BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/30/2002

Bulwark Exterminating LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (704) 391-9838Fax: (704) 321-15732300 Stevens Mill Rd Ste A, MatthewsNC 28104-4101

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/30/2002

BBB has determined that Bulwark Exterminating LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bulwark Exterminating LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bulwark Exterminating LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
07/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid by groupon and services not fully delivered and now getting accused if not paying.
See below. Owner name is *** ********* and I am the tenant ***** ******. Acct XXXXXX. Past due is 69.00. This is the exact amount of the groupon I gave him which he originally would not take... Said he didn't need it because he already had record of it. I insisted he take it. Not sure if name of service person.

Desired Settlement
I am tenant owner should be refunded the entire groupon . Acct number is *******.
amount. Service consisted of man coming two hrs late and walking around with a spray can maybe three minutes. He said it was too wet to spray outside but he would come back. I told him to leave card when he did. Never saw card and bug problem continued to get worse until we found another person to do the work. I keep getting bills even though I have called twice to complain.. It takes 20 minutes to get the phone answered. And they keep transferring your call. I feel the owner and myself have been scammed

Business Response
I am sorry that Mrs. ***** had such problems. I did check the GPS for the truck and the technician was there for over 15 minutes. If he did not do the outside service for that I am sorry. All Mrs. had to do was call and ask for it we would have gladly come out and preformed the outside service. We would have also taken care of the inside again if Mrs. was still having problems. Many times we do not get called to start doing a service until there is a major problem. It some times takes two or even three treatments to get a problem started taken care of. That is why we offer on going services. On our one time programs which people take advantage of we even offer free calls backs for thirty days after the original service. We have put a credit on the account from the coupon #'s that were provided for us so there will be no more bills. I would like the opportunity to send our new territory manager to Mrs. home to do a follow up service for free just to show Mrs. that we can take care of her. All that needs to be done is for Mrs. to call and we will come back out for free and redo the whole service all over again. Please have anyone give me a call if need be or Mrs. ********* can call us or Mrs. ******.

06/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
communication problems with Tech, Tech not being efficient
When the tech came to the door both occasions she never introduced herself, just said she was going to start in the back. She also never asked or seemed to care when I tried to say I saw a pest here or there, and she never took care of the problem. Both times she was here she didn't do her entire job that she was supposed to do in the visit. She also didn't spend more than 30 min during a visit, which is why the job wasn't done efficiently

Desired Settlement
First off, I would like to cancel my services with you. Secondly, I don't think I should have to pay for the initial visit or the follow up when nothing was done

Business Response
I appreciate Mrs. ******* contacting us here in North Carolina. I would love to help her because that is what we do. Our company helps people. So if Mrs. ******* would not mind to please call XXX-XXX-XXXX and select 1 or 2 that is the numbers that would help her. There are two branches in ******* and I am not sure which one would help her the most. The phone number I gave her will know and will be able to help her. This is our support center.

04/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Over the past 2 years Bulwark Exterminating has provided services at my house without my permission. I called them numerous times complaining about this practice and paid them for these services that I did not authorize. Well, after 2 years I gave up and will not pay them another scent. The last service was not authorized and now they are threatening to send me to a collections agency. Good luck, provide the collection agency my authorization for the last treatment. I've also sent 5 letters to Bulwark Exterminating explaining my position.

Desired Settlement
I do not want to hear from Bulwark Exterminating again!!!! There are plenty of other reputable exterminating companies I can call.

Business Response
I am sorry that this person is so upset. We have tried numerous times to call Mr. or Mrs. ****** but we never got a return call back. I have canceled their account and taken off any charge that was on the account. If Mr. or Mrs. ****** would like to ask any further questions they may call at any time. All we ever ask for from any customer is a little communication. We work with and for any customer to do our very bust to make them happy. We are very sorry we did not make them happy.

11/25/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Business violated its contract and has failed to reimburse me for their error.
Signed one year contract on August 28, 2012. Called firm August 28, 2013 to cancel the service. Per terms of their Agreement, a thirty day advance notice (nor any specified time period) is necessary to cancel contract. The gentleman I spoke to when cancelling told me that my account has been updated accordingly and service will cease immediately. My credit card was billed on 08/31/13. I noticed this error and called Bulwark for details. They said that they sent someone out earlier in the month to spray the grounds, so they couldn't reimburse me. The $89 covers two months of service, so why was I told on 08/28/13 that my service has ceased? They need to adhere to their terms and reimburse me for their error. It's not my fault they jumped the gun and dispatched their service tech before my initial term even expired. Very unethical.

Desired Settlement
$89 refund to be credited back to credit card.

Business Response
I appreciate Mrs. **** bringing this concern up. Our process is such that at the end of the year the service agreement is renewed month to month after the first year. It is the customers responsibility to call us and ask to end the service other wise we keep going. We have thousands of customers that have continued for years. Mrs. did call and end her service after the August service was preformed. We call all of our customers at least two days in advance and Mrs. could have called us then and say not to come but Mrs. **** did not do that. We did not hear from her so we took care of her service just like we always have Now that it is three months later Mrs. **** is calling in to get her money back. I am going to refund her money to her with my apologizes that we were only doing what was supposed to be done since there was no communication. I have contacted the bill department and am getting the amount of the last service taken care of. If Mrs. **** needs any thing else she may feel free to call us at the office.

Final Consumer Response
I contacted the company December 2nd via e-mail, December 11th via e-mail as well as today inquiring about my refund. Per your information, I were to have received an $89 refund within 10 business days. It's now beyond 10 business days and I still haven't had a response from them about my refund.

I wrote a few days ago asking for a copy of the executed Agreement, and had a response, but the topic of the refund is NEVER addressed. If they wanted to mail me the refund, it's common business practice to mail it to the last known address. Or, they should have credited my card they had on file accordingly if they had intentions of refunding my money.

I'm not satisfied with this company's response.

Final Business Response
The refund has been issued as of today. I am sorry that it took so long. Mrs. **** will see it soon.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pest Control Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/29/2002Business started: 01/01/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Agriculture & Consumer Services, NC
2 W Edenton St
Raleigh, NC27601-1020
(919) 733-7125
http://www.ncagr.com/index.htm

BBB records show a license number of 1636PW for this company, issued by Agriculture & Consumer Services, NC. Their web address is http://www.ncagr.com/index.htm.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Preston Green (Owner)Mr. Bart Seever (Owner)
Number of Employees

15

Business Category

Pest Control Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bulwark Exterminating LLC

2300 Stevens Mill Rd Ste A

Matthews, NC 28104-4101

To | From

LocationsX

4 Locations

  • P.O. Box 151 

    Queen Creek, AZ 85142

  • 15138 Marshall Valley Ct 

    Charlotte, NC 28227-6519

  • 1801 N Tryon St 

    Charlotte, NC 28270(704) 321-3716

  • 2300 Stevens Mill Rd Ste A 

    Matthews, NC 28104-4101(704) 391-9838
    Fax: (704) 321-1573

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bulwark Exterminating LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Pest Control Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.