BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/08/2012

Dawson Property Management, Inc.

Phone: (704) 724-3980Fax: (888) 239-78301409 East Blvd STE 6D, CharlotteNC 28203-5817



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/08/2012

BBB has determined that Dawson Property Management, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Dawson Property Management, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Dawson Property Management, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
01/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My 2 roommates, and myself, signed a lease in October 2013 with ***** ****** for 3 bd 3 bath house for $1300 a month. Our home came with washer/dryer, dishwasher, and stove/oven/microwave. Two days after we signed our lease, the oven went out. Two days after that my bathroom flooded. The water was coming out of my toilet, sink and bathtub. It took him 2 days to get someone out to fix the clog, and another day after that to have someone come out and suck the water out of the carpet in my room, and another room. The oven has yet to be fixed. About a month ago, I expressed my concern about mold and mildew in the walls and carpet. He sent out his "handyman" to look at the problem. He reassured us that there was no mold and the musky smell was from the age of the house. Yesterday I was rolling up an air mattress that was in the other room where the flood occurred. The carpet was STILL wet from the flood, so I bent down to smell the carpet and I smelled nothing but mildew. I have a 8 year old who spends 1/2 the week with me, and one of my other roommates is pregnant. I am VERY concerned that we have been breathing in mold/mildew for the past 2 months.I contacted a local mold inspector to have them come out as soon as possible to get a professional opinion but was informed that Mr.****** is the one who has to inquire about their services . Mr.****** has been aware of all issues, and I have the emails to prove it.
Product_Or_Service: carpet powder, air fresheners, plug ins

Desired Settlement
Since this has been an on going battle, we would either like to be out of our lease, or receive an abatement on our rent.

Business Response
In response to the complaint. Management received notice the stove and microwave combo set stopped working on 10/6/13. My preferred Appliance repair company scheduled an appointment and was at the house to address the issue on 10/9/13. We determined that the control board for the oven was burnt out and had to be replaced. The control board was sent back to the manufacturer to be rebuilt. At this time we informed the tenants this process will take 4 to 6 weeks. In the meantime Management purchased the tenants a new microwave on 10/15/13. I created a since of urgency with the Appliance repair Company to resolve this issue as quickly as possible. There were a few sets backs with the control board but the oven microwave combo has been fixed.
In the evening of 10/7/13 a repair request was submitted by the tenants about a plumbing problem in the downstairs bathroom. That evening between 8:15 P.M. and 9:45 P.M. communication between Management and the tenants took place about the problem. My general contractor was also communicated with that evening and instructions to put this repair first on the schedule for the following morning took place. My contractor set an appointment with them at their earliest availability the morning of 10/8/13, text message confirmation of 9:30 A.M. After a few hours of work it was determined that a Professional Plumbing company with better plumbing equipment was needed. Immediately the Professional Plumbing company was contacted and went to the property to resolve the back up the same day 10/8/13. They resolved the issue by 4 P.M. but the tenants followed up with an additional maintenance request that the carpet downstairs got wet during this situation. On 10/10/13, a water extraction of the carpet took place. The carpet expert preformed the following work to the bedroom carpet and the basement kitchenette carpet. Extracted water, sprayed odor neutralizer & odor remover, extracted carpet again and accelerated drying using turbo dryer. At which point we thought the issue was resolved and the maintenance request were closed.
On 10/14/13 that the tenants complained about the carpets having an odor. I personally went to check it out and I did not notice any odor or any signs of moisture present in the carpets. Since then we have had a few minor maintenance request that are unrelated and all has been resolved on a timely basis. The indication the tenants still had an issue present was not brought back to my attention until the Complaint was submitted through the BBB.
The day of the complaint 1/3/14, the tenants were communicated with about the problem. The concerns were re-addressed and discussed. After presenting the tenants with a few options, we came to the determination that they would like to continue to reside in the home but they want the carpet and smell looked at by a professional. On 1/9/14 a reputable company who handles moisture mediation was set up to look at the problem. We have a full diagnostic report that has been presented to the owner. We are in the process of determining the methods of which to resolve the issue. I can confirm there is no present moisture in the carpets or walls. However because of the leak that occurred In October, there is water damage that needs to be further mitigated. Management will continue to follow through on a timely basis to properly resolve the complaints brought forth by the tenants.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/25/2012Business started: 10/01/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Real Estate Commission, NC
PO Box 17100
Raleigh, NC 27619-7100
(919) 875-3700
http://www.ncrec.state.nc.us

BBB records show a license number of 266727 for this company, issued by Real Estate Commission, NC. Their web address is http://www.ncrec.state.nc.us.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 2013, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Derek Dawson (Owner)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Property Management

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Dawson Property Management, Inc.

1409 East Blvd STE 6D

Charlotte, NC 28203-5817

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1409 East Blvd STE 6D 

    Charlotte, NC 28203-5817Fax: (888) 239-7830

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dawson Property Management, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Property Management

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.