BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/20/2010

Carolina United Property Management

Phone: (980) 219-8129

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
09/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
concerning our deposit return of 1250.00.trying to charge 431.25 for a cleaning bill.
On July 30th 2015 I did a walk through with ****** Felts. She took pictures and I walked in every room she did, apparently someone else for the office named ***** did a second walk through now all of a sudden its several things wrong that I didn't see when I did the walk through with ******. They are trying to charge us an outrageous cleaning fee when I know from the walk through that I did that was not the case the house was left very clean. Also handed in the receipt for the carpet. We have not received any paper work or anything in writing concerning what it is or the reason why we are being charged that large amount. I am not questioning the painting part because I know that the paint was not a complete wall match, but we know the house was clean******* even commented on how surprised she was at the cleaning of the house. I am requesting 800.00 dollar refund of our security deposit return we lived there for two years.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking the remaining of my security deposit of 800.00 dollars back.

Business Response
As was stated to Ms. ***** on several occasions, we were in agreement with her dispute of the cleaning bill. The vendor who performed the cleaning was non-responsive when our company inquired about the charge. In an effort to close out Ms. *****' account, and help her retain as much of her deposit as possible, we have negotiated the bill to $150 on behalf of the vendor. We have spoken with Ms. ***** on 9/21/2015 and she has approved of this resolution which will entitle her to a refund of $650.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


06/17/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
CUR accepted RENT REPAYMENT under false pretenses, attempted to withhold it as a SECURITY DEPOSIT, and made up damages 30 days after property vacated.
We believe the company acted against NC Tenant Security Deposit laws when:
1. On February 17, 2014 ************ advised *** ***** that a prepayment of rent for the upcoming term, while no other money was due, would be accepted to reduce the monthly rate from $1199 to $999. We believe Ms. ***** knew that the lease would not be renewed and deliberately accepted the additional deposit of $2400 under false pretense. We NOTICED, but never received notice, on February 24, 2014 that the lease would not be renewed, and the deposit had not been credited to the account.

2. We requested the deposit back and made it clear in writing that the deposit was intended to be a RENT CREDIT, and not a SECURITY DEPOSIT, as the owner of the property had already collected an $1100 deposit upon lease signing in August 2011. We reminded CUR of this again when they took over the property on 3/23/2013.

3. March 2014 rent was paid and we requested additional time to move, which would allow for the posting of the $2400 check. We were told we could not have additional time, and needed to be out by 4/10/2014.

4. A STOP was put on the $2400 check.

5. The keys to the property, XXXXX Painted Tree Rd, Charlotte NC XXXXX, were returned on April 11, 2014. A walk-thru was conducted and a maintenance report stated: 'property damage' of $297.39, carpet cleaning of $250, Supplies 67.72, 'rent' from April 1-April 11) $399.67, totaling $1014.78. Additional 'property damage charges of $1,682.61 were added to the 'TENANT PORTAL' and do not appear in any of the DAILY COLLECTIONS EMAILS UNTIL May 18, 2014. There was no acknowledgement of the $1100 security deposit held by the property owner, *****************
6. On Friday, April 25, 2014, Broker In Charge, *** *****, walked into ********** Federal Credit Union and demanded that the cashier's check for $2400 be honored, wiping out our banking and credit card accounts and leaving a negative balance of $1083. When contacted, Mr. ***** stated that our problem was with the property owner, and we'd need to get our money back from her; and he threatened that if we sued, he would counter sue. He warned against harassment and stated that Ms. ***** was somehow doing us a favor by not depositing the check sooner.

7. We continue to receive COLLECTION NOTICES from CUR that have charges that were added more than 30 days after the keys were returned, which suggest to us that they realize that the company has no claims to the $2400 cashier's check.

8. On June 1, 2014 a letter (attached) demanding the refund of the $2400 was sent via email to ************, ******** ***** and Andrew Nosal with a request to FORWARD to the BROKER IN CHARGE. All three addresses returned messages of 'UNDELIVERABLE / MARKED A SPAM' . ; yet we continue to receive messages from ***********@CAROLINAUNITEDREALTY.COM

9. On Friday, June 6, 2014, *** ***** received a summons for Civil Complaint, signed by ************, dated April 18, 2014, for a 'worthless check', at WORK!
This experience has been a nightmare, and continues to do damage, as we struggle to recover from the unexpected blow to our daily finances and our credit. We believe that Mr. ***** does actually know that he has no legal grounds to withhold the deposit, but is counting on the fact that we can't afford to sue him. The reality is, we can not afford NOT TO.

Desired Settlement
We request the immediate return of the $2400, replacing the check that was cashed, and

Payment to ********** Federal Credit Union in the amount of $1083, to correct the negative balance created when *** ***** demanded the bank honor the stopped cashier's check.

Business Response
This response is regarding complaint #XXXXXX by Ms. *** *****, the former resident of XXXXX ******* Tree Rd., Charlotte, NC XXXXX. The following responses will provide explanations for the accusations presented by Ms. *****.

1. On February 17, ************ spoke with *** ***** about her account. At that time, Ms. ***** had been evicted in small claims court on February 2nd and was attempting to pay off her balance. The balance due was received on February 18. A cashier's check for $2400 was also presented by Ms. ***** to help offset the rent due for the following 12 months, which would bring the monthly rent down from $1199 per month to $999 per month. With already one eviction avoided, the owners then decided that this 2nd eviction process initiated against Ms. ***** was all they could handle and decided on Feb. 24th to give her a 45-day notice to vacate. An automated email was produced by our system along with a notice sent by our administrative staff.

2. The cashier's check presented, was held as a courtesy to Ms. ***** under the premise that she would zero out her account at the end of her tenancy. It was in no way represented as an addition to the security deposit.

3. The required 45-day notice was provided and when asked if we were able to give an extension on the time frame, she was informed from the property owners, through us, that this was not a possibility. This was explained in an email dated March 7th. At that time, however, I did offer our services to help her find a new home before we were aware of the damages that were caused at this home.

4. The cashier's check was illegally reported as lost/stolen to their banking institution; ********** Federal Credit Union.

5. There were immediate expenses incurred at move out for $1014.78. These expenses were mostly paid by the $1000 security deposit that was given to the homeowner, ************** at the time of their initial lease signing in July of 2011. A written estimate of $2980 was provided on April 22 for the damages above and beyond the security deposit. When the estimate was provided, the $2400 cashier's check was deposited to cover a portion of those damages.

6. Upon depositing the "certified" funds on April 24, the check was returned on April 29th. *** ***** visited the ********** Federal Credit Union on May 16th to inquire how certified funds could be stopped. The ********** Federal Credit Union investigated the stop payment on the certified funds and concluded that Ms. ***** had misrepresented the check being lost or stolen, and as a result ********** Federal Credit Union reissued the check to Carolina United Realty.

7. The collections emails in May were a result of the check bouncing and charges being recharged on the account to show as unpaid.

8. All prior emails from Ms. ***** have been received so the claim that all of the emails bounced back as undeliverable is, from my point of view, highly unlikely.

9. Prior to the check being received, court papers were filed on May 19 for the worthless check. The only address available was the work address for Ms. ***** because there was no forwarding address provided. Upon receipt of the payment from the Credit Union to clear the account on our end, the court papers were dismissed. I am not aware of any other court papers being filed regarding the fraud with the banking institution.

The owner, ************** along with Carolina United Realty, have elected not to pursue the remaining balance of $342.37 that is owed by Ms. ***** because it is not worth the time or money to get a judgment against Ms. ***** since it is highly unlikely that she would satisfy that judgment. At this point we would ask that this complaint be closed, and wish Ms. ***** the best of luck in the future.

09/25/2014Problems with Product / Service
04/03/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
renting company was obligated to contact me after several attempts with different people since the first day of December, i finally spoke to the owner
they refused to present a full move-out report after the tenant move and I called different times and no one paid attention to me. I called every week asking for the report and they always told me they were going to call me back and never did. last week I finally talked to the owner ***, and he insulted me and made me sick and nervous.
he told me that they never completed the report and that they wont pay for any repair and they don't have anything to do, and if I want, I could take the tenant to court because they wont.
their responsibility is theirs to complete their job.

Desired Settlement
i need the repairs to be paid to my self
and i would provide any info they need but they need to guarantee first that they would pay for the move out reports repairs and other were found after the tenant left.

Business Response
The following is a timeline of events following the property owners' tenant move out:

Saturday, November 30: Scheduled tenant move out date
Monday, December 3: Move out walkthrough scheduled -Incomplete due to no utilities
Tuesday, December 4: Incomplete report documenting the fact that there were no utilities was sent to homeowner
Saturday, December 7: Power was restored to home per the power company
Monday, December 9: Follow up walkthrough scheduled - home was occupied by new resident - no report could be completed

As you can see from the timeline, our company was unable to perform a complete walkthrough due to the utilities being off which are the responsibility of the homeowner. There were no pictures or documentation from the homeowner showing the condition of the property before the new residents took possession. Due to these circumstances, the security deposit was dispersed back to the previous tenant according to the North Carolina Landlord/Tenant laws.

Our company is looking to resolve this issue with the owner and would still be willing to provide any necessary information that is requested.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
THEY NEED TO MAKE THE TENANT PAY FOR THE REPAIRS AND I CAN PROVIDE INVOICES FOR THE MONEY THEY NEED TO PAY.

THEY NEVER CONTACTED ME LETTING ME KNOW ABOUT THE POWER. THEY DID NOT HAD COMUNICATION WITH ME AT ALL I CONTRACTED THEM FOR THREE YEARS AND THEY NEED TO RESPONSE AT THIS MATTER. THEY MADE MONEY OF ME AND NOW THEY NEED TO PUT IN PRACTICE THEIR PART.

Final Business Response
The security deposit was dispersed according to N.C. law. At this point any repairs should be sought out by the homeowner in small claims court. Any invoices that she has for repairs, that she believes she should be reimbursed for by the tenant, would be taken into consideration at that time. We will provide any information that is needed in order to help her follow through with this process.
As far as not telling her to turn on power after the tenant moved out; it doesn't seem reasonable that we should have to remind a homeowner to turn on utilities when they are going to begin self-managing their home.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
i had called many times since the tenant move and I never received any phone calls of what to do. I was waiting day by day for the Move out report and never received and answer until two weeks ago, I finally spoke to the owner of the company *** and he said to me so unprofessionally that he was not going to do anything about it and he even threaten me saying that Irs was calling him asking for myself but he refused to give information to them and that he helped because he lied to the IrS saying that he didn't know anything about my self. I think that is so dishonest and I am not hiring from no one.
I demand a reimbursed of any of the repairs

Industry Comparison| Chart

Property Management, Real Estate Rental Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.