BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/16/2001

Emergency Response Plumbing Services, Inc.

Phone: (704) 846-5371Fax: (704) 846-0566View Additional Phone Numbers648 Matthews Mint Hill Rd Ste C, MatthewsNC 28105-1772



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/16/2001

BBB has determined that Emergency Response Plumbing Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Emergency Response Plumbing Services, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

100 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Emergency Response Plumbing Services, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 99
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 100 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
05/22/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Overall fee for the job was dishonest and highly inflated, for equipment that they didn't even use.
thought I had a water main problem since the charlotte mecklenberg employee thought that was the issue and told us it was on our side so we had to call a plumber to fix it. My wife went online and based on the reviews on google she called ER Plumbing Services. The original quote for the water main job was $980 since they might have to use the tractor and heavy machinery (backfill). The diagnostics came back that it was an irrigation problem with the sprinkler system and not the water main like the water utility guy said it was.

The plumber mentioned the original estimate wouldn't change even though he said that it would be cheaper having an irrigation specialist to perform the work but since he's a "professional plumber" the estimate remains. I asked him why it cost so much, he mentioned the equipment. I continued to challenge him w/ his fixed estimate and mentioned how are you 2x the high cost that is shown online for the area. He then goes off saying he could just stop and put tape around etc, giving me a guilt trip and to call someone else...

I went inside and called another plumber and described what the situation was and he mentioned how I'm "getting screwed" and he doesn't need to use the tractor backfill to service the problem and to tell him to stop what he is doing. I had the speaker phone on so ******* heard and she immediately went outside to tell the plumber to stop and were getting a new plumber. The plumber then says he can drop the price down to $560 - $600 "ish"... since he had already cut some pipes. Ok, well it went down from $980 to $560 - $600 "ish" now ??? Anyway, we let him continue working. When the job was done he charged us $698 and wouldn't honor a coupon we had which states "any plumbing service" right on their website.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund as the average cost online is 229 for sprinkler leak. pipping is different than the pipping for a water main, we were charged even 100 dollars more than what he said he would come down to and then wouldn't honor a coupon that is on his website for "any plumbing task." He also stated when he first came out to assess the yard that when he does the job he will re-seed the yard which was not done.

Business Response
Customer is correct that the scope of the job turned out to be a reduction from the original scope, and while the time required to complete the job would have dictated a higher fee than requested, we will honor the requested charge of $229, less our $35 coupon. The revised charge is $194, and the customer will be refunded the difference of $504. We hope that this solution will satisfy the owners, and we regret the circumstances, as we always endeavor to fully meet or exceed our customer's expectations.



06/01/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was over priced for the job. Main problem was different than what was originally thought. Price wasn't going to change until we called another co.
Original problem was thought to be a water main leak in front yard. They quoted us 980 for the job. They brought a tractor incase it was needed. They started digging and found that we had a leaking irrigation line instead. They quoted us the same 980 for the job to be done. My husband quickly researched online what that would cost to get repaired and stated that average cost was about 200-300 dollars. **** stated that they are professionals and the 980 charge is for their flat rate of bringing out the tractor. We agreed to get the job done but still didn't feel right why would the price for fixing an irrigation line be the same as a water main line?! So my husband went inside and called another plumber who told him that we were getting screwed. So I went out to tell him we changed our mind and **** stated that he had already cut the line it was too late, but that he would bring the rate down to about 560-600. I agreed and said if you come down on price that makes it a little better. They finish the job. He comes in with the invoice and it says 698. I also had printed a coupon that they have on their website for "35 dollars off any plumbing service" which he wouldn't accept.

Desired Settlement
I would like to get a refund of some sort as I believe we were over charged. They never used the tractor that they brought. Also when we looked up the average price for getting an irrigation line reparied/replaced was 200-300 and we paid over double that.

Business Response
Customer is correct that the scope of the job turned out to be a reduction from the original scope, and while the time required to complete the job would have dictated a higher fee than requested, we will honor the requested charge of $229, less our $35 coupon. The revised charge is $194, and the customer will be refunded the difference of $504. We hope that this solution will satisfy the owners, and we regret the circumstances, as we always endeavor to fully meet or exceed our customer's expectations.

03/20/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Incomplete information from sales when trying to get a quote
When I called for a quote for replacing garbage disposal, they told me $287, with $199 being the service fee. They did mention any dispatch fee. When the plumber came over, he told me the $287 was on top of the $70 dispatch fee and assured me that this is normal in the plumbing service practice. I called around the town afterwards. Nobody is charging dispatch fee on top of service fee. Dispatch fee is for the situation when they come and do nothing. I was misled by incomplete quote information.

Desired Settlement
Refund the $70 dispatch fee.

Business Response
Being the person that took the call, the dispatch fee was mentioned at the first of this call. As this is a normal thing for anyone answering a call. $199 is the cost for us to install a customer supplied disposal. I apologize for any confusion from the call. The dispatch fee is a standard cost for us as well as other plumbers in the area, the reason I know this is, we work with other plumbing companies when we are busy and visa-versa.The dispatch fee is for our truck and technician to get to the home - to cover gas and wear and tear on the vehicle. When we get to a job and nothing is done, most of the time the technician will waive that cost, as they didn't do anything and do not feel right in charging for not doing anything. I saw where you presented the technician with a $15 coupon from our website, which was taken off the bill also. Again I do apologize for the miscommuniciation and/or confusion that was encountered, and in order to make the customer feel good about the call and ER Plumbing the dispatch fee will be refunded to resolve this problem

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Water Heater - Tankless, Leak Detection, Water Leak Detection, Water Heaters - Repairing, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/13/1998Business started: 01/01/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Plumbing, Heating & Fire Sprinkler Contractors Licensing Board, NC
1109 Dresser Ct
Raleigh, NC 27609-7302
(919) 875-3612
http://www.nclicensing.org

BBB records show a license number of 20122 for this company, issued by Plumbing, Heating & Fire Sprinkler Contractors Licensing Board, NC. Their web address is http://www.nclicensing.org.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1997, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Edwin Parker (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Deborah Wagnor (Office Manager)
Number of Employees

14

Business Category

Plumbers, Water Heater - Tankless, Leak Detection, Water Leak Detection, Water Heaters - Repairing, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Alternate Business Names
Parker Plumbing Inc., E.R. Plumbing Services

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Emergency Response Plumbing Services, Inc. has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 100 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Emergency Response Plumbing Services, Inc.

648 Matthews Mint Hill Rd Ste C

Matthews, NC 28105-1772

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 648 Matthews Mint Hill Rd Ste C 

    Matthews, NC 28105-1772(704) 363-8993
    (704) 846-5371
    Fax: (704) 846-0566

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Emergency Response Plumbing Services, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (704) 363-8993
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.