on the property and a lack of communication despite repeated requests
From the beginning this company has been very dificult to deal with. They insisted on an unusual amount of information for a rental property and then told us to enter NPI and PII(personally identifiable information) type information as well as credit card data on a unsecured site. It is sparse on details and the rent was high for the area and SQ. footage. When i brought this to their attention they were unconcerned and said i could just mail it all in or do it over the phone and while they went back and somewhat mitigated it on their site it is still not clear and the forms are still unsecured which is also a PCI violation. After we moved in we did a two hour documented inspection report and filled that in and sent it to them with some areas of things that needed to be fixed. there was never any indication despite mentioning it several times that it had been received and followed up on. What has followed since then has been six months of filing maintenance requests which are always answered quickly but the number of issues pointed to the fact this house was not fit to be lived in and never underwent a thorough inspection between tenants and wasnt maintained well. the yard had very little grass, mostly weeds. the garage door works but with quirks and cant be lifted manually without disabling it. the drain was backed up and snaked/reported and fixed 3x to date. While nothing was found blocking it the situation was always resolved temporarily.The home was not cleaned except the rugs between tenants as we found BB's, hair, dust, dirt, grease,etc on many areas including showers, walls, shelves, inside cabinets, stove, etc. Cabinets fel on us and had to be glued back and as we didnt report everytbhgin due to the nature of the constant complaints and ease of fixing it ourselves it was never attended to. we sent multiple requests for the owners of the company to contact us and the secretary (Tina) would call him and tell us to then leave him a message. he didnt ever call back and despite sending emails he responded only once. He (*******) apologized early on and granted a $50 debit to make up for the fact so many light bulbs were missing upon entrance to the home. the pipes leaked on to the roof in lutiple places and while it was repaired adn the ceiling fixed and painted in a timely manner no onsight inspection ensue as a follow up. The latest area is that when we filled out a early lease termination due to these and other events not mentioned here they tried to tack on a ancllary fee not found anywhere in the lease agreement for early terminations or any other means of communication. Again they did not respond to our request for discussion on it and would not answer our email request to discuss as we mentioned since it was not diclosed prior we would not pay it as it was $700. i signed it with anote attached saying we would pay for remaining months on contract as lease agreement states but not fee to market said property for another tenant. No response to date except to leave him another message.More can be said here but im sure the gist can be ascertained. we dont want someone else to have to go throught his and so we decided to report them.

Desired Settlement
We want communication first and foremost and a response. In light of the circumstances of thecodntion of the home and its constant repairs and areas not being repaired let out of paying the remaining 3 months.

The business responded to this complaint but asked that its response not be published.

08/19/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate, Real Estate Services, Property Management, Real Estate Agents

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/27/2008Business started: 02/22/2007Business started locally: 02/28/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Real Estate Commission, NC
PO Box 17100
Raleigh, NC 27619-7100
(919) 875-3700
http://www.ncrec.state.nc.us

BBB records show a license number of C19863 for this company, issued by Real Estate Commission, NC. Their web address is http://www.ncrec.state.nc.us.

BBB records show a license number of 248822 for this company, issued by Real Estate Commission, NC. Their web address is http://www.ncrec.state.nc.us.

BBB records show a license number of 248604 for this company, issued by Real Estate Commission, NC. Their web address is http://www.ncrec.state.nc.us.

BBB records show a license number of C21773 for this company, issued by Real Estate Commission, NC. Their web address is http://www.ncrec.state.nc.us.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2007, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Denton (Broker / Partner)Customer Contact: Mr. Matthew VanHoughton (Broker-In-Charge / Partner)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Real Estate, Real Estate Services, Property Management, Real Estate Agents

Alternate Business Names
Steele Creek Residential Services, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Carolinas Dynamic Realty

10935 Winds Crossing Dr STE 200

Charlotte, NC 28273-2301

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 10935 Winds Crossing Dr STE 200 

    Charlotte, NC 28273-2301Fax: (704) 523-1253

  • 1122 Industrial Dr Ste 100 

    Matthews, NC 28105-5420(704) 841-7368

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Carolinas Dynamic Realty is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Real Estate

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.