BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/25/2010

Matthews Moving Systems, Inc.

Phone: (704) 358-8500Fax: (704) 358-8999

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints13

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (13)
02/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was overcharged at the time of my move on 11/22/14. Monday 11/24/14 overcharge was acknowledged and refund promised but never sent.
Move date 11/22/14. Charges submitted that day were higher than quoted. They told me to pay and they would refund difference. On Monday 11/24/14 they acknowleded that I was overcharged and would refund the difference. Despite numerous call , no refund has been sent. They also damaged a piece of furniture. After over a month of requests, some came out , removed the hinges from the furniture and said they would return to repair the furniture. Over a month has passed and no one has come out again. I have called xxxxx, every week with no response. I was also not reimbursed for lost items.

Desired Settlement
$100 for overpayment , $20 for lost item, repair of broken furniture.

Business Response
The repairs have been made, the settlement on lost item has been settled as well. The refund was issued the same day settlement was made.

10/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Non-payment of monies owed as a result of a damages claim following a move.
After utilizing Matthews for a house move I made a claim for damages to personal property.
This move took place in July and I have been trying to get the matter resolved ever since.
I provided details of the damages with pictures and estimates for repairs. This was questioned over a period of several weeks. On September 27th I finally received an email confirmation that my claim was approved and that a check would be sent out the next week - i.e. during the week of 29th.
Having not received the check by the end of that week I again contacted Matthews to ask for confirmation that the check had been sent. The answer I got back was 'Your settlement has not been mailed out yet. It is in accounting and will be mailed when they process claim checks'
This was on Oct 6th. I have contacted the company on two further occasions since then and basically got the same reply - i.e. it is up to accounting to issue the check and we don't know when this will be.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking payment of my claim without any further delays.

Business Response
Mr. xxxxx was contacted on October 9, 2014 and was informed that the check had already been processed by the accounting department. The claim has been settled in full.

09/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Items packed in error and promised rebate not sent. Lack of urgency in finding missing item. No response to claim submitted.
Will attach documentation and copy of NCAG complaint form.

Desired Settlement
Rebate for erroneus packing as well as claim. Apology would be nice.

Business Response
We have settled Mr. xxxxx claim on August 28, 2014 and have reimbursed him the charges that he requested.

08/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
1) Forced to have stair banister removed at a cost of $400, and

2) Receiving no or conflicting responses to inquiries about broken glass tabletop.
On July 22, 2014, my furniture was delivered. The movers moved a very heavy and bulky triple dresser upstairs to a bedroom, but refused to move equally or even less heavy and bulky home office furniture. I was required to have the stair banister removed --- supervisor xxxxx. was very abrupt when asked why they were able to deliver the dresser upstairs but not the home office furniture, nor did he offer any assistance in finding an individual or company to do this. After I found someone to remove the banister, the movers moved the home office furniture upstairs. My additional cost was $400 due to the refusal to deliver the home office furniture unless I had the banister removed.

Also, on July 22, 2014, I was told by the supervising mover,xxxxx, that some time subsequent to picking up my furniture the week before that Matthews Moving had broken a glass tabletop and lost the rubber plugs on which it rested. He told me that a replacement had been ordered and that he would deliver it to me when he returned to move the home office furniture upstairs.

When the movers returned on July 23, 2014, to move the home office furniture upstairs, I was told that the glass tabletop and rubber plugs were not received and to call Matthews Moving for information about it.

Since July 23, 2014, I have made numerous telephone calls to Matthews Moving in an attempt to learn when they would deliver the replacement glass tabletop and rubber plugs. My calls and voice messages have largely been ignored, and, when I was able to get a response, I received conflicting information from xxxxx, the claims person, and from xxxxx the supervisor. xxxxx told me the tabletop was to be picked up by Matthews Moving on Tuesday, July 29th, and delivered to me no later than Wednesday, July 30th. When that didn't happen, I called back, but once again didn't get to speak with anyone, but rather it was relayed to me from xxxxx. that it would be "several days" before I received the replacement tabletop. Calls to xxxxx have gone unanswered.

Given the poor customer service I have received from this company, I am shocked that the BBB has rated them so highly!

Desired Settlement
I simply want to receive the glass tabletop and rubber plugs, and to be spoken with about it in truthful and polite terms.

Given that the removal of the banister wasn't necessary, I really should receive reimbursement of the $400 it cost me, but I am not so naive as to expect that!

Business Response
Mr. xxxxx glass piece was ordered immediately but unfortunately it is not ready at this time. The glass company that is making it, has informed me they will contact me as soon as the piece is in. I have spoken with Mr. xxxxx several times and told him that it is not ready but I will have it delivered along with plugs the day that it comes in. In regards to the office furniture........We can not help that the home did not accommodate the moving of the office furniture. Office Furniture & a dresser are two different kinds of furniture and are not capable of being moved in same fashion. We are sorry that he incurred an expense in getting this furniture upstairs, but was out of the control of Matthews Moving Systems, as we did not want to cause damage to his furniture in order to move this furniture without the banister being removed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I dispute the statement that I was spoken with "several times". Since filing the complaint, I have been called exactly twice. The first time was on August 6th during which I was told that the glass would be ready and would be delivered with the plugs today, August 12th.

At 5:15PM today, August 12th, the replacement glass was delivered; however, I was told that they were still looking for the plugs and they would be delivered at some unknown future date.

I also dispute that the home office furniture could not be "moved in same fashion" as the triple dresser. As stated earlier, the triple dresser which was moved upstairs with no problem, is longer, bigger, and heavier that the home office furniture; however, as stated earlier, I have never believed I would be reimbursed for the sizeable and unnecessary expense of having the stair banister removed.

07/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Matthews Moving Systems moved my family into a new house and our ladder was never delivered by the movers. I discoverd this one day after moving
Matthews Movers did a wonderful job moving my family into our current house. The team was very professional and they completed the necessary work in a timely manner. At the time of completion, I would have recommended them to others.

However, one day after moving into our new home on May 23rd, 2014, I discovered that a xxxxx ladder was not delivered to the home (this was on a Saturday). I contacted Matthews Movers the following Tuesday (May 27th) and was told that they would "take a look for the ladder". I called back no less than 4 times over the course of the next three weeks and was told the same information.

It was not until June 27th that I was told to email xxxxx for a claim form to submit. I have no emailed this individual a total of 4 times with no response.

I have attached pictures of the ladder that is missing along with pricing at xxxxx.

I am requesting that someone from Matthews Movers who can assist me contact me to discuss so we can come to resolution. The complete neglect to my concern is what has me so frustrated and this could have been resolved over a month ago if their customer service was improved.

Thanks,

xxxxx

Desired Settlement
Replacement of the missing ladder or a check in the dollar amount that the ladder sells for at xxxxx

Business Response
Matthews Moving Systems, Inc reached out to the xxxxx on 7/23/14 in regards to the missing ladder. Mr. xxxxx located the ladder that day and had it delivered to the xxxxx on Friday July 25th. Customer was satisfied with Mr. xxxxx quick response and resolution.

06/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
xxxxx owners hired company to move their items. Company damaged pavers in moving process. Pavers were fine prior. HOA paid $670 to repair.
The home at xxxxx is the one involved. xxxxx and xxxxx hired Matthews Movers to move their belongs out when they sold the house to xxxx& xxxxx who also used Matthews Movers to move in to xxxxx. The bottom line is that a number of sidewalk tiles had been removed and were piled up when the movers had finished the two moves. There had been no prior indications from the home owner that there was anything was wrong with the tiles, and if there were, the movers could have asked that they be repaired prior to the move which would likely have been a smaller and less costly option.

The homeowners association for xxxxx has had to spend $670.00 to repair the area after the movers left. Matthews Movers refuesed to take accountability for their damage. We believe the movers bear some of the responsibility for this situation.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking reimbursement of the damages and some accountability for the damages caused.

Business Response
***Document Attached***
Please see statement from crew leader on this job. This statement is exactly what he told me when I asked him about the steps when I was 1st notified by homeowner association. The steps were clearly worn and aged a great deal for the stones to slide off as our crew members were trying to provide a safe moving experience for this customer. There is no way we could have notified the homeowner association of this condition prior to the move for we were unaware until we arrived onsite and began the job. The customer was paying by the hour for her move, and us waiting for stones to be repaired before we began the move, would of been unfair to the customer and our company. Therefore, we can not take liability for the stones.
Again, Please see Statement attached.

02/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Committing Insurance Fraud
I paid Matthew Moving Systems approximately $600 for insurance when I entered into contract with them for an interstate move. After I paid them over $10,000 in storage and moving fees they broke two expensive and new dressers of mine. They refused to pay the coverage I had insured ahead of time, i.e. appropriate repair or replacement for dressers. On top of that, after I submitted the claim I could never get xxxxx on the phone again. She disappeared into thin air to avoid answering my question or discuss the fact that I am pursuing legal action. They committing insurance fraud.

Desired Settlement
I would like my two dressers to be replaced as it is covered in my insurance agreement with them.

Business Response
The customer keeps referring to this coverage as "Insurance" this is NOT Insurance. It is a "Level Of Carrier's Liability". The Bill of Lading clearly states this is not Insurance. The Bill of Lading Valuation Statement was signed by the customer with a $250 deductible. We received a quote from a replicable glass company who quoted us $90.40 for all panels to be replaced. Based on the contractual agreement and tariff provisions under which their move took place, the deductible covers replacement cost.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Matthews Moving Systems can refer to their policy by whatever name they'd like but I was never given any invoice or proof that they got this "quote". I have spoken to my lawyer and he will be reaching out to them shorty with a lawsuit. They have never answered my calls or returned my emails regarding my questions for this claim so now they will have a lawsuit on their hands. I hope it's worth their reputation.

12/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Matthews Moving offers to pay $294.00, to a 11+ year customer, for $1,162.00 in repairs for damaged furniture including treasured family antiques
I have used Matthews moving two times: in 2003 and in 2007. Both times, our experience was fairly good and we filed no claims. In addition, we stored furniture with them for which we paid them over $150/month from 11/2003-8/2014. We hired them in August 2014 to move us from NC to SC. During this move, several valuable antique pieces were broken and other furniture was broken or scratched. The moving crew was sloppy and rough on the furniture. The leg was completely broken off of one circa 1865 chest. The base was completely broken off of a file cabinet office chest. I took pictures, had a local qualified furniture repair company estimate the damage ($1,162.00), filled out the claim form, and sent it in, fully expecting Matthews Moving would reimburse for the full amount. Their email response was that I had signed for .60/lb. on the day of the move and that they would cut a check for $294. The pickup cost alone for the repairs is $100! I don't even remember signing anything the day of the move as it was total chaos with their crew in the house. The damages section of the contract should have been explained in full WAY before the day of the move when there is total confusion. The day of the move is not the time to stick a clipboard in the customer's face and say "sign here." I am tremendously disappointed with Matthews Moving's treatment of our valuables and with their totally unfair proposed refund of $294. This kind of customer treatment is totally unacceptable.

Desired Settlement
A check in the amount of $1,162.00 for repairs as stated in the estimate (attached to submitted claims form) from the qualified local furniture repair company.

Business Response
We are re-reviewing this claim. The shipment was signed & released to xxxxx with Mrs. xxxxx signature to the tariff level carriers liability of sixty cents per pound per article. We will advise BBB as to settlement.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
To date, I have had no communication from Matthews Moving regarding my claim filed November 24, 2014.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is horrible! As a customer for over 10 years I am appalled by this response! As I stated in my claim, I was not even aware of what I was signing or the possible consequences of it when the paper was shoved in front of me in the middle of moving day. In addition, I had never filed any claims with Matthews Moving in previous moves and had NO idea that that they would cause over $1,100 in damages to my furniture during THIS move. I will continue to protest this unbelievably poor service, and cannot imagine a company treating a long-term customer like this. I'm sure I have paid over $22,000 to them in storage fees over a 10+ year period from 2003 to 2014 and now they are offering $294 for $1,162 in damages? I AM APPALLED and will let it be known that Matthews Moving is the WORST. DON'T TRUST ANYTHING YOU VALUE TO MATTHEWS MOVING!

Final Business Response
We have responded to Mrs. xxxxx via email advising her that we would review her claim again. We have reviewed her claim a second time and the $294.00 settlement is our final settlement. Which is based off of the 60 cents per pound per article that the xxxxx signed on their contract for on the day of their move. Will have check mailed out today as our final settlement.

10/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Movers lost and damaged items. No response to claim form.
Move delivery date was 7/11 & 7/14 2014. The claims processor xxxxx not responded to e-mails and claims. The mover split my delivery (which was not part of the contract and I never agreed to that nor was it in the contract). I have items that were never delivered. Movers opened boxes that were sealed and stuffed items into other boxes. I have moved many times so understand things happen, but this company did not perform to contract I had to fully pay to have my things delivered and the amount of damage was excessive. I have had no formal response and no one has even attempted to contact me.

Desired Settlement
Repair costs of damaged items and replacement cost for items not delivered.

Business Response
This claim is in process. We are still tracing the alleged missing items and gathering the information needed for some of the other items claimed. We have been in contact with the customer and will be needing supporting documentation from them. We will forward any future information as this file is updated.



Consumer Response
Information has been provided to moving company. I have not received any further contact or information. The moving company has not acknowledged receipt (I have confirmation of delivery), nor provided any status.


Business Response
We are actively working on this claim. We have been in contact with the customer via email. And will update BBB with our progress.

09/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Insurance Contract purchased against damage to valuables during the move has not been honored or fulfilled after almost 7 months.
We selected Matthews Movers to relocate our family to xxxxx NC back in November of 2013. We were not going to be able to move into our new home until December 21 of 2013, so we had Matthews Movers keep our belongings in storage for the time in between. We elected to take out the highest insurance they had since our things would be in storage and have to be handled twice. They assured us that if anything was damaged, it would be repaired promptly or replaced if necessary. We asked specifically about big ticket items such as our furniture & xxxxx, which they said would be no problem. We left with great confidence in their company and looked forward to getting settled in our new home. When we moved in, we found damage to our bedroom suite, vacuum cleaner, other small items and noticed that they had dropped our xxxxx while in storage. It had scratches & chips all over it as well as not being operational. Their staff made notes of all of this and again assured us that it would be handled promptly. My wife and I have written several emails and made countless phone calls to their company about our claim and we keep being promised that they will send someone out. They did send a repairman to get the piano playing again back in March, but the keys still stick and it's not right. He also stated he didn't think the body could be repaired when he was there as well. They have made many appointments for their furniture repairman to come look at the piano and other furniture, but he cancels every time with another excuse. We have been without a vacuum cleaner and piano now for almost 7 months and are not getting any resolution from Matthews Movers. Our xxxxx needs to be replaced as well as our vacuum cleaner and the other furniture needs to either be repaired or replaced. We have gone too long without getting anywhere. They have received all of their money for the move and the insurance, yet we are still left with broken furniture, a non working vacuum and a very expensive beat up xxxxx. This is unacceptable.

Desired Settlement
A new vacuum just like the one they broke, a new xxxxx just like the one they destroyed and all the other items to either be repaired or replaced. I feel we should be reimbursed for at least half of our home cleaning expense that we've incurred without having a vacuum. I believe that our $60,000 policy should be able to handle the above without any problem.

Business Response
We have been working very closely with the North Carolina Utilities Commission on this claim. The Utilities Commission has been in contact with Mr. xxxxxx and advised him of the procedures under the NCUC Regulations & Mr. xxxxx is now cooperating. We will advise the BBB as soon as a resolution is made. But again we are working on resolving this claim.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I truly feel offended by their response. It is amazing to me how they can try and put a spin on this like I am now cooperating and wasn't before. I have been nothing but cooperative throughout this entire nightmare of an experience. The moving company never contacted the NC Utilities Commission until after I had contacted them and the BBB. I had to file a complaint with the NC Utilities commission, who in turn contacted Matthews Moving Systems, Inc. to get the ball rolling on having someone actually come out to access the damage after patiently waiting for 8 months. I have made countless emails and phone calls to this company with no real response until this one they sent you. I feel they are only acting now to keep from losing a good rating with the BBB. I have moved with my job 8 times over the last 18 years and have never been treated like a second class citizen until now. I still have not been contacted by Matthews Moving Systems, Inc. to be updated on the process since I last contacted the BBB and the NC Utilities Commission. They have the worst customer service I have ever seen. I feel they are putting this off only to keep from having a claim against their insurance. We paid for the coverage and expect to have the situation resolved correctly and in a timely manner. Since we now know that the timely manner aspect did not happen, we would like the resolution we paid for 8 months ago.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This situation just keeps getting worse. All I want is to be made whole for the damages that were incurred due to Matthews Moving Systems negligence. They dropped a very expensive piano at some point during the move and the entire body has scratches and divots. We have been told by multiple piano shops that the high gloss lacquered finish is near impossible to repair to its original state and then you have the issue of squeaky pedal and sticking keys that keep it from playing properly. All this is bad enough before you throw on the hassle of having to chase them down to get anything done. I have spent countless hours on the phone trying to get them to take care of the situation & calling the NC Utilities Commission to get them involved. It wasn't until after my BBB complaint and a call from the Utilities Commission that they even got someone out to look at the damages to the exterior of the piano, furniture and vacuum. It has now been 8 months since we moved into our home and the situation still has not been rectified. I'm not interested in dragging this thing out for another 3-4 months. I want the piano in the same condition it was in before we paid them to move it and insure it, or I want it replaced with an identical piano. I want the vacuum cleaner replaced with a new one just like it, and I want the furniture repaired. I think we have waited long enough and been more than patient through this whole ordeal. I have yet to be contacted by Matthews Moving Systems since you and the NC Utilities Commission has been involved.

Final Business Response
This is still an active claim. We are working directly with the xxxxx in resolving this claim with Mr. & Mrs. xxxxx. We will forward updated info to the BBB as this claim proceeds.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Movers - Office

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.