BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1982

Terminix Service, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (704) 377-4991Fax: (704) 659-2290View Additional Phone NumbersRegional Office, 105 A Center Lane, HuntersvilleNC 28078

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1982

BBB has determined that Terminix Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Terminix Service, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues4
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Terminix Service, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
06/09/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charged for services not agreed upon.
Received bill for $85 for pest service on 05/06/2015. Called the office to inquire about bill. Terminix informed me that it was for pest service, ie spraying for ants. I informed Terminix that I had not authorized the continuation of the pest service for 2015. I had paid for services in May 2014 for one year, which was four treatments. On the third treatment visit, I informed the Terminix employee that came to my house that I would not be continuing the service for the following year. He stated he would inform the office.

Instead I received a bill in April 2015 for the continuation of the service. Since I had already informed the technician that I would not be continuing the service, I disposed of the bill. I also asked the technician on the May visit if this was part of the 2014 original service agreement or if it was to be the 2015 service. He informed me that it was the fourth and last treatment of the 2014 agreement. I again informed him that I would not be continuing the service.

On June 2, 2015 I received a bill for $85. I called the office and they informed me that this was for the 2015 season and that it was my responsibility to send in writing to the office informing Terminix that I was not continuing the service. I told the office employee that I had already told the technician that I was not continuing the service but she told me that I was required to send in written notice.

When I began the 2014 service the technician never informed me that the service was auto renewable. It is just another sneaky way companies like this do business.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a refund of my $85.

Business Response
Hello ***********,

I have attached a copy of your contract, which does state that the contract will go on until cancelled by you. Some of our customers have been with us twenty to thirty years and we try and make sure that you understand what you are signing, even having you initial the areas concerning cancellations. Some of the advantages for the customer is they are not locked into another years contract and can cancel at any time with written notice. We make everyone initial it as well.

I am puzzled why you would tell the technician to cancel after the fourth service and then allow him to render the 5th service and sign for it?

I had not read your file, as I told you when I called this weekend and when you returned my call earlier this morning. You can see why we would be a little confused too. I will cancel the account for you, make sure you are not charged for the last service and send you a statement to the fact. We want your business when you have an issue later on. If you have questions, please feel free to call me.



12/06/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Terminex servicemen came out repeatedly when I asked them not to, came when I was not at home and performed partial services and billed me automatically on my credit card for the full service. I complained several times with the Monroe, NC office and finally discontinued my service several months ago and spoke directly with the manager. He assured me I would not be billed and I was. I called the office and was told it would be corrected, and today I received a final collections notice!
Product_Or_Service: termite and pest control
Account_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I want a letter of apology, and assurance in writing that this will not show up on my credit report and that I will not be billed again, ever!

Business Response
Please see the attached statements that were all signed for by our customer, ********* *******, over the past year. We then called her to schedule the next appointment and she returned our call and we scheduled her appointment. (See attachment). It appears that Ms. ******* called before the appointment date asking why the technician was not there and we responded it was not time for the appointment to be performed yet, per our earlier conversation. She told us we were in error, that this could not be the date as she had a doctor appt. scheduled for that date. Please see the date and time on the secretary set appointment and the date and time our technician showed up at the house.

We took the appointment off the schedule, but the technician that works the area did not take it out of his appoint book and he did not see that the appointment had been cancelled in electronic scheduling. He provided service on the date of the first scheduled service. This obviously upset Ms. ******* who called the branch and cancelled her service and asked not to be charged for the service.. The branch manager called her back, cancelled her service as requested and left instructions for the bill to be taken off the account. This happened back in September.

We do not charge for half service. As you can see by the ticket, it is totally unnecessary for the technician to do anything on the inside of the home if there are no problems. The insects are outside. All customers receive free treatments between regular services, as can be attested to by the provided Re service receipt for February, if they have a problem. It is not necessary for the customer to be home for us to do our service. If the bugs come back, so do we, at no charge. Notice on the ticket where it says, "While in your absence..." Most people do not want us in their homes unless it is totally necessary, especially with pesticides.

By December, Ms. ******* would receive three or four computer generated bills, each more urgent than the last, asking her to remit payment or contact us. Upon receiving the computer generated bill that told her we would have to turn her over to collections soon, Ms. ******* called the company headquarters and wrote the BBB, who called me. The Company headquarters then called the branch and the BBB wrote me. We both called the branch.

The branch manager immediately called her home and when he received no answer he called again before five and left a message telling Ms. ******* that he had handled the problem. What he discovered was that the account had been cancelled but the adjustment had not been made as requested. Although it would never have affected her credit, we are happy that Ms. ******* called and assisted us in making sure that everything was handled with her account. The manager apologized for the inconvenience to Ms. *******.

About this time, I received the complaint from the BBB. Of the tickets we have readily available for review, every one has been signed by the customer except the one in question, which we acknowledged was a mistake from the start. We do indeed apologize for this, although we agreed to write it off from the start.

I cannot, regretfully, tell you what a computer will or will not do, or what is in the mail at this time. If you receive anything in the mail from us, please email me directly so I may deal with it for you.. I can tell you this has not gone to any collection agency and is handled. Once again, we are sorry for the error.

06/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Have not received return call from manager to date concerning service at my home.
July 12, 2013 a technician came to my house as scheduled. Technician performed an inspection but did NOT service the termite bait traps. I asked about this and he told me another person would be out to check the bait traps by the end of the month. I called the office to ask about this and was told the technician WAS the person to check and bait the traps as well. My concern was noted as a message to the branch manager. I am YET to hear from the branch manager regarding this issue. Terminix has NO problem taking MY money monthly stating they will provide a service to protect my property, but will NOT follow through on a regular basis unless I call them and inquire! I would think that something of this nature would be kept on a computerized schedule, but apparently not. Have had to call them and remind THEM that the bait traps are overdue for the 2 years that we have been customers with this company. We are now considering requesting a refund to take our business to someone that will actually appreciate it and will perform services as stated in their contract WITHOUT having to be called by me or my husband to remind them.

Desired Settlement
We would like to have the bait traps serviced IMMEDIATELY, have the technician leave a receipt or card stating service HAS been done IF we are not home at the time, and for this particular branch to maintain a computerized schedule so that WE don't have to call THEM when rebaiting is due. If this cannot be accomplished, then we want a full refund so that we can take our business elsewhere.

Business' Initial Response
I apologize for being late with the response, as the branch manager and I were on vacation last week. However, this did not stop me from calling the manager, **** ******** and getting him to call the customer and his branch to get the inspection set up for the customer. **** called twice from his cell phone and left his number for the customer to call him. The inspection was set up for last Thursday, at which time the stations were monitored and any bait that needed to be changed out was done at this time. The techinician, **** ******** helped explain how the new system benefitted the consumer and protected their home better. We thank you for your understanding and always try to take care of our customers any way we can.

05/31/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid for spraying 30 feet from home then on the call back treatment they would only authorize 10 feet out.
About X-XX-XX I phoned one office and explained that I needed the flea treatment to be extended out 30 feet from my home and we agreed upon the charge of $150.00. Then realized that they were not the office that serviced my area. They call the appropriate office to explain our agreement, then that office called and said they would honor that verbal agreement. On X-XX-XX the treatment was applied. Finding fleas again they returned on X-XX-XX but refused to retreat the complete 30 feet as agreed even after calling the office to confirm the 30 feet agreement. The service tech said that they called him and said only spray 10 feet away from the home. That is ALL he sprayed. I talked to Lonny X-XX-XX who told me that he didn't come out to inspect the size of the area. When I told him that area was already treated once, and that I wanted him to honor the agreement, he said he never came out to inspect the property. Nothing was said about wanting to inspect it the first time. Therefore, they broke the agreement.

Desired Settlement
I desire my full $150.00 back and the agreement cancelled.

Business' Initial Response
The customer was contracted by another branch that informed the customer of our normal pest control charges and that an extra charge would occur if they wanted to spray outside the normal perimeter of the agreement. Our branch manager, ****** ******, did speak with the customer and wanted to go out and help with the problem and immediately found problems when he spoke with the customer. She had a headache when our tech came out for the appointment and couldn't leave for the inside service, which is the most important part of the service. The growth regulators we put on the inside disrupt the flea growth cycle, preventing new populations. The other part of the process is either controlling the area the dog is allowed to roam or some type program for the dog a vet can offer. This is very effective, much more effective than spraying a yard. Nature abhors a vaccuum and will fill it. It would be much cheaper and easier to control the problem with these suggestions and also to spot problem areas, which ****** is very good at doing and why he wanted to come out. We do not mind giving her money back, as ****** made clear to her when she called the office. He wanted to help her. We wish her luck with the fleas and we will issue a check request from our corporate office which usually takes 3-4 weeks.

Consumer's Final Response
Companies should honor their agreements. I would like the full refund of $150.00 and a written statement that the contract is completely cancelled.

12/21/2014Billing / Collection Issues
04/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had a vapor barrier installed and it was not installed properly.
We had a vapor barrier installed by Teminix, the company rep came out a year later and stated we had standing water and need a drain system put in. Another year later, he told us the same thing. We called out 2 companies for an inspection, both said the vapor barrier was not sealed at the seams and needed to be replaced, costing us more than $5,000 with a fully encapulated system. We also had another temite company come out and they said the moisture levels were not bad and they didn't see a problem. All 3 companies agreed that a drain system was not needed or warranted. I finally got a estimate from Terminix a week after the manager come out to the property with an estimate for $2,575 including, a new vapor barrier. When it was installed, I was told there was a warranty. Of course, the company rep has sold us or tried to sell us something every time he comes out. I feel I should not have to pay for a new vapor barrier when it was installed incorrectly the first time.

Desired Settlement
According to the estimate, the new vapor barrier would cost $700, I think since the new companies we have contacted are more than that, they should at least refund the $700. The cost for the new vapor barrier from the other companies is over $5,000, the $700 will barely cover that amount.

Business Response
I understand the confusion that our customer, the ********'s, feel about the issues that are involved with their moisture barrier. I have included the definition of a moisture barrier and how it is installed in my documentation and the emails sent between ****** and the customer. The confusion, I am sensing from what I have read, is that another company has stated that we did a job that was not adequate, when in fact, from what I have seen, we did correctly.

We used the proper materials and the workmanship was good, which we guaranteed against defects and that we installed it properly. It appears that we are talking about different techniques and cost.

We did not try and sell a liner where we felt it was not warranted, the type used in encapsulation of the crawlspace. We also install these systems and encapsulate homes. In this instance, we felt it was unwarranted. The moisture readings with the moisture barrier we had installed, even after it was inundated with water, were at 15%, far below the 20-24% readings we associate with the beginning of moisture issues in a crawlspace and most certainly lower than when we would quote to install a liner in a crawlspace. We make customers sign a form that states they don't need encapsulation if it does not meet certain criteria at our company but they want it anyway.

When our technician *** initially went to the house, he believed they needed a moisture barrier and they were sold one and it was installed. The coverage was 100%, the joints were overlapped and the poly was pinned to the crawlspace floor, as is our standard process for the installation of a moisture barrier. Installing liner, taping the seams, etc. is a different process and is not necessary for a moisture barrier.

Normally when we go to someones home, we do our inspection and base our quotes on what we see present at the time of inspection. When *** went out to the home, there was no standing water present in the crawlspace, or he would have recommended a sump pump at that time.

Upon his last inspection, he noticed the standing water in the crawlspace and told them it should be removed. Normally, if it (standing water) cannot be removed from the crawlspace using normal grading and draining techniques, we would quote a pump removal system that would involve a drain being installed around the inside perimeter of the crawlspace and then the sump pump would be installed to remove the water collected in the drain lines. We normally do not install partial drains because we could miss areas where heavier rains would require more drain line area.

******, in an attempt to take care of the customer, quoted a partial drain to alleviate the standing water issue because in his determination, he believed the issue could be resolved with a partial drain and he would be willing to go this route based on the customers issues, which I am guessing were caused by the other company telling them we did something that was wrong.

I would have no issue with coming out to the house myself next week and making sure this is the case. If it is not, I would be more than happy to either fix what is broken or remedy the situation in another way for the customer.

The issue, as I understand from what I am reading in the complaint is the joints were not taped together in the poly moisture barrier we installed. They do not have to be. If they are being shown some type of code or code book, i would like to see it, the date it came out and if it pertains to crawlspace moisture barriers or liners and encapsulations of crawlspaces. The two are separate issues. We tape liner joints when we install encapsulations as well or closed crawlspace systems.

From the evidence presented to me so far, I see no reason to install a liner in the crawlspace. If the standing water in the crawlspace still exists, it should be removed before a liner is installed. We now know beyond a doubt water does in fact make its way into the crawlspace from the exterior in more than one place and is lower than the exterior grade. The fix, a plastic diversion pipe on top of the ground, is temporary and does not appear to take care of all of the water issues that now face the homeowner.

I believe that ****** could have compromised on the cost of the installation of the new moisture barrier. He went another direction and gave them a discount on what a normal sump pump job would cost and if it didn't take care of the water issue, he would be back installing the rest of the system free. That is why we normally do total drain systems instead of partial systems. He was called by the customer, told they thought they had an issue with one of his techs trying to sell them something they did not need, crawled it himself and sent pictures to show that his technician was correct.

Hindsight being what it is, this wouldn't be an issue if it was raining or wet when we first came out. I would be willing to have ****** and his techs, along with my assistance, come out, install the sump pump as quoted and new moisture barrier at the quoted price from ****** less the price of the new moisture barrier. Or, we could do the job for the same price and bury the drain pipe and mount a pop up at the end of the gutter downspout pipe (up to 25') X 2 separate downspouts for the price quoted. If they desire to go another route, I would be more than willing to get our technical department involved in the process to show them we are shooting straight. We want our customers to be happy. We understand the frustration and we are willing to work with you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
2 crawl space businesses and one termite business agree, they did a very shabby job installing the vapor barrier. There was never any talk about any other options except what was done with the barrier. Never did he offer to seal the seams or anything of the sort. Even the "pins" they used to hold the vapor barrier down were not what is "normal" according to the other 2 crawlspace companies. Obviously, this company does not stand by what it sells. The first company that came out came out 2 days after *** and it was raining and there was not any standing water. I do NOT trust this company and I feel we were taken. It saddens me that companies treat people like this and it is okay. The other 2 companies gave me quotes for vapor barriers and encapsulation. I do not recommend this company to anyone. I cringe when I hear their commercials saying they are honest and they care.

Final Business Response
Once again, I will meet with the homeowners, any business owner or manager that wants to be there and I will bring personnel In our technical and training department and the branch manager and the technician so we can resolve this. Awe have been taking care of Crawlspace for 45 years. Let me know when during the week a good day for you would be and I'll have them all get together with the homeowner and our accusers. Because a moisture barrier that gets results of 15% readings is doing what it is supposed to do. Why would you or anyone else need a $2,000 moisture barrier when your readings are 15%? I want to see the paperwork they gave you and talk about this.

I want to see why the other company would put it down in the first place with standing water in the crawlspace. We cannot defend ourselves against nameless competitors that want your business. The corporate staff will need to come from **************. They could make it up by 10:00 on any weekday with some notice. We are a licensed general contractor and have been doing this work for a long time. We have entomologist, licensed mold specialists and can stand up to the scrutiny. If the poly floated away with water, I'll bet it does look bad now. pinning down the poly does not mean it's going to stay in place During a monsoon. Who's standard? Are they now telling you a moisture barrier does not have to be taped? What code are they looking at for the pins? does it not need to be taped?

The problem is a nameless company has you convinced we are wrong. If you really want to resolve this, we should all get together and let you hear from our experts as well. This is totally unfair and easily resolved. If we did something wrong inadvertently, we will fix it one way or another. Whether it is monetarily or the fixes suggested earlier. They present their evidence, we present ours. I look forward to getting together within the near future to resolve this issue. I really do want to help you. Please allow me to do this for you.

04/16/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
2 iisues: a) they have submitted an invoice for payment to our refinance company, although they were already paid. B) they lied to get further bid.
Needed inspection for VA refinance loan. They lied. Said we had termites, cost 1500 to treat. Inspection $150. Paid on day of inspection by debit. Told us we would not get loan if we failed to get treatment. We spoke with loan officer and made other arrangements. Called in another company because we didn't trust Terminix. No termites. Terminix sent invoice to refinance co for $150. They also say we do not have termites on signed document. Original diagram of our home, clearly shows xxx's where they say we had termites, but document states we have none. They lied to us and are charging twice.
Account #xxxxx. Date: 3/11/15. We paid by debit card on that day.

Desired Settlement
As they have lied about the termites in order to force us to pay an additional $1500 for termite treatment we did not need, and required us to pay an additional $75.00 to bring in another reputable firm to do the inspection, we want a statement sent to the refinance company that the balance is paid in full. Furthermore, we did not give them permission to send that inspection in. We had specifically told them to hold off until we decided what to do about the termites they, said we had. We actually feel that we are entitled to a refund of the original payment because we had to bring someone else in because we were suspicious of their report. We also want them to notify the refinance company that their is no balance due.

Business Response
1. We sent our invoice to his home, a copy which is attached. We also sent a copy of the info to the email that is noted in our attached email. This could have been sent on to his refinance company, we did not, however, invoice anyone but the homeowner.

2. The wood infestation report shows no areas of infestation. His letter is clean. Please see his copy. Our graph is not the WIR. It was used to present items that he may want to address. The customer did not call the office with any complaints. Again, if the email address we were told to send info to had any questions, they needed only to call us.

The area in question was a deck that the homeowner was removing, per our technician. He was given a quote for termite protection, vents, etc. to help him maintain his investment. We apologize for any misunderstanding with ******, out technician, who inspected your property. If you can show me an invoice that states we invoiced another entity, please make it available. Attached are the copies of our paperwork. Notice the quotes were written on the same graph, not a formal proposal.

A simple phone call would have stopped them from having to call anyone else. We are sorry that did not happen. We will gladly refund any money that was collected from another entity. Please provide documentation.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1. Invoice: They state: "could have been sent to refinance co." They knew. The email address is @53.com. Further, they knew to forward the inspection form to this email address. We told them not to because we were determining how to deal with termite issue.
2. Invoice clearly states balance due: $150. They were paid. I have a debit on my account from terminix for $150 on the day of inspection. Why are they rebilling? They do not address this in this complaint.
3.The graph: they are implying the graph is not part of the packet of legal documents. But, this graph was submitted to the refinance company as part of the legal packet. It clearly shows by their key that we have termites and yet they state we don't have termites. They fraudulently told us we have termites, to coerce us to buy the $1500 treatment. Why else would we hire another company (Peeler Enviromental), which we paid on the 12th for a termite inspection?
4. Therefore, we want our $150 back because their inspection was fraudulent. We had to hire someone else to determine whether we have termites or not - just to find out a certified company lied to us.
5. The attachment is from by bank account, showing both Terminix debit of $150 and Peeler Environment for $75.

Final Business Response
The invoice and the WIR would have been sent where we were told to send it, as stated on the sales call slip. It specifically said to email info, we emailed it. We received the info from the homeowner. We do not have the email unless it is given to us. We followed the instructions. We would have followed the new instructions had they called the office. There is no record of this happening.

Enclosed is her picture of the house with the deck removed. Notice the wood to ground contact. The termite damage was gone/removed and no wooden members of an attached deck were at the residence, although clearly there when we went out initially. That is why the letter does not have anything about termites. It is also why the graph is different. She did make sure and reinspect and this picture shows her information is correct. ****** saw and documented what actually happened every step of the way, by her graph, her pictures, etc.

The state of NC says:

"Evidence includes both present and past activity of wood-destroying insects visible in, on or under a structure, or in or on debris under the structure. Permanently attached decks, porches, storage sheds, etc. are included in these inspections".


What happens if evidence of wood-destroying insects is found? The state of NC says:


"When a PCO finds evidence of wood-destroying insects (such as termite tubes or cast wings, damage or exit holes from wood-boring beetles etc.) he must report its presence and specific location on the WDIR. The report must clearly indicate whether or not the insects have been or are in the wooden members. If no evidence of treatment exists in the case of subterranean termites, the PCO may submit a bid to treat the structure".

****** went above and beyond to try and help. She also gave you a quote as regulations say we can, although we don't have to. When you called her that night, she was telling you that you didn't have to buy the termite job. Remove the issue, I'll inspect, the letter isn't written. What is the problem?

As for billing twice, I still don't understand this. A copy of the invoice was sent to the email address and to you. The invoice is directed to you. We didn't bill twice. Do you have anything, anywhere that shows a double billing? Or do you have exact copies of the same invoice? Because you don't owe us anything. I know we didn't collect twice and you don't have a balance as I showed in our last attachments. Your invoice would not have matching dates with the day of your account posting. I wish I could open the bank statement, but I can't. You were not charged twice by our company.

53.com means nothing to me and I know it doesn't to our secretaries. Our secretaries were able to take a copious amount of notes on the phone about what you requested when you originally called us. If you told the technician, this information, she isn't in charge of sending the letter. We have no record of you calling about changing who we sent it to.

I don't understand what difference it makes that the closing attorneys or bankers received a copy of the material? You would have given them the letter anyway at closing and they would then want the issues addressed.

We would have helped your bank with any issues. Bankers and attorneys handle the letters daily. They could have called or you could have called to resolve any issue. If they had a copy of your invoice, they may have asked for proof of payment, but they didn't take your money again.

We were not called about the letter and why you chose to get another company involved. That was a decision that you and your bank made. We came back out to your home for free and did our inspection because the letter was not written yet. It would be easier to have you call and address concens about what was written. What did they do different? What was wrong with the letter where you couldn't close?

I totally disagree with what you are saying. We love our customers and do our best to take care of them. I am sorry you feel the way you do. Please submit evidence of fraud.

07/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Will not return phone calls for support request. Caught in several lies concerning property damage and contract refund.
1. Called on several occasions requesting service, left message, no response. Called the service agent and he stated that the office secretary does not return her calls. He didn't know why but also stated that she does not even return his calls when he is out on a job.

2. Had a problem with our dehumidifier in the crawlspace not working and evidence of mold present on the floor joist. Called the office, no response. After several calls I spoke with the office manager in Maiden, NC (******* ****. He came out the next day. He replaced the filter in the dehumidifier and stated that was not mold on the floor joist he knew this because he stated that he checked the wood moisture using his moisture gauge. I asked to see it he then said it was in his truck. I asked how could he check the moisture in the wood and he stated there was a gauge in crawlspace that he used. I called a professional out and he stated there was nothing in the crawlspace he could have used. The manager out right lied to my face.
3. I asked the Maiden manager what I needed to do to cancel my contract due to the trust issues and service I was getting from him and he stated all I had to do was give him a verbal request. I told him that this was my verbal request. He said he would cancel my contract and issue a refund for the remainder left on my contract. That was almost 2 weeks ago. I called the office to check on the status of my refund and the secretary stated that my contract had never been cancelled. He lied again.

4. Hired a new company for the pest, termite, dehumidifier, and HVAC service. After the first spraying for pest control I saw more dead bugs/spiders around the outside of my home than the entire 4 years of Terminix spraying. Could they be using weak watered down chemicals, I don't know??

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund due for the remainder of my service.
I feel like the Manager ******* **** owes me an apology for telling me the lies and I feel like he should be disciplined for his actions.

Business Response
I am sorry if you had a hard time being helped. When I researched this, I found out that you called your technician ***** and he called the manager, *******, who immediately responded. I don't know why you had a hard time getting helped. You called your technician and we came running. We have secretaries that, if on the phone, will call right back if you leave a message. When ***** told ******* you were trying to get with him, he called right away.

******* arrived at your home, and listened to your complaint. your homes dehumidifier was not running. You said a reset button was pushed and it came back on. The machine does not have a reset button, it has an adjustment knob which was turned up to maximum so that it would run by someone other than Terminix. It was off because it is supposed to go on and off when the moisture levels in your home were at acceptable levels of dryness so as to prevent wood destroying fungus to grow on the wood in your crawlspace. These units are expensive and the longer you have them, the cheaper they are. They have this feature built in to save you money. It is energy star compliant.

These spores are "dead" or inactive when the moisture levels are maintained below 28% for wood destroying fungus and below 20% for stain fungus on the wood. These spores are always in the air but they cannot grow on your wood below these numbers. They do nothing below these. We hope that you don't need the dehumidifier much at all after the initial drying out period in the crawlspace and that it is used very sparingly. Our inspection showed no timbers were higher than 14% at the time of inspection. ******* then went out to his truck, took his inspection coveralls off at his truck and you both discussed his inspection on the porch. He told you he had a moisture meter when he took the readings. I will be glad to come out and take some for you when you want me to. There is another sensor in your crawlspace as well. The one that takes readings of the humidity levels and then feeds the information to the house.

Your homes crawlspace is now encased with 12 mil nylon reinforced iner from the floor of the crawlspace to a height that allows inspects for termites at the top of the walls. With our system the odds are extremely low that you would ever have a problem with wood destroying fungus again. However, you spoke to him about the fungus being on the wood. The fungus that is on the wood is dormant now. It is not doing anything (it can't anymore because of our solution) and removing it would not make a difference, If the moisture levels by some very small chance (because of what we did for you) shot back up, the fungus would start to attach to the wood again and the process would start over. The spores are always in the air.

If there was confusion about readings, it was because he had a hard time communicating with you (I am not saying this was your problem). It was almost, in his opinion, like you had made up your mind about firing us from the job. You said another company came out and looked at you crawlspace. I don't know what they told you, but I will meet with them, you and whoever else you want present to discuss this issue. . ( I hope you didn't buy something you didn't need. I want you to know that our contracts are different from our competitors. Lifetime unlimited damage guarantees against termite damage. Most of them are only good for ten years or less and don't cover everything we do.

When you told ******* that you wanted to cancel your service, he asked if you had a problem with your technician *****. You stated you thought he did a great job for you the entire time. If you had a problem you knew you could get free reserves any time you wanted. I won't respond about our pesticides, which are used at label strength.

Something made you think you had an issue larger than it really is. Someone told you that you had mold on your wood. I would like to see their report from where they took the samples and turned them into a lab. Did they take air sample readings in the house? Please send me a copy of the report. There is a big difference between stain fungus on the wood and mold. I know of only one pest company that does hvac in our area.

I am sorry that you had a problem getting with the office. I am looking into this for you. I am glad you had your technicians number. If you would like me to meet with all parties involved, please let me know. The check comes from our corporate office. We send a request and they cut the check. It usually takes longer than two weeks to get a check. I will look into that for you as well.



Consumer Response
I still have a disagreement with the response Terminix gave.

1) One of the occasions I was talking about was: I called ***** (our technician) requesting my termite traps be reinstalled in the front of the house. ***** said he called ******* the same day. 2 weeks later I was still waiting. I called the office and left a message requesting someone come out and reinstall our termite traps. I received no response. After 2 days I called ***** again, that's when he called ******* on his personal cell phone, ******* told ***** he had forgotten about it. I would have been ok with it had he took the time to give me an explanation and/or apology for taking so long. The termite traps were finally installed the next day. If customer service was important to ******* then he would have offered an explanation and/or apology.

2) I watched ******* go into the crawlspace and come out. I walked out on the porch to ask him what he found before he went to his truck. He did NOT have a meter to check the wood moisture (which he told me was 16%, in his response he said it was 14%). He's still not being honest in his response.

3) I called 2 weeks after he was suppose to cancel our contract and was told by the secretary that our contract had NOT been cancelled and ******* had transferred to the Hickory office. I feel ******* had no intentions on cancelling our contract. 2 days ago we received a call from our technician wanting to make an appointment to come out to spray our house. We told him our contract had been cancelled weeks ago. The technician was unaware that our contract had been cancelled. This was just 2 days ago.

I'm sorry but when I get customer service like this and the office manager lies to me and then says he had a hard time getting me to understand. What he had a hard time doing was convincing me to believe his lies...

I hope that the Terminix Corp. office will look into the ethics of ******* Byrd. I would not take the time to go through this complaint if there was not a true issue with this manager.

Final Business Response
Ma'am , I told you that you were not wrong in many cases and I have corrected the issues. I also made sure your accounts are cancelled and requested an expedited check.. We strive to take care of our customers and I wish you would have given me a chance to make it right. I sincerely wish you the best and apologize, once again.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It appears we are at a stalemate. We know what the truth is and Terminix still does not recognize what the truth is and we do not believe they ever will at this point. Therefore, we state again that we wish to cancel all three contracts with Terminix (and we still have not received confirmation of the three terminations) and received a check for monies owed to us. Thus ends our relationship with Terminix.

11/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
misrepresentation of facts, attempting to enter property without permission
On 07/03/2013 I had a pest control technician with this company to inspect and spray for insects. Upon reporting his findings, he stated that he did not find termites, but did find moisture and moisture damage underneath the house. The pictures shown and the condition reported seemed much worse than the actual condition when my husband and I actually crawled beneath the house. Moisture percentages in different areas were reported, but we were experiencing the wettest spring and summer in decades. Others who are elderly or debilitated and unable to physically get under the house and appraise the situation might have been persuaded to spend the $15,000.00 we were told it would take replace material and seal beneath the house. Materials needed would be new insulation in some areas and sealing of air conditioning duct. No replacement of structure required. He then went to my son's house to perform the same service, and when I asked him the condition under the house he stated that his was already sealed. This sealing amounted to polyethylene having been rolled on the ground. At this point I began to doubt whether he was being truthful. My son doubts that he actually performed the service properly due to the number of intact spider webs beneath the house. I went with him but stayed in the garage to make sure the dogs did not get out. We chose not to have them continue the service as I did not feel I could trust them to report truthfully or to perform the service they were hired to do. I actually saw many insects after he had been out to spray, but did not report this as we had decided not to continue to use them.
In October, they called and left 2 voicemails stating that it was time for them to come back out and I did not return their calls. ***** called again one morning when I was in the bathroom and I heard the voicemail stating that the technician would be out THAT DAY to perform the quarterly service. Had I been at work or not at home, they would have come on my property without my knowledge or consent. When I got out, I phoned the company and told them that it was bad business practice to come on the customer's property without permission. I have 6 large outside dogs that are contained in invisible fencing. Had the technician been bitten, or had he been hurt on my property I would have been liable. I also doubt the legality of coming on someone's property to perform any service without consent. I was charged $81.00 to discontinue service, which I paid. I feel the contract was first broken on their side by misrepresentation of facts, possible failure to perform the requested service, and attempt to enter property without permission or consent.

Desired Settlement
I feel that they did not live up to their end of the contract first. Had I felt I could trust them I would have continued the service as agreed upon. I would like a refund, but would like to have their practices investigated and changed if it is felt by the BBB or the law to be unethical.

Business Response
As you can see from our initial contact with the customer, we were up front with her on what our service costs, that it was initially for a year and that if she cancelled our service before the year was up she would have to pay a cancellation fee that was equal to 30% of the unpaid balance, which she then initialed. Please see the contracts. The contracts also show what our technician did at the time of service and any calls made by the customer for a free service between visits if they had any problems, which were not made to us during the ensuing three months. The same day of the initial service, we did a termite inspection for the customer, and although we did not come out of the 3rd as planned, we did come out on the 9th of July. We have only been on her property the one time. As you can see by the pictures, this house is in need of encapsulation. The moisture problem is coming from warm moist air from the outside coming in contact with the cool air in the crawlspace and causing it to rain or condensate in the crawlspace on the wood members. This causes the insulation to become wet and cause issues as well as the wood destroying properties of the fungus on the wood members of the crawlspace. These are actual photos of her house. We did not propose this for the son's house, as he did not have this issue. We did tell her he had a moisture barrier under his and it had signs of treatment for termites in the past. If you don't like the estimate, please feel free to get another. We do not practice the sort of behavior we are being accused of in this report. Not once did the owner call us about any concern whatsoever about the estimate. When we called to set up the second pest visit, the customer did not call us back. We document the calls on the ticket, as can be seen on the top of the pest ticket. When we received no reply we told them what day we would be out in the area and we would like to treat on that day. We then received an immediate call back from the customer stating they did not want service unless they requested it. When reminded we had a one year contract and they had initialed the fact they would be charged for early cancellation, the homeowner told us to go ahead and send the bill, which we did. We then got this disturbing letter from the BBB. I dispute everything the customer is saying except for the phone call where we said we wanted to do the service that day. We always strive to take care of our customers, new and old. We documented with pictures, facts from Clemson, etc. what we saw and what type of problem they were having at their home. It is unfortunate that this could not have been remedied in another matter, such as a phone call to the manager. We did what we were supposed to and we found a serious problem at a customers house that could have went on for years had our technician not crawled the house. Please be advised we have not received the $81.00 for early cancellation of service.

09/03/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contrary to their warranty to repair termite damage they are refusing to honor their warranty.
I took out their service contract in sept 2009 account number *******. have been renewing it every year by paying their charges. at the time of contract they had inspected whole house and treated with area infected. House was certified free of termite. Two years later another area was discovered with termite and they treated the area. fortunately I found that infestation promptly and damage visible was minimal. they fixed it. now i discovered other area. Called company and they came but refused to inspect the damage claiming it was not termite damage. When I opened the area i found significant termite damage. Now Terminix is refusing to fix it claiming this damage was there four years ago even though I saw live termite when I opened the damaged area last Saturday.
they are not honoring their warranty to repair damage. my numerous calls are not answered by responsible people. they have a employee who communicates with me by always claims he has no decision authority and can't commit anything. he claims he will talk to his boss "*****" but to no help or direction. I need them to treat the area and repair the damage asap.

Desired Settlement
Treat infected area, reinspect whole house for any other infected area and treat all problem area, repair damage by restoring to original appearance of damaged area.

Business' Initial Response
There are absolutely no termites in the damaged area. It is water damage. However, the damage is minor and as a customer in good standing we will repair the issue in question as long as Mr. ***** agrees that this is not termite damage and there are no termites in the damage. If he disagrees, he can call the Department of Agriculture and have them inspect the damage for termites and termite damage as they are the licensing board for our industry. When they inspect and find no evidence of termites, we will then not be required to fix the damage. The ball is in Mr. ******. court. We take care of our customers with termite damage and sometimes we take care of our customers without termite damage. We have had personnel, including regional staff out to his home.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank you for doing repair. As stated in my complaint there was termite damage ( and might be water damage as well) which was verified by two employees of business. Even though termites were not visible ( they may have moved on or lizards, I had lots of them in that area, may have eaten them) when they came to inspect a week after I asked them to inspect. I have pictures of termite damage with mud tunnels and other evidences if they like to see it.

Business' Final Response
Please be advised that even though we did not have a termite infestation and that it was all moisture damage, we repaired the damage anyway as the area in question was so minor. Although not obligated to do this, we did after giving the homeowner ample time to investigate our findings.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pest Control Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/01/1980Business started: 01/01/1947
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

SC Department of Pesticide Regulation (The)
130 Lehotsky Hall
Clemson, SC 29634-0001
(864) 646-2120
http://www.clemson.edu/public/regulatory/pesticide regulation/departmental areas/pest management professionals/index.html

BBB records show a license number of 1797PW for this company, issued by SC Department of Pesticide Regulation (The). Their web address is http://www.clemson.edu/public/regulatory/pesticide regulation/departmental areas/pest management professionals/index.html.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1970, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sam Foust (Regional Manager)Mr. Lonnie Ball (Manager-Blackmon St.)Mr. Rocky Carswell (Manager-Beam Rd.)Mr. Chad Maier (Manager-York Rd.)Mr. Tony Hooks Manager (S. Center St.)Mr. Shaun Nguyen (Manager-Hebron St)Ms. Minh Nguyen (Manager-Indian Trail)Mr. Rob Renfro (Manager-Perry St.)Mr. Elwood Sebert (Manager-Stafford St.)Mr. Danny Whitley (Manager-Washington St.)
Number of Employees

190

Business Category

Pest Control Services


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Terminix Service, Inc. has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Terminix Service, Inc.

Regional Office

Huntersville, NC 28078

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Terminix Service, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (704) 332-8225

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (704) 377-6605
  • (704) 882-1646
  • (704) 788-6005
  • (704) 291-9397
  • (704) 357-3227
  • (803) 328-5951
  • (704) 332-8224
  • (704) 867-4786
  • (828) 323-8362
  • (704) 872-2397
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Pest Control Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.