BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/18/2012

Kinley Properties, Inc.

(704) 944-0004833 East Blvd, Charlotte NC 28203-5115

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/18/2012

BBB has determined that Kinley Properties, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Kinley Properties, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Kinley Properties, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
07/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
HEATING/ AC UNIT NOT PROPERLY MAINTAINED AT PROPERTY CAUING OUTSTANDING ELECTRIC BILLS. BILLS EXCEEDED *** MONTHLY
ACCORDING TO MY MAINTENANCE REQUEST HISTORY, I HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH THE UNIT SINCE I MOVED IN IN SEPTEMBER 2014. ISSUES WOULD ARISE SUCH AS THE UNIT RUNNING NON STOP AND SOMETIMES RUNNING WITH NOTHING BLOWING FROM THE VENTS. KINLEY SENT THE SAME TECHNICIAN OUT EACH TIME WHO SAID THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE UNIT. I CALLED KINLEY AND REQUESTED THAT THEY PLEASE SEND A DIFFERENT TECHNICIAN OUT BECAUSE HE DID NOT KNOW WHAT HE WAS DOING . I WAS TOLD THE WOMEN OVER MAINTANENCE(I THINK HER NAME WAS *******) THAT I WOULD HAVE TO PAY IF THEY SENT A DIFFERENT TECHNICIAN OUT SINCE THE OTHER TECHNICIAN COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING. AT THE TIME I COULD NOT AFFORD THAT AND TO PAY A $*** ELECTRIC BILL SO I LET IT GO. I EVENT CALLED DUKE ENERGY TO SEE WHAT THEY THOUGHT AND THEY SAID TO SPEAK WITH THE PROPERTY OWNERS. SO A FEW MONTHS GO BY AND IN MARCH OF 2015 IT GOT TO BE TOO MUCH AND I CALLED KINLEY BACK WHEN I HAD THE MONEY AND REQUESTED THEY SEND SOMEONE DIFFERENT OUT AND THEY DID. THE NEW TECHNICIAN CAME OUT AND JUST REMOVED THEY COVER AND SAW THE ISSUE THAT THE PREVIOUS TECH NEVER EVEN TOOK THE TIME TO DO. I HAVE PICS OF THE UNIT AND ALL OF THE DEBRIS AND BROKEN PARTS THAT CAUSED THE UNIT TO MALFUNCTION. I SPOKE WITH******** WHO AGREED ON A CREDIT IF I SENT THE BILLS TO HER. I EMAILED THEM ON. IN APRIL 2015 KINLEY PROPERITIES SOLD MY PROPERTY AND ONLY CONTACTED ME VIA EMAIL SAYING IT WAS NOT THEIR PROBLEM ANY LONGER. BECAUSE OF THAT PROMISED CREDIT THAT I NEVER RECIEVED, IT OUT ME BEHIND WITH THE NEW OWNER. IVE CALLED AND EMAILED******** ****** @ KINLEY PROPERTIES SEVERAL TIMES WITH NO RESOLUTION

Desired Settlement
I WOULD LIKE REIMBURSEMENT FOR A PORTION OF MY ELECTRIC BILLS. MY CHILDREN AND I SUFFERED THROUGH THE WINTER. THE HOUSE DID NOT PROPERLY HEAT AND THE BILL WAS ****+. THAT REALLY HURT OUR BUDGET ALL WINTER

Business Response
This is a response regarding the complaint issued by ******** ****** and a request for reimbursement for part of her Duke Energy bills from her house. First, I think it is necessary to point out that this is neither a Problem of Product or Service by Kinley Properties nor is it a Billing Collections Issue. This complaint needs to be redirected to the owner of the property and not our company. We do not own this property nor are we responsible for the consumption of the power usage.

That said, we have reviewed Ms. ******* complaint and prior to her filing this complaint she failed to meet with us in person after requesting such a meeting. The facts as we know them are that Ms. ****** did in fact move into the property located at **************** on September 13th 2014 and during her occupancy the owner did have a Certified HVAC contractor perform repairs on her HVAC system. The first visit involved removing a dirty filter and repairing her thermostat. The second visit involved adding refrigerant to the system and placing a valve. The last visit on April 16th involved cleaning and installing a new coil. At all times when Ms. ****** called in a service request our company performed our duties by notifying the owner and carrying out their responsibilities of having the issues addressed.

Regarding the amount Ms. ****** is being charged for her power bills, there is no way to determine how the use of the power is being used. We did ask her to continue to monitor her power bills and if the usage went down after any of the repairs than we would present the information to the owner. To date we have not received this information. We received copies of her October through March billings for review. We even contacted Duke Power to see what historical power bill usage amounts were and we found out the following information:

January 3013 - $369
Febuary 2013 -$261
January 2014 - $342
February 2014 -$572
March 2014- $363

Compared to her bills of:

December 2015- $394.29
January 2015- $400.31
February 2015- $412.71
March 2015- $359.94

So the average historical power bills for these five months is $381.40 compared to her average of ****** seem right in line not taking into consideration rate increases over the years.

So one could conclude that her power bills are normal and there is not an increase that warrants any reimbursement. The property at **************** was built in 1956 and it is approximately 1,000 square feet. It does have new windows but it was not built to today's energy efficiency code requirements so one cannot compare Ms. ******'s power consumption to that of other houses. There are too many variables that determine efficiency and we don't even know the power consumptions of Ms. ******'s household and we don't know what temperature she chooses to heat and cool her residence. What we can conclude is that her power consumption is consistent because her bills are really similar.

So, again I do want to point out that Kinley Properties has performed its duties to both Ms. ****** and our client at all times. We have always communicated with Ms. ****** within a reasonable timeframe and we have always addressed any of her maintenance concerns. We are truly sorry that her power bills are causing her strains in other areas but this is not an issue of Product, Service, or collection.

In response to her desired resolution of wanting to be reimbursed for a portion of her power bills. We have analyzed this issue with our client and have discussed the matter with them. They do not feel responsible for Ms. ******'s power usage but they are willing to issue her a $100.00 as a good gesture.






Consumer Response
I APPRECIATE THEIR OFFER AND IM LOOKING FOR A RESOLUTION SO I WILL ACCEPT THE OFFER

Final Business Response
Sandra,

I am not sure what happened with Ms. McLaughlin's check not arriving. We have looked at our bank account and it has not been cashed so we put a stop payment on the check. We will reissue a new one and I will deliver it to her house personally so that we don't have any more mishaps.

Sincerely,

**** A. ********, IV
Broker In Charge


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
thanks for your house

02/18/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Kinley Properties, inappropriately charged late fees for rent that was paid on time and refused to fix the error.
I mailed my full rent check on January 2nd (in town). It is considered late as of the 5th of the month. January 5th was a sunday. The office claimed that the check did not arrive in the mail until the 6th and charged a late fee to my account. I called and said that it was postmarked on the 2nd and should have arrived on the 3rd, or the 4th at the latest. They said they do not look at postmarks. Since the 5th was not a business day, even if the check were to arrive on the next business should have been on time. The person in the office said they would check on it and get back to me. They never did. I called again and they said once the charge was entered on my account, there was no way to remove it.

Desired Settlement
I would like the late fee removed from my account and my rent should be paid in full for January and February. My account should not show any late payments.

Business Response
Mrs. *** is correct that her account was charged a late fee because her rents were not received in our office by the 5th. Mrs. ***'s rent is due on the first of the month and is late after the fifth, so receiving the rent on the sixth makes her rent late. We can accept no responsibility for how or when the US Postal Service delivers her rent, whether they deliver it in one day or three. We are responsible for upholding practices that are fair and equal to all residents, therefore we are unable to waive her late fee without waving the late fees for all residents who paid after the 5th.

We would recommend that if she is not able to pay her rent by the first, when it is due, than she should either hand deliver her rent to our office, use our online payment options, or mail her rent no later than the first of the month to ensure on time delivery.

We are sorry that Mrs. *** feels like we are responsible for her late rent when we are clearly the recipients of the rent and we can not account for it until it is delivered to our office. I do understand that she feels like she did everything right but actually if the rent is not received on the 1st of each month than it is late.

Lastly, we did receive a check this morning from Mrs. *** for the $37.50 which will satisfy her outstanding balance so thank you. I feel like this complaint was filed out of retaliation because we were unwilling to waive Mrs. ***'s late fee. Again, we have to treat all customers equal and we always attempt to handle these conflicts with respect and integrity.

Sincerely, *************

04/28/2014Problems with Product / Service
06/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The property manager (*****) promised me all my security deposits is still my money. I could get my security deposit back but not the application fees.
03/21/14 I paid for the application in which ***** gave me the option to just pay $50 after discussing my pay days. The serial number to that M.O. is XXXXXXXXXXXX. 04/04/14 I paid for the other portion of the application fee ($80) and the "Binder hold" to hold the duplex so others couldn't buy it before me, which was $200 (also I was told it would be taken out from the total security deposit of $500). So in total I paid $230. The M.O. serial number is XXXXXXXXXXXX. 04/11/2014 I contacted to see how far along we are on the duplex so far. ***** told me that all the money in security deposits that I have put on the duplex isn't their money, it's still my money. If I changed my mind, I would get a full refund back except for the application fees. After summing my total expenses, he promised me all I have left to pay was $475 and I will get the keys to the duplex. 04/20/14 I paid for a money order in the amount of $475. The serial number to this M.O. is XXXXXXXXXXXX. After looking over everything he told me I have to pay $200. I told him I will have to wait until my next pay. After giving it more thought, I decided to back out of moving into the duplex. Reason because, it seemed way more expensive than I have planned for, and in the back of my mind I felt something wasn't adding up to me. I realized that I have over paid ***** on the property by $245. 04/28/14 I tried contacting ***** on behalf of this matter, I left a detailed message. After some time, I still don't hear from *****. I called the business on 05/06/14 and left another detailed message asking for ***** to contact me. On my lunch break at my job, I went to the business to speak with ***** in person, but he was not in the office. 05/09/14 I called the business again to speak with ***** since he never returned any of my calls. Luckily, he answered the phone this time, and I reasoned with him about my concern on how difficult it was to get in contact with him. After explaining my reasons why I am changing my mind upon moving into the property he told me that he has "bad news" and gave me this long speech about how "life goes up and down" and that I cannot get any of my money back. I reminded him that he was the one that told me that the money is still mine. But now all of a sudden since I changed my mind on the purchase I cannot get my refund. I have worked so hard for my money and to get my housing situation situated, and I feel so used and I really regret ever doing business with this company. It is such a huge disappointment. All I am really in need of is my money that I have slaved for back from this company. I feel that, associating with ***** and ****** Properties, Inc. is so unprofessional, and I hope others haven't fall a victim as well.

Desired Settlement
The $200 "Binders hold" I paid as security deposit on the duplex and the $475 security deposit that I put on the property as well. In total my refund should amount to $675.

Business Response
Response to Case #XXXXXX

Mr. ****** engaged with our company on March 21, 2014 after expressing interest in a property we had listed for rent. Mr. ****** both viewed the property and applied for the property on March 21st. Our application specifically gives our terms for applying for one of our properties; application fees are not refundable and a $200 binder is also required to hold the property during our application process. Mr. ****** was approved for the property on March 27th and we received a second application for an additional occupant over the age of 18 on the 28th at which time he paid his binder and the second application fee. All terms had been satisfied at this time for acceptance and we were just waiting for Mr. ****** to gather his remaining funds to enter into a lease agreement. Per our application instructions, if an applicant is approved they have 5 days to submit the remaining balance of their security deposit and they have to sign their lease or the binder becomes forfeited. Apparently in this situation, Mr. ****** was given additional time to pay his security deposit and pro-rated rents to allow him to move in. Our client allowed these additional terms to be considered based on the requests of Mr. ******.

Ultimately Mr. ****** decided not to proceed with moving into the property which he expressed in his complaint after leading us to believe he was moving in for one month. Mr. ****** paid our company two application fees totaling $80.00, a $475.00 security deposit/binder, and $200.00 in prorated rents. His decision to no longer move into the property was a breach of our application process and warrants a forfeiture of his monies.

We have satisfied Mr. ******'s refund request and issued him a refund of $475.00 which includes his security deposit and prorated rents minus the $200 forfeited binder. These monies have been picked up and deposited by Mr. ****** since this complaint was filed.

We believe this complaint to be satisfied.

01/10/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The picture for ********************* was not the house that i went to see. The keys also did not work for the doors .
The neighborhood was not what they described online. Also the house is located in a bad area of charlotte . If you go to kinley properties.com and view the house and actually go out to the property you will see it is to completly diffrent houses . On the website its a picture of a house but when you actually go and see the house its a duplex

Desired Settlement
I would like to recieve my $80.00 application fee back . I paid $40.00 each for my application and my daughters.

Business Response
(see attached PDF: Business Response)

Please see the attached pdf's for our response to case #******. We also direct your attention to the following links:

Craigslist ad:
http://charlotte.craigslist.org/apa/**********.html
Website ad:
http://kinleyproperties.appfolio.com/listings/listings/************************************

Online application instructions:
https://kinleyproperties.appfolio.com/listings/rental applications/new?source=Website&unit uid=************************************

Thank you

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The house was not move in ready the drain pipe was not connected to the house. There were cobwebs all around the house. The first set of keys did not work for the back door or the front door. we went back to kinley properties and picked up another set of keys and those keys did not work for the front or back door. The receptionist even reffered to the property as a house not a duplex. We felt pressured to hurry up and submit our application because we are coming from ************* to charlotte. the receptionist also said there were other people looking at renting the house not a duplex. The air conditioning unit was also dented in. When you open the front door there were cobwebs and leaves everywhere. The property was not move in ready.The clothes line in the backyard is also broke.

Final Business Response
We have reviewed the consumers additional response and we still stand by the facts of our original complaint. Since our original company response we have visited the property with the keys that were handed out to the applicant, both sets, and have verified that the keys did allow us to access the property. The offer of a $20.00 refund is still available if Ms. ****** contacts our office and provides us with a current mailing address. Sincerely, **** ********

09/05/2016Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/10/2012Business started: 11/14/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Real Estate Commission, NC
PO Box 17100
Raleigh, NC 27619-7100
(919) 875-3700
http://www.ncrec.state.nc.us

BBB records show a license number of C23524 for this company, issued by Real Estate Commission, NC. Their web address is http://www.ncrec.state.nc.us.

BBB records show a license number of 212223 for this company, issued by Real Estate Commission, NC. Their web address is http://www.ncrec.state.nc.us.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2011, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John A. Ashworth (President)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Property Management

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Kinley Properties, Inc.

833 East Blvd

Charlotte , NC 28203-5115

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 833 East Blvd 

    Charlotte, NC 28203-5115(704) 944-0004

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Kinley Properties, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Property Management

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.