BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/08/2004

Advance Painting and Roofing Contractors

Phone: (704) 529-8405Fax: (704) 910-06904109 Stuart Andrew Blvd STE H, CharlotteNC 28217-1582

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/08/2004

BBB has determined that Advance Painting and Roofing Contractors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Advance Painting and Roofing Contractors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Advance Painting and Roofing Contractors

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 4 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
01/13/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
used them for a paint job did a lousy job sub quality material would not return phone calls finally came out 6 months later tried to fix it did not
the company persistently called me about painting outside of house. 2 nd time I used them. first time I used them they did not paint the bottom of door it rotted I had to replace the door. britt assured me there would be no problems. I reluctantly conceded. gave them the go ahead at the end of may. took a month to get scheduled. I had to pay more than quoted price. after about 3 months all caulking failed the paint was failing they did not prime my brand new door did not set the screws and fill in the holes. took them 3 months to finally call back. I have been deathy ill for this whole year was in my dining room and saw my window seal had absorbed a tremendous amount of water went outside and the caulking they were to replace never got replaced and the moisture is being absorbed around my window. went and looked at the other issues looks like nothing was done. this is now going to cost me a bundle of money to fix and they still will not return calls

Desired Settlement
I want he job completely done over with quality materials and workmanship and my window sill replaced or pay to have it done correctly

Business Response
***Document Attached***
Our apologies for the delayed response, we close for 2-3 weeks over the holidays due to the extremely slow nature of our business during that time and the companies goal to give employees and subcontractors time to be with family.

We will reach out to the customer today to setup a time to review the work with him directly. The management of Advance was distressed to learn that he had not received responses back from the last salesman he had worked with and we will be internally reviewing our processes and procedures with that person.

The customer has had us paint his house twice, once in 2006 and again in 2014. We were surprised to see such comments about the workmanship especially since the last job was completed by one of our most experienced crews. We of course honor our 5 year guarantee that covers cracking, peeling, and blistering materials that were installed or applied by Advance (see attached). We are happy to address any areas, up to the entire job, that are covered under that guarantee. However, as the customer is stating that he wants to have the entire job redone, we must have management review the work prior to sending out a crew to do the work.

As stated above we will reach out to the customer today to schedule that review and discuss his specific issues with the workmanship and materials.

Thank you



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
at this time xxxxx did call but what he failed to mentioned is I had left two messages for him prior beginning the first week in november before EVER filing a complaint I plan on calling him and doing a walk through but since I am disabled and constantly at the doctors I feel that giving me only 5 days is unfair. i need more time to get this resolved. hopefully we can come to a resolution but based on their response in writing i don't know. they were well aware of these issues.

Final Consumer Response

05/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In April of 2013, we hired Advance Painting and Roofing to paint the outside of our home. They painted our home, our porch, the wrought iron posts and the porch ceiling. They had to come back 2 days later to fix a few problems where one of the painters had painted black on white and the front of our house wasn't painted properly. After they came back and fixed the problems, we were satisfied. Now on to our Complaint. They don't want to Honor their Contract, which they're supposed to come back out once a year for five years to do touch ups. Well, last month my Husband noticed on the side of our house that the paint is peeling and blistering. And our porch is chipping. On April 22nd,he called the Manager whose name is xxxxx. xxxxx told him he would call him back that night and make an appointment to come out. He didn't call. My Husband called xxxxx back on April 24th, and xxxxx told him that the work van was broken down and he didn't have any work men to come out. But he would call him back in a day or two. He didn't. On April 29th, I called xxxxx myself at the office. He answered the phone and was very nice until he found out who I was. He said that he would call me back later and make an appointment but I wouldn't let him off of the phone until he made an appointment with me to come out. I told him all of the problems just like my Husband did and xxxxx said that all of the issues needed to be taken care of and would be. So we made an appointment for xxxxx to come out on May 13th between 9 and 10 A.M. He was a no show again. I called their office a few hours after he didn't show up, and a fellow by the name of xxxxx said that xxxxx wasn't there and asked if I wanted to leave a message. I said to tell xxxxx that he has lied to us for the last time and that the ball is now in our court and I thanked him and hung up.
Product_Or_Service: Paint

Desired Settlement
We would like for our Contract to be Honored like the Company said it would be. They told us they would come out and take care of any and all issues once a year and we still have the Contract that we signed stating that. If they don't want to Honor their Contract, they will be forced to give us a full refund plus any damages that have incurred. Which ever they want to do. But the longer they wait, the more the paint is peeling away.

Business Response
We apologize for the issues regarding the delay in fulfilling this warranty work. The issue with the vehicle did hinder our ability to get this done on the specified date and there may have been other misunderstandings regarding who was to complete the work (i.e. xxxxx is the office manager and does not do touch up work but handles the scheduling of the crews).

AS of this week on 5/20/2013 all of the warranty work has been completed for the homeowners and I talked with Mr. xxxxx who said they were happy.

08/13/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
07/22/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My Car port and storage area was painted 11/13 painted floor, started to peel off. Immediately.

They do not return my call when the say they wil

Car port floor peeling paint. Promised to call back to set up a date to repaint. They don't call and seem to have no intention of follow through.

Desired Settlement
I have called this company repeatedly all I get is a promise to get back to me to set up a date to repaint the floor. They obviously are stiffing me and have no intentions of following up. I will accept a repaint or a full refund.

Business Response
We have been working with Mr. xxxxx since before he filed this complaint. The complaint is technically invalid because we do not warranty floor coatings of any kind (please see the attached copy of our guarantee). However due to Mr. xxxxx repeat business with our company and health we felt compelled to help him. The product that he selected for this application seems to be failing. We have been trying to work with the manufacture of that product to determine the best way to resolve the issues that are occurring but they are unable or unwilling to help us. Since this complaint was filed we have met with Mr. xxxxx and a rep from a different manufacturer to further analyze and determine the best course of action. We are still working toward resolution to make sure that Mr. xxxxx is treated fairly. We do not feel the issues stem from any failure of our company or guarantee but will continue to work towards making sure that Mr. xxxxx is satisfied,

Thank you,

xxxxx, Office Manager



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
At no time did the Rep that quoted the price and painting indicate that the floor would peel, nor was the product chosen, said to be a problem. To say that they "worked with me from the beginning" is true only if you consider constant promises to get "back to me" without doing so. I do not intend to put continual pressure on myself because of a company that does not live up to it's written and verbal warrants. I do not accept their actions up to this point.

Final Business Response
We have scheduled the removal and reapplication of the work in question which is failing in the car port area.

Thank you,

Advance Contractors

09/20/2016Problems with Product / Service
06/13/2016Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Painting Contractors, Pressure Washing, Roofing Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts, Carpenters

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/20/2004Business started: 08/20/2004
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mitchell Fogel (Managing Partner)Mr. Luis Arroyo (Managing Partner)
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

Painting Contractors, Pressure Washing, Roofing Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts, Carpenters

Alternate Business Names
Advance Painting Contractors, LLC
Industry Tips
ROOFING CONTRACTORS

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Advance Painting and Roofing Contractors has received 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 4 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Advance Painting and Roofing Contractors

4109 Stuart Andrew Blvd STE H

Charlotte, NC 28217-1582

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4109 Stuart Andrew Blvd STE H 

    Charlotte, NC 28217-1582(704) 529-8405
    Fax: (704) 910-0690

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Advance Painting and Roofing Contractors is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Painting Contractors

ROOFING CONTRACTORS
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.