BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/16/2012

A Second Coat

(704) 451-8656View Additional Phone Numbers1329 Cortland Rd E, CharlotteNC 28209-3521

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/16/2012

BBB has determined that A Second Coat meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised A Second Coat's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on A Second Coat

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The owner of the company quoted a price for the work , but charged more. He also added additional fees that were not discussed with me.
On Wednesday, July 30, 2014, xxxxx, owner, A Second Coat Painting, came to my home to give estimates for painting and handyman work. (attachment # 1-A and 1-B) Since his quotes for painting were so much higher than other contractors, I did not hire him. However I called him to ask if we could just do the handyman work. He said yes, and asked me to send him a list of what I wanted done. (attachment #2 and #3) He told me that it would be Wednesday of the next week before he could send a worker to my home. However on Tuesday, August 12, 2014 , I was surprised when his handyman, xxxxx called and asked if I still needed work done and what did I need him to do? I asked xxxxx was he coming to give me a quote or to start working and he said he was coming to do the work. xxxxx came, but unbeknownst to me, he had a young none English speaking kid with him. I assumed the Kid was his helper. xxxxx also came out and told me that he would charge me for xxxxx on an hourly rate. The kid was not able to do anything independently. xxxxx would start the work then instruct the kid on how to complete it. When xxxxx started a different project he constantly stopped to check on the kid and to help him with doing the work correctly. When xxxxx wasn't helping the kid, the kid was seeking xxxxx for help. I had no idea that I was being charged man hours for xxxxx and the kid. In spite of knowing what the job entailed, xxxxx had no supplies or materials to get the job done. I had to leave the house twice to go and get the materials, while they waited for me to return, which made the hours of work increase. After the work was finally completed, xxxxxx told me that I owed him and the kid for 7 hours of work each (14 hours) plus I had to pay for the guy who delivered the ladder. Since xxxxx and I had not discussed these additional charges, xxxxx and I both tried calling xxxxx for clarity several times, but he didn't answer. Therefore, xxxxx and the kid left without a check. About thirty minutes later xxxxx called and I reminded him about the agreement that was made which was 27.00 per hour for xxxxx work. He started screaming at the top of his voice as he said," I hate when people get the work done and don't want to pay. I clearly told you that you are to pay 35.00 per hour for each man and 35.00 for the ladder to be delivered." I told him that I don't have a problem paying for work that was done but I do have a problem paying when you start increasing your price and adding charges that we clearly never discussed. As he continued to scream he said, " I going to send you an invoice and I expect you to pay it today!" He then hung up the phone. Thirty seconds later he called back and said since there was a misunderstanding he will only charge me 30.00 per hour for each man and 30.00 for the delivery of his ladder. I said to him, " you are still violating the agreement". He sent an invoice for 450.00 (attachment #3) The very next morning, xxxxx called me repeatedly. The ladder guy came by and started nonstop ringing the doorbell and loudly knocking on the door in order to get the check, in spite of the fact that I told xxxxx that I was going to put his check in the mail ( attachment #3 also) I handed the ladder guy the check on 8/13/14 (attachment #4) It was cashed by xxxxx on 8/13/14 (attachment # 5).

Desired Settlement
Of course this complaint for me is not about the money its the principle of the matter. As I noted on the check,(attachments 4 and 5) I was very disappointed and dissatisfied with the owner's lack of respect, behavior, attitude, unprofessionalism, and price gouging. I did not agree to pay 35.00 or 30.00 dollars per hour for his handyman and especially not for a kid that did not know what he was doing and needed to be baby sat throughout the work day. I will agree to the following:
1. pay xxxxx the agreed quote of $27.00 per hour for 7 hours which equals $189.00
2. Pay the kid for the four bathroom faucets @ 20.00 per faucet and 25.00 for the kitchen faucet which equals 105.00
3. The total that I will be willing to pay is$ 294.00
4. I am asking for a refund of $156.00.

Business Response
The customer has a printed analysis from the staging company that referred me that clearly states all handyman services are billed at $35 an hour PER MAN.The customer failed to say in her complaint that I was at her home the day the work was being done.There was an issue with a very heavy light that needed my attention.I stopped what I was doing and drove to her house to give my guidance on the situation.We resolved the issue and I asked her to write a check and give it to my guys when they finished.She agreed.When she complained that she thought it was an hourly rate for both men I dropped my rate to $30/hr. I am happy to provide the analysis which is dated before the work was performed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The staging company the he is referring to referred several companies to do the work in my home, therefore, he was not exclusive. The unsigned papers that a staging company gives to me that quotes prices from people that she has worked with has absolutely nothing to do with this case. Especially, since the owner quoted me a different price in his own hand writing. If Mr. xxxxx had adequately read the complaint, he would have read that I stated he did come to me house that morning. He didn't need to solve a problem for me because my husband and I had already solved it. His solution was to get more money from me by going to the store to shop for me, of which I told him that I do my own shopping. If Mr. xxxxx was so busy, as he puts it, why did his workers make an unscheduled call to see if they could come to my house to work that day. I don't believe they would have turned down a bigger job to come to do a small job at my home. If Mr. xxxxx was so busy why did he have time to try to go and shop for me. So, I don't want him to think that he was doing me a favor when in fact he was doing what he does best which is "hustling!" The fact that he thinks charging the customer for a person to bring a ladder to the job site is the right thing to do is ludicrous especially if that charge had not been discussed with the customer. Why would anyone in their right mind agree to pay him for delivering a ladder that he knew was needed to get the job done? Why would the customer have to pay because his Company has not been as prosperous or blessed to have workers drive trucks that will hold ladders and other supplies and materials needed to get the job done. Again, when he came by the house he told me that I would only have to pay for his worker, xxxxx per hour. If his hourly rate had changed to something different than what he had written on our contract, that would have been yet another opportunity to say so, but he didn't. When Mr. xxxxx received attachment #2 he should have at that time told me that his rates had changed, but yet again, he did not. I am sending all attachments that relate to this case when shows all prices and all opportunities to discuss with me any differences in charges. I do not accept his response. Hustling and lying only get you where you are now!!!

Final Business Response
I fully disagree with the comments written by the client.
Having said that I am willing to pay half of her request of $156.
I am willing to pay $78 dollars to resolve this.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1 will not accept this resolution because the agreement written in his handwriting clearly states that I was to pay $27.00 for his handyman. It also states that that price included all materials, but they had no materials to get the job done. Therefore, to resolve this problem, I will agree to the following:
xxxxx the handyman 27.00 for 7 hours=189.00
I will give the kid for trying to install the four bathroom faucets, but needed constant supervision and assistance 25.00 per faucets=100.00 and for his trying to install the kitchen faucet 30.00. For the delivery of the ladder I will give 0.00 dollars. I am asking for a refund of $131.00 which I feel is fair and reasonable. I would like to add that in the future if you are sending two handymen, you should discuss it with the customer. Also, if you are charging the customer for two handymen you should make sure it is an experienced handyman and not some kid that needs constant help completing his little tasks.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Painting Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/18/2010Business started: 06/01/1989
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Tim McDonnell (President / Owner)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Painting Contractors

Alternate Business Names
A Second Coat, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for A Second Coat

1329 Cortland Rd E

Charlotte, NC 28209-3521

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1329 Cortland Rd E 

    Charlotte, NC 28209-3521(704) 451-8656
    (704) 705-9890

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*A Second Coat is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (704) 705-9890
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Painting Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.