BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/14/1994

Citywide Moving Systems, Inc.

Phone: (704) 841-7001Fax: (704) 845-9014View Additional Phone Numbers2722 Chamber Dr, MonroeNC 28110-8472

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/14/1994

BBB has determined that Citywide Moving Systems, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Citywide Moving Systems, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Citywide Moving Systems, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
06/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Items improperly packed to protect personal property. Failed to move entire household, had to move ourselves. Unauthorized billing to credit card.
Move date was May 16. Move was not completed in a single day as promised. Items moved to incorrect location (storage versus new home). Medication stolen during move. Broken glass, trash, packing paper left at move site. Artwork not packed in "mirror packs" that we provided instead just stacked. Items taken to storage location were hap hazardously stacked with no regard to protect our personal property. Total lack of professionalism by staff. Unauthorized charge on credit card, three weeks after move.

Desired Settlement
Credit card charges should be fully credited.

Business' Initial Response
In regards to Mr.****'s complaint. Mr. ******* had spoken to him earlier about his concerns and wanted to set up an appointment to discuss them, unfortunately we were extremely busy because we were leaving for a 10 day vacation at the time and he was told this. We returned on June 11th and Mr.**** submitted his complaint to BBB on the 10th. Since then, we have contacted Mr.**** and set up an appointment for this morning at 9:00am at Mr. ****'s apartment in Monroe. Because our offices are closer to Indian Trail, Mr. ******** called him this morning to see if he could come to the office so they could go from here to the storage warehouse in Charlotte where we moved most of his items because Mr. **** claims there are several damages. He agreed and said he would be here in a little bit. Later he called to let us know the key to his apartment was not working and he was not leaving his door unlocked so he has the maintenance man coming to see what is wrong. He will come after it is fixed. By 11:15 am he was not here, so Mr.******** had to call and let him know that he has an appointment for an estimate in Mooresville at 1:00pm and can not wait any longer. Mr. **** said he was going out of town tomorrow so he rescheduled his appointment for next Monday the 24th at 2:00pm.


Complaint ID#: XXXXXX
Consumer: ******* J ****
Case Opened: XXXX-XX-XX

Just wanted to let you know what was going on with this case.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Thanks,

***** ********, VP
Citywide Moving Systems, Inc.
XXX-XXX-XXXX Office
XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax


Business' Final Response
Hey Sarah,

Just wanted to let you know that Mr. ******** did meet with Mr. **** on Monday the 24th and discussed his apartment move. He also returned to Mr. ****'s home on the 26th and they droved to where the rest of his items were move to (a neighbors warehouse). With each complaint that Mr. **** expressed, Mr. ******** could tell immediately that there was no way this could have been our movers fault and he explained it to Mr. ****. No matter what Mr. ******** said, this customer in no way is going to be satisfied unless he gets a money settlement. At the end of the meeting, to basically close the file, Mr. ******** offered to refund the amount of his last move day $687.50. Mr. **** said he would "sleep on it". Mr. ******** contacted him this morning and Mr. **** said that he and his wife discussed it and they would settle for $1500.00. Mr ******** told him that amount was unreasonable. At this point we feel this case will either go to arbitration or to the courts. I will keep you updated.

Thanks,
***** ********, VP
Citywide Moving Systems, Inc.
XXX-XXX-XXXX Office
XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax

02/18/2014Problems with Product / Service
08/30/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Citywide moving damaged my TV and only wants to pay on weight not value. They were unprepared, driver mentioned twice that his helper was drinking.
1. 1500 dollar TV damaged and reimburstment is on weight not value. 60.00 dollars was all that was granted. Electronics dont weight much

2. Helper was drinking on the job

3. didnt have enough pads as a result my headboard was scared, owner had to repair

4.owner admitted the back of truck was not properly packed, had to repack.

5. I expressed my concern, he stated no worries as a result TV damaged.

6. Stated that said all is ok. Thats a lie

7. placed a heavy piece in my own trailer, made them return to place in their truck

suggest remove from the BBB

Desired Settlement
All I want is a fair settlement to replace my TV. I requested 60% reimburstment of new TV (850.00)=510.00 dollars.I was given 60.00 dollars insult.
Claim is on weight, not value. Electonics dont weigh much.

thank you xxxxx

Business' Initial Response
xxxxx was loaded on July 3rd in Waxhaw NC and unloaded on July 6th in Cumming GA. From the beginning of his job, xxxxx was concerned about how the last part of our truck was loaded. He had specific concerns about his televisions and expressed this in his phone conversation with me. I assured him I would check out the load when it returned to my warehouse and if there were any concerns I would address it personally. When I checked the load I decided to rework and secure the TV's by adding additional straps and more padding to ensure the TV's would be well protected during transport. I then called xxxxx and assured him it was taken care of and there would be no problems. Upon unloading Mr. Carringer's items at his destination in Cumming GA, he inspected each TV as it came off the truck and did not note any deficiencies or damage at that time. My movers put a TV on the sofa where the customer requested it be placed with the face of the TV against the back of the sofa. xxxxx then asked the driver if they would help him put it on a stand before they left and the driver stated that they would. As the movers were finishing up, the driver noticed that the TV was now laying face down on the ottoman, so he asked xxxxx if he still wanted them to help him put it on the stand. He stated that he had it under control. As adamant as xxxxx was about his TV's when he originally called me, I knew he would inspect each one when it came off the truck and this was confirmed by my driver. At the end of the job, xxxxx signed all of the necessary paperwork and did not make any note or reference about a damaged television. I would think it would be impossible to overlook a shattered screen on a 50" television set.

Most of our customers who are very concerned about items being moved ask us about additional valuation before the move starts. xxxxx should have chosen a valuation for his household goods, which are listed on his bill of lading, before his move began but failed to do so. xxxxx sent an email on Sunday, July 8th to my claims associate and reported that his TV was damaged. My claims associate was out of the office on Monday the 9th and returned on the 10th. In checking her email, she had xxxxx first email as well as one he had sent earlier that morning at 8:39 am. He stated he had not received a return call from me and I should take his messages seriously because he did not want to take legal action. We are required to follow protocol and send customers a Statement of Claim form to fill out describing any damages, which we did. xxxxx returned his form and had chosen the basic valuation which is $0.60 per pound per article. In reviewing his bill of lading #1001310 I confirmed that he failed to choose any option for valuation for his shipment and to ensure we are complying with interstate moving regulations, we contacted the American Moving and Storage Association. We were told that if a shipper fails to choose a valuation on the bill of lading at the time of the move, Citywide is responsible for $6.00 per pound per article which is Full Valuation. After investigating the specs on the 2009 TV it was determined it weighs 75 lbs. which would be $450.00. Having said this, the customer is responsible for paying for said coverage (Full Valuation) of his shipment which is calculated by our tariff and is determined by the weight and dollar amount of the shipment. The minimum valuation for xxxxx shipment is $50,000.00 at the cost of $425.00. xxxxx could have chosen and paid for a higher valuation amount at the time of his move but failed to do so. Therefore, I will be happy to send xxxxx a check in the amount of $25.00.

The last email we received from xxxxx simply stated that he disagreed with our policy and had filed a complaint with the BBB and posted this statement on Angie's List and had planned to post it on Google as well. To quote his last statement on his email "I will offer one more chance to make this right. If you will reimburse me 60% replacement value, then I will remove my comments and complaints." In response, I feel xxxxx is slandering my company by stating my movers were drinking on the job which is not true. Furthermore, I do not appreciate his threats and will not be blackmailed by a customer in order to defend my company. I have been in business for over 20 years and my reputation speaks for itself. I take pride in satisfying the customers we serve but I will not be strong armed into paying for something that we did not do.

Mr. xxxxx

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1. I disagree with the policy, and if that is their way of handling the reimburstment, after admiting I called about my TV's concern being damaged after loading and knowing in advance that this could possibly happen then why not make it right.Policy is Policy, but customer service is reality on electronics.

2. My comments about showing up without boxes and enough pads is a fact. Someone had to bring more.

3. My headboard was scared is a fact, because driver admitted not enough pads.The owner had to repair, (which he did)

4. The driver stated twice that helper was drinking is a fact.

5. Placing Article in my trailer is a fact. Had to make them return and load in their truck.

6.The outside screen was not cracked, the inside screen was, and was not visibile for me to see.Helper helped me place stand on different TV.

If they believe I did this, then why even bother with silly check of 25.00 dollars if my fault. I guess they are admitting guilt.Then is it true it was broken by movers.

I do not want the check, and this is the last of my comments. Since they feel 25.00 for a 850.00 replacement, then I have every right to post my true facts.

Trust me, I have more things to do then mess with this.

My comments remain, I want to close matters since thats how they feel about customer service.

Just keep your check

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Movers - Office

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/04/1994Business started: 01/01/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Utilities Commission, NC / Consumer Services
430 N Salisbury St
Raleigh, NC27603-5926
(919) 733-9277
http://www.ncuc.commerce.state.nc.us

BBB records show a license number of C-2235 for this company, issued by Utilities Commission, NC / Consumer Services. Their web address is http://www.ncuc.commerce.state.nc.us.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1997, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Donna Matthews (VP)Mr. Rodrick M Matthews (Owner)
Number of Employees

42

Business Category

Movers, Storage Units - Household & Commercial, Movers - Office


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Citywide Moving Systems, Inc. has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Citywide Moving Systems, Inc.

2722 Chamber Dr

Monroe, NC 28110-8472

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2722 Chamber Dr 

    Monroe, NC 28110-8472(704) 541-8451
    (704) 841-7001
    (877) 248-9945

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southern Piedmont/Charlotte, NC. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Citywide Moving Systems, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (704) 541-8451
  • (877) 248-9945
  • (704) 799-8993
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on April 2, 2012.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.